Books Young Adult Indie The Adventures of Peter Tate

The Adventures of Peter Tate

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/3e/13/99/_book-cover-1-1359260773.jpg
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
845   0
Author(s)
Age Group
10+
Published Date
January 20, 2013
ISBN Number
978-0-615-76244-9
ASIN Number
      
Peter Tate has no idea that he is the most famous child in the country. Orphaned at an early age and raised in total isolation by a foster family of survivalists, he spends his days learning skills such as self-defense, weaponry, and bug eating. Peter dislikes the survivalist ways of the Judds and finds solace solving math problems and playing soccer. He yearns to see the world beyond the Judd Compound and discovers that he has a special gift – a photographic memory.
Peter’s life takes a dramatic turn on his eleventh birthday when his true guardian, Jake Hartman, arrives with the news that Peter is the heir to a great fortune. Jake brought Peter to the Judds ten years earlier after a failed kidnapping attempt left Peter an orphan. The kidnapping had been carried out by someone close to the Tate family, and as the primary heir to the family fortune, Peter’s life was – and still is – in constant danger. Jake explains that the Judd family, albeit strange, offered a safe haven until Peter was old enough to learn the terms of his father’s will.
According to the will, Peter takes full control of the family fortune upon his twenty-first birthday. Until then, he is to attend a very special school – Tate Academy. Founded and funded by Peter’s father, the exclusive school accepts only the top students in the country and entrance is based purely on merit – except in Peter’s case.
Even though Peter quickly finds a roommate and best friend, the soccer star Carlos Hernandez, he still struggles to fit into the exclusive school. Peter’s spoiled and obnoxious cousin, Maximilian Tate, also attends the school. Peter’s run-ins with Maximilian and his sidekick Quinn frequently lead to trouble.
Peter’s photographic memory helps him discover a hidden room and tunnels in the Civil War-era buildings that make up the school campus. Peter’s initial exploration of these hidden tunnels ends with an attempt on his life. Could it be Bill Campbell, the head of Tate Industries and the executor of the Tate estate, or Dr. Swarm the Headmaster at Tate Academy, or one of Peter’s surviving relatives – Uncle Morton, Aunt Eileen or their son Maximilian? Could Peter trust his guardian and the Head of Security at Tate Academy, Jake Hartman? Or is there someone else who stands to profit from the death of the richest boy in the world? Join Peter as he seeks to uncover his past in order to understand his future.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
New York Times Bestseller * Indie List Bestseller * Soon to be a Film from Universal Pictures * A Barnes...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dear Mr. S. Harris, Ignore the blob of red in the top left corner. It's jam, not blood, though I...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
At not quite fifteen, Stefan's father finally let him board the longship, Sja Vinna, to take part in his first...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Gayle Forman, Every Last Promise is a provocative and emotional novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
What if, after spending a lifetime deceiving everyone around you, you discovered the biggest lies were the ones you've told...
 
0.0
 
3.3 (1)
In the explosive conclusion to the thrilling Revolution 19 series, the time has come to win the cities back from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Darcy Covington never had to worry about money or where her next shopping spree was coming from. Even her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Reality is only an illusion. Except for those who can control it… Worst. Birthday. Ever. My first boyfriend dumped me—happy...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
5-to-1-cover-small.jpg
In the year 2054, after decades of gender selection, India now has a ratio of five boys for every girl,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wren Noble is dead—she was born that way. Vibrant, unlike other dead things, she craves those rare moments when her...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Macy Jones is a perfect student, popular teenager, and utterly miserable. This all changes once her father is arrested and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ned and his identical twin brother tumble from their raft into a raging, bewitched river, only Ned survives. Villagers...
 
5.0
 
4.0 (1)
In Marla Klein and Ivy Wilde’s world, teens are the gatekeepers of culture. A top fashion label employs sixteen-year-old...
 
0.0
 
3.3 (1)
the hidden princess.jpg
One destiny rules two worlds in this gripping fantasy thriller. For five years, the Gateway has been closed and Hidden...
 
0.0
 
3.7 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
When Aidan and Maggie find a fairy cross while rock-hunting with their grandfather, it's just an oddity. But when they...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this unforgettable teen romance that fans of Sarah Dessen and Susane Colasanti will devour, Quinn Sullivan falls for the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A powerful and gripping contemporary YA from the author of I'm Not Her that's "Just right for fans of Sarah...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins is sassier than ever in this page-turning follow up to Rebel Belle, perfect...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Order
Category: Young Adult Indie
Lana Crewe is a strong, fiercely driven seventeen year old living in a village ruled by fear. With their king...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)