Review Detail

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
0.0
Learning Value 
 
0.0

Weird and Wonderful Feats

Everyone's heard of "Ripley's Believe it or not" but did you know there was a real man named Robert Ripley, who started the whole thing? He was a sports columnist for a New York newspaper, who decided to draw cartoons about bizarre events and people's amazing accomplishments. Ripley received as many as 170,000 letters a week from readers. One reader sent a letter telling how his dog, a beagle, ate pieces of glass. That boy was named Charles Schulz, the cartoonist who would grow up to write the Peanuts comic strip; the glass-chomping beagle would be the inspiration for Snoopy.

In this big, colorful book, you can read about such things as a daredevil dachshund who skydives with his owner; a burglar who was caught napping in an empty coffin in the funeral home he was trying to steal from; a man who has collected his own navel lint since 1984 (ugh); and (the man pictured on the cover of the book) a person who can put 264 drinking straws into his mouth. In addition, there are fascinating "Ripley Replay" snippets from long ago.

I'm a sucker for these books, which provide plenty of conversational topics for weeks. Tons of fun!

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

Silent
For fans of The Book Thief and Raiders of the...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
House of Furies
An all-new gothic horror series from the New York Times...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Theshipbeyondtime.jpg
The breathtaking sequel to the acclaimed The Girl from...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfall
A Nightmare on Elm Street meets Inception in this...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
10 Things I Can See From Here
Think positive. Don’t worry; be happy. Keep calm and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The History of Hilary Hambrushina
Hilary has one goal for her first year in junior...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Posted.png
From John David Anderson, author of the acclaimed Ms....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kat Richardson isn’t running away from grief; she’s just hiding...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wonder of Us
Riya and Abby are: Best friends. Complete opposites. Living...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Slope Rules
Fifteen-year old Cally accepted her fate as one of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Alex, Approximately
In this delightfully charming...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
31618483.jpg
A new action-packed adventure series for young fans of Alex...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
“Maybe, just maybe, if I can convince Dad that I’m...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Shae is sure the icy rage that claws at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In a future where time travel has been outlawed, a...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Raven King (The Raven Cycle, #4)
The fourth and final installment in the spellbinding series from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)