Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
Reader reviewed by Brandy Alexander

Summary:

Melinda Sordino is raped at a summer party prior toher freshman year of high school. She calls the police for help, and the party ends up being raided. Everyone find's out she's the one who called the police. And by her first day of high school her friends,a dn everyone else shun her. Throughout the year she struggles to keep a friend, make a friend, keep up in school, and deal with the fact that she was raped.

Opinion:

To be completely honest, I did not enjoy this book. I felt that it was typical, predictable, lousy, and unoriginal. I feel like the storylibe is over used and then fabricated, which makes it worse. Also, I felt like her writing was forceful, like she had to forcefully pull the words out one by one, and over thought it as well. This is not meant to insult Laurie Halse Andersn nor her novel, it's ust my genuine opinion. I do beleve she has the potential as a professional writer to write better than she has.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader December 05, 2010
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Honestly...

Reader reviewed by Brandy Alexander

Summary:

Melinda Sordino is raped at a summer party prior toher freshman year of high school. She calls the police for help, and the party ends up being raided. Everyone find's out she's the one who called the police. And by her first day of high school her friends,a dn everyone else shun her. Throughout the year she struggles to keep a friend, make a friend, keep up in school, and deal with the fact that she was raped.

Opinion:

To be completely honest, I did not enjoy this book. I felt that it was typical, predictable, lousy, and unoriginal. I feel like the storylibe is over used and then fabricated, which makes it worse. Also, I felt like her writing was forceful, like she had to forcefully pull the words out one by one, and over thought it as well. This is not meant to insult Laurie Halse Andersn nor her novel, it's ust my genuine opinion. I do beleve she has the potential as a professional writer to write better than she has.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

1 results - showing 1 - 1
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
Ivy Written by Ivy
April 08, 2012
You pretty much gave away the book by telling that she was raped.
1 results - showing 1 - 1
 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
After a year at the king's palace, Miri has learned all about being a proper princess. But the tables turn...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Hopper is just an ordinary pet shop mouse before he escapes. Soon he finds himself below the bustling streets of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
The battle to free Titus's camps is over, and Hopper, Zucker, Firren, and their loyal followers are working to rebuild....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Tori Porter is best friends with her mom, and most of the time it’s awesome. Not many girls have a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
London's Youngest detective is back . . . Darkus Knightley, tweed-wearing, megabrained, fiercely logical thirteen-year-old investigator of the weird, was...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ari’s mother died four years ago, she had two final wishes: that Ari and her older brother, Gage, would...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A boy hunter, the president of the United States, and a terrorist plot converge to create an original and thrilling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rory and her friends are reeling from a series of sudden and tragic events. While racked with grief, Rory tries...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the most part, aspiring screenwriter Jack Bell is just your typical Midwestern kid. He’s got a crush on his...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
4.7 (1)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)