Broken Cadence

 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
1441   0
Write Review
Broken Cadence
Author(s)
Age Group
15+
Published Date
January 29, 2013
ISBN Number
978-1620303269
ASIN Number
      
It is hard to entertain a dead man’s thoughts 24/7.

Admittedly, it is Delaney who first welcomed the voice into her head. He claimed himself as Eli, her godfather and childhood guardian; but he is much crueler now than she remembers him. The Eli she knew – and expected – would never do these things. He would only love her (although, others have said it wasn’t the right kind of love). And even when he did make her cry, he always showed remorse.

But that was when he was alive – and ghosts can’t feel remorse.

Dr. Dwayne says she’s simply imagining Eli; and if she confronts her past, and continues to take her medication, Eli's intrusive thoughts will disappear.

Hence her documentary.

Now 17-year-old Delaney Gordon has entered her life in a student film competition. She hopes the documentary will be the healing path she needs to finally rid herself of the ghostly presence which has haunted her mind for more than three years. But how can she accurately portray on film her psychological torment when her co-star is all in her head?

Soon Delaney awakens to discover she is alone in a green and gray rendering of a vacant mountain highway. A hologram of herself. And the closest resemblance to a savior is an evasive singing tour guide of the netherworld. Now what of Eli? He promised to one day seize her soul and take her down to hell with him.

Is this hell?

She had been raised with ideals of heaven and eternal life. She had been taught the teachings of Jesus, the Christ. Teachings she held firm to, even in her most trying hours.

"But where, oh where, is your Jesus now?"

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0

Good Reading!

I really enjoyed reading this book, so much that I ended up reading it in a day!

Good Points
The plot is well thought out and develops nicely with a few twists that I couldn't see coming! I liked the characters and look forward to the sequel so I can see more of them, particularly one of the supporting characters, Ethan. He was so passionate!
Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

61tbP2jpoXL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
When a glamorous family of teenage witches brings a mysterious...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
51W7EOxIV9L._SX332_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
It’s Boston, 1919, and the Cast Iron club is packed....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Exo
It’s been a century of peace since Earth became a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Lion Inside
From the creator of the known and loved Bright Side...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Scotland is in my blood... All sixteen-year-old...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Cabinet of Souls (R.L. Stine's Monsterville #1)
Dare to enter a mysterious realm where the cost of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Genie in a Bottle (Whatever After #9)
Abby and her little brother, Jonah, have a magic mirror...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hour of Magic (Geronimo Stilton and the Kingdom of Fantasy #8)
I, Geronimo Stilton, was amazed to find myself called back...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Enemy Above
In 1942 twelve-year-old Anton, his family, and their small community...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Skeleth
For the lords of the north, land is power. The...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mayhem (Lawless #3)
M Freeman has been a star pupil at the Lawless...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
cover60900-medium.png
Toby's sister and baby brother love their schools - they...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every Exquisite Thing
Nanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emma and Julia Love Ballet
Emma is little. Julia is big. They both love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blobfish Book
Perfect for fans of Battle Bunny and Z Is for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5)
The long path to the throne has only just begun...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)