Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
Reader reviewed by Julie M. Prince

It was a pleasure to receive a copy of another book by Elizabeth C. Bunce. Given the unique premise and tight writing of her award-winning debut novel, A Curse Dark as Gold, my expectations were high, and Bunce did not disappoint.

StarCrossed is a very different animal from Curse, so I think that in addition to Bunce fans looking for more of her great characters and intriguing plot lines, a new and diverse audience will be pleasantly surprised to find themselves transported to a different world. One with seven moons. One in which magic exists, but is forbidden.

And smack in the middle of this celestial world is Digger--aka Celyn Contrare--a lovable gutter-rat thief living on the city streets of Gerse before being driven into the countryside under the guise of serving as a young noblewoman's maid.

Readers will be quick to appreciate this sharp, self-deprecating protagonist, and quicker to forgive her certain transgressions than she is to forgive herself.

Nimble of fingers and quick of wit, Digger downplays her own important role the uprising she stumbles upon--a movement to bring acceptance of all people into a kingdom of rigidity, disapproval, and cruelty.

All in all, it's obvious why Bunce's editors signed on for a sequel--Liar's Moon. Readers will be eager to follow the master storyteller for the long-haul, into war and beyond.

Off to turn another page....
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader October 01, 2010
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Celestial Treat

Reader reviewed by Julie M. Prince

It was a pleasure to receive a copy of another book by Elizabeth C. Bunce. Given the unique premise and tight writing of her award-winning debut novel, A Curse Dark as Gold, my expectations were high, and Bunce did not disappoint.

StarCrossed is a very different animal from Curse, so I think that in addition to Bunce fans looking for more of her great characters and intriguing plot lines, a new and diverse audience will be pleasantly surprised to find themselves transported to a different world. One with seven moons. One in which magic exists, but is forbidden.

And smack in the middle of this celestial world is Digger--aka Celyn Contrare--a lovable gutter-rat thief living on the city streets of Gerse before being driven into the countryside under the guise of serving as a young noblewoman's maid.

Readers will be quick to appreciate this sharp, self-deprecating protagonist, and quicker to forgive her certain transgressions than she is to forgive herself.

Nimble of fingers and quick of wit, Digger downplays her own important role the uprising she stumbles upon--a movement to bring acceptance of all people into a kingdom of rigidity, disapproval, and cruelty.

All in all, it's obvious why Bunce's editors signed on for a sequel--Liar's Moon. Readers will be eager to follow the master storyteller for the long-haul, into war and beyond.

Off to turn another page....

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
Perfect for fans of Margaret Peterson Haddix, When You Reach Me, and Savvy, this charming time-travel story from husband-and-wife team...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Bees.jpg
The Handmaid’s Tale meets The Hunger Games in this brilliantly imagined debut set in an ancient culture where only the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Damian Cass died when he was a teenager at the hands of his own father. A hateful soul afterwards, and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Gladys Gatsby has been cooking gourmet dishes since the age of seven, only her fast-food-loving parents have no idea! Now...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Becky Thatcher has her side of the story to tell—and it’s a whopper—in this creative spin on Mark Twain’s beloved...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
An all-new, mesmerizing adventure from the masterful Gordon Korman! Jackson Opus has always been persuasive, but he doesn't know that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Jax Opus knows he's not like other kids. And it isn't his skill on the basketball court or his test...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Jesse is a wide receiver for the freshman team. Can he play against type and help his team as a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Kate’s older sister is way too perfect. Her younger sister is way too cute. And her mom wants her to...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Sarah Robinson is deeply troubled in the wake of her dad’s second marriage. She now has to deal with a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this romantic and evocative fantasy, Najwa is a jinni, training to be a spy in the war against the...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
There’s something strange going on at Washington Irving Elementary School. Kids are turning into monsters—literally! First it was Sebastian, then...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Chase Clark just upped his game. As an eighth grader, he scores the chance to play on the varsity football...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lauren has a secret. Colby has a problem. But when they find each other, everything falls into place. In alternating...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Alek Khederian should have guessed something was wrong when his parents took him to a restaurant. Everyone knows that Armenians...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Larissa Renaud starts receiving eerie phone calls on a disconnected old phone in her family's antique shop, she knows...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can you fall in love with a voice? This witty romance, told entirely through phone calls, chronicles the tale of...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Julia Buchanan enrolls at St. Anne’s at the beginning of junior year, Charlotte Ryder already knows all about the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Valentina Cruz no longer exists. One moment, she was wrapped in Emilio’s arms, melting into his kiss. The next, she...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Clyde has worked for Mr. Wilkshire for a very long time. Life is comfortable in his keeper's chateau—until Mr. Wilkshire...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)