Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
This book is the first contemporary book I've read in some time that was right up my alley. I enjoyed this story from the very first page. Anna's voice is terrific throughout the book. She is fun, sassy, and utterly confused about boys. We also learn a lot about St. Clair, he isn't just "the cute guy with an accent." He has his own flaws and we see how those flaws effect his relationships.

The romance is great, there is a lot of back and forth and build up. Their relationship is really built on friendship, which is SO refreshing. The setting made me long to walk the streets of Paris and sip coffee at a local cafe'.

I'm so glad I read this book, I will definitely be reading more of Stephanie Perkins' work.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Delightful!

This book is the first contemporary book I've read in some time that was right up my alley. I enjoyed this story from the very first page. Anna's voice is terrific throughout the book. She is fun, sassy, and utterly confused about boys. We also learn a lot about St. Clair, he isn't just "the cute guy with an accent." He has his own flaws and we see how those flaws effect his relationships.

The romance is great, there is a lot of back and forth and build up. Their relationship is really built on friendship, which is SO refreshing. The setting made me long to walk the streets of Paris and sip coffee at a local cafe'.

I'm so glad I read this book, I will definitely be reading more of Stephanie Perkins' work.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

2 results - showing 1 - 2
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
Megan Kelly, Editor Written by Megan Kelly, Editor
April 26, 2012
I'm reading this now in Spanish, and it is taking me a long time, mostly because I am making myself look up all the words I don't know, instead of skimming over them. I love the story and am eager to read Perkins' work in English, because I can tell she has a fantastic writing style.
In reply to an earlier comment

Claire Johnson, Editor Written by Claire Johnson, Editor
May 16, 2012
Have you read it in English yet? I've recommended it to a couple of my friends and they have all loved it. I'm sad that it took me so long to read it in the first place.
2 results - showing 1 - 2
 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is not your average trip to Fairyland… Selkie Stewart has just saved her quasi-boyfriend, Ben, from a fairy prison...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
THE GIRL WHO NEVER WAS is the story of Selkie Stewart, who thinks she’s a totally normal teenager growing up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
A dragon named Nickerbacher guards a princess "because his papa told him to." However, he practices his jokes on Princess...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)