Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Compelling Tale

Ruby dreams of leaving the Congregation and the cruel rule of slaver Darwin West and his Overseers. Each day is a struggle to collect precious water. The work is brutal. They still live as if it's 1812, the year they were all enslaved.

Ruby's mother leads the Congregation with hopes that their savior will come and deliver them. All Ruby sees though is endless work and brutality.

Then Ruby falls in love with Ford, a new Overseer, who's unlike anyone she's met before. She longs to run away with him and leave the Congregation behind. Guilt holds her back as it's her blood that makes the water so special. Without it, the Congregation will die.

This is a compelling dystopia tale of a girl and the struggles she goes through with her so-called calling and her desire to follow her heart. Ruby's trials are heartbreaking especially when she witnesses her mother's daily beatings by a cruel overlord.

I wanted Ruby to escape with Ford. I also thought the Congregation was selfish to make her feel she had to stay. Ford's character showed hope, something the whole Congregation longed for. I was curious though how the 'outside' world didn't know about the Congregation. That aspect of this tale had The Village by M. Night Shyamalan feel to it. Both have societies hidden by the modern world. Both have terrible secrets though in Drought I felt as if Ruby did end up making the choice on whether she should stay or follow her heart. Plus the characters in Drought are more fleshed out like how Ruby's own mother isn't exactly honest with her and the others.

Another Egmont winner!

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

Ninja Bunny: Sister vs. Brother
A hilarious new Ninja Bunny adventure featuring a humongous carrot,...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Lost and The Found
Fans of Lucy Christopher’s Stolen, Caroline B. Cooney’s The Face...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Dragons from Mars
For fans of Dragons Love Tacos comes a fun, silly...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Grandparents Love Me
From the illustrator of I Love Dad and I Love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Be the Change: A Grandfather Gandhi Story
In this breathtaking companion to the award-winning Grandfather Gandhi, Arun...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Five-Minute True Stories: Animal BFFs
Joker the dog loves to dive in and swim with...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Applesauce Weather
When the first apple falls from the tree, Faith and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Killer In Me
Hasn't he lived long enough? Why not? I could take...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The domed city of Evanescence is in ruins. With nowhere...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“It’s dark magic brings him back.” ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mission Mumbai: A Novel of Sacred Cows, Snakes, and Stolen Toilets
Travel to the colorful and chaotic streets of India from...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreams
Moving on is the hardest thing she’ll ever have to...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Call
The Hunger Games meets horror in this unforgettable thriller...
 
3.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Piper and Ash's story concludes in the fifth and final...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Piper is feeling a bit overwhelmed. With Seiya and Lyre...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
2015 Goodreads Choice Awards - Nominee in Best Fantasy ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)