The Griffin Cryer

 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
1341   0
Write Review
The Griffin Cryer
Author(s)
Publisher Name
Talon Publishing
Genre/Type
Age Group
13+
Published Date
March 22, 2013
ISBN Number
978-1482664416
ASIN Number
      
One September evening, around twilight, Francesca Shaunessy calls out for her dog to come to heel – however instead of a black Labrador, a dragon like beast emerges from the mists surrounding the twelfth century church and graveyard, followed closely by his rider. Frankie is astounded to discover she has an unexpected gift: She is a "Griffin Cryer". Balkind is the sweetest most loveable griffin ever. Unfortunately his rider is the rudest man in this world or any other. Despite problems at school, and a complicated home life, Frankie feels compelled to help the Rider and his griffin return home to Ella-Earth. In doing so, Frankie escapes her own emotional prison, and becomes aware that there's a chance that she can help her comatose twin brother back into this world. "Julia Hughes is, first and foremost, a natural teller of tales. THE GRIFFIN CRYER is of course a fantasy, but as I read, I had no trouble in suspending my disbelief for the duration. Stephen Spencer, author of "The Paul Mallory Adventures". "The Griffin Cryer is a fantasy any teen can relate to. Hughes captures teen angst and then provides much needed relief in a truly unique and relateable young adult fantasy. Hughes' imagination is bound to capture the minds of readers worldwide. The Griffin Cryer is without peer." Dan Campbell, teenage co-author of "Dead on Demand". "Hughes has masterfully woven an intricate and thrilling YA fantasy tale of a girl with ordinary teenage issues suddenly being catapulted into an intriguing, perilous adventure." Dody Cox, author of "Adventures in Mother-sitting".

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0

A magical must-read book

I loved reading The Griffin Cryer so much I read it twice in concession. From the opening lines I was totally captivated by this magical tale of a 16 year old girl with the ability to call a griffin and his rider from another world.
The characters were expertly written and so believable, even the griffin with his 'barley twist horns' and 'sail boat wings' leapt off the page at me and made me imagine how it would feel to take a flight on his back.
The main character Frankie has a complicated life, with her twin brother in a coma after an accident and her real father absent. She is feisty and a true heroine. I enjoyed reading her conversations with the griffin Rider and their unlikely bond to beat the baddies, save her brother and return the griffin and his rider to their world.
I would highly recommend this book to anyone looking for an exciting, magical read.

Good Points
Excellent character driven plot.
Beautifully written.
Fast-paced, page turner.
Brilliant character interaction and dialogue.
Unique storyline.
Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

Lily and Dunkin
For readers who enjoyed Wonder and Counting by 7's, award-winning...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Secret Daughter of the Tsar
A compelling alternate history of the Romanov family in which...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Science Experiments You Can Eat
With revised and updated material, a brand-new look, and hours...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
"MouseStar 1" is surrounded by floating space junk! It's yucky...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The famouse opera singer Violetta von Cacklefur is in Gloomeria...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Thea Sisters are visiting a friend in sunny California...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Fault In Our Stars
Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wandering Wild
"I believe in possibility. Of magic, of omens, of compasses,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Hello, My Name Is Tiger
A reassuring picture book for back-to-school jitters! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Read Me Like A Book
In her first novel for young adults, New York Times...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What This Story Needs Is a Hush and a Shush
Join Pig in another fun read-aloud adventure on the farm...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Camp Dork (Pack of Dorks #2)
Lucy and her pack are back, in this sequel to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where She Went (If I Stay #2)
It's been three years since the devastating accident . ....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dill & Bizzy: An Odd Duck and a Strange Bird
Dill is a duck. A perfectly ordinary duck. At least...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Shadow Hour (The Girl at Midnight #2)
verything in Echo's life changed in a blinding flash when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Replica
Gemma has been in and out of hospitals since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)