Reviews written by Jen, Editor

414 results - showing 61 - 75
« 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... 28 » 
 
Reviewed by Jen, Editor     November 06, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Harlin. That is all.

Let's be honest, Claire is an awesome character full of compassion and love, but Harlin is the reason I read this. His journey has been just as heartrending and thought provoking as Charlotte and Elise's were in the first two books and I was excited to see where his role...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Jen, Editor     November 03, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Great End To The Series!

This was one of my most anticipated 2013 reads and despite having the ending spoiled for me just hours before release, I am HAPPY to say I was not disappointed! SENTINEL was fast-paced, action-packed, delivering an Olympus-sized kick in the feels. Overflowing with love, sacrifice, redemption and plenty...

Reviewed by Jen, Editor     October 24, 2013
Last updated: October 24, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Fantastic End To The Series.

Thank you Gabrielle Zevin for such a wonderful end to this series!! What I Loved: I have to say that I was afraid of how this would end. Like, legit scared I would end up in a corner somewhere mumbling about chocolate and coffee, which is why, I did...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Jen, Editor     October 24, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

A Chasm of Feels.

I'll be honest, this is probably the most difficult review I've ever had to write. Like a lot of fans, DIVERGENT holds a special place in my heart and I have been anxiously awaiting A YEAR AND A HALF to find out how it all ends. And now I...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Jen, Editor     October 21, 2013
Last updated: October 21, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Witty, Romantic and Heart-rending Debut.

What I Liked: You had me at wounded soldier. STIR ME UP is well written, with endearing characters and a story line that will break your heart in the best way possible. It will also make you extremely hungry, so I don't advise reading on an empty stomach. ...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Jen, Editor     October 15, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Satisfying End To The Trilogy.

What I Liked: Of the three covers, this one is my favorite. This final installment of the Angel Eyes trilogy is action-packed, full of feels and has a great message woven into it. It picks up right where Broken Wings left off and leaves no question unanswered. Fans of...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Jen, Editor     October 13, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Another Great Companion Novel

What I Liked: I have enjoyed all of the books in this series and was excited to read this one. As always, Cora Carmack gives us a well written story that's entertaining and characters who are easily relateable. She isn't afraid to tackle the tough issues either, but manages...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Jen, Editor     October 03, 2013
Last updated: October 03, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Horses, hot guys and a girl with sass, RACING SAVANNAH is a winning combination!

What I loved: The covers in the Hundred Oaks series are some of my favorites. They have clean, bright colors with clear images that accurately represent the story within. And by not showing the model's faces, it allows readers to imagine the heroine/hero anyway they want to! Twelve...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Jen, Editor     September 23, 2013
Last updated: September 23, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

The Cover Sure Is Pretty

What I Liked: TUMBLE & FALL was in one of the many gift bags I received at BEA'13 and I am not ashamed to admit I spent more than a few minutes staring at the pretty cover. The writing is beautiful and the premise intriguing - an asteroid is...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Jen, Editor     September 23, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

To Russia, With Love--Maybe

What I Liked: The cover for THE BOY ON THE BRIDGE as well as the time period covered is what captured my initial interest. I was in grade school in the eighties and can remember the tension between U.S. and the U.S.S.R. quite well. I thought the storyline...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Jen, Editor     September 21, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

I loved this harder than Raphael's shell!

What I Loved: There have been quite a few companion novellas published recently, all offering an alternate POV, most of which I've read but very few I have enjoyed. Why? My guess is because those other books didn't have a cookie baking Cam or a tortoise named, Raphael in them....

Reviewed by Jen, Editor     September 11, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Clean Swoony Romance

What I Liked: I'm not gonna lie, I felt like I was reading about the Jonas Brothers in the beginning of this. (I happen to enjoy the JoBros, so this wasn't a bad thing.) The story was a bit cliche, however, Angie Stanton creates enough interest in the characters that...

Reviewed by Jen, Editor     September 11, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Entertaining Companion Novel

What I Liked: Dual POV is always a plus and I think Adam is my favorite Jamieson bother. He's the perfect blend of snarky and sweet and I enjoyed the easy banter between he and Marti despite feeling like they jumped into a relationship way too fast. This companion to...

Reviewed by Jen, Editor     September 04, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

FOUR. That is all.

If I didn't already LURVE ME SOME TOBIAS EATON, THE TRANSFER would have sealed the deal for me! What I Loved: Everything you ever wanted to know about how FOUR ended up at the Dauntless compound and who gave him his name. This is a short read, topping out...

Reviewed by Jen, Editor     September 01, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0

Satisfying End To The Series.

I really enjoyed the three previous books in the BETWEEN THE LINES series, and couldn't wait to find out how Reid and Dori's story was going to end! What I Liked: HERE WITHOUT YOU picks up right where GOOD FOR YOU left off, and I was immediately drawn...

414 results - showing 61 - 75
« 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... 28 » 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)