Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Celestial Treat

Reader reviewed by Julie M. Prince

It was a pleasure to receive a copy of another book by Elizabeth C. Bunce. Given the unique premise and tight writing of her award-winning debut novel, A Curse Dark as Gold, my expectations were high, and Bunce did not disappoint.

StarCrossed is a very different animal from Curse, so I think that in addition to Bunce fans looking for more of her great characters and intriguing plot lines, a new and diverse audience will be pleasantly surprised to find themselves transported to a different world. One with seven moons. One in which magic exists, but is forbidden.

And smack in the middle of this celestial world is Digger--aka Celyn Contrare--a lovable gutter-rat thief living on the city streets of Gerse before being driven into the countryside under the guise of serving as a young noblewoman's maid.

Readers will be quick to appreciate this sharp, self-deprecating protagonist, and quicker to forgive her certain transgressions than she is to forgive herself.

Nimble of fingers and quick of wit, Digger downplays her own important role the uprising she stumbles upon--a movement to bring acceptance of all people into a kingdom of rigidity, disapproval, and cruelty.

All in all, it's obvious why Bunce's editors signed on for a sequel--Liar's Moon. Readers will be eager to follow the master storyteller for the long-haul, into war and beyond.

Off to turn another page....

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

Nothando's Journey
Nothando’s Journey is a journey in self-discovery told through the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
sam miracle.png
This new fantasy-adventure series from N. D. Wilson, bestselling author...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Xalata Orbit and Melody Fret: The Hammer of Asttar
Xalata Orbit meets danger head-on when she leaves a troubled...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)