Books Young Adult Indie The Truth About Faking

The Truth About Faking

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/85/a4/f0/_the-truth-about-faking-1359649871.jpeg
 
0.0
 
4.5 (1)
831   0
Age Group
13+
Published Date
September 04, 2012
ISBN Number
9781452446219
ASIN Number
      
Jason just wants a date with Harley.
Harley just wants a date with Trent.
Trent's still getting over Stephanie.

When Harley and Jason decide to fake date, they uncover a school of deceptions. Trent's got a secret, but so does Jason. And the more time Harley spends secretly kissing her fake boyfriend, the further she gets from her dreams with Trent.

Worst of all, Harley's mom is getting cozy with her hot massage therapy student, and even Harley's Reverend Dad can't fake not being bothered by it. But when the masks finally come off, can everyone handle the real truth?

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
N/A  (0)
A sweet, young romance of chance, choices, and a little stubborn tease.

First glance at the cover image (including the font choice, which I love!), and you just know sweetness is on its way.

Harley has a strong sense about her, yet a snippet of spunk that threatens to escape through each of her words. She has that typical girl sensibility about her, characteristic of a high school girl from a small town. But there's also a depth to her that, for a while, not even she can see.

Now Jason is just so ... SO! He's the guy who girls would crush on but only has eyes for one girl, and nothing will change that. At times, I wanted to reach through the pages and beyond Moore's word and give him a big hug. And he has more patience than most guys his age would. Just goes to show the male heart can be determined and faithful.

Such a classic stage: girl pretends to like boy #1, getting boy #1 to agree to help her, in hopes of making boy #2 like her. The difference in TTAF is Miss Harley believes her plan is sure-fire. She forgets that guy #1 is the new boy she recently met in a smash-up kind of way and has yet to get to know him, and that boy #2 is a childhood friend--and has always been with other girls. AND it all backfires, which I loved!

My passionate reads are usually of the paranormal or otherworldly nature. But I honestly couldn't put this story down. Harley was just awesome, finally taking a risk to get her old friend to notice her, but ended up confusing herself more than she thought possible. Mix in a surprise revelation about her crush, and I found this young adult read full of romantic charm with a triangle of trouble in the making.

Lastly, the writing is honest and pure, concise in its presentation of the story. I'd label this quick, easy, and satisfying on all counts.
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Editing/Design Quality 
 
N/A
Sheri Larsen Reviewed by Sheri Larsen June 14, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (10)

Young Romance of Chances and Choices

A sweet, young romance of chance, choices, and a little stubborn tease.

First glance at the cover image (including the font choice, which I love!), and you just know sweetness is on its way.

Harley has a strong sense about her, yet a snippet of spunk that threatens to escape through each of her words. She has that typical girl sensibility about her, characteristic of a high school girl from a small town. But there's also a depth to her that, for a while, not even she can see.

Now Jason is just so ... SO! He's the guy who girls would crush on but only has eyes for one girl, and nothing will change that. At times, I wanted to reach through the pages and beyond Moore's word and give him a big hug. And he has more patience than most guys his age would. Just goes to show the male heart can be determined and faithful.

Such a classic stage: girl pretends to like boy #1, getting boy #1 to agree to help her, in hopes of making boy #2 like her. The difference in TTAF is Miss Harley believes her plan is sure-fire. She forgets that guy #1 is the new boy she recently met in a smash-up kind of way and has yet to get to know him, and that boy #2 is a childhood friend--and has always been with other girls. AND it all backfires, which I loved!

My passionate reads are usually of the paranormal or otherworldly nature. But I honestly couldn't put this story down. Harley was just awesome, finally taking a risk to get her old friend to notice her, but ended up confusing herself more than she thought possible. Mix in a surprise revelation about her crush, and I found this young adult read full of romantic charm with a triangle of trouble in the making.

Lastly, the writing is honest and pure, concise in its presentation of the story. I'd label this quick, easy, and satisfying on all counts.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)