Teen Films The Princess Diaries [Film]

The Princess Diaries [Film]

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/df/63/b2/_princess-diaries-1352400317.jpg
 
0.0
 
4.5 (3)
1256   0
Mia Thermopolis is the average teenager - sweet, a little geeky and pretty much invisible to everyone with the exception of her mother, best friend Lilly and Lilly's older brother Michael. Making it through high school without throwing up is a challenge in itself for Mia, so it doesn't come as welcome news when her estranged grandmother shows up out of the blue and calmly informs her that she is in fact the heir to the throne of a European country called Genovia. Suddenly Mia's life is thrown into complete overload. She's being taught about scarves, waves and pears in order to become a perfect princess, she gets a makeover and a tough looking yet sweet bodyguard/limo driver called Joe. Things get out of hand when the media gets a hold of the story and suddenly Mia is thrust into the spotlight in both the newspapers and in school. On top of all that Mia has a choice to make...

User reviews

Average user rating from: 3 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Acting 
 
4.3  (3)
Story 
 
4.7  (3)
Effects 
 
4.7  (3)
Dialogue 
 
4.3  (3)
Adaptation Quality 
 
4.5  (2)
Must see!
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Acting 
 
4.0
Story 
 
5.0
Effects 
 
4.0
Dialogue 
 
4.0
Adaptation Quality 
 
4.0
Duks Castro Reviewed by Duks Castro August 05, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (82)

Love it!

Must see!

Was this review helpful to you? 
This is kinda like one of those classic movies where you can go back time and time again and re-watch. And maybe find something in it that you hadn't before.

I'm not such a big fan of Anne Hathaways, but she is very good at playing up her characters to the fullest (sometimes they're all the same, but I digress..) Mia is a sweet, funny high school student turned princess, with a hilarious sidekick named Lilly, and a cute guy friend, Michael.

Honestly, I wouldnt mind finding out I am a princess. Her grandma is awesome. Julie Andrews is perfect.

Just a great film overall.
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Acting 
 
4.0
Story 
 
4.0
Effects 
 
5.0
Dialogue 
 
4.0
Adaptation Quality 
 
N/A

Great

This is kinda like one of those classic movies where you can go back time and time again and re-watch. And maybe find something in it that you hadn't before.

I'm not such a big fan of Anne Hathaways, but she is very good at playing up her characters to the fullest (sometimes they're all the same, but I digress..) Mia is a sweet, funny high school student turned princess, with a hilarious sidekick named Lilly, and a cute guy friend, Michael.

Honestly, I wouldnt mind finding out I am a princess. Her grandma is awesome. Julie Andrews is perfect.

Just a great film overall.

Was this review helpful to you? 
The Princess Diaries is in my opinion, one of the greatest movies of all times. Anne Hathaway plays young Mia as she goes from nerdy invisible high schooler to chic, beautiful PRINCESS? Yep, that's right. She apparently is supposed to be a princess. The characters are all so different, the dialogue is hilarious, and moving when it needs to be. Anne Hathaway is perfect in her role as Mia, and its almost believable that she is just a geeky high schooler turned princess in real life. The movie goes through all of the struggles a teenager would face as a new princess and I absolutely loved the whole movie.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Acting 
 
5.0
Story 
 
5.0
Effects 
 
5.0
Dialogue 
 
5.0
Adaptation Quality 
 
5.0
Heather Reviewed by Heather January 29, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (75)

The Princess Diaries

The Princess Diaries is in my opinion, one of the greatest movies of all times. Anne Hathaway plays young Mia as she goes from nerdy invisible high schooler to chic, beautiful PRINCESS? Yep, that's right. She apparently is supposed to be a princess. The characters are all so different, the dialogue is hilarious, and moving when it needs to be. Anne Hathaway is perfect in her role as Mia, and its almost believable that she is just a geeky high schooler turned princess in real life. The movie goes through all of the struggles a teenager would face as a new princess and I absolutely loved the whole movie.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

  • Author Top 5 with Jenny Martin

      Today we welcome Jenny Martin to YABC! Martin's soon to be released debut novel, Tracked, is sure to appeal to fans of The Fast and the Furious and Firely along with Marie Lu's Legend and Veronica Roth's Divergent. This book will be racing across the finis ...

  • Chapter Reveal: The Ark by Laura Liddell Nolen + Giveaway (International)

    The Ark by Laura Liddell Nolen Release Date: March 26, 2015 Before we get to the chapter, here's a note from Laura:   Hi, YABC! I’m fired up about sharing my first chapter with you today. The Ark is about a young convict trapped in prison on the last day of ...

  • Author Top 5 with Django Wexler

      Today we welcome Django Wexler to YABC! Wexler's newly released sequel to The Forbidden Library, The Mad Apprentice: The Forbidden Library: Volume 2, is a fantasy adventure sure to appeal to fans of Harry Potter, Coroline, and Inkheart! Django has given us a list of the ...

  • April 2015 Book Haul!

    Hey YABCers!  Our office was innundated with fabulous kidlit, middle grade, and YA books this month! (Including an audio book and a graphic novel.) Check out our book haul below and tell us which books look the most interesting to you!    ...

  • Giveaway: Twintuition - Double Vision by Tia & Tamera Mowry (US Only)

    TWINTUITION: DOUBLE VISION by Tia & Tamera Mowry Release Date: April 21, 2015   About the Book Cassie and Caitlyn Waters may be identical twins, but everything else about them is completely different. The only thing they can agree on is that neither of them is happy th ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: The Complete Blooming Goddess Trilogy by Tellulah Darling + Giveaway (International)

    Hi, YABCers! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for THE COMPLETE BLOOMING GODDESS TRILOGY by Tellulah Darling, releasing April 30, 2015 from Te Da Media. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Tellulah:   Hey YABC! I’ve basically been in sque ...

  • What's New in YA

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!       From the acclaimed author of How to Love comes another stunning contemporary novel, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen.   Molly Barlow is facing on ...

  • The Librarian's Corner

        I am happy to share with the YABC community the brand new Librarian's Corner column! This column features three themed book recommendations from a Teen Librarian each month. My name is Eden Grey, and I'll be doing the column each month. I am a Teen Librarian, and I absolutel ...

  • Chapter Reveal: Last Year's Mistake by Gina Ciocca

    Last Year's Mistake by Gina Ciocca Release Date: June 9, 2015 Before we get to the chapter, here's a note from Gina:   I’m so excited to share the first chapter of LAST YEAR’S MISTAKE with all of you! I’ve written this opening many different ways, and I lov ...

  • Giveaway: The Ark by Laura Liddell (International)

    The Ark By Laura Liddell Nolen    Release Date: March 26, 2015   About the Book It’s the final days of earth, and sixteen-year-old Char is right where she belongs: in prison. With her criminal record, she doesn’t qualify for a place on an Ark, one of the five ...

  • Giveaway: 5 To 1 by Holly Bodger (US & Canada Only)

    5 to1 By Holly Bodger Release Date: 5/12/15   About the Book Sudasa doesn't want to be a wife and Kiran, a boy forced to compete in the test to become her husband, has other plans as well. Sudasa's family wants nothing more than for their daughter to do the right thing and p ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: Tor Maddox: Unleashed by Liz Coley + Giveaway (International)

    Hi, YABCers, and welcome to today's cover reveal! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for TOR MADDOX: UNLEASHED by Liz Coley, releasing May 1, 2015 from LCTeen. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Liz:   Hi YABC! I’m thrilled to int ...

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
Here's the third entry in Claudia Mills' charming middle-grade series. Mason Dixon survived the school choir. He survived adopting his...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
For whimsical Cody, many things are beautiful, especially ants who say hello by rubbing feelers. But nothing is as beautiful...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Fans of How to Train Your Dragon will love this whimsical tale, the first in a series, by a Newbery...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fortune favors the bold in this adventurous tale of broken friendships, forbidden love, and a fiery heroine’s journey to escape...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Alex Myers is a quarterback, but from the first day of football practice, it’s clear that that position is very...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
flora and ulysses.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
Winner of the 2014 Newbery Medal Holy unanticipated occurrences! A cynic meets an unlikely superhero in a genre-breaking new novel...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Some endings are inevitable, but so are some stories. Cora Matthews, the principal’s gloomy goth daughter, is not exactly...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In End Times, Daphne lost herself in love with Owen, only to discover the dark secret that puts Carbon County...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A return to the world of THE LONELY HEARTS CLUB -- in a novel that gets to the heart of...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The most mysterious Bronte sister steps into the light in this must-read novel for fans of Wuthering Heights and Jane...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Wisdom is a journey across the Orion Arm of our galaxy and into the dreams, fears, and frailties of four...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ingrid and Gabby survived the Underneath. They saved their brother, Grayson, from a future of dark servitude and exposed a...
 
0.0
 
3.7 (1)
Rorke Denver trains the men who become Navy SEALs--the most creative problem solvers on the modern battlefield, ideal warriors for...
 
0.0
 
4.5 (1)
The remarkable third novel in Sara B. Larson's bestselling Defy series! At last, Alexa and King Damian are engaged to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After risking her life in the mortal world, the faerie princess Elora returns home to incite a revolution. Allied with...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wasp’s job is simple. Hunt ghosts. And every year she has to fight to remain Archivist. Desperate and alone, she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
An action-packed, romantic, and suspenseful third book in the Altered series. The Branch is in shambles, but Anna, Sam, Cas,...
 
0.0
 
3.7 (1)
The Shakespeare Book brings the work of William Shakespeare to life with full-color photography, images, idea webs, timelines, and quotes...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Louisa May Alcott can't believe it—her mother is leaving for the summer to earn money for the family and Louisa...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fan-favorite author Bree Despain continues her modern-day romance trilogy inspired by the Greek myth of Persephone and Hades with this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)