Reviews written by Jen

415 results - showing 16 - 30  
« 1 2 3 4 5 ... »  
Ordering 
 
Young Adult Fiction
JenJen   June 20, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

New Adult Light

For those who enjoy love, swoon, and more toned down smexy times in their New Adult, these are the books for you! While they are companion novels, both Never Again and Once Again can be read as stand alones without any loss of storyline. Never Again is...

Young Adult Fiction
JenJen   June 20, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Sweet Summer Romance

I'm a huge fan of Kasie West and THE DISTANCE BETWEEN US was a favorite of mine last summer, so when I had the chance to read ON THE FENCE, I jumped at it. I liked Charlie and her all-boy family dynamic and being the daughter...

JenJen   May 16, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Flirting With A New Series!

What I Liked: Jennifer Echols is one of my favorite YA authors and I never know what I'm falling into when I pick up one of her books, I just know I'm guaranteed to have a good time. Biggest Flirts, Book One in the Superlatives Series is...

Young Adult Fiction
JenJen   May 12, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Love, Romance and Football!

Cora Carmack is one of my favorite New Adult authors! I always look forward to her books because she has a way of writing characters who are not only flawed, but hilariously funny and easily relateable. All Lined Up is no different. In fact, out of all of her stories,...

JenJen   May 09, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Sweet Fans Will Not Be Disappointed!

I love this cover and would REALLY like to have a set of all three dresses. Maybe Harper can make that happen? Okay, cool. When I attended ALAMW, Sweet Reckoning was the one book I was desperate to come home with. Like, if I had to trade...

Young Adult Fiction
JenJen   May 09, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

A Pleasant Surprise!

Told from alternating POVs, Boys Like You is one of those stories that sucks you in, tugs on your heartstrings and doesn't let go until you've turned the final page. In fact, I was so immersed in Monroe and Nate's story that when I came to the Acknowledgements, I was...

JenJen   May 09, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Breakable is everything fans of Easy, and Lucas Maxfield, have been waiting for!

*Due to the mature content, this book is recommended for readers 18 years and up* What I Loved: Can we start with the cover because...cool hair and lip rings. This book should come standard with a pack of tissues and a warning...

Young Adult Fiction
JenJen   April 16, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Fantastic Ending!

I enjoy duologies and I REALLY enjoy Suzanne Young and her style of writing! The Treatment, like it's predecessor, The Program, takes an interesting and unique look at mental health issues, how they're diagnosed and treated. Sloane and James' journey is not an easy one but...

Young Adult Fiction
JenJen   April 14, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Not Everything Is As It Seems.

I couldn't wait to get my hands on this book! My Life Next Door is one of my absolute favorite books and while What I Thought Was True does share some of the same characteristics as MLND; well-written, beautiful setting, multi-layered characters, witty banter and complex issues, it is very...

Young Adult Fiction
JenJen   April 14, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Cute Story

What I liked: The cover is super cute and coordinates well with Smith's previous books despite being stand alones. I always enjoy a dual POV and unique circumstances that bring two people together. Lucy and Owen are both likeable characters and it was interesting to watch their long-distance relationship play...

JenJen   April 10, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Fast, Flirty & Fun.

This was fast, flirty and fun. If you haven't read Where I Belong or it's companion, A Long Way From You, then you probably will be lost. I was a little a lost myself because I kept wondering who this Benson dude was and where in the...

Young Adult Fiction
JenJen   April 10, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Worthy Sequel

I really like the cover for this series a lot. FROZEN is the second installment in the TAKEN trilogy and like it's predecessor, it's well written, engaging and has several interesting plot twists. This took me awhile to get into and I'm not sure if it was...

JenJen   April 04, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

A Nice Addition to the New Adult Genre

This was my first Tiffany King book. I enjoyed her writing and the story was definitely relateable. Brittni and Justin's story alternates between the now and two years prior, following the journey of how they met, fell in love and ultimately, fell apart. The now scenes are equal parts humorous...

Young Adult Fiction
JenJen   March 26, 2014
(Updated: March 26, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Because Carson.

Don't Look Back is a skillfully crafted psychological thriller that will leave you guessing right up until the very end! (This book stressed the crap out of me, but in a good way.) Infused with strong characters, Armentrout's signature wit and romantic tension, it is unlike any of her previous...

Young Adult Fiction
JenJen   March 26, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Shawtastic Addition to the Series.

I've already told Sophie that Shaw is mine. I claim him. The rest of y'all can take a number and get in line. ;) While most girls her age are looking for love and a happily ever after, Emerson is looking for the next no-strings-attached hookup. Past...

415 results - showing 16 - 30  
« 1 2 3 4 5 ... »  
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Restart
Chase's memory just went out the window. Chase doesn't remember...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tori Douglas hates her life. Struggling to make the people...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It Should Have Been You
Seventeen-year-old Clara Seibert ghostwrites an advice column for her school’s...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Round of Robins
Food Fight Jumble, jostle, rumble, squirm; ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emerson Page and Where the Light Enters
Thirteen-year-old Emerson Page wants to know what happened to...
 
3.8
 
5.0 (1)
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ace of Shades
Welcome to the City of Sin, where casino families...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Premonition (The Division Series Book 1)
When Riley heads off to boarding school for a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Hidden underneath the rubble and remains of a burned out school library, lies a treasure - a real library that..."
Devils Unto Dust
 
4.7
"In this alternative history the time after the Civil War has caused not only bad times to come to Daisy..."
The Traitor's Game
 
4.7
"THE TRAITOR'S GAME alternates between two main characters: Kestra and Simon. When Kestra is called back home to her father's..."
Better Than This
 
4.7
"The story: Samantha “Sam” Becker wants only one thing – to go to Juilliard. She’s a veritable prodigy with..."
The Poet X
 
4.0
"The Poet X felt like coming home. I felt the presence of the bodegas as if I walked by them..."
Zenith: The Androma Saga
 
4.0
"ZENITH: THE ANDROMA SAGA by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings is a young adult science fiction novel that follows the..."
Miles Away From You
 
3.7
"Grief is a funny thing, it's usually messy--and rarely neat--with the barest of touches, it makes a wreck of your..."
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
 
5.0
"Prepare yourself, Winter Glass is set to destroy all the feels! This stunning conclusion full of sisterly love, romance, and..."
Restart
 
4.0
"Middle grade mystery with an amnesic twist—a friendship-centric tale of lost-and-found. Readers are introduced to a cruel boy..."
Crossing the Line
 
3.3
"Ryan Hess escapes his abusive stepfather and flees to Mexico, hoping to train with a former famous boxer. He doesn't..."
It Should Have Been You
 
3.7
"This book had me at the tagline: “Once I decided to kill her, the rest was surprisingly easy.” ..."
The Last Thing You Said
 
3.7
"The Last Thing You Said by Sara Biren is a story about love and loss. Ben and Lucy are..."
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
 
5.0
"Obsidio starts off right where Gemina left off and we are introduced to a few new characters who follow in..."
Pretty Dead Girls
 
3.3
"PRETTY DEAD GIRLS by Monica Murphy is a YA thriller in which all the popular senior girls at Cape Bonita..."
Ace of Shades
 
5.0
"When Enne's mother doesn't return home, Enne travels to the City of Sin and she's desperate to find her. It's..."
Not if I Save You First
 
5.0
"Maddie's father is a Secret Service agent who is protecting Logan's father, the president of the United States. "Mad Dog"..."
How You Ruined My Life
 
4.7
"Rodney's father left, so he and his mother struggle to get by. When his well-to-do aunt and uncle decide to..."
Zombie Abbey
 
4.0
"It's been a long time since I had read a zombie novel and even more, one as entertaining as Zombie..."
The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games #1)
 
5.0
"i really loved this book, the plot and the characters. I'm looking forward to reading the next book in the..."
Kat and Meg Conquer the World
 
3.7
"WHAT I LOVED: The course of friendship, like love, doesn’t run smoothly. Epcot at Disney World nearly broke up my..."