A Child Called "It": One Child's Courage to Survive (Dave Pelzer #1)

Hot
 
0.0
 
4.5 (98)
40420   1

User reviews

98 reviews

 
(67)
 
(18)
 
(8)
 
(1)
 
(4)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
 
4.5  (98)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
98 results - showing 91 - 98  
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Grousome & Riveting

Reader reviewed by Calamander

This book is grousome and yet you must read more. The story is about a boy who's was later tagged the worst child abuse. He is still living thankfully. His mother abuses him with pouring bleach on his face to eating his own vomit. Check this book out!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Oh dear... a horrible reminder of how much the human race needs to check itself.

Reader reviewed by Ed

H'okay, so. This is a book about a boy's survival of child abuse. Which is a good thing; hurray. But, well... If you'd like to see the miracle of how he overcame his tragic upbringing, read the two sequels; "The Lost Boy", then "A Man Called Dave". Reading this book was like watching a horrible action/thriller movie; my reactions went along this line:

"...Ooh! Owww... Holy *~!#, that's horrid- !...Ugh, thank heavens, it's over... Augh, she did it again- !?"

I found myself just exhausted after finishing the book. Just one heart attack after another. I'd skip this one and move onto the other two, ladies and gents.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

A Child Called It: A Tragic Story

Reader reviewed by Jennifer

David J. Pelzer's mother, Catherine Roerva, was, he writes in this ghastly, fascinating memoir, a devoted den mother to the Cub Scouts in her care, and somewhat nurturant to her children--but not to David, whom she referred to as "an It." This book is a brief, horrifying account of the bizarre tortures she inflicted on him, told from the point of view of the author as a young boy being starved, stabbed, smashed face-first into mirrors, forced to eat the contents of his sibling's diapers and a spoonful of ammonia, and burned over a gas stove by a maniacal, alcoholic mom. Sometimes she claimed he had violated some rule--no walking on the grass at school!--but mostly it was pure sadism. Inexplicably, his father didn't protect him; only an alert schoolteacher saved David. One wants to learn more about his ordeal and its aftermath, and now he's written a sequel, The Lost Boy, detailing his life in the foster-care system.

Though it's a grim story, A Child Called "It" is very much in the tradition of Chicken Soup for the Couple's Soul and the many books in that upbeat series, whose author Pelzer thanks for helping get his book going. It's all about weathering adversity to find love, and Pelzer is an expert witness.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Writing Style 
 
2.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

thought provoking

Reader reviewed by Roxi

Although this books gets amazing reviews and you're forced to read it in 9th grade, I don't think its that amazing.  Mostly because it is so horrific and out there its hard to comprehend this is real and possible, and youre not just reading a gory horror story. Only the strong of stomach can read this, other wise you just end up gettig thoroughly depressed and even pyhsically sick for no reason.  reader beware.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Writing Style 
 
1.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Fighting Back

Reader reviewed by Jocey

A Child Called It was one of the most heartbreaking yet inspiring books I have read in my life. It recounts the abusive childhood that Dave Pelzer endured in California from Dave Pelzer himself. Years later, it was determined that Daves case was one of the most gruesome child abuse cases in all of California in that time period. Although it is a shorter book, it does not for one minute seem quick. Every chapter is a new aspect of his life and how he managed to overcome so many obstacles. It is written directly from the heart, so every emotion that he feels during the book inspires the same feelings inside of you. The long and terrible sufferings that David survived from his psycho mother and ignorant brothers is horrifying. Half of the tortures that he survived seemed superhuman to me, it was unbelievable how he somehow managed to have hope and fight back against his enemy. There were several instances while reading the book where I had to remind myself that it is not fictional, that these sad memories are true and real. What was even more disturbing is the fact that children are still abused all over the U.S and world today. Hearing the first hand account of a survivor is an eye-opener to what our society is trying to battle. I never realized before this book what kinds of nightmares exist out there in our world. I now not only feel informed on the matter, but inspired to help others.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Writing Style 
 
1.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

not exceptable

Reader reviewed by lizzie

this book is so sad i cried so many times. but the worst thing is the way he was treated. anyone who has any sense could never do this to a child let alone a human being i felt so bad for him. i usually only read romantic novels but this one made me tuck inside my blankets and read read read. this is a nother must read.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Writing Style 
 
1.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

A Story of Child's Abused Life

Reader reviewed by Ritz

Dave, a child with an adused childhood. Dave's mother had abused him. Throughout his childhood his mother had done this. But what he had dont wrong he does not know. When he was younger he was not abused. And after that he was. When he was abused his brothers and sisters weren't abused. Why his mother abused him he did not know. It is a book thatwill put you in tears as you read along.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Writing Style 
 
1.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

dont even try to make me stop crying!

Reader reviewed by chick box

this book totally messed up my emotions! its about a boy and the abuse that he goes through by his alcacolic mother. all the pain this mom can do to a poor innocent boy just makes me sick. yet it did teach me to be grateful for what i have and for the wonderful parents i have.

Was this review helpful to you? 
98 results - showing 91 - 98  
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10  
 
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

Pirate Queen: The Legend of Grace O'Malley
A captivating retelling of the story of Grace O’Malley, the...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Let's Call It a Doomsday
There are many ways the world could end. A fire....
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The moment I declared the last word, I felt a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Surface Breaks: A Reimagining of The Little Mermaid
Think you know the story of the Little Mermaid? Think...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights
By her fourteenth birthday, Babe Killingsworth measures 6ʹ9ʺ and weighs...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Girl Who Loved Ghosts
She’d do anything to save her friends and family. But...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the latest...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Truman
After his best friend Sarah leaves for her first day...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Day the Universe Exploded My Head: Poems to Take You into Space and Back Again
Hang on tight for a raucous bounce through the solar...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blue Key
Seleste is turning sixteen. A milestone birthday. A birthday that...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Pirate Queen: The Legend of Grace O'Malley
 
4.0
"PIRATE QUEEN brings us the legend of Grace O'Malley. There aren't many books about her available, so this is a..."
Let's Call It a Doomsday
 
4.3
"LET'S CALL IT A DOOMSDAY follows Ellis, a teenager who is Mormon and has an anxiety disorder. Eliis is in..."
The Surface Breaks: A Reimagining of The Little Mermaid
 
4.3
"THE SURFACE BREAKS is a slow-building retelling of The Little Mermaid. While staying true to the classic, this story adds..."
Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights
 
4.0
"PROFESSOR RENOIR'S COLLECTION OF ODDITIES, CURIOSITIES, AND DELIGHTS primarily follows Babe, a fourteen-year-old girl who has gigantism. She already stands..."
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
 
4.3
"#Murderfunding is an engaging and fast-paced sequel to #murdertrending. Alcatraz 2.0 has been shut down and #CinderellaSurvivor (Dee) and her..."
Truman
 
5.0
"TRUMAN is an unbelievably sweet story about a tortoise. Truman the tortoise lives with his best friend and owner Sarah,..."
The Day the Universe Exploded My Head: Poems to Take You into Space and Back Again
 
4.0
"THE DAY THE UNIVERSE EXPLODED MY HEAD features cartoony planets and drawings along with poems on each page. Topical, clever,..."
#Murdertrending
 
4.7
"In the near future, a reality TV star has become president and signed off on Alcatraz 2.0, a new prison..."
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
 
3.5
"I'm a huge fan of graphic novels and this series is one that is sure to appeal to those who..."
The Season
 
4.3
"THE SEASON by Sarah MacLean is a YA historical fiction novel that centers around seventeen-year-old Alex, who is coming of..."
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
 
4.3
"Sixteen-year-old Bluebelle, or BB/Big Bones, loves herself. Forget that others say she's fat. After a recent asthma attack, she has..."
The Exact Opposite of Okay
 
3.3
"THE EXACT OPPOSITE OF OKAY is a book that tackles sexism and slut-shaming. Written as a series of journal entries,..."
Super Humans
 
4.3
"The story: Best friends Chloe and Miranda, eager to start their college careers, move into an old, off-campus Victorian..."
Girl Gone Viral
 
3.3
"Girl Gone Viral was pitched for Warcross and Black Mirror fans. Now I haven’t read Warcross yet, but I’ve seen..."
Patron Saints of Nothing
 
4.7
"Reading Patron Saints of Nothing invokes a lot of emotions, especially for someone who’s socially aware of the current political..."
This Time Will Be Different
 
5.0
"THIS TIME WILL BE DIFFERENT is an engaging YA contemporary with strong underlying messages about racism and social activism. With..."
North To Nara (Crimson Sash, Book 1)
 
5.0
"I’ve always been a sucker for dystopian. This is not a secret. The obsession with The Hunger Games is still..."
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
 
4.0
"CARNIVAL CATASTROPHE follows the seven Problim children as they continue their search for their mother. The seven siblings must work..."
The Astronaut Who Painted the Moon: The True Story of Alan Bean
 
5.0
"THE ASTRONAUT WHO PAINTED THE MOON is the true story of Alan Bean, the fourth man to walk on the..."
As Far as the Stars
 
3.3
"AS FAR AS THE STARS is a slow-burning book about overwhelming grief. Air (Ariadne) is a high schooler with heaps..."