Review Detail

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
0.0
Learning Value 
 
0.0

Weird and Wonderful Feats

Everyone's heard of "Ripley's Believe it or not" but did you know there was a real man named Robert Ripley, who started the whole thing? He was a sports columnist for a New York newspaper, who decided to draw cartoons about bizarre events and people's amazing accomplishments. Ripley received as many as 170,000 letters a week from readers. One reader sent a letter telling how his dog, a beagle, ate pieces of glass. That boy was named Charles Schulz, the cartoonist who would grow up to write the Peanuts comic strip; the glass-chomping beagle would be the inspiration for Snoopy.

In this big, colorful book, you can read about such things as a daredevil dachshund who skydives with his owner; a burglar who was caught napping in an empty coffin in the funeral home he was trying to steal from; a man who has collected his own navel lint since 1984 (ugh); and (the man pictured on the cover of the book) a person who can put 264 drinking straws into his mouth. In addition, there are fascinating "Ripley Replay" snippets from long ago.

I'm a sucker for these books, which provide plenty of conversational topics for weeks. Tons of fun!

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

Let's Investigate with Nate #1: The Water Cycle
Bill Nye the Science Guy meets The Magic School Bus!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The 12 Dares of Christa
Christa is a holiday junkie. What’s not to love? There’s...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes
Things are looking up for Abbie Wu: this year she’ll...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
See Fred Run
Learning to read has never been more fun than it...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Monster of Selkirk Book I: The Duality of Nature
Monsters come in many forms, and not everyone knows a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where's Waldo? 30th Anniversary Edition
The amazing original that set off the worldwide search for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Little Girl Who Didn't Want to Go to Bed
The internet’s “World’s Best Father," award-winning photographer Dave Engledow, makes...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Being Fishkill
Fishkill Carmel fends for herself, with her fists if need...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Goldeline
Perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Namsara
Kristen Ciccarelli’s debut fantasy explores an intricately woven world of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Speak Easy, Speak Love
Six teenagers’ lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mr. Biddles
A funny picture book about friendship, in the tradition of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Uni the Unicorn and the Dream Come True
Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Brigette Barrager reunite to bring us...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Black Bird of the Gallows
simple but forgotten truth: Where harbingers of death appear,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Now, Not Ever
The sequel to The Only Thing Worse than Me Is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Prince and the Dressmaker
Paris, at the dawn of the modern age: ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Windchaser (Phantom Island #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Sonia Pennington  Mrs. Dallas's book is probably the best thing I've read in a long while. This..."
Windchaser (Phantom Island #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Ryan Gibbs Phantom Island: Wind is probably one of the best books I've read, in a long..."
Windchaser (Phantom Island #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Sara Lightfoot From the beginning Phantom Island indulges its reader with the drama of a teenage girl,..."
Windchaser (Phantom Island #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Lindsey Johnson Phantom Island, I've never felt more involved in a book ever in my life...."
Windchaser (Phantom Island #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Angie Brown Phantom Island : Wind is very possibly the best book I have ever read. It's..."
Windchaser (Phantom Island #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Amelia Phantom Island is a perfect book whether you're 40 or 10 or a girl or a..."