The Monsterjunkies, An American Family Odyssey.

The Monsterjunkies, An American Family Odyssey.

 
0.0
 
5.0 (2)
2132   0
Write Review
The Monsterjunkies, An American Family Odyssey.
Co-Authors / Illustrators
L.M Reker
Publisher Name
Arkwatch holdings LLC
Age Group
8+
Published Date
November 30, 2012
ISBN Number
978-0-615-25020-5
ASIN Number
      
Tucked away in a remote cul-de-sac on the Maine coast is a place where the strange is normal, and the bizarre, is everyday. This is a place, where, if you do not have an open mind, you will loose your mind in its reality and truths. This is the home of The Monsterjunkies, An American Family Odyssey.

Residing at this place, twelve year old Crow and his fourteen year old sister, Indigo , along with their friends go down a reality curve to arrive at the harsh truth of the indelible hurt bullying, emotional abuse and prejudice can foster. The family faces ignorance combined with aggression at every step as they try to build a life for themselves in the home of their ancestors.

We are all MonsterJunkies and wear masks during our daily lives, in school, during work, hanging out with friends, imitating, being people who we look up to and admire, or those we want to be. It is those people who take off their masks and show the real person inside who are the ones that truly find the meaning of their lives.

The Monsterjunkies an American Family Odyssey, defines growing up through a cast of quirky yet engaging characters who also experience the same anxieties as any other family, enduring the issues that portend ‘coming of age.’ Not all angst and agony, it marks a clear path to the ultimate form of acceptance, the approbation of self.

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (2)
Plot/Story 
 
5.0  (2)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (2)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (2)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0

Highly Recommended! Extremely Noteworthy

This is a magnificent and triumphant story from a master of the genre. The author is on top of the game in this amazing read, and just gets better and better every-time. Why even bother reviewing this book when I know what the out-come is going to be from the start, gripping, superb, fantastic...! The writing is simply well composed, and the characters are strong with a story that stirs every cell, sense and is even beyond soul speak.

Good Points
This book was a joy to read! "The Monsterjunkies" reminded me of some typical realities facing kids and teens as they grow up. Even more precisely, it provides excellent insight into the intricacies of the problem of bullying. Bullying is a big issue than most of us would like to believe, but this book will open your eyes and show you some of what is really going on.

For me, this title was a quick read and it got me hooked from the start. Pretty interesting plot and well developed characters! This book highlights the reality that it's always best to be our "true" self and "unmask" in whatever sphere of live we have to operate.

I absolutely recommend this book to not only teens but also to every parent, educator, any person who has ever bullied anyone or who was bullied!

Much credit to the author.
Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0

The Monsterjunkies, An American Family Odyssey.

This book was a joy to read! "The Monsterjunkies" reminded me of some typical realities facing kids and teens as they grow up. Even more precisely, it provides excellent insight into the intricacies of the problem of bullying. Bullying is a big issue than most of us would like to believe, but this book will open your eyes and show you some of what is really going on.

For me, this title was a quick read and it got me hooked from the start. Pretty interesting plot and well developed characters! This book highlights the reality that it's always best to be our "true" self and "unmask" in whatever sphere of live we have to operate.

I absolutely recommend this book to not only teens but also to every parent, educator, any person who has ever bullied anyone or who was bullied!

Good Points
You'll recognize at least one character from The Monsterjunkies; an American Family Odyssey, whether it's the main character, much maligned Cromwell, his sister the well-arranged Indigo or the bully-master himself, Rutherford J. Grimes III. Cromwell or Crow, as he prefers to be called, finds a way to deal with the bullying. He meets it head-on in a unique combination of smarts and one-ups-manship. Indigo, too, must find a way to have friends over without sacrificing her family's desire and need for privacy. Why the overly espoused need for privacy? Find out what the Monsterjunkie estate is harboring. It is the very estate itself and it's unusual set of inhabitants that provides the ticket for Crow's acceptance. The author, Erik Shein, noted author and animator, provides teens a look inside a family who struggles with inheritance, science and a community's fear of the unknown. Highly recommended for school and public library collections.
Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

My Weird School Fast Facts: Explorers, Presidents, and Toilets
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Weird School Fast Facts: Space, Humans, and Farts
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Simon Barnacle is falling apart. Literally. His body is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Serafina and the Splintered Heart
 
5.0
"The night is quiet. Serafina is panicking, thrashing around. She is trapped, alone, with no idea where she is. It..."
The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
Curse of the Bane (The Last Apprentice #2)
 
3.0
" In this second installment of the series, Thomas ward is now 13 and has been the Spook’s apprentice for..."
Hero on a Bicycle
 
5.0
"HERO ON A BICYCLE by Shirley Hughes is a middle grades novel set in 1944 in Florence, Italy and its..."
The Digger and the Flower
 
4.5
"'The Digger and the Flower' by Joseph Kuefler shows the power of goodness when everything else seems to be overtaking..."
Zog and the Flying Doctors
 
5.0
"'Zog and the Flying Doctors' is another great story by Julia Donaldson, and illustrated by Axel Scheffler. The two have..."
Superbat
 
5.0
"Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No, it's a bat in a costume! Pat the bat is a..."
Danny and the Dinosaur A Very Merry Christmas
 
5.0
"Whoever thought of putting stickers inside of children's books is a genius. The story: The dinosaur has never..."
In a Dark, Dark Room and Other
 
4.5
"This book contains seven folktales that have been retold and rewritten to be easily read. This book is level two..."
Wide-Awake Bear
 
5.0
"In WIDE-AWAKE BEAR, baby cub Elliott is supposed to be hibernating with his mom and sleeping until spring. The only..."
Rapunzel and the Lost Lagoon
 
5.0
"My daughter and I love to watch the Tangled Series on the Disney Channel together, so I was so excited..."
Pig the Elf
 
4.0
"PIG THE ELF is about a dog named Pig who loves Christmas, but it isn't for the spirit or joy...."
Old MacDonald Had A Farn
 
4.0
"It was fun reading OLD MACDONALD HAD A FARM to my daughter. As I read, my daughter danced because it..."