Books Young Adult Indie The Monsterjunkies, An American Family Odyssey.

The Monsterjunkies, An American Family Odyssey.

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/cf/96/a2/_cover-72-1354853156.jpg
 
0.0
 
5.0 (2)
710   0
Co-Authors / Illustrators
L.M Reker
Publisher Name
Arkwatch holdings LLC
Age Group
8+
Published Date
November 30, 2012
ISBN Number
978-0-615-25020-5
ASIN Number
      
Tucked away in a remote cul-de-sac on the Maine coast is a place where the strange is normal, and the bizarre, is everyday. This is a place, where, if you do not have an open mind, you will loose your mind in its reality and truths. This is the home of The Monsterjunkies, An American Family Odyssey.

Residing at this place, twelve year old Crow and his fourteen year old sister, Indigo , along with their friends go down a reality curve to arrive at the harsh truth of the indelible hurt bullying, emotional abuse and prejudice can foster. The family faces ignorance combined with aggression at every step as they try to build a life for themselves in the home of their ancestors.

We are all MonsterJunkies and wear masks during our daily lives, in school, during work, hanging out with friends, imitating, being people who we look up to and admire, or those we want to be. It is those people who take off their masks and show the real person inside who are the ones that truly find the meaning of their lives.

The Monsterjunkies an American Family Odyssey, defines growing up through a cast of quirky yet engaging characters who also experience the same anxieties as any other family, enduring the issues that portend ‘coming of age.’ Not all angst and agony, it marks a clear path to the ultimate form of acceptance, the approbation of self.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 2 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (2)
Plot/Story 
 
5.0  (2)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (2)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (2)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0  (2)
This is a magnificent and triumphant story from a master of the genre. The author is on top of the game in this amazing read, and just gets better and better every-time. Why even bother reviewing this book when I know what the out-come is going to be from the start, gripping, superb, fantastic...! The writing is simply well composed, and the characters are strong with a story that stirs every cell, sense and is even beyond soul speak.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Erik Shein Reviewed by Erik Shein December 07, 2012
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

Highly Recommended! Extremely Noteworthy

This is a magnificent and triumphant story from a master of the genre. The author is on top of the game in this amazing read, and just gets better and better every-time. Why even bother reviewing this book when I know what the out-come is going to be from the start, gripping, superb, fantastic...! The writing is simply well composed, and the characters are strong with a story that stirs every cell, sense and is even beyond soul speak.

Was this review helpful to you? 
This book was a joy to read! "The Monsterjunkies" reminded me of some typical realities facing kids and teens as they grow up. Even more precisely, it provides excellent insight into the intricacies of the problem of bullying. Bullying is a big issue than most of us would like to believe, but this book will open your eyes and show you some of what is really going on.

For me, this title was a quick read and it got me hooked from the start. Pretty interesting plot and well developed characters! This book highlights the reality that it's always best to be our "true" self and "unmask" in whatever sphere of live we have to operate.

I absolutely recommend this book to not only teens but also to every parent, educator, any person who has ever bullied anyone or who was bullied!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Erik Shein Reviewed by Erik Shein December 07, 2012
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

The Monsterjunkies, An American Family Odyssey.

This book was a joy to read! "The Monsterjunkies" reminded me of some typical realities facing kids and teens as they grow up. Even more precisely, it provides excellent insight into the intricacies of the problem of bullying. Bullying is a big issue than most of us would like to believe, but this book will open your eyes and show you some of what is really going on.

For me, this title was a quick read and it got me hooked from the start. Pretty interesting plot and well developed characters! This book highlights the reality that it's always best to be our "true" self and "unmask" in whatever sphere of live we have to operate.

I absolutely recommend this book to not only teens but also to every parent, educator, any person who has ever bullied anyone or who was bullied!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Young Adult Indie
College was supposed to be perfect. She was supposed to be perfect. For Lily Drummond, life is about following...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
For fans of The Guild and Scott Pilgrim comes a story of Xbox, Denny’s, and awkward beginnings… Not too...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
You're Stormy Jones, a pregnant 17-year-old punk rock chick with "sky eyes" and a pink tipped blond Mohawk with spear...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
NEWNokosee Front CoverMorePix.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
Cultures clash, sparks fly, love blooms, people die, and two kids, one a little bit punk and the other way...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Rayne is bored with life, until a new family moves in next door. Why do they look so happy? Rayne...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
James Patterson introduces the best selling "illustrated fiction" format to teens! It's "Middle School" for high schoolers! In James Patterson's...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everlong Cover 2 Amazonprint.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
When love is a matter of life and death, it's not about losing your heart, but saving it. On...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Alissa Sullivan has high hopes that the new year will bring a fresh start for her and her best friend....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Alissa Sullivan has got it made -- a supportive, loving family, a cause she believes in, and her new boyfriend....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Alan Rivers wakes up one morning and discovers all the adults in his neighborhood and worldwide are in a deep...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a plane crashes in the woods near Jess’s home, the boy of her dreams falls out of the sky—literally....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Experience the wonder of the river in this haunting debut novel, where family is lost, friends are found, and hope...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Post tornado, the Soccer Tommies and Baseball Mommies compete for home field advantage. Is it ‘Win-Win’ or, will the community...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two years ago, sixteen-year-old Jamie Henry breathed a sigh of relief when a judge sentenced his older sister to juvenile...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Like watching a movie frame by frame, we watch Lexi is come unglued in this novel in verse. She's alienated...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winner of Reader's Favorite 5-Star Seal Reader’s Favorite reviewer Patricia Reding says it best: “Just sixteen, pregnant, betrayed by boyfriend...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One Night with the Prince
The rules were simple:. 15 girls were chosen from royal bloodlines to be with the Prince. They are given one...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
live performance by YA author
Category: Young Adult Indie
Love can make you do crazy things as Ruby Parker discovers when she dies and returns from the grave to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Its king murdered in cold blood by friend and foe alike, the once magnificent kingdom of Arenhed has fallen to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fifteen top voices in speculative fiction explore the intersection of fear and love in a haunting, at times hilarious, darkly...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)