Review Detail

I SURVIVED SHARK ATTACKS 1916 has been hugely popular since arriving in my classroom last month. It's fairly short, always a plus with reluctant readers. Students have been talking to each other about it. But most of all, it's good.
Chet Roscow is a ten year old boy living with his Uncle Jerry in New Jersey. Chets parents are away in California. His dad, a dreamer, can not stay in one place for very long, so Chet has bounced around place to place before finding stability with his uncle.
Even though Chet has not been living in the beach town of Elm Hills long, he has made three friends, and the four of them enjoy playing pranks on each other. Because of this, the author is able to implant a few feux attacks early on, which in my opinion, builds suspense for young readers.
Uncle Charlie owns a store in town, which serves as a meeting place for the adults, and sometimes Chet and his three friends. In the store, news comes of a shark attack just a few towns away from Elm Hills.
Uncle Jerry immediately scoffs at the story. He is under the impression that sharks will not attack people. He even goes as far to say he would be willing to dive into the same water where the attack occurred.
An older customer in the store, Captain Wilson, tells a different story. He is a former whaling captain and has seen shark attacks, which is described by the author in great detail.
Without ruining too much of the endingat least the parts which arent obvious because of the titlethe actual shark attack is somewhat surprising. And even reading about it nearly one hundred years after it happened, its still amazing that such an attack occurred where it did.
I think this book will be attractive to boys because there is a good deal of gore described when the attacks occur. Uncle Jerry is a former baseball player and shares a few interesting anecdotes. And the fifteen or so samples of art work throughout the novel are very eye catching. There is also the hint of an age-appropriate love story involving Chet and a girl from his neighborhood named Minnie.
The back of the book offers about ten facts about sharks and shark attacks that I found interesting and would think younger readers would as well.
Even though this is a middle-grade title, I highly recommended it to my students, who are struggling readers in the eighth grade. Several have taken out the book and read it in less than a day. They seemed to have really enjoyed it.
The author, Lauren Tarshis, also has books entitled, I SURVIVED THE SINKING OF THE TITANIC, 1912; I SURVIVED THE BOMBING OF PEARL HARBOR, 1942; and I SURVIVED HURRICANE KATRINA, 2005. I will read all three eventually.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Maarten Vlaar Reviewed by Maarten Vlaar November 19, 2010
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (11)

Popular Read In My Classroom

I SURVIVED SHARK ATTACKS 1916 has been hugely popular since arriving in my classroom last month. It's fairly short, always a plus with reluctant readers. Students have been talking to each other about it. But most of all, it's good.
Chet Roscow is a ten year old boy living with his Uncle Jerry in New Jersey. Chets parents are away in California. His dad, a dreamer, can not stay in one place for very long, so Chet has bounced around place to place before finding stability with his uncle.
Even though Chet has not been living in the beach town of Elm Hills long, he has made three friends, and the four of them enjoy playing pranks on each other. Because of this, the author is able to implant a few feux attacks early on, which in my opinion, builds suspense for young readers.
Uncle Charlie owns a store in town, which serves as a meeting place for the adults, and sometimes Chet and his three friends. In the store, news comes of a shark attack just a few towns away from Elm Hills.
Uncle Jerry immediately scoffs at the story. He is under the impression that sharks will not attack people. He even goes as far to say he would be willing to dive into the same water where the attack occurred.
An older customer in the store, Captain Wilson, tells a different story. He is a former whaling captain and has seen shark attacks, which is described by the author in great detail.
Without ruining too much of the endingat least the parts which arent obvious because of the titlethe actual shark attack is somewhat surprising. And even reading about it nearly one hundred years after it happened, its still amazing that such an attack occurred where it did.
I think this book will be attractive to boys because there is a good deal of gore described when the attacks occur. Uncle Jerry is a former baseball player and shares a few interesting anecdotes. And the fifteen or so samples of art work throughout the novel are very eye catching. There is also the hint of an age-appropriate love story involving Chet and a girl from his neighborhood named Minnie.
The back of the book offers about ten facts about sharks and shark attacks that I found interesting and would think younger readers would as well.
Even though this is a middle-grade title, I highly recommended it to my students, who are struggling readers in the eighth grade. Several have taken out the book and read it in less than a day. They seemed to have really enjoyed it.
The author, Lauren Tarshis, also has books entitled, I SURVIVED THE SINKING OF THE TITANIC, 1912; I SURVIVED THE BOMBING OF PEARL HARBOR, 1942; and I SURVIVED HURRICANE KATRINA, 2005. I will read all three eventually.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)