Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
Francesca, 'Fran', feels like she doesn't fit in with what remains of her family. Her mother and sister connect and the only family member that gets her, left her mother for a bimbo chef. Fran in the meantime has two hobbies that keep her mind off her family: candy and celebrity gossip magazines.

Then her father takes her out to dinner and makes an announcement that upsets her so much, she runs to her friend Jordan's house where she finds a contest from Seventeen magazine. She takes out her anger against her father by 'making' up his death and enters the contest not knowing that later that article will come back and haunt her. She wins the Seventeen contest and gets to go with some celebrities to Africa on a literacy project. She's excited to be able to be with the very people she loves reading about until the plane crashes and she finds out not all glitters under those celeb masks.

I loved the voice of this novel. The writing is fresh and hilarious. Fran finds out to her horror how clueless these celebrities are especially the one who plays hero roles. He can't swim!
Fran gets a rude awaking to how celebrity and reality worlds in fact collide which is shown in satiric wit throughout.
Fran ends up texting Jordan while she's marooned ala Gillian's Island style. Each of the celebrities has their own unique quirk. I loved the little details she shares on all of them. My favorite one had to be Milan who had a Lindsay Lohan feel to her. One scene that totally cracked me up was when Milan pulls out her extensions and uses the hairpins to help open a coconut. Cisco felt like Zac Efron with the whole Disney past and being gorgeous. Chaz, the reporter for one celeb site is hilarious in his own devious way.

There's lots of fun moments on the island and the exchanges between all of them are captured on Fran's cell.

I laughed out loud more than once throughout this story. It was a refreshing break from all the recent dark, paranormals out there.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Kim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer June 03, 2011
Last updated: May 16, 2011
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (405)

Survivor meets teen celebs

Francesca, 'Fran', feels like she doesn't fit in with what remains of her family. Her mother and sister connect and the only family member that gets her, left her mother for a bimbo chef. Fran in the meantime has two hobbies that keep her mind off her family: candy and celebrity gossip magazines.

Then her father takes her out to dinner and makes an announcement that upsets her so much, she runs to her friend Jordan's house where she finds a contest from Seventeen magazine. She takes out her anger against her father by 'making' up his death and enters the contest not knowing that later that article will come back and haunt her. She wins the Seventeen contest and gets to go with some celebrities to Africa on a literacy project. She's excited to be able to be with the very people she loves reading about until the plane crashes and she finds out not all glitters under those celeb masks.

I loved the voice of this novel. The writing is fresh and hilarious. Fran finds out to her horror how clueless these celebrities are especially the one who plays hero roles. He can't swim!
Fran gets a rude awaking to how celebrity and reality worlds in fact collide which is shown in satiric wit throughout.
Fran ends up texting Jordan while she's marooned ala Gillian's Island style. Each of the celebrities has their own unique quirk. I loved the little details she shares on all of them. My favorite one had to be Milan who had a Lindsay Lohan feel to her. One scene that totally cracked me up was when Milan pulls out her extensions and uses the hairpins to help open a coconut. Cisco felt like Zac Efron with the whole Disney past and being gorgeous. Chaz, the reporter for one celeb site is hilarious in his own devious way.

There's lots of fun moments on the island and the exchanges between all of them are captured on Fran's cell.

I laughed out loud more than once throughout this story. It was a refreshing break from all the recent dark, paranormals out there.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

  • Author Top 5 with Catherine Linka

      Today we welcome Catherine Linka to YABC! Zinka's soon to be released sequel to A Girl Called Fearless, A Girl Undone, is sure to appeal to fans of Divergent and An Ember in the Ashes. The next installment in The Girl Called Fearless series will make its debut June 23rd and w ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: The Mirror King by Jodi Meadows + Giveaway (US Only)

    Welcome to another fabulous cover reveal, YABC! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for THE MIRROR KING by Jodi Meadows, releasing April 5, 2016 from Katherine Tegen Books/HarperCollins Publishers. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Jodi:   ...

  • What's New in YA

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!       When you’re in love with the wrong person for the right reasons, anything could happen. Tretch lives in a very small town where everybody's in everybody else ...

  • Books Aren't Dangerous Campaign

      Do you remember that book that changed your life as a reader, or maybe just your life in general? You do? That’s great!        Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl, authors of the BEAUTIFUL CREATURES series, have started a campaign called BOOKS AREN’T DANG ...

  • TOMORROWLAND - Drive Through Movie Review

    **********NO SPOILERS************ The Nerd Riders, Kristin and Clint, give their thoughts on the new Disney film TOMORROWLAND.    QUESTION: If you could go to an alternate universe what would you want to see there? ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: The Secret Side of Empty by Maria E. Andreu + Giveaway (US/Canada)

    Hi, YABC! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for THE SECRET SIDE OF EMPTY by Maria E. Andreu, releasing September 1, 2015 from Running Press. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Maria:   YABC Readers!  I’m so excited to share the pape ...

  • May 2015 YABC Book Haul

    Hey YABCers! Once again, our office has been innundated with books, books, and  more BOOKS! We've run out of shelf space which can only mean one thing .... it's time for the May Book Haul! Enjoy the video and let us know in the comments which books you can't wait to add to your TBR. &nbs ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: Insidious by Dawn Metcalf + Giveaway (US/Canada)

    Hello, YABC! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for INSIDIOUS by Dawn Metcalf, releasing August 25, 2015 from Harlequin TEEN. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Dawn:   You know when you finish a story, you never really finish because there' ...

  • What's New in YA

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!       A School for Unusual Girls is the first captivating installment in the Stranje House series for young adults by award-winning author Kathleen Baldwin. #1 New York ...

  • The Librarian's Corner

      This month's theme for the Librarian's corner is all about picture books you can share with teens! Picture books aren't just for kids and babies anymore. In fact, teens love storytime too!    For May, I am featuring some of my favorite picture books to share ...

  • The Greater Rochester Teen Book Festival

        The Greater Rochester Teen Book Festival--TBF 2015 Contributed by Kayla King, Blog Manager and Staff Reviewer   Here at Young Adult Books Central, we LOVE YA! Fortunately for us, The Greater Rochester Book Festival held at Nazareth Collge devotes itself to s ...

  • Giveaway: If You Feel Too Much by Jamie Tworkowski (US Only)

    If You Feel Too Much: Thoughts on Things Found and Lost and Hoped For By Jamie Tworkowski Release Date: May 26, 2015   About the Book In 2006 Jamie Tworkowski wrote a story called “To Write Love on Her Arms” about helping a friend through her struggle with drug addiction, ...

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

61K250js3oL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
Category: Kids Nonfiction
Discover how Benjamin Franklin’s scientific method challenged a certain Dr. Mesmer’s mysterious powers in a whimsical look at a true...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Alexis Wyndham is the other type of Queen B—the Queen Bitch. After years of being the subject of ridicule,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
In this hilarious novel, written in the voice of eighth-grader Wyatt Palmer, Dave Barry takes us on a class trip...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Dominion of Atalanta is at war. But for eighteen-year-old Aris, the fighting is nothing more than a distant nightmare,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
At the outset of World War II, Denmark did not resist German occupation. Deeply ashamed of his nation's leaders, fifteen-year-old...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Twelve-year-old Sophie Brown feels like a fish out of water when she and her parents move from Los Angeles to...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The revolution is here. Bodies line the streets of Urobrun; a great pyre burns in Republic Square. The rebels grow...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Dyna comes from a long line of risk-takers and is an avid thrill-seeker in her own right, until she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Catherine Linka, the sequel and explosive conclusion to A Girl Called Fearless. Having survived a violent confrontation with the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When sixteen-year-old Tess Kendrick is sent to live with her older sister, Ivy, she has no idea that the infamous...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheEscape.jpg
Not everyone who goes into the woods comes out.... It was supposed to be a short hike, a way for...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The realities of teen prostitution are revealed in this eye-opening, heartbreaking story from the author of America, which Booklist called...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The_Dogst.jpg
Out of the corner of my eye, I catch something moving by the barn. When I look, it disappears. Wait....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A stunning re-imagining of Robin Hood, the first in an exciting new trilogy Forget everything you've ever heard about Robin...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A summer romance filled with danger and lies Jane is ready for a fantastic summer. In fact, she’s pretty sure...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fans of Pretty Little Liars and L.A. Candy will devour this fast-paced series from a writer New York Times bestselling...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mina is seventeen. A virgin. And pregnant. Mina is top of her class, girlfriend to the most ambitious guy in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“I loved CHARMED . . . I couldn't turn the pages fast enough!” raves Amy Tintera, author of Reboot, of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pagan Jones went from America's sweetheart to fallen angel in one fateful night in 1960: the night a car accident...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
An unforgettable new series from acclaimed author Katie McGarry about taking risks, opening your heart and ending up in a...
 
0.0
 
4.7 (1)