Review Detail

 
Legend Featured
Young Adult Fiction
Legend's plot is similar to the other dystopias out there but it does have some qualities that I really enjoyed. First, I loved how Lu was able to show us a futuristic world that just happens to be in Los Angeles. I've lived in Southern California for over twenty years and was able to picture the backdrop. I also love how she's able to go back and forth between two protagonists. June is the only one in the Republic to score a perfect score during the trials. The trials are like a huge coming of age ritual in which the authorities determine who will go to school and those who will end up in poverty or worse. After her older brother is killed she's out to get Day, the other protagonist in this story. Day lives on the streets and tries to help his mother and brothers from the plague that is never ending. When both characters do meet it's not what I'd expected. This is when the writing goes up a notch. Lu's writing and pacing make this dystopia stand out along with her rich details and multi-layered characters. You can feel the violence in this society that's not as extreme as Hunger Games but still has enough to resonate that this is a society built on war.

I know some say the beginning is confusing but I liked how Lu jumps right into the action and builds the suspense that builds until the huge climax. There's elements of mystery along with a chemistry between two very unlikely characters.

The only complaint I had is the premise of a futuristic society with those fighting against it has been done alot so there are some parts that are predictable. The pacing, dialogue, and characters make up for this. Also a revelation took me off guard.

If you love dystopias, for sure pick up a copy of Legend.
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Kim Baccellia, Editor Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor December 08, 2011
Last updated: December 09, 2011
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (382)

New Dystopia Tale

Legend's plot is similar to the other dystopias out there but it does have some qualities that I really enjoyed. First, I loved how Lu was able to show us a futuristic world that just happens to be in Los Angeles. I've lived in Southern California for over twenty years and was able to picture the backdrop. I also love how she's able to go back and forth between two protagonists. June is the only one in the Republic to score a perfect score during the trials. The trials are like a huge coming of age ritual in which the authorities determine who will go to school and those who will end up in poverty or worse. After her older brother is killed she's out to get Day, the other protagonist in this story. Day lives on the streets and tries to help his mother and brothers from the plague that is never ending. When both characters do meet it's not what I'd expected. This is when the writing goes up a notch. Lu's writing and pacing make this dystopia stand out along with her rich details and multi-layered characters. You can feel the violence in this society that's not as extreme as Hunger Games but still has enough to resonate that this is a society built on war.

I know some say the beginning is confusing but I liked how Lu jumps right into the action and builds the suspense that builds until the huge climax. There's elements of mystery along with a chemistry between two very unlikely characters.

The only complaint I had is the premise of a futuristic society with those fighting against it has been done alot so there are some parts that are predictable. The pacing, dialogue, and characters make up for this. Also a revelation took me off guard.

If you love dystopias, for sure pick up a copy of Legend.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

1 results - showing 1 - 1
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
Megan Kelly, Editor Written by Megan Kelly, Editor
March 25, 2012
People keep recommending Legend to me, so I will have to check it out. I love stories with dual POV, so I am psyched to hear that it works.
1 results - showing 1 - 1
 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)