Review Detail

 
Kids Fiction
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Hatchet

Reader reviewed by Raelyn

            Hatchet is the most exciting and thrilling book Ive ever read. It is about a boy who is thirteen and named Brian Robeson. He is going to visit his dad but his plane crashes, but before he got on the plane, his mom gave him a hatchet as a present. Later on it is his most pries position, it is what helps him with hunting and building. He is all alone out somewhere out in the wilderness. He has to survive animal attacks, starvation, and storms, hoping someone will rescue him.


The writer, Gary Paulsen, got his ideas from when he was a child he was fascinated by nature. My favorite line in the book is, he turned back to his campsite and looked to the wreckage. He had a lot to do, rebuild the shelter, get a new fire going find some food or get ready to find some food, make weapons-and he had to work slowly because his ribs hurt. It is based on realistic fiction, and is a really good book. I would recommend this book to every one nine and older. Some other books written by Gary Paulsen are Brains Winter, Brains Hunt, Dancing Carl, Dogsong, Sentries, and Tracker. Hatchet has also won the Newbery Honor Book Award. My brother and dad both read it and said it was one of the best books they have ever read, they didnt want to put it down and I am almost sure you wont either.


            I think every one should read this book, it is adventurous and mysterious. I liked it very muck and I think you will to.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

8 results - showing 1 - 8  
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
Grayson Ryan Written by Grayson Ryan
March 19, 2012
Yes,I agree it is very excited i really enjoyed the book very much. At some chapters i could not put the book down.
audrey Written by audrey
March 19, 2012
I agree! I loved this book because Brian had to face a lot of problems against nature and animals. It was interesting to see what was going to happen to him next. The thing I loved most about this book is they made a movie about this book. The only thing is the movie was a little different than the book. I really think you should read this book Hatchet!! :)
In reply to an earlier comment

audrey Written by audrey
March 19, 2012
HAHHAHAH Same!!!
In reply to an earlier comment

Grayson Ryan Written by Grayson Ryan
March 19, 2012
The book was very different from the movie lolollolll hahhaahhahahahahhaahhahhahahahh!!!!!
In reply to an earlier comment

audrey Written by audrey
March 19, 2012
IKR!!!!! HAHHAHHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHHHAHAHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHHAHHAHHHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHAHH
In reply to an earlier comment

Lauren Written by Lauren
March 19, 2012
I love this bookkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk....................nottttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt
In reply to an earlier comment

audrey Written by audrey
March 19, 2012
SAmmmeeeee!!HAHAHHA
In reply to an earlier comment

Lauren Written by Lauren
March 19, 2012
The book was to boyish!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
8 results - showing 1 - 8  
 
 
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

25664625.jpg
Little Red is on her way to visit Auntie Rosie...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
27210475.jpg
For fans of Fancy Nancy, Ladybug Girl, and Chu’s First...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cake Pop Crush
Alicia Ramirez has always loved baking. Her family owns Say...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Recreated (The Reawakened Series)
From Colleen Houck, New York Times bestselling author of...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Still a Gorilla
Will Willy be another type of animal? No! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Please Say Please
How do you ask for what you'd like? Do...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pete the Cat's Got Class
New York Times bestselling author and artist James Dean brings...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Quinn Cutler is sixteen and the daughter of a high-profile...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
THE GHOST CHRONICLES
***Finalist in the National Indie Excellence Awards for Young...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Children of Icarus
Daedelum's children pray for the honor of being chosen...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Run
Run
Bo Dickinson is a girl with a wild reputation,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Lost-in-Wonderland-evernightpublishing-JayAheer2016-smallpreview.jpg
Monsters, serial killers, and imaginary friends—being a Wonderlander can...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
P.S. I Like You
Signed, sealed, delivered... While spacing out in Chemistry class,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Drawing Lesson: A Graphic Novel That Teaches You How to Draw
For the first time ever, drawing instructor and graphic novelist...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rose & Thorn (Ash & Bramble #2)
This beauty isn’t sleeping! Sarah Prineas’s darkly imaginative retelling breaks...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Retreat (The After Trilogy: Book One)
Earth was ruined. Humankind destroyed. And it’s old news. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)