Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
Reader reviewed by Brandy Alexander

Summary:

Melinda Sordino is raped at a summer party prior toher freshman year of high school. She calls the police for help, and the party ends up being raided. Everyone find's out she's the one who called the police. And by her first day of high school her friends,a dn everyone else shun her. Throughout the year she struggles to keep a friend, make a friend, keep up in school, and deal with the fact that she was raped.

Opinion:

To be completely honest, I did not enjoy this book. I felt that it was typical, predictable, lousy, and unoriginal. I feel like the storylibe is over used and then fabricated, which makes it worse. Also, I felt like her writing was forceful, like she had to forcefully pull the words out one by one, and over thought it as well. This is not meant to insult Laurie Halse Andersn nor her novel, it's ust my genuine opinion. I do beleve she has the potential as a professional writer to write better than she has.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader December 05, 2010
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Honestly...

Reader reviewed by Brandy Alexander

Summary:

Melinda Sordino is raped at a summer party prior toher freshman year of high school. She calls the police for help, and the party ends up being raided. Everyone find's out she's the one who called the police. And by her first day of high school her friends,a dn everyone else shun her. Throughout the year she struggles to keep a friend, make a friend, keep up in school, and deal with the fact that she was raped.

Opinion:

To be completely honest, I did not enjoy this book. I felt that it was typical, predictable, lousy, and unoriginal. I feel like the storylibe is over used and then fabricated, which makes it worse. Also, I felt like her writing was forceful, like she had to forcefully pull the words out one by one, and over thought it as well. This is not meant to insult Laurie Halse Andersn nor her novel, it's ust my genuine opinion. I do beleve she has the potential as a professional writer to write better than she has.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

1 results - showing 1 - 1
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
Ivy Written by Ivy
April 08, 2012
You pretty much gave away the book by telling that she was raped.
1 results - showing 1 - 1
 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)