Teen Films The Water Horse [Film]

The Water Horse [Film]

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/a2/6b/43/_waterhorse-1359832288.jpg
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
1037   0
Based on a novel by Dick King-Smith, author of "The Sheep Pig" (from which Babe was adapted), the touching and often spectacular "The Water Horse: Legend of the Deep" ingeniously presumes to explain the truth behind Nessie, i.e., the Loch Ness Monster.

The story, told in present day to a couple of American tourists by a kindly gentleman (Brian Cox) in a pub, begins with a lonely boy, Angus (Alex Etel), pining for his father, who is serving in the Royal Navy during World War II. Angus, along with his sister (Priyanka Xi) and mother (Emily Watson), live on an estate that has been billeted by soldiers in the Scottish Highlands, near Loch Ness. The troop’s commander (David Morissey) has an eye for mom, suspicions about a mysterious handyman, Lewis (Ben Chaplin), who is also a war hero, and an absurd contention that the Highlands are the real frontline in the war against Germany.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Acting 
 
5.0  (1)
Story 
 
5.0  (1)
Effects 
 
5.0  (1)
Dialogue 
 
5.0  (1)
Adaptation Quality 
 
N/A  (0)
This. freaking. movie. is. adorable.

Clever and full of heart.

A kid I babysat made me watch this and I think I loved it more than he did.

It's so whimsical and wouldn't we all like to believe the Loch Ness Monster is real? I do..but that's just me.

The scenery is beautiful!!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Acting 
 
5.0
Story 
 
5.0
Effects 
 
5.0
Dialogue 
 
5.0
Adaptation Quality 
 
N/A

Adorable.

This. freaking. movie. is. adorable.

Clever and full of heart.

A kid I babysat made me watch this and I think I loved it more than he did.

It's so whimsical and wouldn't we all like to believe the Loch Ness Monster is real? I do..but that's just me.

The scenery is beautiful!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Young Adult Indie
At fourteen, Catrina MacGreagor was left to care for her nine siblings after her mother passed. She didn't truly mind,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
New York Times Bestseller * Indie List Bestseller * Soon to be a Film from Universal Pictures * A Barnes...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dear Mr. S. Harris, Ignore the blob of red in the top left corner. It's jam, not blood, though I...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
At not quite fifteen, Stefan's father finally let him board the longship, Sja Vinna, to take part in his first...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Gayle Forman, Every Last Promise is a provocative and emotional novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
What if, after spending a lifetime deceiving everyone around you, you discovered the biggest lies were the ones you've told...
 
0.0
 
3.3 (1)
In the explosive conclusion to the thrilling Revolution 19 series, the time has come to win the cities back from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Darcy Covington never had to worry about money or where her next shopping spree was coming from. Even her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Reality is only an illusion. Except for those who can control it… Worst. Birthday. Ever. My first boyfriend dumped me—happy...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
5-to-1-cover-small.jpg
In the year 2054, after decades of gender selection, India now has a ratio of five boys for every girl,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wren Noble is dead—she was born that way. Vibrant, unlike other dead things, she craves those rare moments when her...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Macy Jones is a perfect student, popular teenager, and utterly miserable. This all changes once her father is arrested and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ned and his identical twin brother tumble from their raft into a raging, bewitched river, only Ned survives. Villagers...
 
5.0
 
4.0 (1)
In Marla Klein and Ivy Wilde’s world, teens are the gatekeepers of culture. A top fashion label employs sixteen-year-old...
 
0.0
 
3.3 (1)
the hidden princess.jpg
One destiny rules two worlds in this gripping fantasy thriller. For five years, the Gateway has been closed and Hidden...
 
0.0
 
3.7 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
When Aidan and Maggie find a fairy cross while rock-hunting with their grandfather, it's just an oddity. But when they...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this unforgettable teen romance that fans of Sarah Dessen and Susane Colasanti will devour, Quinn Sullivan falls for the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A powerful and gripping contemporary YA from the author of I'm Not Her that's "Just right for fans of Sarah...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins is sassier than ever in this page-turning follow up to Rebel Belle, perfect...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)