Review Detail

 
Legend Featured Hot
Young Adult Fiction
(Updated: December 09, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

New Dystopia Tale

Legend's plot is similar to the other dystopias out there but it does have some qualities that I really enjoyed. First, I loved how Lu was able to show us a futuristic world that just happens to be in Los Angeles. I've lived in Southern California for over twenty years and was able to picture the backdrop. I also love how she's able to go back and forth between two protagonists. June is the only one in the Republic to score a perfect score during the trials. The trials are like a huge coming of age ritual in which the authorities determine who will go to school and those who will end up in poverty or worse. After her older brother is killed she's out to get Day, the other protagonist in this story. Day lives on the streets and tries to help his mother and brothers from the plague that is never ending. When both characters do meet it's not what I'd expected. This is when the writing goes up a notch. Lu's writing and pacing make this dystopia stand out along with her rich details and multi-layered characters. You can feel the violence in this society that's not as extreme as Hunger Games but still has enough to resonate that this is a society built on war.

I know some say the beginning is confusing but I liked how Lu jumps right into the action and builds the suspense that builds until the huge climax. There's elements of mystery along with a chemistry between two very unlikely characters.

The only complaint I had is the premise of a futuristic society with those fighting against it has been done alot so there are some parts that are predictable. The pacing, dialogue, and characters make up for this. Also a revelation took me off guard.

If you love dystopias, for sure pick up a copy of Legend.

Good Points
1. Likeable characters
2. Great backdrop
3. Dual POV that works
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

1 results - showing 1 - 1  
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
Megan Kelly Written by Megan Kelly
March 25, 2012
People keep recommending Legend to me, so I will have to check it out. I love stories with dual POV, so I am psyched to hear that it works.
1 results - showing 1 - 1  
 
 
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

Solo
From award-winning and New York Times bestselling author Kwame Alexander,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Refugee.jpg
JOSEF is a Jewish boy living in 1930s Nazi Germany....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
SwingitSunnyjpg
Summer's over and it's time for Sunny Lewin to enter...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheWitchBoy.jpg
n thirteen-year-old Aster's family, all the girls are raised to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Let's Investigate with Nate #1: The Water Cycle
Bill Nye the Science Guy meets The Magic School Bus!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The 12 Dares of Christa
Christa is a holiday junkie. What’s not to love? There’s...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes
Things are looking up for Abbie Wu: this year she’ll...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
See Fred Run
Learning to read has never been more fun than it...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Monster of Selkirk Book I: The Duality of Nature
Monsters come in many forms, and not everyone knows a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where's Waldo? 30th Anniversary Edition
The amazing original that set off the worldwide search for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Little Girl Who Didn't Want to Go to Bed
The internet’s “World’s Best Father," award-winning photographer Dave Engledow, makes...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Being Fishkill
Fishkill Carmel fends for herself, with her fists if need...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Goldeline
Perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Namsara
Kristen Ciccarelli’s debut fantasy explores an intricately woven world of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Speak Easy, Speak Love
Six teenagers’ lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mr. Biddles
A funny picture book about friendship, in the tradition of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

City of Heavenly Fire (The Mortal Instruments)
 
4.7
"The final book in The Mortal Instruments series, definitely a great read. Filled with romance, death, sorrow, action, suspense and..."
The You I've Never Known
 
4.7
"I was super excited when I found out that I would be part of the ‘The You I’ve Never Known’..."
City of Heavenly Fire (The Mortal Instruments)
 
4.0
"4.4 stars! This was the perfect fantasy series. It was full of excitement and romance with twist and turns at..."
The Bane Chronicles
 
4.0
"4.5 out of 5 stars! I loved this book. I've always wanted to know more about Magnus Bane and here..."
The Way I Used To Be
 
5.0
" So I saw a lot of people talking about The Way I Used To Be and I kept reading..."
The Way I Used To Be
 
4.3
"This was a book I hadn’t heard too much about when I started reading it so the only thing I..."
The Way I Used To Be
 
5.0
"Fourteen-year-old Eden always was the 'good' girl. She was in band, never questioned rules, and was a book nerd...."
Traffick
 
4.7
"I love her books. That raw, in-your-face quality sets her apart from other YA authors. She talks about things they..."
Traffick
 
4.7
" In TRAFFICK, Ellen Hopkins creates yet another compelling story. Filled with five characters many of us already know from..."
One Witch at a Time
 
3.0
"One Witch at a Time takes a spin on the traditional ‘Jack and the Beanstalk’ tale. Rudi Bauer just wanted..."
Rumble
 
4.0
"After devouring Rumble, I remembered why Ellen Hopkins' books helped me through high school. I've been in love with her..."