A Child Called "It": One Child's Courage to Survive (Dave Pelzer #1)

Hot
 
0.0
 
4.5 (98)
40407   1

User reviews

98 reviews

 
(67)
 
(18)
 
(8)
 
(1)
 
(4)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
 
4.5  (98)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
98 results - showing 51 - 60  
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Writing with a Purpose

Reader reviewed by Aileen

I literally cried while reading this book. It is written from the viewpoint of a child, using simple language and conveying the confusion and thought process that he had as a child. I went through an entire spectrum of emotions as the book went on, and I admire the writer, Dave, for having the courage to write it. I don't think anyone can read this book without undergoing some sort of transformation. Dave really accomplished something by writing this novel, by putting his story out there. He increased awareness and I for one have a greater understanding of the hell these kids are put through and what some of the signs are.


Writing with a purpose. I respect that. I can only hope that no one else has to go through what Dave did, but unfortunately, the world isn't like that.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

oh my gosh!

Reader reviewed by Ashley

This book was extremey heartbreaking and yet at the same time it gave you hope. I read it about two years ago. I read it only once for a school thing and i never forgot it. it stays with me in my mind all the time. unfortaneatly I have not yet bought it, but i encourage everyone to read it. It includes alot about things that actually happen to young children

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

heart breaking!

Reader reviewed by jessica

an absolutly heart-wrenching story of a young boy named dave who is horribly abused by his mother. the first in an amazing series that will break your heart and give you an unshakeable urge to hold your kids close and tell them how much you love them. saying this book is a great read would be a horrible understatement.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

WOw

Reader reviewed by Katie Bishop

After reading just parts of that book make me break down. I have expierenced some abuse but not that intense. That is so horrable a parent can be that mean to an innocent little child.That mother should have been sent to prison hopefully she went to hell where she belongs.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

A True Story that is the hardest part to understand

Reader reviewed by two sided freek

It's a true story and the 3rd worst child abuse case reported in US. the 1st and 2nd case's victim's didn't survive. What really amazes me is that David Pelzer had the courage to write about his childhood, to bear his vulnerablities to the world and break the child abuse cycle, now with his own child a girl he really loves. The incidents in this book have you crying with sympathy for him and believe me this is a tear jerker. You have to read it

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Wow...

Reader reviewed by chardiddlyarlie

This book was amazing. It was very difficult to read as it was very distressing and disturbing in places but funnily enough i couldn't put it down. From page one i was gripped by this tale of the child named 'it' and horrified by it. The whole way through the book the story was told so graphically and well that i felt as though i was there and i often felt the entire gravity of the situations david was in and the turbulence of david and his mother. This book left me feeling glad for what i have and made me realise how trivial some of the things i worry about are compared to the problems that some people have to bear.
This was very worrying in parts but 100% a good read.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

so sad,but so good

Reader reviewed by Crystal

A child called it is such a sad book,and its a real story about a mans life as he was a child,which makes is even more sad.
It's about how this boys mother did all this horrible stuff to him after his father died.she made him do all these horrible shores,and one time,when he threw up,she made him eat it.she would smash him up againts glass,and..well,i dont want to go further,its to horrible.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

A Heartfelt Book

Reader reviewed by Holly

A Child Called It is one of the many books that I have cried about. Imagine being so small and your mom abusing you everyday. The biy who gets abused, writes this biograpy about his life. I encourage everyone who is looking for a good read this summer, to check this out.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

A Child Called it

Reader reviewed by D

This book happens to be one of the first book i had ever read from beginning to end, and from beginning to end it kept me a wake, i can read this book over and over and not get tired of it........I LOVE THIS BOOK



Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

A great book

Reader reviewed by hannah

A child called it was a wonderful book. I was very sad though. it was about and davids mother who started abusing him. his mother did many horible things to him like make him eat his brothers poop from his diaper. his mother never feeds him. and he is lucky if he olny get clobered by his mother 3 times a day. seince his mother dosnt let him eat david turns to stealing food from the local store during recess. to find out more read this frightful book.

Was this review helpful to you? 
98 results - showing 51 - 60  
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10  
 
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights
By her fourteenth birthday, Babe Killingsworth measures 6ʹ9ʺ and weighs...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the latest...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Truman
After his best friend Sarah leaves for her first day...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Day the Universe Exploded My Head: Poems to Take You into Space and Back Again
Hang on tight for a raucous bounce through the solar...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
This honest, laugh-out-loud novel brimming with body positivity, bite-sized nuggets...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
All siblings are capable of magic if they stick together....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
As Far as the Stars
Christopher is the sort of guy that no one...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Virtue of Sin
Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
OverRun (The OverRuled Series, book 2)
TWO LIVES BOUND BY ONE LIE. Magic has consequences—...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wicked Fox (Gumiho, #1)
Eighteen-year-old Gu Miyoung has a secret--she's a gumiho, a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Bloodleaf (The Bloodleaf Trilogy, #1)
 
5.0
"BLOODLEAF is a new favorite. This YA fantasy is completely engrossing, thrilling, and absolutely amazing. Aurelia is princess of Renalt..."