Books Young Adult Indie The Adventures of Peter Tate

The Adventures of Peter Tate

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/3e/13/99/_book-cover-1-1359260773.jpg
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
878   0
Author(s)
Age Group
10+
Published Date
January 20, 2013
ISBN Number
978-0-615-76244-9
ASIN Number
      
Peter Tate has no idea that he is the most famous child in the country. Orphaned at an early age and raised in total isolation by a foster family of survivalists, he spends his days learning skills such as self-defense, weaponry, and bug eating. Peter dislikes the survivalist ways of the Judds and finds solace solving math problems and playing soccer. He yearns to see the world beyond the Judd Compound and discovers that he has a special gift – a photographic memory.
Peter’s life takes a dramatic turn on his eleventh birthday when his true guardian, Jake Hartman, arrives with the news that Peter is the heir to a great fortune. Jake brought Peter to the Judds ten years earlier after a failed kidnapping attempt left Peter an orphan. The kidnapping had been carried out by someone close to the Tate family, and as the primary heir to the family fortune, Peter’s life was – and still is – in constant danger. Jake explains that the Judd family, albeit strange, offered a safe haven until Peter was old enough to learn the terms of his father’s will.
According to the will, Peter takes full control of the family fortune upon his twenty-first birthday. Until then, he is to attend a very special school – Tate Academy. Founded and funded by Peter’s father, the exclusive school accepts only the top students in the country and entrance is based purely on merit – except in Peter’s case.
Even though Peter quickly finds a roommate and best friend, the soccer star Carlos Hernandez, he still struggles to fit into the exclusive school. Peter’s spoiled and obnoxious cousin, Maximilian Tate, also attends the school. Peter’s run-ins with Maximilian and his sidekick Quinn frequently lead to trouble.
Peter’s photographic memory helps him discover a hidden room and tunnels in the Civil War-era buildings that make up the school campus. Peter’s initial exploration of these hidden tunnels ends with an attempt on his life. Could it be Bill Campbell, the head of Tate Industries and the executor of the Tate estate, or Dr. Swarm the Headmaster at Tate Academy, or one of Peter’s surviving relatives – Uncle Morton, Aunt Eileen or their son Maximilian? Could Peter trust his guardian and the Head of Security at Tate Academy, Jake Hartman? Or is there someone else who stands to profit from the death of the richest boy in the world? Join Peter as he seeks to uncover his past in order to understand his future.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

  • Chapter Reveal: The Ark by Laura Liddell Nolen + Giveaway (International)

    The Ark by Laura Liddell Nolen Release Date: March 26, 2015 Before we get to the chapter, here's a note from Laura:   Hi, YABC! I’m fired up about sharing my first chapter with you today. The Ark is about a young convict trapped in prison on the last day of ...

  • Author Top 5 with Django Wexler

      Today we welcome Django Wexler to YABC! Wexler's newly released sequel to The Forbidden Library, The Mad Apprentice: The Forbidden Library: Volume 2, is a fantasy adventure sure to appeal to fans of Harry Potter, Coroline, and Inkheart! Django has given us a list of the ...

  • April 2015 Book Haul!

    Hey YABCers!  Our office was innundated with fabulous kidlit, middle grade, and YA books this month! (Including an audio book and a graphic novel.) Check out our book haul below and tell us which books look the most interesting to you!    ...

  • Giveaway: Twintuition - Double Vision by Tia & Tamera Mowry (US Only)

    TWINTUITION: DOUBLE VISION by Tia & Tamera Mowry Release Date: April 21, 2015   About the Book Cassie and Caitlyn Waters may be identical twins, but everything else about them is completely different. The only thing they can agree on is that neither of them is happy th ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: The Complete Blooming Goddess Trilogy by Tellulah Darling + Giveaway (International)

    Hi, YABCers! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for THE COMPLETE BLOOMING GODDESS TRILOGY by Tellulah Darling, releasing April 30, 2015 from Te Da Media. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Tellulah:   Hey YABC! I’ve basically been in sque ...

  • What's New in YA

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!       From the acclaimed author of How to Love comes another stunning contemporary novel, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen.   Molly Barlow is facing on ...

  • The Librarian's Corner

        I am happy to share with the YABC community the brand new Librarian's Corner column! This column features three themed book recommendations from a Teen Librarian each month. My name is Eden Grey, and I'll be doing the column each month. I am a Teen Librarian, and I absolutel ...

  • Chapter Reveal: Last Year's Mistake by Gina Ciocca

    Last Year's Mistake by Gina Ciocca Release Date: June 9, 2015 Before we get to the chapter, here's a note from Gina:   I’m so excited to share the first chapter of LAST YEAR’S MISTAKE with all of you! I’ve written this opening many different ways, and I lov ...

  • Giveaway: The Ark by Laura Liddell (International)

    The Ark By Laura Liddell Nolen    Release Date: March 26, 2015   About the Book It’s the final days of earth, and sixteen-year-old Char is right where she belongs: in prison. With her criminal record, she doesn’t qualify for a place on an Ark, one of the five ...

  • Giveaway: 5 To 1 by Holly Bodger (US & Canada Only)

    5 to1 By Holly Bodger Release Date: 5/12/15   About the Book Sudasa doesn't want to be a wife and Kiran, a boy forced to compete in the test to become her husband, has other plans as well. Sudasa's family wants nothing more than for their daughter to do the right thing and p ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: Tor Maddox: Unleashed by Liz Coley + Giveaway (International)

    Hi, YABCers, and welcome to today's cover reveal! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for TOR MADDOX: UNLEASHED by Liz Coley, releasing May 1, 2015 from LCTeen. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Liz:   Hi YABC! I’m thrilled to int ...

  • What's New in YA

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!   The sheriff's son, Kellan Turner, is not the golden boy everyone thinks he is, and Romy Grey knows that for a fact. Because no one wants to believe a girl from the wrong side of town, ...

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

The remarkable third novel in Sara B. Larson's bestselling Defy series! At last, Alexa and King Damian are engaged to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After risking her life in the mortal world, the faerie princess Elora returns home to incite a revolution. Allied with...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Shakespeare Book brings the work of William Shakespeare to life with full-color photography, images, idea webs, timelines, and quotes...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Louisa May Alcott can't believe it—her mother is leaving for the summer to earn money for the family and Louisa...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fan-favorite author Bree Despain continues her modern-day romance trilogy inspired by the Greek myth of Persephone and Hades with this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In critically acclaimed author Sarah Darer Littman's gripping new novel what happens online doesn't always stay online . . ....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins, Lauren Barnholdt, and Susane Colasanti, The Boyfriend Project is a romantic read about a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set in the same world as The Promise of Amazing, this smart, surprising, and romantic follow-up to Robin Constantine's debut...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin Emerson's Exile trilogy combines the swoon-worthy romance of a Susane Colasanti novel with the rock 'n' roll of Eleanor...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kody Keplinger returns to the world of The DUFF in this brand-new companion novel! Sonny Ardmore is an excellent liar....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"A girl takes over her twin sister's identity in this emotionally charged page-turner about the complicated bond between sisters." Ella...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Imagination takes on new meaning for a uniquely talented teen in this debut novel that is a breathtaking blend of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fifteen top young-adult authors let us in on provocative secrets in a fascinating collection that will have readers talking. A...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Cassandra Clare's City of Bones and Laini Taylor's Daughter of Smoke & Bone, The Girl at Midnight...
 
0.0
 
4.3 (1)
A remarkable and utterly inventive novel bursting with intrigue and romance, from Sharon Cameron, acclaimed author of THE DARK UNWINDING,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Maria Dahvana Headley's soaring YA debut is a fiercely intelligent, multilayered fantasy where Neil Gaiman's Stardust meets John Green's The...
 
0.0
 
3.7 (1)
Ember Hill left the dragon organization Talon to take her chances with rebel dragon Cobalt and his crew of rogues....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Fast and the Furious gets a futuristic twist in this action-packed debut! On corporately controlled Castra, rally racing is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The second installment in the epic Starbound trilogy introduces a new pair of star-crossed lovers on two sides of a...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
730. That's how many days I've been trapped. 18. That's how many days I have left to find a way...
 
0.0
 
4.3 (1)