Books Young Adult Indie Broken Cadence

Broken Cadence

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/5f/06/ba/_broken3-1359764169.jpg
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
824   0
Author(s)
Age Group
15+
Published Date
January 29, 2013
ISBN Number
978-1620303269
ASIN Number
      
It is hard to entertain a dead man’s thoughts 24/7.

Admittedly, it is Delaney who first welcomed the voice into her head. He claimed himself as Eli, her godfather and childhood guardian; but he is much crueler now than she remembers him. The Eli she knew – and expected – would never do these things. He would only love her (although, others have said it wasn’t the right kind of love). And even when he did make her cry, he always showed remorse.

But that was when he was alive – and ghosts can’t feel remorse.

Dr. Dwayne says she’s simply imagining Eli; and if she confronts her past, and continues to take her medication, Eli's intrusive thoughts will disappear.

Hence her documentary.

Now 17-year-old Delaney Gordon has entered her life in a student film competition. She hopes the documentary will be the healing path she needs to finally rid herself of the ghostly presence which has haunted her mind for more than three years. But how can she accurately portray on film her psychological torment when her co-star is all in her head?

Soon Delaney awakens to discover she is alone in a green and gray rendering of a vacant mountain highway. A hologram of herself. And the closest resemblance to a savior is an evasive singing tour guide of the netherworld. Now what of Eli? He promised to one day seize her soul and take her down to hell with him.

Is this hell?

She had been raised with ideals of heaven and eternal life. She had been taught the teachings of Jesus, the Christ. Teachings she held firm to, even in her most trying hours.

"But where, oh where, is your Jesus now?"

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0  (1)
I really enjoyed reading this book, so much that I ended up reading it in a day!
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Nicole Reviewed by Nicole February 15, 2013
Top 1000 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Good Reading!

I really enjoyed reading this book, so much that I ended up reading it in a day!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)