Broken Cadence

 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
1527   0
Write Review
Broken Cadence
Author(s)
Age Group
15+
Published Date
January 29, 2013
ISBN Number
978-1620303269
ASIN Number
      
It is hard to entertain a dead man’s thoughts 24/7.

Admittedly, it is Delaney who first welcomed the voice into her head. He claimed himself as Eli, her godfather and childhood guardian; but he is much crueler now than she remembers him. The Eli she knew – and expected – would never do these things. He would only love her (although, others have said it wasn’t the right kind of love). And even when he did make her cry, he always showed remorse.

But that was when he was alive – and ghosts can’t feel remorse.

Dr. Dwayne says she’s simply imagining Eli; and if she confronts her past, and continues to take her medication, Eli's intrusive thoughts will disappear.

Hence her documentary.

Now 17-year-old Delaney Gordon has entered her life in a student film competition. She hopes the documentary will be the healing path she needs to finally rid herself of the ghostly presence which has haunted her mind for more than three years. But how can she accurately portray on film her psychological torment when her co-star is all in her head?

Soon Delaney awakens to discover she is alone in a green and gray rendering of a vacant mountain highway. A hologram of herself. And the closest resemblance to a savior is an evasive singing tour guide of the netherworld. Now what of Eli? He promised to one day seize her soul and take her down to hell with him.

Is this hell?

She had been raised with ideals of heaven and eternal life. She had been taught the teachings of Jesus, the Christ. Teachings she held firm to, even in her most trying hours.

"But where, oh where, is your Jesus now?"

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0

Good Reading!

I really enjoyed reading this book, so much that I ended up reading it in a day!

Good Points
The plot is well thought out and develops nicely with a few twists that I couldn't see coming! I liked the characters and look forward to the sequel so I can see more of them, particularly one of the supporting characters, Ethan. He was so passionate!
Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

25664625.jpg
Little Red is on her way to visit Auntie Rosie...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
27210475.jpg
For fans of Fancy Nancy, Ladybug Girl, and Chu’s First...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cake Pop Crush
Alicia Ramirez has always loved baking. Her family owns Say...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Recreated (The Reawakened Series)
From Colleen Houck, New York Times bestselling author of...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Still a Gorilla
Will Willy be another type of animal? No! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Please Say Please
How do you ask for what you'd like? Do...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pete the Cat's Got Class
New York Times bestselling author and artist James Dean brings...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Quinn Cutler is sixteen and the daughter of a high-profile...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
THE GHOST CHRONICLES
***Finalist in the National Indie Excellence Awards for Young...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Children of Icarus
Daedelum's children pray for the honor of being chosen...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Run
Run
Bo Dickinson is a girl with a wild reputation,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Lost-in-Wonderland-evernightpublishing-JayAheer2016-smallpreview.jpg
Monsters, serial killers, and imaginary friends—being a Wonderlander can...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
P.S. I Like You
Signed, sealed, delivered... While spacing out in Chemistry class,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Drawing Lesson: A Graphic Novel That Teaches You How to Draw
For the first time ever, drawing instructor and graphic novelist...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rose & Thorn (Ash & Bramble #2)
This beauty isn’t sleeping! Sarah Prineas’s darkly imaginative retelling breaks...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Retreat (The After Trilogy: Book One)
Earth was ruined. Humankind destroyed. And it’s old news. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)