BRAiN RIDE

 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
1554   0
Write Review
BRAiN RIDE
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Cyndi Mayer
Publisher Name
Good Catch Publishing
Age Group
8+
Published Date
January 23, 2013
ISBN Number
1938478134
ASIN Number
      
Broken limbs heal in eight weeks. What happens when your brain gets busted?

Jason’s best friend died the day of the bike accident. The guy who woke up from the coma is nothing like the old Logan. His memory has more holes than Swiss cheese, and he can’t count to ten. Doc explains the changes in Logan come from a traumatic brain injury. But words don’t make dealing with Logan or his condition any easier. He’s more impulsive than a toddler, and his black moods strain the boys’ friendship. To cope, Jason turns to his sketchbook.

PB, Logan’s tutor, encourages Jason. Together, they help Logan face a painfully slow recovery. When circumstances threaten to tear the friends apart, PB offers a solution. The catch: Jason must train for BRAN, an organized bike ride, and Logan has to get on a bike again.

Jason reluctantly agrees only to battle flat tires, bad weather, and road hazards. Logan struggles against his uncooperative brain and unresponsive body. Relearning to walk is challenge enough. How can he ever ride a bike?

Will the two friends give up? Or will Jason and Logan let adversity take them on the ride of their lives?

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0

Bicycles, Brain Injuries and Boyhood Friendship

All-in-all, a great read

Good Points
I haven't ridden a bike in years and my YA tastes tend to run more toward fantasy so I wasn't sure I'd enjoy this novel. I was pleasantly surprised. Angela Prusia has written a realistic story about a boy recovering from a brain injury but done it with lots of humor and fun illustrations.

The story really centers around Jason, a young man living with his single dad, who struggles to accept the person his best friend, Logan, became after suffering a bike accident. Together, with the help of PB- their teacher and friend, the boys navigate Logan's recovery and Jason's floundering home life. As therapy for both boys, PB, an avid bicyclist, signs them up for BRAN- a bicycle race across Nebraska. Both boys learn about perseverance and the true meaning of friendship as they team up for the ride of their lives.

In a YA market inundated with paranormal romance and dystopian futures, BRAiN Ride is a refreshing change.
Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

cover60900-medium.png
Toby's sister and baby brother love their schools - they...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every Exquisite Thing
Nanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emma and Julia Love Ballet
Emma is little. Julia is big. They both love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blobfish Book
Perfect for fans of Battle Bunny and Z Is for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5)
The long path to the throne has only just begun...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gemina (The Illuminae Files #2)
The highly anticipated sequel to the instant New York Times...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2)
Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ask Me How I Got Here
Addie has always known what she was running toward. In...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Time We Were Us
A passionate summer love story about a girl, her childhood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Way Back To You
In this witty, heart-tugging novel, two teens take a spontaneous...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Happens Now
"I know what it is to want something so badly,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
All I Need
The last night of summer is only the beginning. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Occasional Diamond Thief
What if you learned your father was a thief?...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Salarian Desert Game
What if someone you love gambled on her life? ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Truth About Forever
A long, hot summer... That's what Macy...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“The mother I knew would never do those things. ...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)