Books Young Adult Indie Age of Heroes: The Witch Hunter's Gauntlet (Age of Heroes #1)

Age of Heroes: The Witch Hunter's Gauntlet (Age of Heroes #1)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/68/af/ce/14508_51weg6c5thl-1357088572.jpg
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
1326   0
Author(s)
Age Group
12+
Published Date
August 28, 2012
ISBN Number
9780615690872
ASIN Number
      
Samantha and Lucas are about to show the world you don't need to be born as a mutant, wizard, or demi-god to be a hero.

Samantha Hathaway is a normal 14-year-old suburban girl, except for the fact that five years ago her archaeologist parents died while saving the world. When a pair of wizards show up at the mall to arrest her for the theft of a powerful magical artifact used to resurrect an evil sorcerer with ties to her parents she is propelled headlong into the mysterious secret world of magic, monsters, and mad scientists.

The first stop on her journey is the elite Miller's Grove Academy where she meets Lucas Fry, a video game champion anxious for a real life adventure. Instead of the usual cliques of geeks, nerds, jocks, and cheerleaders, she had prepared for in high school Sam finds herself the least talented student in a school full of eccentric inventors, monster hunters, pop stars, and wannabe world emperors. Not to mention the hoverboard experiments, ray guns, and exotic private zoo. But is there a sinister purpose behind this new school?

Guided by nothing more than a riddle from her father can Sam, Lucas, and their new friends find the real thief, prevent a war between science and magic, confront the greatest evil wizard in recent history, and find the one weapon that could usher in the next, and possibly last, Heroic Age?

Worst. Freshman Year. Ever.

Recommended for fans of Percy Jackson, Artemis Fowl, Alphas, Harry Potter, I Am Number Four, and Buffy, the Vampire Slayer.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is not your average trip to Fairyland… Selkie Stewart has just saved her quasi-boyfriend, Ben, from a fairy prison...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)