Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
If you're on Twitter, I'm sure you've read alot about the YA dystopia ASHES. I knew I had to grab a copy of this book especially when I heard how amazing it was. Add a frightening premise in a world that could very well be our own. Plus, Egmont is the publisher. If you know by now, Egmont is one of my favorite publishers. I was able to get an ebook galley from Netgalley. Let’s just say this book doesn’t disappoint.

We start out with Alex on a mountain waiting to make peace with the death of her parents. She also refuses any more treatments for her brain tumor. Then Ellie, a smart mouth eight year old, and her grandfather come upon Alex right when the electromagnet wave hits. Alex finds something happens to her. Her lost of smell comes back. Plus not only can she smell but she can smell the emotions of people around her. Adults drop dead while the teens and kids seem to become animalistic to the point of becoming zombie like.

What I love about this story is it’s not the usual zombie tale. No, this one doesn’t follow any rules. For one thing Bick isn’t afraid to have her characters go to hell and back. And believe me this new world is hell. There are some very intense scenes that would give Stephen King a run for his money. But the beauty of this story is how the little details strengthen the storyline. And the whole premise of an electromagnet wave tampering with someone’s brain in a horrific way is very plausible which makes this story even more terrifying and wonderful.

There’s scenes that make you squirm yet also make you afraid to stop reading. A true storyteller is able to do this to a reader. And Bick, like King, is a master of this.

The cliffhanger ending is totally wow worthy. And yes, there’s more to Alex’s tale. This is book one of a trilogy. If you loved The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan, you’ll love this story. I predict this will be a hot Fall YA book. Run, don’t walk to pick up this scary, creepy, but very amazing read. Trust me, you won’t be disappointed.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Kim Baccellia, Editor Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor September 05, 2011
Last updated: September 05, 2011
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (382)

Scary good tale

If you're on Twitter, I'm sure you've read alot about the YA dystopia ASHES. I knew I had to grab a copy of this book especially when I heard how amazing it was. Add a frightening premise in a world that could very well be our own. Plus, Egmont is the publisher. If you know by now, Egmont is one of my favorite publishers. I was able to get an ebook galley from Netgalley. Let’s just say this book doesn’t disappoint.

We start out with Alex on a mountain waiting to make peace with the death of her parents. She also refuses any more treatments for her brain tumor. Then Ellie, a smart mouth eight year old, and her grandfather come upon Alex right when the electromagnet wave hits. Alex finds something happens to her. Her lost of smell comes back. Plus not only can she smell but she can smell the emotions of people around her. Adults drop dead while the teens and kids seem to become animalistic to the point of becoming zombie like.

What I love about this story is it’s not the usual zombie tale. No, this one doesn’t follow any rules. For one thing Bick isn’t afraid to have her characters go to hell and back. And believe me this new world is hell. There are some very intense scenes that would give Stephen King a run for his money. But the beauty of this story is how the little details strengthen the storyline. And the whole premise of an electromagnet wave tampering with someone’s brain in a horrific way is very plausible which makes this story even more terrifying and wonderful.

There’s scenes that make you squirm yet also make you afraid to stop reading. A true storyteller is able to do this to a reader. And Bick, like King, is a master of this.

The cliffhanger ending is totally wow worthy. And yes, there’s more to Alex’s tale. This is book one of a trilogy. If you loved The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan, you’ll love this story. I predict this will be a hot Fall YA book. Run, don’t walk to pick up this scary, creepy, but very amazing read. Trust me, you won’t be disappointed.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

1 results - showing 1 - 1
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
Megan Kelly, Editor Written by Megan Kelly, Editor
February 19, 2012
I really want to read this! Someone recommended it to me last week and there is a huge waiting list at my local library. Your review got me psyched to work my way up the list.
1 results - showing 1 - 1
 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)