The Monsterjunkies, An American Family Odyssey.

The Monsterjunkies, An American Family Odyssey.

 
0.0
 
5.0 (2)
2371   0
Write Review
The Monsterjunkies, An American Family Odyssey.
Co-Authors / Illustrators
L.M Reker
Publisher Name
Arkwatch holdings LLC
Age Group
8+
Published Date
November 30, 2012
ISBN Number
978-0-615-25020-5
ASIN Number
      
Tucked away in a remote cul-de-sac on the Maine coast is a place where the strange is normal, and the bizarre, is everyday. This is a place, where, if you do not have an open mind, you will loose your mind in its reality and truths. This is the home of The Monsterjunkies, An American Family Odyssey.

Residing at this place, twelve year old Crow and his fourteen year old sister, Indigo , along with their friends go down a reality curve to arrive at the harsh truth of the indelible hurt bullying, emotional abuse and prejudice can foster. The family faces ignorance combined with aggression at every step as they try to build a life for themselves in the home of their ancestors.

We are all MonsterJunkies and wear masks during our daily lives, in school, during work, hanging out with friends, imitating, being people who we look up to and admire, or those we want to be. It is those people who take off their masks and show the real person inside who are the ones that truly find the meaning of their lives.

The Monsterjunkies an American Family Odyssey, defines growing up through a cast of quirky yet engaging characters who also experience the same anxieties as any other family, enduring the issues that portend ‘coming of age.’ Not all angst and agony, it marks a clear path to the ultimate form of acceptance, the approbation of self.

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (2)
Plot/Story 
 
5.0  (2)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (2)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (2)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0

Highly Recommended! Extremely Noteworthy

This is a magnificent and triumphant story from a master of the genre. The author is on top of the game in this amazing read, and just gets better and better every-time. Why even bother reviewing this book when I know what the out-come is going to be from the start, gripping, superb, fantastic...! The writing is simply well composed, and the characters are strong with a story that stirs every cell, sense and is even beyond soul speak.

Good Points
This book was a joy to read! "The Monsterjunkies" reminded me of some typical realities facing kids and teens as they grow up. Even more precisely, it provides excellent insight into the intricacies of the problem of bullying. Bullying is a big issue than most of us would like to believe, but this book will open your eyes and show you some of what is really going on.

For me, this title was a quick read and it got me hooked from the start. Pretty interesting plot and well developed characters! This book highlights the reality that it's always best to be our "true" self and "unmask" in whatever sphere of live we have to operate.

I absolutely recommend this book to not only teens but also to every parent, educator, any person who has ever bullied anyone or who was bullied!

Much credit to the author.
Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0

The Monsterjunkies, An American Family Odyssey.

This book was a joy to read! "The Monsterjunkies" reminded me of some typical realities facing kids and teens as they grow up. Even more precisely, it provides excellent insight into the intricacies of the problem of bullying. Bullying is a big issue than most of us would like to believe, but this book will open your eyes and show you some of what is really going on.

For me, this title was a quick read and it got me hooked from the start. Pretty interesting plot and well developed characters! This book highlights the reality that it's always best to be our "true" self and "unmask" in whatever sphere of live we have to operate.

I absolutely recommend this book to not only teens but also to every parent, educator, any person who has ever bullied anyone or who was bullied!

Good Points
You'll recognize at least one character from The Monsterjunkies; an American Family Odyssey, whether it's the main character, much maligned Cromwell, his sister the well-arranged Indigo or the bully-master himself, Rutherford J. Grimes III. Cromwell or Crow, as he prefers to be called, finds a way to deal with the bullying. He meets it head-on in a unique combination of smarts and one-ups-manship. Indigo, too, must find a way to have friends over without sacrificing her family's desire and need for privacy. Why the overly espoused need for privacy? Find out what the Monsterjunkie estate is harboring. It is the very estate itself and it's unusual set of inhabitants that provides the ticket for Crow's acceptance. The author, Erik Shein, noted author and animator, provides teens a look inside a family who struggles with inheritance, science and a community's fear of the unknown. Highly recommended for school and public library collections.
Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

Lifeline
Popular high school senior Eli Ross has the perfect life....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Restart
Chase's memory just went out the window. Chase doesn't remember...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tori Douglas hates her life. Struggling to make the people...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It Should Have Been You
Seventeen-year-old Clara Seibert ghostwrites an advice column for her school’s...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Round of Robins
Food Fight Jumble, jostle, rumble, squirm; ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emerson Page and Where the Light Enters
Thirteen-year-old Emerson Page wants to know what happened to...
 
3.8
 
5.0 (1)
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ace of Shades
Welcome to the City of Sin, where casino families...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Sugar and Spice (Whatever After #10)
 
5.0
"Abby and Jonah take another trip through their magic mirror after being told their grounded from technology. This time, it..."
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
 
5.0
"Sam is the hall monitor at Eerie Elementary, but his job requires more than watching out for students doing things..."
A Round of Robins
 
4.0
"This picture book sized poetry book follows Mama and Dad bird as they hatch a clutch of eggs, supervise raising..."
The Seismic Seven
 
4.0
"Kenzie, Brianna, Wyatt and Todd have all have won the opportunity to study with Dr. Grier in Yellowstone National Park,..."
The Slithery Shakedown: The Nocturnals (Grow & Read Early Reader, Level 2)
 
3.5
"In this sequel to The Midnight Meeting, we rejoin Bismark the sugar glider, Tobin the pangolin and Dawn the fox...."
Beat Bugs: In My Life (I Can Read Level 1)
 
4.0
"Illustrated with stills from the television program with light colored font, children will enjoy identifying the characters they know from..."
Scroll of Kings (The Lost Books #1)
 
4.0
"Alex is struggling as the apprentice to an elderly librarian at a castle filled with old, musty diaries and laundry..."
 
5.0
"Tristan's family decides to move from New York City to a small town after his father loses his job and..."
Sparks!
 
4.5
"Canine configuration engage! August, a cat, has created a robotic dog that his friend Charlie helps him run. With the..."
A Warp in Time (Horizon, Book 3)
 
4.0
"The children in the Killbots whose plane went down have suffered from having friends die, being stuck in all sorts..."
Marge in Charge and the Stolen Treasure (#2)
 
4.0
"Jemima and her little brother Jakey are being bedeviled by their baby cousin, Zara. Their Aunt Sally claims that her..."
Super Sweet Dreams (Puppy Princess #2)
 
4.0
"In this sequel to Party Time, Princess Rosie finds out that her best friend (and cat-in-waiting) Cleo's birthday is coming..."
How to Be a Supervillain: Born to Be Good (#2)
 
4.0
"Victor Spoil is back after defeating Dr. Deplorable in How to Be a Supervillian. He's still struggling with wanting to..."
The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl
 
4.0
"Lucy lives with her supportive grandmother, and frequently sees her uncle, who is young, fun, and a bit misguided. Lucy..."
Me, Frida, and the Secret of the Peacock Ring
 
5.0
"Paloma Marquez has to spend the summer in Mexico City with her mother, who has gotten a fellowship to study..."
The Parker Inheritance
 
4.0
"Candice's grandmother was a city official in the small town of Lambert before she fell into disrepute. She thought there..."
 
4.0
"In this level one beginning reader, Pete and his friends adventure into the back yard to look for bugs. They..."
My Weird School: Teamwork Trouble (I Can Read Level 2)
 
5.0
"This level two I Can Read book follows the exploits of Ryan, who loves all sports! He is on a..."
The Not-So-Boring Letters of Private Nobody
 
5.0
"Oliver is very interested in all of the details of the Civil War, so he's thrilled when his 7th grade..."
There Was an Old Pirate Who Swallowed a Map!
 
4.0
""There was an old pirate who swallowed a map. I don't know why she swallowed that map but it wasn't..."