Review Detail

 
Kids Fiction
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Hatchet

Reader reviewed by Raelyn

            Hatchet is the most exciting and thrilling book Ive ever read. It is about a boy who is thirteen and named Brian Robeson. He is going to visit his dad but his plane crashes, but before he got on the plane, his mom gave him a hatchet as a present. Later on it is his most pries position, it is what helps him with hunting and building. He is all alone out somewhere out in the wilderness. He has to survive animal attacks, starvation, and storms, hoping someone will rescue him.


The writer, Gary Paulsen, got his ideas from when he was a child he was fascinated by nature. My favorite line in the book is, he turned back to his campsite and looked to the wreckage. He had a lot to do, rebuild the shelter, get a new fire going find some food or get ready to find some food, make weapons-and he had to work slowly because his ribs hurt. It is based on realistic fiction, and is a really good book. I would recommend this book to every one nine and older. Some other books written by Gary Paulsen are Brains Winter, Brains Hunt, Dancing Carl, Dogsong, Sentries, and Tracker. Hatchet has also won the Newbery Honor Book Award. My brother and dad both read it and said it was one of the best books they have ever read, they didnt want to put it down and I am almost sure you wont either.


            I think every one should read this book, it is adventurous and mysterious. I liked it very muck and I think you will to.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

8 results - showing 1 - 8  
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
Grayson Ryan Written by Grayson Ryan
March 19, 2012
Yes,I agree it is very excited i really enjoyed the book very much. At some chapters i could not put the book down.
audrey Written by audrey
March 19, 2012
I agree! I loved this book because Brian had to face a lot of problems against nature and animals. It was interesting to see what was going to happen to him next. The thing I loved most about this book is they made a movie about this book. The only thing is the movie was a little different than the book. I really think you should read this book Hatchet!! :)
In reply to an earlier comment

audrey Written by audrey
March 19, 2012
HAHHAHAH Same!!!
In reply to an earlier comment

Grayson Ryan Written by Grayson Ryan
March 19, 2012
The book was very different from the movie lolollolll hahhaahhahahahahhaahhahhahahahh!!!!!
In reply to an earlier comment

audrey Written by audrey
March 19, 2012
IKR!!!!! HAHHAHHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHHHAHAHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHHAHHAHHHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHAHH
In reply to an earlier comment

Lauren Written by Lauren
March 19, 2012
I love this bookkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk....................nottttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt
In reply to an earlier comment

audrey Written by audrey
March 19, 2012
SAmmmeeeee!!HAHAHHA
In reply to an earlier comment

Lauren Written by Lauren
March 19, 2012
The book was to boyish!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
8 results - showing 1 - 8  
 
 
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Starflight
Solara Brooks needs a fresh start, someplace where nobody cares...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
summer marked.jpg
Fresh off a break-up with her boyfriend, Kadie's glad to...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
catacomb.jpg
The heart-stopping third book in the New York Times bestselling...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)