A Child Called "It": One Child's Courage to Survive (Dave Pelzer #1)

Hot
 
0.0
 
4.5 (98)
40393   1

User reviews

Filters 67 reviews with 5 stars

98 reviews

 
(67)
 
(18)
 
(8)
 
(1)
 
(4)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
 
4.5  (98)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
67 results - showing 11 - 20  
1 2 3 4 5 6 7  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

A Lost Child found in hope

Reader reviewed by Godzgirl

This book is a sad story, but happy also. It sad to see a child lost and abused like this. Childern get lost in a family and are not seen by the people that need to see them until its too late. There is hope a lot of times for childern that have been abused. They are rescued from stuff they do not need to see or hear. They are taken away and given another chance at life. This book show you what childern go through. What they have to suffer in an abusive home. The story is told with passion, hate, sadness, longing, hope, joy, peace, and love. I cried over this book. I cried seeing how this child was abused. How could a mother be so crul. This book will keep you going. It will make you appericate your good life.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

A Child's Secret

Reader reviewed by Katie

This story is the most heart breaking I have heard because it's true. This is truly what happened to Mr. David Pelzer. I have to say this book is one of the saddest things I have ever heard. It was just a beautiful novel but I find it disgusting that something so horrible could happen to an innocent child.  This book opens eyes to the issue of child abuse and I for one think it is a problem that needs to be brought to light more. This kind of thing should never happen to someone and in reading this book I would only hope that other people feel this way. This is really seeing life through the eyes of a child that has been so tormented by his past. I admire that David Pelzer was strong enough to write this series of books about his life and to help people who are going through or have gone through the same trials and tribulations as he did. I highly recommend this book and the others in the series. They will truly open your eyes. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Heartbreaking.

Reader reviewed by Kelsey

A Child Called It is about a young boy's struggle to survive. With an alcholic mother who seperates him from the family and puts him through a severe stabbing, various posionings, starvation and many more grotesque actions, he has to struggle to live.

This book broke my heart, for you could picture the pain he was going through and his own broken heart. It's a very good concept on what child abuse really is. A good read, but recommended for grade nine or higher.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Poor Kid

Reader reviewed by AprilRenee'

OMG This was one of the most gruesome books I have ever read. I don't understand how any sane person let alone a mother put her OWN child through this torture. This book made me realize that there really are people out there who are like this. Child abuse isn't something of the past. It is happening right not. I suggest that you read this book. It will make you look closely at the kids around you and make you a more perceptive person to an abusive situation.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

interesting

Reader reviewed by Jordan

thius book is very sad and very unfourtunate but at the same time incredibly good. this book sucks you into the action and after reading it it makes you want to do something to stop child abuse!!! after reading this book you will feel outraged that people actually do that. and the worse part is this book is based on a true story. i dont advise everyone to read it , but if you think you can handle this kind of violence then be my guest its a book you will not regret reading

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

**Review**

Reader reviewed by VictoriaD

A Child Called At was a life changing story about a boy who was abused by his alcoholic mother at such a young age. Through the book he tells about all the different ways his mother abused him and how he survived through it every day. His mother went from stabbing him to starving him. This book really changed my life in so many ways. I realized how grateful I am to have a family who loves and takes care of me.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Inspirational

Reader reviewed by Lullabyebarian

A Child Called It is one of those books that is so unbelievable that you can't put it down. What happens to this little boy is outrageous! The amount of abuse that this child endures is unreal. How a child could live through this knowing that his siblings are not being treated the same way is beyond me? It is amazing that this man even survived the traumas described in this book. This is a must read for all parents and educators.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Defeat

Reader reviewed by AbbyLiz

This novel moved me in a way that I had not been moved before. It was not the fact that I was reading it, but the fact that it had actually happened. This young man's story touched my heart in a way that no other auther had been able to do. I strongly suggest this novel for anyone that wants a sharp dose of reality.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Shocking

Reader reviewed by Devan Woten

this book is incredible. for a child abuse book thats true. its hard to realize what some kids went through and it a really good book. it sad in some parts but i think thats because its a true story written by the boy. Kids Should really read this book to realize how easy they have it. and how lucky they are. i cryed during this book and it made me realize how much other kids go through and how easy i have it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

very deep.

Reader reviewed by courtney

I loved this book.I read it twice. it brung tear to my eyes that a mother could do such a thing to a child she is suppose to love and nurture with all her heart. I think he is a fantastic writer and really captured the details perfectly. he made it feel as though u are there watching his mother do these things that are so unreal to anyone else.

Was this review helpful to you? 
67 results - showing 11 - 20  
1 2 3 4 5 6 7  
 
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
This honest, laugh-out-loud novel brimming with body positivity, bite-sized nuggets...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
All siblings are capable of magic if they stick together....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
As Far as the Stars
Christopher is the sort of guy that no one...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Virtue of Sin
Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
OverRun (The OverRuled Series, book 2)
TWO LIVES BOUND BY ONE LIE. Magic has consequences—...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wicked Fox (Gumiho, #1)
Eighteen-year-old Gu Miyoung has a secret--she's a gumiho, a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Astronaut Who Painted the Moon: The True Story of Alan Bean
As a boy, Alan wanted to fly planes. As a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Evil Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #1)
Far, far away, in the realm of Enchantia, creatures...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Paper Bag Mask Cover.jpg
At the same moment he catches his teacher giving...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Cruel Design
The nightmare of the outbreak is finally...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

No entries were found