Books Young Adult Indie Age of Heroes: The Witch Hunter's Gauntlet (Age of Heroes #1)

Age of Heroes: The Witch Hunter's Gauntlet (Age of Heroes #1)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/68/af/ce/14508_51weg6c5thl-1357088572.jpg
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
1235   0
Author(s)
Age Group
12+
Published Date
August 28, 2012
ISBN Number
9780615690872
ASIN Number
      
Samantha and Lucas are about to show the world you don't need to be born as a mutant, wizard, or demi-god to be a hero.

Samantha Hathaway is a normal 14-year-old suburban girl, except for the fact that five years ago her archaeologist parents died while saving the world. When a pair of wizards show up at the mall to arrest her for the theft of a powerful magical artifact used to resurrect an evil sorcerer with ties to her parents she is propelled headlong into the mysterious secret world of magic, monsters, and mad scientists.

The first stop on her journey is the elite Miller's Grove Academy where she meets Lucas Fry, a video game champion anxious for a real life adventure. Instead of the usual cliques of geeks, nerds, jocks, and cheerleaders, she had prepared for in high school Sam finds herself the least talented student in a school full of eccentric inventors, monster hunters, pop stars, and wannabe world emperors. Not to mention the hoverboard experiments, ray guns, and exotic private zoo. But is there a sinister purpose behind this new school?

Guided by nothing more than a riddle from her father can Sam, Lucas, and their new friends find the real thief, prevent a war between science and magic, confront the greatest evil wizard in recent history, and find the one weapon that could usher in the next, and possibly last, Heroic Age?

Worst. Freshman Year. Ever.

Recommended for fans of Percy Jackson, Artemis Fowl, Alphas, Harry Potter, I Am Number Four, and Buffy, the Vampire Slayer.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Every touch has its price Layla Shaw is trying to pick up the pieces of her shattered life—no easy task...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)