Being a DJ Featured

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1345   0
Author(s)
Publisher Name
Wayland
Genre/Type
Age Group
9+
Published Date
March 01, 2012
ISBN Number
0750264640
ASIN Number
      
Featuring internationally acclaimed DJs such as David Guetta, Felix Da Housecat and The Chemical Brothers as well as turntablists such as Grandmaster Flash, this title takes a look at all facets of professional DJ-ing. It covers music genres from house, techno and drum and bass to hip-hop, reggae and dubstep, and looks at what it's like to be a professional DJ.

Editor reviews

This book is a good starting place for readers who want a broad introduction to the job of being a dj. There are excellent time lines tracing the beginning of mixing music for crowds from record scratching to modern computer equipment. A handful of djs are featured, though not as many of the very popular djs of today as I expected. There's a decent overview of equipment and some success stories of djs who started young.

The reason I feel this is a book for basic beginners, or those just dabbling with the idea of being a dj, is that while a broad swath of information is touched upon, there aren't the kind of specifics a new dj needs to really understand what equipment to buy, the pros and cons of various brands and equipment choices, and the stepping stones it takes to move from wanting to be a dj to actually making it happen.

Overall, this is a thorough introduction to the genesis of mixing music, a handful of successful djs, and the styles of music djs might choose to produce. If readers are interested in learning more about any of those things, this is the book for them. If readers are interested in learning specifics about how to set up their own dj business, they may need to look for another book.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
N/A
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Characters (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0

A Good Place to Start

This book is a good starting place for readers who want a broad introduction to the job of being a dj. There are excellent time lines tracing the beginning of mixing music for crowds from record scratching to modern computer equipment. A handful of djs are featured, though not as many of the very popular djs of today as I expected. There's a decent overview of equipment and some success stories of djs who started young.

The reason I feel this is a book for basic beginners, or those just dabbling with the idea of being a dj, is that while a broad swath of information is touched upon, there aren't the kind of specifics a new dj needs to really understand what equipment to buy, the pros and cons of various brands and equipment choices, and the stepping stones it takes to move from wanting to be a dj to actually making it happen.

Overall, this is a thorough introduction to the genesis of mixing music, a handful of successful djs, and the styles of music djs might choose to produce. If readers are interested in learning more about any of those things, this is the book for them. If readers are interested in learning specifics about how to set up their own dj business, they may need to look for another book.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

  • Bonus Scene: The Vast and Brutal Sea by Zoraida Córdova + Giveaway (US Only)

    The Vast and Brutal Sea by Zoraida Córdova Release Date: June 2, 2015   About the Book This epic clash of sand and sea will pit brother against brother-and there can only be one winner In two days, the race for the Sea Court throne will be over-but all the ...

  • Author Top 5 with Catherine Linka

      Today we welcome Catherine Linka to YABC! Zinka's soon to be released sequel to A Girl Called Fearless, A Girl Undone, is sure to appeal to fans of Divergent and An Ember in the Ashes. The next installment in The Girl Called Fearless series will make its debut June 23rd and w ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: The Mirror King by Jodi Meadows + Giveaway (US Only)

    Welcome to another fabulous cover reveal, YABC! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for THE MIRROR KING by Jodi Meadows, releasing April 5, 2016 from Katherine Tegen Books/HarperCollins Publishers. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Jodi:   ...

  • What's New in YA

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!       When you’re in love with the wrong person for the right reasons, anything could happen. Tretch lives in a very small town where everybody's in everybody else ...

  • Books Aren't Dangerous Campaign

      Do you remember that book that changed your life as a reader, or maybe just your life in general? You do? That’s great!        Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl, authors of the BEAUTIFUL CREATURES series, have started a campaign called BOOKS AREN’T DANG ...

  • TOMORROWLAND - Drive Through Movie Review

    **********NO SPOILERS************ The Nerd Riders, Kristin and Clint, give their thoughts on the new Disney film TOMORROWLAND.    QUESTION: If you could go to an alternate universe what would you want to see there? ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: The Secret Side of Empty by Maria E. Andreu + Giveaway (US/Canada)

    Hi, YABC! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for THE SECRET SIDE OF EMPTY by Maria E. Andreu, releasing September 1, 2015 from Running Press. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Maria:   YABC Readers!  I’m so excited to share the pape ...

  • May 2015 YABC Book Haul

    Hey YABCers! Once again, our office has been innundated with books, books, and  more BOOKS! We've run out of shelf space which can only mean one thing .... it's time for the May Book Haul! Enjoy the video and let us know in the comments which books you can't wait to add to your TBR. &nbs ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: Insidious by Dawn Metcalf + Giveaway (US/Canada)

    Hello, YABC! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for INSIDIOUS by Dawn Metcalf, releasing August 25, 2015 from Harlequin TEEN. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Dawn:   You know when you finish a story, you never really finish because there' ...

  • What's New in YA

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!       A School for Unusual Girls is the first captivating installment in the Stranje House series for young adults by award-winning author Kathleen Baldwin. #1 New York ...

  • The Librarian's Corner

      This month's theme for the Librarian's corner is all about picture books you can share with teens! Picture books aren't just for kids and babies anymore. In fact, teens love storytime too!    For May, I am featuring some of my favorite picture books to share ...

  • The Greater Rochester Teen Book Festival

        The Greater Rochester Teen Book Festival--TBF 2015 Contributed by Kayla King, Blog Manager and Staff Reviewer   Here at Young Adult Books Central, we LOVE YA! Fortunately for us, The Greater Rochester Book Festival held at Nazareth Collge devotes itself to s ...

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

1424455187deadlydesigncover.jpg
Genetically engineered identical twins Kyle and Connor McAdams were born two years apart. Their parents figured it was safer that...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
What do you do with your last day on earth? There are 27 hours and fifteen minutes left until an...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When seventeen-year-old Ashley Watson walks through the halls of her high school, bullies taunt and shove her. She can't go...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A luminous YA love story that evokes Judy Blume's Forever for a new generation. Sarah—Bean to her friends and family—is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Nonfiction
"This is LIFE, people! You've got air coming through your nose! You've got a heartbeat! That means it's time to...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
61K250js3oL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
Category: Kids Nonfiction
Discover how Benjamin Franklin’s scientific method challenged a certain Dr. Mesmer’s mysterious powers in a whimsical look at a true...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Alexis Wyndham is the other type of Queen B—the Queen Bitch. After years of being the subject of ridicule,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
In this hilarious novel, written in the voice of eighth-grader Wyatt Palmer, Dave Barry takes us on a class trip...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Dominion of Atalanta is at war. But for eighteen-year-old Aris, the fighting is nothing more than a distant nightmare,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
At the outset of World War II, Denmark did not resist German occupation. Deeply ashamed of his nation's leaders, fifteen-year-old...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Twelve-year-old Sophie Brown feels like a fish out of water when she and her parents move from Los Angeles to...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The revolution is here. Bodies line the streets of Urobrun; a great pyre burns in Republic Square. The rebels grow...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Dyna comes from a long line of risk-takers and is an avid thrill-seeker in her own right, until she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Catherine Linka, the sequel and explosive conclusion to A Girl Called Fearless. Having survived a violent confrontation with the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When sixteen-year-old Tess Kendrick is sent to live with her older sister, Ivy, she has no idea that the infamous...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheEscape.jpg
Not everyone who goes into the woods comes out.... It was supposed to be a short hike, a way for...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The realities of teen prostitution are revealed in this eye-opening, heartbreaking story from the author of America, which Booklist called...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The_Dogst.jpg
Out of the corner of my eye, I catch something moving by the barn. When I look, it disappears. Wait....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A stunning re-imagining of Robin Hood, the first in an exciting new trilogy Forget everything you've ever heard about Robin...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A summer romance filled with danger and lies Jane is ready for a fantastic summer. In fact, she’s pretty sure...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)