Books Young Adult Indie Reckoning (Dark Prophecy #1)

Reckoning (Dark Prophecy #1) Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/32/12/e9/_reckoning-copy-copy-683x1024-1353281318.jpg
 
0.0
 
4.4 (2)
1599   2
Author(s)
Publisher Name
Molly M Hall
Age Group
12+
Published Date
September 02, 2012
ISBN Number
1479342112
ASIN Number
      
"They say the truth can set you free. I found out it can kill you."

Seventeen-year-old Kat Matheson has never revealed the dark secret that sets her apart from everyone else: She can see and hear the dead. Until now, she has been able to ignore the strange apparitions and whispering voices. But it may not be that simple anymore. Haunted by eerie visions and increasingly frightening nightmares, Kat begins to fear she may be the target of a dark and ominous force from beyond the grave. Complicating matters is the arrival of her new neighbor, a young man she instinctively distrusts but is inexplicably drawn to. Gorgeous and mysterious, he seems to hold a disturbing knowledge of her long-held secrets.

As she desperately tries to maintain control, events take an unexpected and violent turn. Discovering that nothing is what it seems and that her psychic abilities may involve far more than just communing with the dead, Kat may be forced to confront her worst fears and the powerful curse that controls her destiny.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 2 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (2)
Plot/Story 
 
4.5  (2)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.5  (2)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.5  (2)
Background: Kat can see things that others cannot, but she has spooked her parents so she pretends not to see them anymore. One night a mysterious boy moves in next door without any parents, and to top things off, these spirits that she sees are getting stronger for some reason.

Review: I was very surprised by this book, I was expecting a paranormal YA read, which the quirkiness of some teenage romance and drama. What I was not expecting was the chills it sent down my spine. There were a few occasions reading at night that I could not get images our of my head, spooky spirits, dreams Kat experiences, sexy neighbor and his creepy house. It was a nice difference to normal YA paranormal reads though. It gave the book an edge.

I really liked the spooky, creepy elements and they brought more to the character development, even though I did feel like Kat is kind of dumb sometimes, but as teens we are were/ are...

I think what I enjoyed was the questioning through the plot, not the kind were the author just completely leaves you hanging at the end, but the kind that is built up through the plot without the reader realizing, some are answered and built up, others were waiting to be addressed fully later.

I think that Molly Hall wrote a spectacular YA. There are elements for everyone, suspense, action, some good looking guys, some romance, and some of that star-crossed lovers/ companions feel.

Very much enjoyed.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
Stephanie Reviewed by Stephanie February 25, 2013
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (34)

A Very Good Read!

Background: Kat can see things that others cannot, but she has spooked her parents so she pretends not to see them anymore. One night a mysterious boy moves in next door without any parents, and to top things off, these spirits that she sees are getting stronger for some reason.

Review: I was very surprised by this book, I was expecting a paranormal YA read, which the quirkiness of some teenage romance and drama. What I was not expecting was the chills it sent down my spine. There were a few occasions reading at night that I could not get images our of my head, spooky spirits, dreams Kat experiences, sexy neighbor and his creepy house. It was a nice difference to normal YA paranormal reads though. It gave the book an edge.

I really liked the spooky, creepy elements and they brought more to the character development, even though I did feel like Kat is kind of dumb sometimes, but as teens we are were/ are...

I think what I enjoyed was the questioning through the plot, not the kind were the author just completely leaves you hanging at the end, but the kind that is built up through the plot without the reader realizing, some are answered and built up, others were waiting to be addressed fully later.

I think that Molly Hall wrote a spectacular YA. There are elements for everyone, suspense, action, some good looking guys, some romance, and some of that star-crossed lovers/ companions feel.

Very much enjoyed.

Was this review helpful to you? 
This book was very well written, especially for being by a new author. The thing that may turn some away is that it's written in first person present tense, which I know is a style that a lot of readers don't really like, but if you can get past that, it's so worth a read. The character of Kat Matheson is a very believable one, as she thinks and acts like the teenager she is, which I think lacks in a lot of books with a teenage main character. The character and plot also appeal to a wide audience, and the author is able to really capture each character as an individual. Definitely recommend it!
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Liam McAleavey Reviewed by Liam McAleavey November 19, 2012
Top 1000 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Very good book!

This book was very well written, especially for being by a new author. The thing that may turn some away is that it's written in first person present tense, which I know is a style that a lot of readers don't really like, but if you can get past that, it's so worth a read. The character of Kat Matheson is a very believable one, as she thinks and acts like the teenager she is, which I think lacks in a lot of books with a teenage main character. The character and plot also appeal to a wide audience, and the author is able to really capture each character as an individual. Definitely recommend it!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
When Nic, a slave in the mines outside of Rome, is forced to enter a sealed cavern containing the lost...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
After a year at the king's palace, Miri has learned all about being a proper princess. But the tables turn...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Hopper is just an ordinary pet shop mouse before he escapes. Soon he finds himself below the bustling streets of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
The battle to free Titus's camps is over, and Hopper, Zucker, Firren, and their loyal followers are working to rebuild....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Tori Porter is best friends with her mom, and most of the time it’s awesome. Not many girls have a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
London's Youngest detective is back . . . Darkus Knightley, tweed-wearing, megabrained, fiercely logical thirteen-year-old investigator of the weird, was...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ari’s mother died four years ago, she had two final wishes: that Ari and her older brother, Gage, would...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A boy hunter, the president of the United States, and a terrorist plot converge to create an original and thrilling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rory and her friends are reeling from a series of sudden and tragic events. While racked with grief, Rory tries...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the most part, aspiring screenwriter Jack Bell is just your typical Midwestern kid. He’s got a crush on his...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
4.7 (1)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)