Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

A Different World

Reader reviewed by Rita Lorraine Hubbard, The Original H.I.R. (Historical Investigative Reporter)

Lockdown, by New York Times bestselling author, Walter Dean Myers, is a beautiful story. So just how can a book with handcuffs on its cover, and a title like "lockdown" be beautiful? It can...especially when it's the story of a troubled teen who wants more out of life than drive-by's, beat-downs, and drugs on the corner, and he's on his own to figure out how to get it.

Now, don't get me wrong, Lockdown isn't a mushy story; not by a longshot. The main character, Reese Anderson, is a tough one. He knows how to use his hands to keep other inmates off him, and he does just that on more than one occasion. He knows how to look hard so no one will think he's weak, and he even knows how to skim over the bad stuff so his little sister thinks everything's fine in juvy-jail, when it's really awful.

Yet Reese has a softer side--a side that many people who see teens in cuffs don't bother to look for. He feels fear and uncertainty over his future. He feels compassion for a lonely old crank in a nursing home who hurls insults at everyone, when all he really needs is to be understood. But most of all, he hates watching weak kids in juvy get beat down just because they're weak, and he's willing to stop that from happening, even if it means more time added to his calendar.

Yes, Reese--who is considered so dangerous he's cuffed to a van rail each time he's transported somewhere, is actually a kind soul. His one mistake--and boy, was it a big one--was to break into a doctor's office, steal some blank prescription pads, and sell them to a drug dealer. But once he's incarcerated, Reese has time to figure out where he went wrong; what his life was, and what it could be if he can just make it to the end of his sentence.

I found this book touching on many levels. I felt Reese's hopelessness as he pondered his "raggedy" home life...that same life he would be returning to upon his release. I marveled at the cluelessness of those into whose hands these troubled teens fall--not because they expect them to pay for what they've done (for well they should), but because they can't seem to find better solutions for their lives once the payment has been rendered. I rejoiced with Reese as he gloried in his little sister's bold dream of becoming the first woman president, but I also held back a mother's tears, because no one important in Reese's life ever helped him realize his potential...and that, my friend, is just a darn shame.

If you want a well-written, moving, in-your-face read that explores real life, real problems and real solutions, be sure to pick up a copy of Lockdown. It's a different world.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

Resist: 35 Profiles of Ordinary People Who Rose Up Against Tyranny and Injustice
A perfect tool for young readers as they grow into...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Truth as Told by Mason Buttle
From the critically acclaimed author of Waiting for Normal and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Side by Side A Novel of Bonnie and Clyde
Texas: 1931. It’s the height of the Great Depression, and...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Voyage of the Dogs
SOS. Ship damaged. Human crew missing. We are...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Shorty & Clem Blast Off!
The energetic and zany duo Shorty and Clem are back,...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Bear's Spooky Book of Hidden Things: Halloween Seek-and-Find
If you want to keep kids happily busy for hours...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Strange New World
Dahlia 16's life is a lie. The city of...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Like Never And Always
Liv Burnham thinks nobody knows Morgan Frost like she...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Outcasts- The Blood Dagger: Volume 1
Mystical relics. Powerful vampires. Strange allies. It's hell being...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ascent (A Peak Marcello Adventure #3)
After conquering the mountains in Afghanistan, Peak Marcello goes...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Here to Stay
For most of high school, Bijan Majidi has flown under...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Hiding Lies
At Holden Prep, dirty little secrets always have a way...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
We, The Lucky Few
"Each time I think this night reaches its lowest...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Burning Maze (The Trials of Apollo, #3)
The formerly glorious god Apollo, cast down to earth...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meg has it made. She has money to spare, attends...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Red Ribbon
Shining a light on a little-known aspect of the Holocaust,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Sneaking Out
 
3.8
" ‘Sneaking Out’ is the first installment in the ‘Chase’ series. The setting is an elite New England..."
Bleeding Hearts
 
3.0
"The story: Nancy Miller is a poor, illiterate teenage girl scrounging out a meager living in Edinburgh. On the..."
All-American Liars
 
3.8
"'All-American Liars' by Emily Kazmierski shines a light on the lies people tell themselves and others to help save face..."
 
4.0
"A short and fun read. The story: Megera is in danger of having to leave her private school when..."
This Summer
 
4.0
"A sweet romance highlighting the fragile hearts of youth. The story: Hadley is determined to have a good summer..."
Emerge: The Heir (Immortals of Indriell Book 4)
 
5.0
"A shining star in a great series. The story: Picking up years after the last time we saw Allie..."
Faded
 
5.0
"'Faded' by Melanie Hooyenga is the third installment in her 'Flicker Effect' series. It is not always true that a..."
When Fall Breaks
 
3.8
"'When Fall Breaks' by Julie Solano and Tracy Justice had a lot of interesting scenarios going on that are not..."
Emerge: The Assignment: An Immortals of Indriell Novella
 
5.0
"A great side story for anyone following this series. The story: Tessa is a fighter, but she believes she..."
 
5.0
"Fans of Laurie Halse Anderson, John Green, 13 Reasons Why, All the Bright Places and It’s Kind of a Funny..."
Ruthless Magic
 
5.0
"The story: In a world that knows magic exists there are only some people who have the power to wield..."
The Unusual Suspects
 
4.8
"Fourteen year old Bulgarian, Nia, is attacked while taking a train across Europe (she is going to face her cheating..."
Heart of Mine
 
4.7
"A sweet and clean royal romance with a hint of mystery and suspense."
Emerge: The Captive: (Book 3)
 
5.0
"The story: Captured by an Immortal organisation called Soma, Quinn struggles to keep his secrets hidden from his captors. Secrets..."
White Knights
 
4.3
"Angel is a genius at school and also a talented hacker. She mostly uses her gift of coding to search..."
A Thousand Salt Kisses
 
2.0
""A Thousand Salt Kisses" is the story of a young woman named Crystal who meets (later discovered to be) a..."
A Mortal Song
 
3.0
"Sora has been raised by the kami in Mt. Fuji and enjoys her life with her parents and her best..."
Below Northern Lights
 
3.5
" Lucas Santiago is injured war veteran and as a result of his injuries, has ended up in..."
22 Scars
 
4.8
"Amy leads a tortured life. She has a monster for a father and a distant mother. Amy self-harms and has..."
Karina
 
5.0
"Karina is that rare book that both instructs and delights. In this captivating young adult novel, the reader sees the..."