Review Detail

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Popular Read In My Classroom

I SURVIVED SHARK ATTACKS 1916 has been hugely popular since arriving in my classroom last month. It's fairly short, always a plus with reluctant readers. Students have been talking to each other about it. But most of all, it's good.
Chet Roscow is a ten year old boy living with his Uncle Jerry in New Jersey. Chets parents are away in California. His dad, a dreamer, can not stay in one place for very long, so Chet has bounced around place to place before finding stability with his uncle.
Even though Chet has not been living in the beach town of Elm Hills long, he has made three friends, and the four of them enjoy playing pranks on each other. Because of this, the author is able to implant a few feux attacks early on, which in my opinion, builds suspense for young readers.
Uncle Charlie owns a store in town, which serves as a meeting place for the adults, and sometimes Chet and his three friends. In the store, news comes of a shark attack just a few towns away from Elm Hills.
Uncle Jerry immediately scoffs at the story. He is under the impression that sharks will not attack people. He even goes as far to say he would be willing to dive into the same water where the attack occurred.
An older customer in the store, Captain Wilson, tells a different story. He is a former whaling captain and has seen shark attacks, which is described by the author in great detail.
Without ruining too much of the endingat least the parts which arent obvious because of the titlethe actual shark attack is somewhat surprising. And even reading about it nearly one hundred years after it happened, its still amazing that such an attack occurred where it did.
I think this book will be attractive to boys because there is a good deal of gore described when the attacks occur. Uncle Jerry is a former baseball player and shares a few interesting anecdotes. And the fifteen or so samples of art work throughout the novel are very eye catching. There is also the hint of an age-appropriate love story involving Chet and a girl from his neighborhood named Minnie.
The back of the book offers about ten facts about sharks and shark attacks that I found interesting and would think younger readers would as well.
Even though this is a middle-grade title, I highly recommended it to my students, who are struggling readers in the eighth grade. Several have taken out the book and read it in less than a day. They seemed to have really enjoyed it.
The author, Lauren Tarshis, also has books entitled, I SURVIVED THE SINKING OF THE TITANIC, 1912; I SURVIVED THE BOMBING OF PEARL HARBOR, 1942; and I SURVIVED HURRICANE KATRINA, 2005. I will read all three eventually.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

Nothando's Journey
Nothando’s Journey is a journey in self-discovery told through the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
sam miracle.png
This new fantasy-adventure series from N. D. Wilson, bestselling author...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Xalata Orbit and Melody Fret: The Hammer of Asttar
Xalata Orbit meets danger head-on when she leaves a troubled...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)