Books Young Adult Indie The Truth About Faking

The Truth About Faking

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/85/a4/f0/_the-truth-about-faking-1359649871.jpeg
 
0.0
 
4.5 (1)
978   0
Age Group
13+
Published Date
September 04, 2012
ISBN Number
9781452446219
ASIN Number
      
Jason just wants a date with Harley.
Harley just wants a date with Trent.
Trent's still getting over Stephanie.

When Harley and Jason decide to fake date, they uncover a school of deceptions. Trent's got a secret, but so does Jason. And the more time Harley spends secretly kissing her fake boyfriend, the further she gets from her dreams with Trent.

Worst of all, Harley's mom is getting cozy with her hot massage therapy student, and even Harley's Reverend Dad can't fake not being bothered by it. But when the masks finally come off, can everyone handle the real truth?

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
N/A  (0)
A sweet, young romance of chance, choices, and a little stubborn tease.

First glance at the cover image (including the font choice, which I love!), and you just know sweetness is on its way.

Harley has a strong sense about her, yet a snippet of spunk that threatens to escape through each of her words. She has that typical girl sensibility about her, characteristic of a high school girl from a small town. But there's also a depth to her that, for a while, not even she can see.

Now Jason is just so ... SO! He's the guy who girls would crush on but only has eyes for one girl, and nothing will change that. At times, I wanted to reach through the pages and beyond Moore's word and give him a big hug. And he has more patience than most guys his age would. Just goes to show the male heart can be determined and faithful.

Such a classic stage: girl pretends to like boy #1, getting boy #1 to agree to help her, in hopes of making boy #2 like her. The difference in TTAF is Miss Harley believes her plan is sure-fire. She forgets that guy #1 is the new boy she recently met in a smash-up kind of way and has yet to get to know him, and that boy #2 is a childhood friend--and has always been with other girls. AND it all backfires, which I loved!

My passionate reads are usually of the paranormal or otherworldly nature. But I honestly couldn't put this story down. Harley was just awesome, finally taking a risk to get her old friend to notice her, but ended up confusing herself more than she thought possible. Mix in a surprise revelation about her crush, and I found this young adult read full of romantic charm with a triangle of trouble in the making.

Lastly, the writing is honest and pure, concise in its presentation of the story. I'd label this quick, easy, and satisfying on all counts.
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Editing/Design Quality 
 
N/A
Sheri Larsen Reviewed by Sheri Larsen June 14, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (10)

Young Romance of Chances and Choices

A sweet, young romance of chance, choices, and a little stubborn tease.

First glance at the cover image (including the font choice, which I love!), and you just know sweetness is on its way.

Harley has a strong sense about her, yet a snippet of spunk that threatens to escape through each of her words. She has that typical girl sensibility about her, characteristic of a high school girl from a small town. But there's also a depth to her that, for a while, not even she can see.

Now Jason is just so ... SO! He's the guy who girls would crush on but only has eyes for one girl, and nothing will change that. At times, I wanted to reach through the pages and beyond Moore's word and give him a big hug. And he has more patience than most guys his age would. Just goes to show the male heart can be determined and faithful.

Such a classic stage: girl pretends to like boy #1, getting boy #1 to agree to help her, in hopes of making boy #2 like her. The difference in TTAF is Miss Harley believes her plan is sure-fire. She forgets that guy #1 is the new boy she recently met in a smash-up kind of way and has yet to get to know him, and that boy #2 is a childhood friend--and has always been with other girls. AND it all backfires, which I loved!

My passionate reads are usually of the paranormal or otherworldly nature. But I honestly couldn't put this story down. Harley was just awesome, finally taking a risk to get her old friend to notice her, but ended up confusing herself more than she thought possible. Mix in a surprise revelation about her crush, and I found this young adult read full of romantic charm with a triangle of trouble in the making.

Lastly, the writing is honest and pure, concise in its presentation of the story. I'd label this quick, easy, and satisfying on all counts.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Young Adult Indie
At fourteen, Catrina MacGreagor was left to care for her nine siblings after her mother passed. She didn't truly mind,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
New York Times Bestseller * Indie List Bestseller * Soon to be a Film from Universal Pictures * A Barnes...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dear Mr. S. Harris, Ignore the blob of red in the top left corner. It's jam, not blood, though I...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
At not quite fifteen, Stefan's father finally let him board the longship, Sja Vinna, to take part in his first...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Gayle Forman, Every Last Promise is a provocative and emotional novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
What if, after spending a lifetime deceiving everyone around you, you discovered the biggest lies were the ones you've told...
 
0.0
 
3.3 (1)
In the explosive conclusion to the thrilling Revolution 19 series, the time has come to win the cities back from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Darcy Covington never had to worry about money or where her next shopping spree was coming from. Even her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Reality is only an illusion. Except for those who can control it… Worst. Birthday. Ever. My first boyfriend dumped me—happy...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
5-to-1-cover-small.jpg
In the year 2054, after decades of gender selection, India now has a ratio of five boys for every girl,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wren Noble is dead—she was born that way. Vibrant, unlike other dead things, she craves those rare moments when her...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Macy Jones is a perfect student, popular teenager, and utterly miserable. This all changes once her father is arrested and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ned and his identical twin brother tumble from their raft into a raging, bewitched river, only Ned survives. Villagers...
 
5.0
 
4.0 (1)
In Marla Klein and Ivy Wilde’s world, teens are the gatekeepers of culture. A top fashion label employs sixteen-year-old...
 
0.0
 
3.3 (1)
the hidden princess.jpg
One destiny rules two worlds in this gripping fantasy thriller. For five years, the Gateway has been closed and Hidden...
 
0.0
 
3.7 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
When Aidan and Maggie find a fairy cross while rock-hunting with their grandfather, it's just an oddity. But when they...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this unforgettable teen romance that fans of Sarah Dessen and Susane Colasanti will devour, Quinn Sullivan falls for the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A powerful and gripping contemporary YA from the author of I'm Not Her that's "Just right for fans of Sarah...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins is sassier than ever in this page-turning follow up to Rebel Belle, perfect...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)