The Monsterjunkies, An American Family Odyssey.

The Monsterjunkies, An American Family Odyssey.

 
0.0
 
5.0 (2)
1170   0
Write Review
The Monsterjunkies, An American Family Odyssey.
Co-Authors / Illustrators
L.M Reker
Publisher Name
Arkwatch holdings LLC
Age Group
8+
Published Date
November 30, 2012
ISBN Number
978-0-615-25020-5
ASIN Number
      
Tucked away in a remote cul-de-sac on the Maine coast is a place where the strange is normal, and the bizarre, is everyday. This is a place, where, if you do not have an open mind, you will loose your mind in its reality and truths. This is the home of The Monsterjunkies, An American Family Odyssey.

Residing at this place, twelve year old Crow and his fourteen year old sister, Indigo , along with their friends go down a reality curve to arrive at the harsh truth of the indelible hurt bullying, emotional abuse and prejudice can foster. The family faces ignorance combined with aggression at every step as they try to build a life for themselves in the home of their ancestors.

We are all MonsterJunkies and wear masks during our daily lives, in school, during work, hanging out with friends, imitating, being people who we look up to and admire, or those we want to be. It is those people who take off their masks and show the real person inside who are the ones that truly find the meaning of their lives.

The Monsterjunkies an American Family Odyssey, defines growing up through a cast of quirky yet engaging characters who also experience the same anxieties as any other family, enduring the issues that portend ‘coming of age.’ Not all angst and agony, it marks a clear path to the ultimate form of acceptance, the approbation of self.

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (2)
Plot/Story 
 
5.0  (2)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (2)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (2)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0

Highly Recommended! Extremely Noteworthy

This is a magnificent and triumphant story from a master of the genre. The author is on top of the game in this amazing read, and just gets better and better every-time. Why even bother reviewing this book when I know what the out-come is going to be from the start, gripping, superb, fantastic...! The writing is simply well composed, and the characters are strong with a story that stirs every cell, sense and is even beyond soul speak.

Good Points
This book was a joy to read! "The Monsterjunkies" reminded me of some typical realities facing kids and teens as they grow up. Even more precisely, it provides excellent insight into the intricacies of the problem of bullying. Bullying is a big issue than most of us would like to believe, but this book will open your eyes and show you some of what is really going on.

For me, this title was a quick read and it got me hooked from the start. Pretty interesting plot and well developed characters! This book highlights the reality that it's always best to be our "true" self and "unmask" in whatever sphere of live we have to operate.

I absolutely recommend this book to not only teens but also to every parent, educator, any person who has ever bullied anyone or who was bullied!

Much credit to the author.
Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0

The Monsterjunkies, An American Family Odyssey.

This book was a joy to read! "The Monsterjunkies" reminded me of some typical realities facing kids and teens as they grow up. Even more precisely, it provides excellent insight into the intricacies of the problem of bullying. Bullying is a big issue than most of us would like to believe, but this book will open your eyes and show you some of what is really going on.

For me, this title was a quick read and it got me hooked from the start. Pretty interesting plot and well developed characters! This book highlights the reality that it's always best to be our "true" self and "unmask" in whatever sphere of live we have to operate.

I absolutely recommend this book to not only teens but also to every parent, educator, any person who has ever bullied anyone or who was bullied!

Good Points
You'll recognize at least one character from The Monsterjunkies; an American Family Odyssey, whether it's the main character, much maligned Cromwell, his sister the well-arranged Indigo or the bully-master himself, Rutherford J. Grimes III. Cromwell or Crow, as he prefers to be called, finds a way to deal with the bullying. He meets it head-on in a unique combination of smarts and one-ups-manship. Indigo, too, must find a way to have friends over without sacrificing her family's desire and need for privacy. Why the overly espoused need for privacy? Find out what the Monsterjunkie estate is harboring. It is the very estate itself and it's unusual set of inhabitants that provides the ticket for Crow's acceptance. The author, Erik Shein, noted author and animator, provides teens a look inside a family who struggles with inheritance, science and a community's fear of the unknown. Highly recommended for school and public library collections.
Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

Nothando's Journey
Nothando’s Journey is a journey in self-discovery told through the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
sam miracle.png
This new fantasy-adventure series from N. D. Wilson, bestselling author...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)