Books Young Adult Indie More (More Trilogy #1)

More (More Trilogy #1)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/b8/aa/de/_morecoveractualsize-1352144490.png
 
0.0
 
4.0 (1)
1116   0
Author(s)
Publisher Name
TWCS Publishing House
Age Group
14+
Published Date
October 04, 2012
ISBN Number
978-1-61213-123-8
ASIN Number
      
Ava Michaels used to think she was special.

As a child, she fantasized about having magical powers . . . making things happen. But Ava grew up and eventually accepted the fact that her childish dreams were just that, and maybe a normal life wasn't so bad after all.

Now a young college student, Ava meets Caleb Foster, a brilliant and mysterious man who’s supposed to help her pass physics, but in reality has another mission in mind. What he shows Ava challenges her view of the world, shaking it to its very core.

Because Caleb isn't quite what he seems. In fact, he's not entirely human, and he's not the only one.

Together, the duo faces a threat from an ancient race bound to protect humans, but only after protecting their own secrets—secrets they fear Ava may expose. Fighting to survive, Ava soon learns she's not actually normal . . . she's not even just special.

She's a little bit more.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0  (1)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
N/A  (0)
The books did not disappoint at all. I was instantly engrossed, the narrative being super interesting and with good flow. The story follows Ava, a college student who is struggling to keep her scholarship together. She is assigned a Physics tutor who is a genius and a tad bit weird. Caleb Foster is hiding something and Ava is not sure what. Turns out, he’s not even human! And…

Together, the duo faces a threat from an ancient race bound to protect humans, but only after protecting their own secrets—secrets they fear Ava may expose. Fighting to survive, Ava soon learns she’s not actually normal . . . she’s not even just special.

Time and time again, I was reminded of the Covenant books by J. L. Armentrout and bits and pieces of Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins. The latter because the protag in the Sweet trilogy was also oblivious to what she was in the beginning. The latter because the main female and male lead stood up against authority too.

Favorite Characters:

Caleb: Duh. There’s something about guys who are good-looking AND good at physics.

Lucy: Ava’s friend. I think I see a pattern in my liking outspoken, bubbly, friends.

There’s quite a bit of action in this book, and a lot of surprising plot twists. I won’t be able to tell anything without giving spoilers so…

There isn’t much romance in this book, it’s more like a build-up of what will be a great and passionate love. I liked how Ava isn’t like the usual YA girls who are so ready to fall in love that they don’t even question the obvious confusion that the guy brings out in situations and circumstances.

On the whole, More is definitely a page-turner. Recommended for those who liked Covenant.

Stay tuned for the review of book 2 in the More Trilogy; The Guardians
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
N/A
Maryam Mirza Reviewed by Maryam Mirza July 30, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (12)

More

The books did not disappoint at all. I was instantly engrossed, the narrative being super interesting and with good flow. The story follows Ava, a college student who is struggling to keep her scholarship together. She is assigned a Physics tutor who is a genius and a tad bit weird. Caleb Foster is hiding something and Ava is not sure what. Turns out, he’s not even human! And…

Together, the duo faces a threat from an ancient race bound to protect humans, but only after protecting their own secrets—secrets they fear Ava may expose. Fighting to survive, Ava soon learns she’s not actually normal . . . she’s not even just special.

Time and time again, I was reminded of the Covenant books by J. L. Armentrout and bits and pieces of Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins. The latter because the protag in the Sweet trilogy was also oblivious to what she was in the beginning. The latter because the main female and male lead stood up against authority too.

Favorite Characters:

Caleb: Duh. There’s something about guys who are good-looking AND good at physics.

Lucy: Ava’s friend. I think I see a pattern in my liking outspoken, bubbly, friends.

There’s quite a bit of action in this book, and a lot of surprising plot twists. I won’t be able to tell anything without giving spoilers so…

There isn’t much romance in this book, it’s more like a build-up of what will be a great and passionate love. I liked how Ava isn’t like the usual YA girls who are so ready to fall in love that they don’t even question the obvious confusion that the guy brings out in situations and circumstances.

On the whole, More is definitely a page-turner. Recommended for those who liked Covenant.

Stay tuned for the review of book 2 in the More Trilogy; The Guardians

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)