Books Young Adult Indie The Griffin Cryer

The Griffin Cryer

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/49/13/bc/_the-griffin-cryer-for-kindle-1365115898.jpg
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
623   0
Author(s)
Publisher Name
Talon Publishing
Genre/Type
Age Group
13+
Published Date
March 22, 2013
ISBN Number
978-1482664416
ASIN Number
      
One September evening, around twilight, Francesca Shaunessy calls out for her dog to come to heel – however instead of a black Labrador, a dragon like beast emerges from the mists surrounding the twelfth century church and graveyard, followed closely by his rider. Frankie is astounded to discover she has an unexpected gift: She is a "Griffin Cryer". Balkind is the sweetest most loveable griffin ever. Unfortunately his rider is the rudest man in this world or any other. Despite problems at school, and a complicated home life, Frankie feels compelled to help the Rider and his griffin return home to Ella-Earth. In doing so, Frankie escapes her own emotional prison, and becomes aware that there's a chance that she can help her comatose twin brother back into this world. "Julia Hughes is, first and foremost, a natural teller of tales. THE GRIFFIN CRYER is of course a fantasy, but as I read, I had no trouble in suspending my disbelief for the duration. Stephen Spencer, author of "The Paul Mallory Adventures". "The Griffin Cryer is a fantasy any teen can relate to. Hughes captures teen angst and then provides much needed relief in a truly unique and relateable young adult fantasy. Hughes' imagination is bound to capture the minds of readers worldwide. The Griffin Cryer is without peer." Dan Campbell, teenage co-author of "Dead on Demand". "Hughes has masterfully woven an intricate and thrilling YA fantasy tale of a girl with ordinary teenage issues suddenly being catapulted into an intriguing, perilous adventure." Dody Cox, author of "Adventures in Mother-sitting".

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0  (1)
I loved reading The Griffin Cryer so much I read it twice in concession. From the opening lines I was totally captivated by this magical tale of a 16 year old girl with the ability to call a griffin and his rider from another world.
The characters were expertly written and so believable, even the griffin with his 'barley twist horns' and 'sail boat wings' leapt off the page at me and made me imagine how it would feel to take a flight on his back.
The main character Frankie has a complicated life, with her twin brother in a coma after an accident and her real father absent. She is feisty and a true heroine. I enjoyed reading her conversations with the griffin Rider and their unlikely bond to beat the baddies, save her brother and return the griffin and his rider to their world.
I would highly recommend this book to anyone looking for an exciting, magical read.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Charlie Plunkett Reviewed by Charlie Plunkett April 06, 2013
Top 1000 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

A magical must-read book

I loved reading The Griffin Cryer so much I read it twice in concession. From the opening lines I was totally captivated by this magical tale of a 16 year old girl with the ability to call a griffin and his rider from another world.
The characters were expertly written and so believable, even the griffin with his 'barley twist horns' and 'sail boat wings' leapt off the page at me and made me imagine how it would feel to take a flight on his back.
The main character Frankie has a complicated life, with her twin brother in a coma after an accident and her real father absent. She is feisty and a true heroine. I enjoyed reading her conversations with the griffin Rider and their unlikely bond to beat the baddies, save her brother and return the griffin and his rider to their world.
I would highly recommend this book to anyone looking for an exciting, magical read.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)