Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

The Truth Behind Modeling

Violet on the Runway is the story of a completely ordinary girls rise to stardom in the modeling world. For any girl who has ever dreamed of walking on the catwalk in New York Fashion Week, Melissa Walker delivers a must-read story that gives readers a behind-the-scenes glimpse into the allure and secrets of modeling. As a former editor for magazines such as ElleGirl and Seventeen, Walker has plenty of experience working with models, which gives her story much-needed credibility. With so many model stereotypes and celebrity rumors, Violet on the Runway serves as a very believable story of what to expect when you're suddenly thrust in the spotlight.

Before meeting Angela and her oversize Chanel sunglasses, Violet had never considered modeling. Shes tall and skinny, but in an awkward way, and shes never thought of herself as beautiful. But Angela insists on flying Violet and her mother out to New York City and giving Violet a modeling contract with Tryst. Angela gushes over Violets fresh, innocent look, and pampers her with designer clothing and luxurious spa treatments. With agents, photographers, and designers all believing that Violet is the next big thing in the fashion world, Violet begins to believe in herself too. Maybe a country bumpkin from North Carolina really can conquer the fashion world!

Its a hard decision, but Violet decides to forgo her last semester of high school to live in New York City with the other Tryst models and jumpstart her career. Why spend any more time being a wallflower at school when she can be rocking the runway and appearing on magazine covers in NYC?

Violet is now living with Veronica Trask, the it girl of the fashion world and headline model at Tryst. Veronica, and some of the other models are stereotypically catty, doing anything to get themselves ahead. Sometimes Violet finds herself missing her friends at home, since she doesnt seem to have any real friends here. The models she lives with have all of the designer clothes they can dream of, and attend all the hippest parties at the most exclusive clubs in New York. But when Violet looks into their eyes, she sees a lingering sadness, even when theyre laughing and having a drink at a VIP table in Bungalow 8. Violet is determined to not become like them. She absolutely will not develop a drug habit or an eating disorder.

Even as she does her best to stay healthy and grounded, Violet is in over her head. The publicity, the gossip, the playboys, the backstabbing. Violet is getting so involved in this superficial world that its hard for her to step away and breathe. In the end, Violet must decide if the high profile modeling life is really for her. Is the glitz and glamour of modeling worth all of the stress and pressure that comes with it?

Walkers story of a dream come true puts a healthy dose of reality into catwalk fantasies. She is candid and honest in her portrayal of models and of the expectations that come with modeling. Violet on the Runway is a must read for any preteen or teenage girl who has ever considered a modeling career. For anyone who has modeling aspirations, Violet on the Runway is an alluring look at the side of modeling you never knew existed. And for anyone who wonders what really goes on behind those celebrity snapshots in gossip columns, this book is for you too!

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

UFO Spotted!: A Branches Book (Hilde Cracks the Case #4)
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ghoulia
Ghoulia lives in Crumbling Manor with her Auntie Departed and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lights, Camera, Carmen! (Carmen #2)
In the vein of Eloise, Olivia, and Fancy Nancy, Carmen...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, Life, and the List
Seventeen-year-old Abby Turner’s summer isn’t going the way she’d planned....
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Incredible True Story of the Making of the Eve of Destruction
Arkansas, 1984: The town of Griffin Flat is known for...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Absolutely Everything!: A History of Earth, Dinosaurs, Rulers, Robots and Other Things Too Numerous to Mention
Discover how science, nature and history connect in this fast-paced,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Sloth Who Slowed Us Down
When the speediest family in the world finds a sweet,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Little Golden Book About the Solar System
Little Golden Books introduces your young reader to the solar...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Enlightenment by Reno Ursal
When Dorothy Dizon meets the mysterious Adrian Rosario and his...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Flash: The Secret Files of Barry Allen: The Ultimate Guide to the Hit TV Show
My name is Barry Allen. You probably know me as...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An Assassin's Guide to Love & Treason
When Lady Katherine's father is killed for being an illegally...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blood Spell
Blue de la Cour has her life planned: hide the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ogre Enchanted
In this prequel to Ella Enchanted, which can stand on...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Home and Away
Tasia Quirk is young, Black, and fabulous. She's a senior,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mirage
In a star system dominated by the brutal Vathek empire,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dactyl Hill Squad
It's 1863 and dinosaurs roam the streets of New York...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Love, Life, and the List
 
4.3
"Abby's goal in life is to become a serious artist. Her hope is to get into a special art camp...."
The Incredible True Story of the Making of the Eve of Destruction
 
3.0
"It's 1984 and Laura Ratliff is a high school student with issues beyond a typical sixteen-year-old. Her mom and her..."
Beyond a Darkened Shore
 
4.7
"Top 4 Reasons to Grab BEYOND A DARKENED SHORE immediately: 1.) Historical fantasy worldbuilding: My biggest genre weakness..."
Onyx and Ivory
 
4.0
"Top 5 Reasons to Read Onyx and Ivory: 1.) The magic: Kate lives in a world where there are..."
The Flash: The Secret Files of Barry Allen: The Ultimate Guide to the Hit TV Show
 
5.0
"THE FLASH: THE SECRET FILES OF BARRY ALLEN is the perfect guide for the Flash tv show. The layout of..."
An Assassin's Guide to Love & Treason
 
4.0
"AN ASSASSIN’S GUIDE TO LOVE & TREASON by Virginia Boecker is such a breath of fresh air. It’s a YA..."
Giant Days
 
4.7
"Susan, Daisy and Esther are very different women, but they become fast friends after meeting on their college dorm floor...."
The Blood Spell
 
5.0
"Blue de la Cour enjoys her quiet life with her father, passing the days by working in the shop and..."
Mother Tongue
 
5.0
"As MOTHER TONGUE by Julie Mayhew begins, eighteen-year-old Darya envisions the bits of freedom she'll enjoy once her little sister,..."
Dungeons & Dragons: Into the Jungle: An Endless Quest Book
 
3.7
"Consider this a sort of D&D primer for intro-level youth. Told in second-person present-tense, this fantasy is styled after..."
Dungeons & Dragons: Big Trouble: An Endless Quest Book
 
3.0
"Told in second-person present-tense, this fantasy is styled after the beloved choose-your-own-adventure books of yore. It also features a vast..."
Parasite Life
 
4.7
"Jane is stuck in a creepy old house with her invalid mother. She has no idea why her mother is..."
Hearts Unbroken
 
N/A
"There are a lot of entry-points to the storylines in Cynthia Leitich Smith's Hearts Unbroken. I recommend this book especially..."
With Malice
 
5.0
"I loved this book, it kept me thinking afterwards for days. "The truth is how you tell it," take that..."
IF I FIX YOU
 
5.0
"The book is more like a 4.5 but I am going to give it a 5 star read because the..."
Enchantée
 
4.0
"After the death of her parents to smallpox, Camille Durbonne struggles to get by with her younger sister Sofie. One..."
The Penderwicks at Last
 
5.0
"THE PENDERWICKS AT LAST is the last in the series of Jeanne Birdsall's books about the Penderwick family. In this..."
Ever the Hunted (Clash of Kingdoms)
 
5.0
""Ever the Hunted" is an incredible YA fantasy with a touch of romance. The story begins with Britta, starving and..."
Bud, Not Buddy
 
4.7
"Bud not Buddy is awesome! im in year 9 and im reading it in school for an assignment. On the..."
The Star-Touched Queen
 
3.3
"I enjoyed this rich world. I felt like I was there seeing the lure with my own eyes. I loved..."