BRAiN RIDE

 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
2606   0
Write Review
BRAiN RIDE
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Cyndi Mayer
Publisher Name
Good Catch Publishing
Age Group
8+
Published Date
January 23, 2013
ISBN Number
1938478134
ASIN Number
      
Broken limbs heal in eight weeks. What happens when your brain gets busted?

Jason’s best friend died the day of the bike accident. The guy who woke up from the coma is nothing like the old Logan. His memory has more holes than Swiss cheese, and he can’t count to ten. Doc explains the changes in Logan come from a traumatic brain injury. But words don’t make dealing with Logan or his condition any easier. He’s more impulsive than a toddler, and his black moods strain the boys’ friendship. To cope, Jason turns to his sketchbook.

PB, Logan’s tutor, encourages Jason. Together, they help Logan face a painfully slow recovery. When circumstances threaten to tear the friends apart, PB offers a solution. The catch: Jason must train for BRAN, an organized bike ride, and Logan has to get on a bike again.

Jason reluctantly agrees only to battle flat tires, bad weather, and road hazards. Logan struggles against his uncooperative brain and unresponsive body. Relearning to walk is challenge enough. How can he ever ride a bike?

Will the two friends give up? Or will Jason and Logan let adversity take them on the ride of their lives?

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0

Bicycles, Brain Injuries and Boyhood Friendship

All-in-all, a great read

Good Points
I haven't ridden a bike in years and my YA tastes tend to run more toward fantasy so I wasn't sure I'd enjoy this novel. I was pleasantly surprised. Angela Prusia has written a realistic story about a boy recovering from a brain injury but done it with lots of humor and fun illustrations.

The story really centers around Jason, a young man living with his single dad, who struggles to accept the person his best friend, Logan, became after suffering a bike accident. Together, with the help of PB- their teacher and friend, the boys navigate Logan's recovery and Jason's floundering home life. As therapy for both boys, PB, an avid bicyclist, signs them up for BRAN- a bicycle race across Nebraska. Both boys learn about perseverance and the true meaning of friendship as they team up for the ride of their lives.

In a YA market inundated with paranormal romance and dystopian futures, BRAiN Ride is a refreshing change.
Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Restart
Chase's memory just went out the window. Chase doesn't remember...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tori Douglas hates her life. Struggling to make the people...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It Should Have Been You
Seventeen-year-old Clara Seibert ghostwrites an advice column for her school’s...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Round of Robins
Food Fight Jumble, jostle, rumble, squirm; ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emerson Page and Where the Light Enters
Thirteen-year-old Emerson Page wants to know what happened to...
 
3.8
 
5.0 (1)
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ace of Shades
Welcome to the City of Sin, where casino families...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Premonition (The Division Series Book 1)
When Riley heads off to boarding school for a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Stealing Liberty
 
4.7
"I am amazed as to how versatile Jennifer Froelich is as an author. Each book is so creative and unique..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Hidden underneath the rubble and remains of a burned out school library, lies a treasure - a real library that..."
Devils Unto Dust
 
4.7
"In this alternative history the time after the Civil War has caused not only bad times to come to Daisy..."
The Traitor's Game
 
4.7
"THE TRAITOR'S GAME alternates between two main characters: Kestra and Simon. When Kestra is called back home to her father's..."
Better Than This
 
4.7
"The story: Samantha “Sam” Becker wants only one thing – to go to Juilliard. She’s a veritable prodigy with..."
The Poet X
 
4.0
"The Poet X felt like coming home. I felt the presence of the bodegas as if I walked by them..."
Zenith: The Androma Saga
 
4.0
"ZENITH: THE ANDROMA SAGA by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings is a young adult science fiction novel that follows the..."
Miles Away From You
 
3.7
"Grief is a funny thing, it's usually messy--and rarely neat--with the barest of touches, it makes a wreck of your..."
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
 
5.0
"Prepare yourself, Winter Glass is set to destroy all the feels! This stunning conclusion full of sisterly love, romance, and..."
Restart
 
4.0
"Middle grade mystery with an amnesic twist—a friendship-centric tale of lost-and-found. Readers are introduced to a cruel boy..."
Crossing the Line
 
3.3
"Ryan Hess escapes his abusive stepfather and flees to Mexico, hoping to train with a former famous boxer. He doesn't..."
It Should Have Been You
 
3.7
"This book had me at the tagline: “Once I decided to kill her, the rest was surprisingly easy.” ..."
The Last Thing You Said
 
3.7
"The Last Thing You Said by Sara Biren is a story about love and loss. Ben and Lucy are..."
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
 
5.0
"Obsidio starts off right where Gemina left off and we are introduced to a few new characters who follow in..."
Pretty Dead Girls
 
3.3
"PRETTY DEAD GIRLS by Monica Murphy is a YA thriller in which all the popular senior girls at Cape Bonita..."
Ace of Shades
 
5.0
"When Enne's mother doesn't return home, Enne travels to the City of Sin and she's desperate to find her. It's..."
Not if I Save You First
 
5.0
"Maddie's father is a Secret Service agent who is protecting Logan's father, the president of the United States. "Mad Dog"..."
How You Ruined My Life
 
4.7
"Rodney's father left, so he and his mother struggle to get by. When his well-to-do aunt and uncle decide to..."
Zombie Abbey
 
4.0
"It's been a long time since I had read a zombie novel and even more, one as entertaining as Zombie..."
The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games #1)
 
5.0
"i really loved this book, the plot and the characters. I'm looking forward to reading the next book in the..."