Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
Francesca, 'Fran', feels like she doesn't fit in with what remains of her family. Her mother and sister connect and the only family member that gets her, left her mother for a bimbo chef. Fran in the meantime has two hobbies that keep her mind off her family: candy and celebrity gossip magazines.

Then her father takes her out to dinner and makes an announcement that upsets her so much, she runs to her friend Jordan's house where she finds a contest from Seventeen magazine. She takes out her anger against her father by 'making' up his death and enters the contest not knowing that later that article will come back and haunt her. She wins the Seventeen contest and gets to go with some celebrities to Africa on a literacy project. She's excited to be able to be with the very people she loves reading about until the plane crashes and she finds out not all glitters under those celeb masks.

I loved the voice of this novel. The writing is fresh and hilarious. Fran finds out to her horror how clueless these celebrities are especially the one who plays hero roles. He can't swim!
Fran gets a rude awaking to how celebrity and reality worlds in fact collide which is shown in satiric wit throughout.
Fran ends up texting Jordan while she's marooned ala Gillian's Island style. Each of the celebrities has their own unique quirk. I loved the little details she shares on all of them. My favorite one had to be Milan who had a Lindsay Lohan feel to her. One scene that totally cracked me up was when Milan pulls out her extensions and uses the hairpins to help open a coconut. Cisco felt like Zac Efron with the whole Disney past and being gorgeous. Chaz, the reporter for one celeb site is hilarious in his own devious way.

There's lots of fun moments on the island and the exchanges between all of them are captured on Fran's cell.

I laughed out loud more than once throughout this story. It was a refreshing break from all the recent dark, paranormals out there.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Kim Baccellia, Editor Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor June 03, 2011
Last updated: May 16, 2011
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (389)

Survivor meets teen celebs

Francesca, 'Fran', feels like she doesn't fit in with what remains of her family. Her mother and sister connect and the only family member that gets her, left her mother for a bimbo chef. Fran in the meantime has two hobbies that keep her mind off her family: candy and celebrity gossip magazines.

Then her father takes her out to dinner and makes an announcement that upsets her so much, she runs to her friend Jordan's house where she finds a contest from Seventeen magazine. She takes out her anger against her father by 'making' up his death and enters the contest not knowing that later that article will come back and haunt her. She wins the Seventeen contest and gets to go with some celebrities to Africa on a literacy project. She's excited to be able to be with the very people she loves reading about until the plane crashes and she finds out not all glitters under those celeb masks.

I loved the voice of this novel. The writing is fresh and hilarious. Fran finds out to her horror how clueless these celebrities are especially the one who plays hero roles. He can't swim!
Fran gets a rude awaking to how celebrity and reality worlds in fact collide which is shown in satiric wit throughout.
Fran ends up texting Jordan while she's marooned ala Gillian's Island style. Each of the celebrities has their own unique quirk. I loved the little details she shares on all of them. My favorite one had to be Milan who had a Lindsay Lohan feel to her. One scene that totally cracked me up was when Milan pulls out her extensions and uses the hairpins to help open a coconut. Cisco felt like Zac Efron with the whole Disney past and being gorgeous. Chaz, the reporter for one celeb site is hilarious in his own devious way.

There's lots of fun moments on the island and the exchanges between all of them are captured on Fran's cell.

I laughed out loud more than once throughout this story. It was a refreshing break from all the recent dark, paranormals out there.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)