The Adventures of Peter Tate

The Adventures of Peter Tate

 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
2333   0
Write Review
The Adventures of Peter Tate
Author(s)
Age Group
10+
Published Date
January 20, 2013
ISBN Number
978-0-615-76244-9
ASIN Number
      
Peter Tate has no idea that he is the most famous child in the country. Orphaned at an early age and raised in total isolation by a foster family of survivalists, he spends his days learning skills such as self-defense, weaponry, and bug eating. Peter dislikes the survivalist ways of the Judds and finds solace solving math problems and playing soccer. He yearns to see the world beyond the Judd Compound and discovers that he has a special gift – a photographic memory.
Peter’s life takes a dramatic turn on his eleventh birthday when his true guardian, Jake Hartman, arrives with the news that Peter is the heir to a great fortune. Jake brought Peter to the Judds ten years earlier after a failed kidnapping attempt left Peter an orphan. The kidnapping had been carried out by someone close to the Tate family, and as the primary heir to the family fortune, Peter’s life was – and still is – in constant danger. Jake explains that the Judd family, albeit strange, offered a safe haven until Peter was old enough to learn the terms of his father’s will.
According to the will, Peter takes full control of the family fortune upon his twenty-first birthday. Until then, he is to attend a very special school – Tate Academy. Founded and funded by Peter’s father, the exclusive school accepts only the top students in the country and entrance is based purely on merit – except in Peter’s case.
Even though Peter quickly finds a roommate and best friend, the soccer star Carlos Hernandez, he still struggles to fit into the exclusive school. Peter’s spoiled and obnoxious cousin, Maximilian Tate, also attends the school. Peter’s run-ins with Maximilian and his sidekick Quinn frequently lead to trouble.
Peter’s photographic memory helps him discover a hidden room and tunnels in the Civil War-era buildings that make up the school campus. Peter’s initial exploration of these hidden tunnels ends with an attempt on his life. Could it be Bill Campbell, the head of Tate Industries and the executor of the Tate estate, or Dr. Swarm the Headmaster at Tate Academy, or one of Peter’s surviving relatives – Uncle Morton, Aunt Eileen or their son Maximilian? Could Peter trust his guardian and the Head of Security at Tate Academy, Jake Hartman? Or is there someone else who stands to profit from the death of the richest boy in the world? Join Peter as he seeks to uncover his past in order to understand his future.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

Solo
From award-winning and New York Times bestselling author Kwame Alexander,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Refugee.jpg
JOSEF is a Jewish boy living in 1930s Nazi Germany....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
SwingitSunnyjpg
Summer's over and it's time for Sunny Lewin to enter...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheWitchBoy.jpg
n thirteen-year-old Aster's family, all the girls are raised to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Let's Investigate with Nate #1: The Water Cycle
Bill Nye the Science Guy meets The Magic School Bus!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The 12 Dares of Christa
Christa is a holiday junkie. What’s not to love? There’s...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes
Things are looking up for Abbie Wu: this year she’ll...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
See Fred Run
Learning to read has never been more fun than it...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Monster of Selkirk Book I: The Duality of Nature
Monsters come in many forms, and not everyone knows a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where's Waldo? 30th Anniversary Edition
The amazing original that set off the worldwide search for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Little Girl Who Didn't Want to Go to Bed
The internet’s “World’s Best Father," award-winning photographer Dave Engledow, makes...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Being Fishkill
Fishkill Carmel fends for herself, with her fists if need...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Goldeline
Perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Namsara
Kristen Ciccarelli’s debut fantasy explores an intricately woven world of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Speak Easy, Speak Love
Six teenagers’ lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mr. Biddles
A funny picture book about friendship, in the tradition of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Refugee
 
5.0
"Alan Gratz does it again with Refugee. Gratz knows how to weave historical facts and great story telling flawlessly. Refugee..."
This Savage Song
 
4.0
"This Savage Song is a uniquely peculiar novel that cleverly combines magic, monsters and music. Dark, violent and monstrous, the..."
The 12 Dares of Christa
 
4.3
"'The 12 Dares of Christa' by Marissa Burt is a sweet story of friendship, determination, strength, and forgiveness. Main character..."
Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes
 
5.0
"'Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes' by Booki Vivat is an adorable, illustrated story that not only proves a fast..."
How to Disappear
 
5.0
"I am so absolutely in love with Sharon Huss Roat. Her books are funny, relatable, and so easily devoured. I..."
David Inside Out
 
5.0
"David Inside Out is a novel about a teenager (David) who is discovering he is gay. In David's high school,..."
The Rest of Us Just Live Here
 
3.7
"I have to admit, it took me a while to get into this one. The characters seemed to me to..."
The Book Thief
 
4.7
"Death as a narrator? What an idea! It was so interesting to see the Second World War from a German..."
Ferocious (Vicarious #2)
 
5.0
"*WARNING: There are no spoilers for FEROCIOUS, but there are spoilers for book 1, VICARIOUS* As a reader, sequels always..."
Blight
 
4.7
"BLIGHT by Alexandra Duncan is the next young adult dystopian novel that will set your world on fire. Torrest Tempest..."
The Knife of Never Letting Go (Chaos Walking #1)
 
5.0
"This book was so unusual and satisfying in so many ways. Then there was the one bit - if you've..."
Mask of Shadows
 
4.0
"MASK OF SHADOWS by Linsey Miller features Sal Leon, a genderfluid thief who wants nothing more than to exact revenge..."
Shiver (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #1)
 
3.7
"This one took a while to get into. I didn't warm much to Grace. She didn't seem to have much..."
Everything, Everything
 
3.0
"This story is told in first-person present-tense entirely from the POV of Madeline, who is turning eighteen in the first..."
The Museum of Heartbreak
 
4.7
"I really relate to this book very much. Most especially with Pen. This book was so honest. Many symbolisms but..."
Loved (House of Night Other World series, Book 1)
 
5.0
"Zoe and the Nerd Herd from the House of Night Series have returned for another adventure in LOVED. All of..."
 
4.0
"4.5 Stars! Someone Else's Summer was an amazing and emotional novel. It had a well written plot and captivating..."
Eden Summer
 
4.3
"EDEN SUMMER by Liz Flanagan is a rollercoaster of a novel. In this contemporary young adult book, Jess’ best friend,..."
The Tiger's Watch (Ashes of Gold #1)
 
4.3
"Tashi has had a rough life. With the power of an inhabitor, someone who bonds with an animal, they have..."
The Hollow Girl
 
5.0
"Content Warning: As the author mentions in the forward, there is sexual assault in this book. Disclaimer: I..."