Reviews written by Jen

415 results - showing 61 - 75  
« 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... » 
 
JenJen   November 23, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

OHMYGARGOYLES, this was so good!

What I Loved: When I think of gargoyles, I tend to think of the creepy little pewter statues my husband was so fond of when we first met. Not anymore. Jas and Dez are anything but creepy in this intriguing new series about the ghoulish looking guardians. ...

JenJen   November 06, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Harlin. That is all.

Let's be honest, Claire is an awesome character full of compassion and love, but Harlin is the reason I read this. His journey has been just as heartrending and thought provoking as Charlotte and Elise's were in the first two books and I was excited to see where his role...

Young Adult Fiction
JenJen   November 03, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Great End To The Series!

This was one of my most anticipated 2013 reads and despite having the ending spoiled for me just hours before release, I am HAPPY to say I was not disappointed! SENTINEL was fast-paced, action-packed, delivering an Olympus-sized kick in the feels. Overflowing with love, sacrifice, redemption and plenty...

JenJen   October 24, 2013
(Updated: October 24, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Fantastic End To The Series.

Thank you Gabrielle Zevin for such a wonderful end to this series!! What I Loved: I have to say that I was afraid of how this would end. Like, legit scared I would end up in a corner somewhere mumbling about chocolate and coffee, which is why, I did...

Young Adult Fiction
JenJen   October 24, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

A Chasm of Feels.

I'll be honest, this is probably the most difficult review I've ever had to write. Like a lot of fans, DIVERGENT holds a special place in my heart and I have been anxiously awaiting A YEAR AND A HALF to find out how it all ends. And now I...

Young Adult Fiction
JenJen   October 21, 2013
(Updated: October 21, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Witty, Romantic and Heart-rending Debut.

What I Liked: You had me at wounded soldier. STIR ME UP is well written, with endearing characters and a story line that will break your heart in the best way possible. It will also make you extremely hungry, so I don't advise reading on an empty stomach. ...

Young Adult Fiction
JenJen   October 15, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Satisfying End To The Trilogy.

What I Liked: Of the three covers, this one is my favorite. This final installment of the Angel Eyes trilogy is action-packed, full of feels and has a great message woven into it. It picks up right where Broken Wings left off and leaves no question unanswered. Fans of...

Young Adult Fiction
JenJen   October 13, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Another Great Companion Novel

What I Liked: I have enjoyed all of the books in this series and was excited to read this one. As always, Cora Carmack gives us a well written story that's entertaining and characters who are easily relateable. She isn't afraid to tackle the tough issues either, but manages...

Young Adult Fiction
JenJen   October 03, 2013
(Updated: October 03, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Horses, hot guys and a girl with sass, RACING SAVANNAH is a winning combination!

What I loved: The covers in the Hundred Oaks series are some of my favorites. They have clean, bright colors with clear images that accurately represent the story within. And by not showing the model's faces, it allows readers to imagine the heroine/hero anyway they want to! Twelve...

Young Adult Fiction
JenJen   September 23, 2013
(Updated: September 23, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

The Cover Sure Is Pretty

What I Liked: TUMBLE & FALL was in one of the many gift bags I received at BEA'13 and I am not ashamed to admit I spent more than a few minutes staring at the pretty cover. The writing is beautiful and the premise intriguing - an asteroid is...

Young Adult Fiction
JenJen   September 23, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

To Russia, With Love--Maybe

What I Liked: The cover for THE BOY ON THE BRIDGE as well as the time period covered is what captured my initial interest. I was in grade school in the eighties and can remember the tension between U.S. and the U.S.S.R. quite well. I thought the storyline...

Young Adult Fiction
JenJen   September 21, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

I loved this harder than Raphael's shell!

What I Loved: There have been quite a few companion novellas published recently, all offering an alternate POV, most of which I've read but very few I have enjoyed. Why? My guess is because those other books didn't have a cookie baking Cam or a tortoise named, Raphael in them....

JenJen   September 11, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Clean Swoony Romance

What I Liked: I'm not gonna lie, I felt like I was reading about the Jonas Brothers in the beginning of this. (I happen to enjoy the JoBros, so this wasn't a bad thing.) The story was a bit cliche, however, Angie Stanton creates enough interest in the characters that...

JenJen   September 11, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Entertaining Companion Novel

What I Liked: Dual POV is always a plus and I think Adam is my favorite Jamieson bother. He's the perfect blend of snarky and sweet and I enjoyed the easy banter between he and Marti despite feeling like they jumped into a relationship way too fast. This companion to...

Young Adult Fiction
JenJen   September 04, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

FOUR. That is all.

If I didn't already LURVE ME SOME TOBIAS EATON, THE TRANSFER would have sealed the deal for me! What I Loved: Everything you ever wanted to know about how FOUR ended up at the Dauntless compound and who gave him his name. This is a short read, topping out...

415 results - showing 61 - 75  
« 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... » 
 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Starflight
Solara Brooks needs a fresh start, someplace where nobody cares...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
summer marked.jpg
Fresh off a break-up with her boyfriend, Kadie's glad to...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)