Books Young Adult Indie The Monsterjunkies, An American Family Odyssey.

The Monsterjunkies, An American Family Odyssey.

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/cf/96/a2/_cover-72-1354853156.jpg
 
0.0
 
5.0 (2)
773   0
Co-Authors / Illustrators
L.M Reker
Publisher Name
Arkwatch holdings LLC
Age Group
8+
Published Date
November 30, 2012
ISBN Number
978-0-615-25020-5
ASIN Number
      
Tucked away in a remote cul-de-sac on the Maine coast is a place where the strange is normal, and the bizarre, is everyday. This is a place, where, if you do not have an open mind, you will loose your mind in its reality and truths. This is the home of The Monsterjunkies, An American Family Odyssey.

Residing at this place, twelve year old Crow and his fourteen year old sister, Indigo , along with their friends go down a reality curve to arrive at the harsh truth of the indelible hurt bullying, emotional abuse and prejudice can foster. The family faces ignorance combined with aggression at every step as they try to build a life for themselves in the home of their ancestors.

We are all MonsterJunkies and wear masks during our daily lives, in school, during work, hanging out with friends, imitating, being people who we look up to and admire, or those we want to be. It is those people who take off their masks and show the real person inside who are the ones that truly find the meaning of their lives.

The Monsterjunkies an American Family Odyssey, defines growing up through a cast of quirky yet engaging characters who also experience the same anxieties as any other family, enduring the issues that portend ‘coming of age.’ Not all angst and agony, it marks a clear path to the ultimate form of acceptance, the approbation of self.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 2 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (2)
Plot/Story 
 
5.0  (2)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (2)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (2)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0  (2)
This is a magnificent and triumphant story from a master of the genre. The author is on top of the game in this amazing read, and just gets better and better every-time. Why even bother reviewing this book when I know what the out-come is going to be from the start, gripping, superb, fantastic...! The writing is simply well composed, and the characters are strong with a story that stirs every cell, sense and is even beyond soul speak.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Erik Shein Reviewed by Erik Shein December 06, 2012
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

Highly Recommended! Extremely Noteworthy

This is a magnificent and triumphant story from a master of the genre. The author is on top of the game in this amazing read, and just gets better and better every-time. Why even bother reviewing this book when I know what the out-come is going to be from the start, gripping, superb, fantastic...! The writing is simply well composed, and the characters are strong with a story that stirs every cell, sense and is even beyond soul speak.

Was this review helpful to you? 
This book was a joy to read! "The Monsterjunkies" reminded me of some typical realities facing kids and teens as they grow up. Even more precisely, it provides excellent insight into the intricacies of the problem of bullying. Bullying is a big issue than most of us would like to believe, but this book will open your eyes and show you some of what is really going on.

For me, this title was a quick read and it got me hooked from the start. Pretty interesting plot and well developed characters! This book highlights the reality that it's always best to be our "true" self and "unmask" in whatever sphere of live we have to operate.

I absolutely recommend this book to not only teens but also to every parent, educator, any person who has ever bullied anyone or who was bullied!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Erik Shein Reviewed by Erik Shein December 06, 2012
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

The Monsterjunkies, An American Family Odyssey.

This book was a joy to read! "The Monsterjunkies" reminded me of some typical realities facing kids and teens as they grow up. Even more precisely, it provides excellent insight into the intricacies of the problem of bullying. Bullying is a big issue than most of us would like to believe, but this book will open your eyes and show you some of what is really going on.

For me, this title was a quick read and it got me hooked from the start. Pretty interesting plot and well developed characters! This book highlights the reality that it's always best to be our "true" self and "unmask" in whatever sphere of live we have to operate.

I absolutely recommend this book to not only teens but also to every parent, educator, any person who has ever bullied anyone or who was bullied!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)