Being a DJ Featured

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1937   0
Write Review
Author(s)
Publisher Name
Wayland
Genre/Type
Age Group
9+
Published Date
March 01, 2012
ISBN Number
0750264640
ASIN Number
      
Featuring internationally acclaimed DJs such as David Guetta, Felix Da Housecat and The Chemical Brothers as well as turntablists such as Grandmaster Flash, this title takes a look at all facets of professional DJ-ing. It covers music genres from house, techno and drum and bass to hip-hop, reggae and dubstep, and looks at what it's like to be a professional DJ.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
N/A  (0)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
N/A
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Characters (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0

A Good Place to Start

This book is a good starting place for readers who want a broad introduction to the job of being a dj. There are excellent time lines tracing the beginning of mixing music for crowds from record scratching to modern computer equipment. A handful of djs are featured, though not as many of the very popular djs of today as I expected. There's a decent overview of equipment and some success stories of djs who started young.

The reason I feel this is a book for basic beginners, or those just dabbling with the idea of being a dj, is that while a broad swath of information is touched upon, there aren't the kind of specifics a new dj needs to really understand what equipment to buy, the pros and cons of various brands and equipment choices, and the stepping stones it takes to move from wanting to be a dj to actually making it happen.

Overall, this is a thorough introduction to the genesis of mixing music, a handful of successful djs, and the styles of music djs might choose to produce. If readers are interested in learning more about any of those things, this is the book for them. If readers are interested in learning specifics about how to set up their own dj business, they may need to look for another book.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

Nothando's Journey
Nothando’s Journey is a journey in self-discovery told through the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
sam miracle.png
This new fantasy-adventure series from N. D. Wilson, bestselling author...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)