Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
(Updated: December 17, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

A Wonderful Contemporary

The Rites and Wrongs of Janice Wills was an absolutely delightful debut. I read straight through and just loved it. Janice had a great story to tell, and I loved every page of it.

The plot was a lot of fun. There were definitely aspects that were slightly clichéd and predictable, but I loved them all the same. The book had little interruptions to the plot such as "A Note From the Anthropologist" which were a ton of fun to read. It was just another thing that made this book so great. I love contemporaries - and this one was quite funny at times, yet still had serious undertones.

The characters were probably my favorite thing about this one. They were all great. Even the minor characters stuck out in my mind. Janice was a character who developed a lot throughout the book, and really came into herself. I loved Paul - he was my favorite character of the book. All his quirky ideas he tried, he just seems like a very fun person.

After this debut, I am very intrigued to see what is next for Joanna Pearson. I really enjoyed this one! I would definitely recommend it to all, especially for those looking for a contemporary with charm and is a fast read.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

1 results - showing 1 - 1  
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
Claire Johnson, Staff Reviewer Written by Claire Johnson, Staff Reviewer
December 20, 2011
This looks like a book I will have to read. I'm a big fan of contemporary YA.
1 results - showing 1 - 1  
 
 
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Restart
Chase's memory just went out the window. Chase doesn't remember...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tori Douglas hates her life. Struggling to make the people...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It Should Have Been You
Seventeen-year-old Clara Seibert ghostwrites an advice column for her school’s...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Round of Robins
Food Fight Jumble, jostle, rumble, squirm; ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emerson Page and Where the Light Enters
Thirteen-year-old Emerson Page wants to know what happened to...
 
3.8
 
5.0 (1)
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ace of Shades
Welcome to the City of Sin, where casino families...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Premonition (The Division Series Book 1)
When Riley heads off to boarding school for a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

No entries were found