More (More Trilogy #1)

More (More Trilogy #1)

 
0.0
 
4.0 (1)
1739   0
Write Review
More (More Trilogy #1)
Author(s)
Publisher Name
TWCS Publishing House
Age Group
14+
Published Date
October 04, 2012
ISBN Number
978-1-61213-123-8
ASIN Number
      
Ava Michaels used to think she was special.

As a child, she fantasized about having magical powers . . . making things happen. But Ava grew up and eventually accepted the fact that her childish dreams were just that, and maybe a normal life wasn't so bad after all.

Now a young college student, Ava meets Caleb Foster, a brilliant and mysterious man who’s supposed to help her pass physics, but in reality has another mission in mind. What he shows Ava challenges her view of the world, shaking it to its very core.

Because Caleb isn't quite what he seems. In fact, he's not entirely human, and he's not the only one.

Together, the duo faces a threat from an ancient race bound to protect humans, but only after protecting their own secrets—secrets they fear Ava may expose. Fighting to survive, Ava soon learns she's not actually normal . . . she's not even just special.

She's a little bit more.

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0  (1)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
N/A  (0)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
N/A

More

The books did not disappoint at all. I was instantly engrossed, the narrative being super interesting and with good flow. The story follows Ava, a college student who is struggling to keep her scholarship together. She is assigned a Physics tutor who is a genius and a tad bit weird. Caleb Foster is hiding something and Ava is not sure what. Turns out, he’s not even human! And…

Together, the duo faces a threat from an ancient race bound to protect humans, but only after protecting their own secrets—secrets they fear Ava may expose. Fighting to survive, Ava soon learns she’s not actually normal . . . she’s not even just special.

Time and time again, I was reminded of the Covenant books by J. L. Armentrout and bits and pieces of Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins. The latter because the protag in the Sweet trilogy was also oblivious to what she was in the beginning. The latter because the main female and male lead stood up against authority too.

Favorite Characters:

Caleb: Duh. There’s something about guys who are good-looking AND good at physics.

Lucy: Ava’s friend. I think I see a pattern in my liking outspoken, bubbly, friends.

There’s quite a bit of action in this book, and a lot of surprising plot twists. I won’t be able to tell anything without giving spoilers so…

There isn’t much romance in this book, it’s more like a build-up of what will be a great and passionate love. I liked how Ava isn’t like the usual YA girls who are so ready to fall in love that they don’t even question the obvious confusion that the guy brings out in situations and circumstances.

On the whole, More is definitely a page-turner. Recommended for those who liked Covenant.

Stay tuned for the review of book 2 in the More Trilogy; The Guardians

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

Nothando's Journey
Nothando’s Journey is a journey in self-discovery told through the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
sam miracle.png
This new fantasy-adventure series from N. D. Wilson, bestselling author...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)