Books Young Adult Indie The Griffin Cryer

The Griffin Cryer

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/49/13/bc/_the-griffin-cryer-for-kindle-1365115898.jpg
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
538   0
Author(s)
Publisher Name
Talon Publishing
Genre/Type
Age Group
13+
Published Date
March 22, 2013
ISBN Number
978-1482664416
ASIN Number
      
One September evening, around twilight, Francesca Shaunessy calls out for her dog to come to heel – however instead of a black Labrador, a dragon like beast emerges from the mists surrounding the twelfth century church and graveyard, followed closely by his rider. Frankie is astounded to discover she has an unexpected gift: She is a "Griffin Cryer". Balkind is the sweetest most loveable griffin ever. Unfortunately his rider is the rudest man in this world or any other. Despite problems at school, and a complicated home life, Frankie feels compelled to help the Rider and his griffin return home to Ella-Earth. In doing so, Frankie escapes her own emotional prison, and becomes aware that there's a chance that she can help her comatose twin brother back into this world. "Julia Hughes is, first and foremost, a natural teller of tales. THE GRIFFIN CRYER is of course a fantasy, but as I read, I had no trouble in suspending my disbelief for the duration. Stephen Spencer, author of "The Paul Mallory Adventures". "The Griffin Cryer is a fantasy any teen can relate to. Hughes captures teen angst and then provides much needed relief in a truly unique and relateable young adult fantasy. Hughes' imagination is bound to capture the minds of readers worldwide. The Griffin Cryer is without peer." Dan Campbell, teenage co-author of "Dead on Demand". "Hughes has masterfully woven an intricate and thrilling YA fantasy tale of a girl with ordinary teenage issues suddenly being catapulted into an intriguing, perilous adventure." Dody Cox, author of "Adventures in Mother-sitting".

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0  (1)
I loved reading The Griffin Cryer so much I read it twice in concession. From the opening lines I was totally captivated by this magical tale of a 16 year old girl with the ability to call a griffin and his rider from another world.
The characters were expertly written and so believable, even the griffin with his 'barley twist horns' and 'sail boat wings' leapt off the page at me and made me imagine how it would feel to take a flight on his back.
The main character Frankie has a complicated life, with her twin brother in a coma after an accident and her real father absent. She is feisty and a true heroine. I enjoyed reading her conversations with the griffin Rider and their unlikely bond to beat the baddies, save her brother and return the griffin and his rider to their world.
I would highly recommend this book to anyone looking for an exciting, magical read.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Charlie Plunkett Reviewed by Charlie Plunkett April 06, 2013
Top 1000 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

A magical must-read book

I loved reading The Griffin Cryer so much I read it twice in concession. From the opening lines I was totally captivated by this magical tale of a 16 year old girl with the ability to call a griffin and his rider from another world.
The characters were expertly written and so believable, even the griffin with his 'barley twist horns' and 'sail boat wings' leapt off the page at me and made me imagine how it would feel to take a flight on his back.
The main character Frankie has a complicated life, with her twin brother in a coma after an accident and her real father absent. She is feisty and a true heroine. I enjoyed reading her conversations with the griffin Rider and their unlikely bond to beat the baddies, save her brother and return the griffin and his rider to their world.
I would highly recommend this book to anyone looking for an exciting, magical read.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Young Adult Indie
College was supposed to be perfect. She was supposed to be perfect. For Lily Drummond, life is about following...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
For fans of The Guild and Scott Pilgrim comes a story of Xbox, Denny’s, and awkward beginnings… Not too...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
You're Stormy Jones, a pregnant 17-year-old punk rock chick with "sky eyes" and a pink tipped blond Mohawk with spear...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
NEWNokosee Front CoverMorePix.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
Cultures clash, sparks fly, love blooms, people die, and two kids, one a little bit punk and the other way...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Rayne is bored with life, until a new family moves in next door. Why do they look so happy? Rayne...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
James Patterson introduces the best selling "illustrated fiction" format to teens! It's "Middle School" for high schoolers! In James Patterson's...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everlong Cover 2 Amazonprint.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
When love is a matter of life and death, it's not about losing your heart, but saving it. On...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Alissa Sullivan has high hopes that the new year will bring a fresh start for her and her best friend....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Alissa Sullivan has got it made -- a supportive, loving family, a cause she believes in, and her new boyfriend....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Alan Rivers wakes up one morning and discovers all the adults in his neighborhood and worldwide are in a deep...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a plane crashes in the woods near Jess’s home, the boy of her dreams falls out of the sky—literally....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Experience the wonder of the river in this haunting debut novel, where family is lost, friends are found, and hope...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Post tornado, the Soccer Tommies and Baseball Mommies compete for home field advantage. Is it ‘Win-Win’ or, will the community...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two years ago, sixteen-year-old Jamie Henry breathed a sigh of relief when a judge sentenced his older sister to juvenile...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Like watching a movie frame by frame, we watch Lexi is come unglued in this novel in verse. She's alienated...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winner of Reader's Favorite 5-Star Seal Reader’s Favorite reviewer Patricia Reding says it best: “Just sixteen, pregnant, betrayed by boyfriend...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One Night with the Prince
The rules were simple:. 15 girls were chosen from royal bloodlines to be with the Prince. They are given one...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
live performance by YA author
Category: Young Adult Indie
Love can make you do crazy things as Ruby Parker discovers when she dies and returns from the grave to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Its king murdered in cold blood by friend and foe alike, the once magnificent kingdom of Arenhed has fallen to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fifteen top voices in speculative fiction explore the intersection of fear and love in a haunting, at times hilarious, darkly...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)