Review Detail

 
Kids Fiction
Reader reviewed by Raelyn

            Hatchet is the most exciting and thrilling book Ive ever read. It is about a boy who is thirteen and named Brian Robeson. He is going to visit his dad but his plane crashes, but before he got on the plane, his mom gave him a hatchet as a present. Later on it is his most pries position, it is what helps him with hunting and building. He is all alone out somewhere out in the wilderness. He has to survive animal attacks, starvation, and storms, hoping someone will rescue him.


The writer, Gary Paulsen, got his ideas from when he was a child he was fascinated by nature. My favorite line in the book is, he turned back to his campsite and looked to the wreckage. He had a lot to do, rebuild the shelter, get a new fire going find some food or get ready to find some food, make weapons-and he had to work slowly because his ribs hurt. It is based on realistic fiction, and is a really good book. I would recommend this book to every one nine and older. Some other books written by Gary Paulsen are Brains Winter, Brains Hunt, Dancing Carl, Dogsong, Sentries, and Tracker. Hatchet has also won the Newbery Honor Book Award. My brother and dad both read it and said it was one of the best books they have ever read, they didnt want to put it down and I am almost sure you wont either.


            I think every one should read this book, it is adventurous and mysterious. I liked it very muck and I think you will to.

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader February 06, 2011
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Hatchet

Reader reviewed by Raelyn

            Hatchet is the most exciting and thrilling book Ive ever read. It is about a boy who is thirteen and named Brian Robeson. He is going to visit his dad but his plane crashes, but before he got on the plane, his mom gave him a hatchet as a present. Later on it is his most pries position, it is what helps him with hunting and building. He is all alone out somewhere out in the wilderness. He has to survive animal attacks, starvation, and storms, hoping someone will rescue him.


The writer, Gary Paulsen, got his ideas from when he was a child he was fascinated by nature. My favorite line in the book is, he turned back to his campsite and looked to the wreckage. He had a lot to do, rebuild the shelter, get a new fire going find some food or get ready to find some food, make weapons-and he had to work slowly because his ribs hurt. It is based on realistic fiction, and is a really good book. I would recommend this book to every one nine and older. Some other books written by Gary Paulsen are Brains Winter, Brains Hunt, Dancing Carl, Dogsong, Sentries, and Tracker. Hatchet has also won the Newbery Honor Book Award. My brother and dad both read it and said it was one of the best books they have ever read, they didnt want to put it down and I am almost sure you wont either.


            I think every one should read this book, it is adventurous and mysterious. I liked it very muck and I think you will to.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

8 results - showing 1 - 8
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
Grayson Ryan Written by Grayson Ryan
March 19, 2012
Yes,I agree it is very excited i really enjoyed the book very much. At some chapters i could not put the book down.
audrey Written by audrey
March 19, 2012
I agree! I loved this book because Brian had to face a lot of problems against nature and animals. It was interesting to see what was going to happen to him next. The thing I loved most about this book is they made a movie about this book. The only thing is the movie was a little different than the book. I really think you should read this book Hatchet!! :)
In reply to an earlier comment

audrey Written by audrey
March 19, 2012
HAHHAHAH Same!!!
In reply to an earlier comment

Grayson Ryan Written by Grayson Ryan
March 19, 2012
The book was very different from the movie lolollolll hahhaahhahahahahhaahhahhahahahh!!!!!
In reply to an earlier comment

audrey Written by audrey
March 19, 2012
IKR!!!!! HAHHAHHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHHHAHAHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHHAHHAHHHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHAHH
In reply to an earlier comment

Lauren Written by Lauren
March 19, 2012
I love this bookkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk....................nottttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt
In reply to an earlier comment

audrey Written by audrey
March 19, 2012
SAmmmeeeee!!HAHAHHA
In reply to an earlier comment

Lauren Written by Lauren
March 19, 2012
The book was to boyish!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
8 results - showing 1 - 8
 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)