A Child Called "It": One Child's Courage to Survive (Dave Pelzer #1)

Hot
 
0.0
 
4.5 (98)
40394   1

User reviews

98 reviews

 
(67)
 
(18)
 
(8)
 
(1)
 
(4)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
 
4.5  (98)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
98 results - showing 71 - 80  
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

heartbreaking

Reader reviewed by terra

This is story about a little boy from the ages 4 to 12. From the time he is 5 he's beaten by his mother. She plays 'games' that he has to figure out in time or most likely die. He is forced to sleep on the old army cot in the basement. She starves him for days on end so he is forced to steal food. But the sadest thing of all is that this is a true story. This happens to kids all over the world every day. This is an amazing book that will open your eyes and touch your heart.If you havent read it sugest you do.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

A SAD BOOK LIKE YOU WOULDN'T BELIEVE!

Reader reviewed by Kayla

I thought this book was sooo sad. I cried almost throughout the whole book. I couldn't even imagine what David went through. I don't even know how he survived. I've read this book 3 times already within about 1 month and I'd really suggest for others to read this book.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

This book was so sad.

Reader reviewed by April

I was between books at the time and didn't know what to read, when my mom told me I should read A Child Called It. I admit I was a bit hesitant at the time, but once I read it I just wanted to cry. I mean, who could allow their child to be put through so much pain??

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

A Boy in Abuse

Reader reviewed by Steph

I think this book is a true gem in a pile of rocks.It shows how child abuse is a real problem in the world and how it affects our most inner thoughts and lives.Showing how love is a true necessity in a child's life and should be given whith open arms,and no one even the most selfish of children should live without it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

For Mature Audiences

Reader reviewed by amanda

This is an emotion filled book with what could be considered for mature audiences, those who are able to cope with the violence that was done to David.

I think this is a must read for everyone eventually, but parents need to decide when it is right for someone under the age of 14. It exposes a world that is often ignored but is very important to realize that such violence can take place, even with family members.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Holy Crap...

Reader reviewed by Christy

Wow... this book was really good. At the beginning, I was starting to think that it was gonig to be really boring but then it got into his life. I had no idea what was going on but I realized that this boys life was falling apart. Well, it seems like its falling apart then you learn that its only getting better. To be honest, that boys mother deserves to die...

sorry for being so blunt

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

A hard read

Reader reviewed by undercover reader

Little David was always in a constant struggle day in and day out to survive. His alclholic, sick, cruel, and abusive mother played such severe games with David. At times David wasn't sure if his mother was going to kill him today or tomarrow.


Although young, to survive his horrid lifestyle, where he slept in the basement with no covers for warmth, went days without food, and had bruises through out his whole body. He learned to think like an adult in order to survive his mother's rage and abusive "games". A teacher at his school finally reports Davids scars to the police. David was finally told what he wanted to hear most of his entire life
"She will never hurt you again"

Although this story was so horrifying, at the end, the happy ending made it worth while. Can't wait to read the lost boy.

Honestly, I would'nt reccomend it to faint hearted readers.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Riveting

Reader reviewed by PJR

"A Child Called It" is a unique book. It tells the story of Dave Peltzer's childhood. The horrors that this man suffered as a child are worse than most things we can even imagine.

I teach 7th grade reading and try to keep a WIDE variety of books in my classroom library, but this one is just too graphic for many young readers.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Riveting

Reader reviewed by pjrenick

This book is one that you can't put down once you've started it.  It is graphic - and it's definitely not for everyone - but it's a great book about how someone can survive torture worse than most of us can imagine.  Many of my students (7th grade) have read this book and every single one of them have requested the follow-up book to read next.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

A Hard One But Worth It

Reader reviewed by Amy

I really like this book, even though I did not enjoy reading it at the time. It is a hard book to read because of the subject matter, and the book is very graphic and descriptive which can be upsetting at times. It was extremely worthwhile, but I think that I was a little young to read it at the time- I would say 18 and up would understand and be able to cope with reading this book.

Was this review helpful to you? 
98 results - showing 71 - 80  
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10  
 
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
This honest, laugh-out-loud novel brimming with body positivity, bite-sized nuggets...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
All siblings are capable of magic if they stick together....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
As Far as the Stars
Christopher is the sort of guy that no one...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Virtue of Sin
Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
OverRun (The OverRuled Series, book 2)
TWO LIVES BOUND BY ONE LIE. Magic has consequences—...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wicked Fox (Gumiho, #1)
Eighteen-year-old Gu Miyoung has a secret--she's a gumiho, a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Astronaut Who Painted the Moon: The True Story of Alan Bean
As a boy, Alan wanted to fly planes. As a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Evil Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #1)
Far, far away, in the realm of Enchantia, creatures...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Paper Bag Mask Cover.jpg
At the same moment he catches his teacher giving...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Cruel Design
The nightmare of the outbreak is finally...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
 
4.3
"Sixteen-year-old Bluebelle, or BB/Big Bones, loves herself. Forget that others say she's fat. After a recent asthma attack, she has..."
The Exact Opposite of Okay
 
3.3
"THE EXACT OPPOSITE OF OKAY is a book that tackles sexism and slut-shaming. Written as a series of journal entries,..."
This Time Will Be Different
 
5.0
"THIS TIME WILL BE DIFFERENT is an engaging YA contemporary with strong underlying messages about racism and social activism. With..."
As Far as the Stars
 
3.3
"AS FAR AS THE STARS is a slow-burning book about overwhelming grief. Air (Ariadne) is a high schooler with heaps..."
Don't Date Rosa Santos
 
5.0
"DON’T DATE ROSA SANTOS is a sweet and touching book about family. Rosa lives with her grandmother, and she sees..."
Not Now, Not Ever
 
4.0
"Lily Anderson’s sophomore novel follows Elliot "Ever" Gabaroche during an intense summer program to compete for a scholarship. It’s Not..."
The Beautiful Lost
 
3.3
"A first-person past-tense telling exclusively from the perspective of Maia, a depressed high school sophomore with some ambitious—if half-formed—plans for..."
10 Blind Dates
 
4.7
"10 BLIND DATES is the must-read romantic comedy of the fall! Sophie is staying with her grandparents and her very..."
The Last True Poets of the Sea
 
5.0
"THE LAST TRUE POETS OF THE SEA is a beautiful coming-of-age story. After her brother attempts suicide, he is sent..."
No Place Like Here
 
4.7
"When Ashlyn’s father goes to prison and her mother goes to rehab for depression, her world falls apart. Ashlyn’s father..."
No Place Like Here
 
4.0
"NO PLACE LIKE HERE is an engaging and summery YA contemporary that emphasizes healing and friendship. Ashlyn is at the..."
The Dark Beneath the Ice
 
4.0
"THE DARK BENEATH THE ICE is a stunningly written YA horror that follows Marianne as she starts losing time, sees..."
Overturned
 
5.0
"Top 3 reasons you need to read Overturned by Lamar Giles (and read the rest of his books while you're..."
We Contain Multitudes
 
5.0
"WE CONTAIN MULTITUDES is an epistolary fiction/YA contemporary that will stick with me for a long time. Told in letters..."
The Voice in my Head
 
4.3
"THE VOICE IN MY HEAD begins with Indigo standing on a building, praying to God for her sister to live..."
No Place Like Here
 
3.0
"NO PLACE LIKE HERE by Christina June is a YA contemporary novel set in the Pennsylvania wilderness. Ashlyn, an admittedly..."
Quarantine: A Love Story
 
3.3
"QUARANTINE is told in alternating perspectives between two teens, Oliver and Flora. They were each in the Dominican Republic for..."
Tin Heart
 
4.0
"TIN HEART by Shivaun Plozza is a YA contemporary novel that follows Marlowe Jensen after she receives a heart transplant...."
Pretend She's Here
 
3.3
"Since they were little, Lizzie Porter and Emily Lonergan were inseparable and best friends. Now Emily is almost sixteen-years-old, and..."
Tell Me Everything
 
3.7
"TELL ME EVERYTHING follows Ivy, beginning the summer before her sophomore year. Ivy’s parents are ecologists, and her passion for..."