Being a DJ Featured

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
762   0
Author(s)
Publisher Name
Wayland
Genre/Type
Age Group
9+
Published Date
March 01, 2012
ISBN Number
0750264640
ASIN Number
      
Featuring internationally acclaimed DJs such as David Guetta, Felix Da Housecat and The Chemical Brothers as well as turntablists such as Grandmaster Flash, this title takes a look at all facets of professional DJ-ing. It covers music genres from house, techno and drum and bass to hip-hop, reggae and dubstep, and looks at what it's like to be a professional DJ.

Editor reviews

This book is a good starting place for readers who want a broad introduction to the job of being a dj. There are excellent time lines tracing the beginning of mixing music for crowds from record scratching to modern computer equipment. A handful of djs are featured, though not as many of the very popular djs of today as I expected. There's a decent overview of equipment and some success stories of djs who started young.

The reason I feel this is a book for basic beginners, or those just dabbling with the idea of being a dj, is that while a broad swath of information is touched upon, there aren't the kind of specifics a new dj needs to really understand what equipment to buy, the pros and cons of various brands and equipment choices, and the stepping stones it takes to move from wanting to be a dj to actually making it happen.

Overall, this is a thorough introduction to the genesis of mixing music, a handful of successful djs, and the styles of music djs might choose to produce. If readers are interested in learning more about any of those things, this is the book for them. If readers are interested in learning specifics about how to set up their own dj business, they may need to look for another book.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
N/A
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Characters (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
CJ Redwine, Editor Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor November 06, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (378)

A Good Place to Start

This book is a good starting place for readers who want a broad introduction to the job of being a dj. There are excellent time lines tracing the beginning of mixing music for crowds from record scratching to modern computer equipment. A handful of djs are featured, though not as many of the very popular djs of today as I expected. There's a decent overview of equipment and some success stories of djs who started young.

The reason I feel this is a book for basic beginners, or those just dabbling with the idea of being a dj, is that while a broad swath of information is touched upon, there aren't the kind of specifics a new dj needs to really understand what equipment to buy, the pros and cons of various brands and equipment choices, and the stepping stones it takes to move from wanting to be a dj to actually making it happen.

Overall, this is a thorough introduction to the genesis of mixing music, a handful of successful djs, and the styles of music djs might choose to produce. If readers are interested in learning more about any of those things, this is the book for them. If readers are interested in learning specifics about how to set up their own dj business, they may need to look for another book.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
Perfect for fans of Margaret Peterson Haddix, When You Reach Me, and Savvy, this charming time-travel story from husband-and-wife team...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Bees.jpg
The Handmaid’s Tale meets The Hunger Games in this brilliantly imagined debut set in an ancient culture where only the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Damian Cass died when he was a teenager at the hands of his own father. A hateful soul afterwards, and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Gladys Gatsby has been cooking gourmet dishes since the age of seven, only her fast-food-loving parents have no idea! Now...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Becky Thatcher has her side of the story to tell—and it’s a whopper—in this creative spin on Mark Twain’s beloved...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
An all-new, mesmerizing adventure from the masterful Gordon Korman! Jackson Opus has always been persuasive, but he doesn't know that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Jax Opus knows he's not like other kids. And it isn't his skill on the basketball court or his test...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Jesse is a wide receiver for the freshman team. Can he play against type and help his team as a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Kate’s older sister is way too perfect. Her younger sister is way too cute. And her mom wants her to...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Sarah Robinson is deeply troubled in the wake of her dad’s second marriage. She now has to deal with a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this romantic and evocative fantasy, Najwa is a jinni, training to be a spy in the war against the...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
There’s something strange going on at Washington Irving Elementary School. Kids are turning into monsters—literally! First it was Sebastian, then...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Chase Clark just upped his game. As an eighth grader, he scores the chance to play on the varsity football...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lauren has a secret. Colby has a problem. But when they find each other, everything falls into place. In alternating...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Alek Khederian should have guessed something was wrong when his parents took him to a restaurant. Everyone knows that Armenians...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Larissa Renaud starts receiving eerie phone calls on a disconnected old phone in her family's antique shop, she knows...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can you fall in love with a voice? This witty romance, told entirely through phone calls, chronicles the tale of...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Julia Buchanan enrolls at St. Anne’s at the beginning of junior year, Charlotte Ryder already knows all about the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Valentina Cruz no longer exists. One moment, she was wrapped in Emilio’s arms, melting into his kiss. The next, she...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Clyde has worked for Mr. Wilkshire for a very long time. Life is comfortable in his keeper's chateau—until Mr. Wilkshire...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)