Books Young Adult Indie Broken Cadence

Broken Cadence

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/5f/06/ba/_broken3-1359764169.jpg
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
895   0
Author(s)
Age Group
15+
Published Date
January 29, 2013
ISBN Number
978-1620303269
ASIN Number
      
It is hard to entertain a dead man’s thoughts 24/7.

Admittedly, it is Delaney who first welcomed the voice into her head. He claimed himself as Eli, her godfather and childhood guardian; but he is much crueler now than she remembers him. The Eli she knew – and expected – would never do these things. He would only love her (although, others have said it wasn’t the right kind of love). And even when he did make her cry, he always showed remorse.

But that was when he was alive – and ghosts can’t feel remorse.

Dr. Dwayne says she’s simply imagining Eli; and if she confronts her past, and continues to take her medication, Eli's intrusive thoughts will disappear.

Hence her documentary.

Now 17-year-old Delaney Gordon has entered her life in a student film competition. She hopes the documentary will be the healing path she needs to finally rid herself of the ghostly presence which has haunted her mind for more than three years. But how can she accurately portray on film her psychological torment when her co-star is all in her head?

Soon Delaney awakens to discover she is alone in a green and gray rendering of a vacant mountain highway. A hologram of herself. And the closest resemblance to a savior is an evasive singing tour guide of the netherworld. Now what of Eli? He promised to one day seize her soul and take her down to hell with him.

Is this hell?

She had been raised with ideals of heaven and eternal life. She had been taught the teachings of Jesus, the Christ. Teachings she held firm to, even in her most trying hours.

"But where, oh where, is your Jesus now?"

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0  (1)
I really enjoyed reading this book, so much that I ended up reading it in a day!
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Nicole Reviewed by Nicole February 15, 2013
Top 1000 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Good Reading!

I really enjoyed reading this book, so much that I ended up reading it in a day!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
After a year at the king's palace, Miri has learned all about being a proper princess. But the tables turn...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Hopper is just an ordinary pet shop mouse before he escapes. Soon he finds himself below the bustling streets of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
The battle to free Titus's camps is over, and Hopper, Zucker, Firren, and their loyal followers are working to rebuild....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Tori Porter is best friends with her mom, and most of the time it’s awesome. Not many girls have a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
London's Youngest detective is back . . . Darkus Knightley, tweed-wearing, megabrained, fiercely logical thirteen-year-old investigator of the weird, was...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ari’s mother died four years ago, she had two final wishes: that Ari and her older brother, Gage, would...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A boy hunter, the president of the United States, and a terrorist plot converge to create an original and thrilling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rory and her friends are reeling from a series of sudden and tragic events. While racked with grief, Rory tries...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the most part, aspiring screenwriter Jack Bell is just your typical Midwestern kid. He’s got a crush on his...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
4.7 (1)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)