Books Young Adult Indie Reckoning (Dark Prophecy #1)

Reckoning (Dark Prophecy #1) Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/32/12/e9/_reckoning-copy-copy-683x1024-1353281318.jpg
 
0.0
 
4.4 (2)
1459   2
Author(s)
Publisher Name
Molly M Hall
Age Group
12+
Published Date
September 02, 2012
ISBN Number
1479342112
ASIN Number
      
"They say the truth can set you free. I found out it can kill you."

Seventeen-year-old Kat Matheson has never revealed the dark secret that sets her apart from everyone else: She can see and hear the dead. Until now, she has been able to ignore the strange apparitions and whispering voices. But it may not be that simple anymore. Haunted by eerie visions and increasingly frightening nightmares, Kat begins to fear she may be the target of a dark and ominous force from beyond the grave. Complicating matters is the arrival of her new neighbor, a young man she instinctively distrusts but is inexplicably drawn to. Gorgeous and mysterious, he seems to hold a disturbing knowledge of her long-held secrets.

As she desperately tries to maintain control, events take an unexpected and violent turn. Discovering that nothing is what it seems and that her psychic abilities may involve far more than just communing with the dead, Kat may be forced to confront her worst fears and the powerful curse that controls her destiny.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 2 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (2)
Plot/Story 
 
4.5  (2)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.5  (2)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.5  (2)
Background: Kat can see things that others cannot, but she has spooked her parents so she pretends not to see them anymore. One night a mysterious boy moves in next door without any parents, and to top things off, these spirits that she sees are getting stronger for some reason.

Review: I was very surprised by this book, I was expecting a paranormal YA read, which the quirkiness of some teenage romance and drama. What I was not expecting was the chills it sent down my spine. There were a few occasions reading at night that I could not get images our of my head, spooky spirits, dreams Kat experiences, sexy neighbor and his creepy house. It was a nice difference to normal YA paranormal reads though. It gave the book an edge.

I really liked the spooky, creepy elements and they brought more to the character development, even though I did feel like Kat is kind of dumb sometimes, but as teens we are were/ are...

I think what I enjoyed was the questioning through the plot, not the kind were the author just completely leaves you hanging at the end, but the kind that is built up through the plot without the reader realizing, some are answered and built up, others were waiting to be addressed fully later.

I think that Molly Hall wrote a spectacular YA. There are elements for everyone, suspense, action, some good looking guys, some romance, and some of that star-crossed lovers/ companions feel.

Very much enjoyed.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
Stephanie Reviewed by Stephanie February 25, 2013
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (34)

A Very Good Read!

Background: Kat can see things that others cannot, but she has spooked her parents so she pretends not to see them anymore. One night a mysterious boy moves in next door without any parents, and to top things off, these spirits that she sees are getting stronger for some reason.

Review: I was very surprised by this book, I was expecting a paranormal YA read, which the quirkiness of some teenage romance and drama. What I was not expecting was the chills it sent down my spine. There were a few occasions reading at night that I could not get images our of my head, spooky spirits, dreams Kat experiences, sexy neighbor and his creepy house. It was a nice difference to normal YA paranormal reads though. It gave the book an edge.

I really liked the spooky, creepy elements and they brought more to the character development, even though I did feel like Kat is kind of dumb sometimes, but as teens we are were/ are...

I think what I enjoyed was the questioning through the plot, not the kind were the author just completely leaves you hanging at the end, but the kind that is built up through the plot without the reader realizing, some are answered and built up, others were waiting to be addressed fully later.

I think that Molly Hall wrote a spectacular YA. There are elements for everyone, suspense, action, some good looking guys, some romance, and some of that star-crossed lovers/ companions feel.

Very much enjoyed.

Was this review helpful to you? 
This book was very well written, especially for being by a new author. The thing that may turn some away is that it's written in first person present tense, which I know is a style that a lot of readers don't really like, but if you can get past that, it's so worth a read. The character of Kat Matheson is a very believable one, as she thinks and acts like the teenager she is, which I think lacks in a lot of books with a teenage main character. The character and plot also appeal to a wide audience, and the author is able to really capture each character as an individual. Definitely recommend it!
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Liam McAleavey Reviewed by Liam McAleavey November 19, 2012
Top 1000 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Very good book!

This book was very well written, especially for being by a new author. The thing that may turn some away is that it's written in first person present tense, which I know is a style that a lot of readers don't really like, but if you can get past that, it's so worth a read. The character of Kat Matheson is a very believable one, as she thinks and acts like the teenager she is, which I think lacks in a lot of books with a teenage main character. The character and plot also appeal to a wide audience, and the author is able to really capture each character as an individual. Definitely recommend it!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)