Books Young Adult Indie The Truth About Faking

The Truth About Faking

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/85/a4/f0/_the-truth-about-faking-1359649871.jpeg
 
0.0
 
4.5 (1)
922   0
Age Group
13+
Published Date
September 04, 2012
ISBN Number
9781452446219
ASIN Number
      
Jason just wants a date with Harley.
Harley just wants a date with Trent.
Trent's still getting over Stephanie.

When Harley and Jason decide to fake date, they uncover a school of deceptions. Trent's got a secret, but so does Jason. And the more time Harley spends secretly kissing her fake boyfriend, the further she gets from her dreams with Trent.

Worst of all, Harley's mom is getting cozy with her hot massage therapy student, and even Harley's Reverend Dad can't fake not being bothered by it. But when the masks finally come off, can everyone handle the real truth?

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
N/A  (0)
A sweet, young romance of chance, choices, and a little stubborn tease.

First glance at the cover image (including the font choice, which I love!), and you just know sweetness is on its way.

Harley has a strong sense about her, yet a snippet of spunk that threatens to escape through each of her words. She has that typical girl sensibility about her, characteristic of a high school girl from a small town. But there's also a depth to her that, for a while, not even she can see.

Now Jason is just so ... SO! He's the guy who girls would crush on but only has eyes for one girl, and nothing will change that. At times, I wanted to reach through the pages and beyond Moore's word and give him a big hug. And he has more patience than most guys his age would. Just goes to show the male heart can be determined and faithful.

Such a classic stage: girl pretends to like boy #1, getting boy #1 to agree to help her, in hopes of making boy #2 like her. The difference in TTAF is Miss Harley believes her plan is sure-fire. She forgets that guy #1 is the new boy she recently met in a smash-up kind of way and has yet to get to know him, and that boy #2 is a childhood friend--and has always been with other girls. AND it all backfires, which I loved!

My passionate reads are usually of the paranormal or otherworldly nature. But I honestly couldn't put this story down. Harley was just awesome, finally taking a risk to get her old friend to notice her, but ended up confusing herself more than she thought possible. Mix in a surprise revelation about her crush, and I found this young adult read full of romantic charm with a triangle of trouble in the making.

Lastly, the writing is honest and pure, concise in its presentation of the story. I'd label this quick, easy, and satisfying on all counts.
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Editing/Design Quality 
 
N/A
Sheri Larsen Reviewed by Sheri Larsen June 14, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (10)

Young Romance of Chances and Choices

A sweet, young romance of chance, choices, and a little stubborn tease.

First glance at the cover image (including the font choice, which I love!), and you just know sweetness is on its way.

Harley has a strong sense about her, yet a snippet of spunk that threatens to escape through each of her words. She has that typical girl sensibility about her, characteristic of a high school girl from a small town. But there's also a depth to her that, for a while, not even she can see.

Now Jason is just so ... SO! He's the guy who girls would crush on but only has eyes for one girl, and nothing will change that. At times, I wanted to reach through the pages and beyond Moore's word and give him a big hug. And he has more patience than most guys his age would. Just goes to show the male heart can be determined and faithful.

Such a classic stage: girl pretends to like boy #1, getting boy #1 to agree to help her, in hopes of making boy #2 like her. The difference in TTAF is Miss Harley believes her plan is sure-fire. She forgets that guy #1 is the new boy she recently met in a smash-up kind of way and has yet to get to know him, and that boy #2 is a childhood friend--and has always been with other girls. AND it all backfires, which I loved!

My passionate reads are usually of the paranormal or otherworldly nature. But I honestly couldn't put this story down. Harley was just awesome, finally taking a risk to get her old friend to notice her, but ended up confusing herself more than she thought possible. Mix in a surprise revelation about her crush, and I found this young adult read full of romantic charm with a triangle of trouble in the making.

Lastly, the writing is honest and pure, concise in its presentation of the story. I'd label this quick, easy, and satisfying on all counts.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
When Nic, a slave in the mines outside of Rome, is forced to enter a sealed cavern containing the lost...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
After a year at the king's palace, Miri has learned all about being a proper princess. But the tables turn...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Hopper is just an ordinary pet shop mouse before he escapes. Soon he finds himself below the bustling streets of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
The battle to free Titus's camps is over, and Hopper, Zucker, Firren, and their loyal followers are working to rebuild....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Tori Porter is best friends with her mom, and most of the time it’s awesome. Not many girls have a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
London's Youngest detective is back . . . Darkus Knightley, tweed-wearing, megabrained, fiercely logical thirteen-year-old investigator of the weird, was...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ari’s mother died four years ago, she had two final wishes: that Ari and her older brother, Gage, would...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A boy hunter, the president of the United States, and a terrorist plot converge to create an original and thrilling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rory and her friends are reeling from a series of sudden and tragic events. While racked with grief, Rory tries...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the most part, aspiring screenwriter Jack Bell is just your typical Midwestern kid. He’s got a crush on his...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
4.7 (1)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)