Reviews written by Jen, Editor

415 results - showing 16 - 30
« 1 2 3 4 5 ... 28 » 
 
Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Jen, Editor     June 20, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

New Adult Light

For those who enjoy love, swoon, and more toned down smexy times in their New Adult, these are the books for you! While they are companion novels, both Never Again and Once Again can be read as stand alones without any loss of storyline. Never Again is the story...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Jen, Editor     June 20, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Sweet Summer Romance

I'm a huge fan of Kasie West and THE DISTANCE BETWEEN US was a favorite of mine last summer, so when I had the chance to read ON THE FENCE, I jumped at it. I liked Charlie and her all-boy family dynamic and being the daughter of a...

Reviewed by Jen, Editor     May 16, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Flirting With A New Series!

What I Liked: Jennifer Echols is one of my favorite YA authors and I never know what I'm falling into when I pick up one of her books, I just know I'm guaranteed to have a good time. Biggest Flirts, Book One in the Superlatives Series is fast, funny...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Jen, Editor     May 12, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Love, Romance and Football!

Cora Carmack is one of my favorite New Adult authors! I always look forward to her books because she has a way of writing characters who are not only flawed, but hilariously funny and easily relateable. All Lined Up is no different. In fact, out of all of her stories,...

Reviewed by Jen, Editor     May 09, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Sweet Fans Will Not Be Disappointed!

I love this cover and would REALLY like to have a set of all three dresses. Maybe Harper can make that happen? Okay, cool. When I attended ALAMW, Sweet Reckoning was the one book I was desperate to come home with. Like, if I had to trade ALL THE...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Jen, Editor     May 09, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

A Pleasant Surprise!

Told from alternating POVs, Boys Like You is one of those stories that sucks you in, tugs on your heartstrings and doesn't let go until you've turned the final page. In fact, I was so immersed in Monroe and Nate's story that when I came to the Acknowledgements, I was...

Reviewed by Jen, Editor     May 09, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Breakable is everything fans of Easy, and Lucas Maxfield, have been waiting for!

*Due to the mature content, this book is recommended for readers 18 years and up* What I Loved: Can we start with the cover because...cool hair and lip rings. This book should come standard with a pack of tissues and a warning label: "Prepare to have...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Jen, Editor     April 16, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Fantastic Ending!

I enjoy duologies and I REALLY enjoy Suzanne Young and her style of writing! The Treatment, like it's predecessor, The Program, takes an interesting and unique look at mental health issues, how they're diagnosed and treated. Sloane and James' journey is not an easy one but is chocked...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Jen, Editor     April 14, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Not Everything Is As It Seems.

I couldn't wait to get my hands on this book! My Life Next Door is one of my absolute favorite books and while What I Thought Was True does share some of the same characteristics as MLND; well-written, beautiful setting, multi-layered characters, witty banter and complex issues, it is very...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Jen, Editor     April 14, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Cute Story

What I liked: The cover is super cute and coordinates well with Smith's previous books despite being stand alones. I always enjoy a dual POV and unique circumstances that bring two people together. Lucy and Owen are both likeable characters and it was interesting to watch their long-distance relationship play...

Reviewed by Jen, Editor     April 10, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Fast, Flirty & Fun.

This was fast, flirty and fun. If you haven't read Where I Belong or it's companion, A Long Way From You, then you probably will be lost. I was a little a lost myself because I kept wondering who this Benson dude was and where in the world was...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Jen, Editor     April 10, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Worthy Sequel

I really like the cover for this series a lot. FROZEN is the second installment in the TAKEN trilogy and like it's predecessor, it's well written, engaging and has several interesting plot twists. This took me awhile to get into and I'm not sure if it was because I...

Reviewed by Jen, Editor     April 04, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

A Nice Addition to the New Adult Genre

This was my first Tiffany King book. I enjoyed her writing and the story was definitely relateable. Brittni and Justin's story alternates between the now and two years prior, following the journey of how they met, fell in love and ultimately, fell apart. The now scenes are equal parts humorous...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Jen, Editor     March 26, 2014
Last updated: March 26, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Because Carson.

Don't Look Back is a skillfully crafted psychological thriller that will leave you guessing right up until the very end! (This book stressed the crap out of me, but in a good way.) Infused with strong characters, Armentrout's signature wit and romantic tension, it is unlike any of her previous...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Jen, Editor     March 26, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Shawtastic Addition to the Series.

I've already told Sophie that Shaw is mine. I claim him. The rest of y'all can take a number and get in line. ;) While most girls her age are looking for love and a happily ever after, Emerson is looking for the next no-strings-attached hookup. Past experience has...

415 results - showing 16 - 30
« 1 2 3 4 5 ... 28 » 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Young Adult Indie
At fourteen, Catrina MacGreagor was left to care for her nine siblings after her mother passed. She didn't truly mind,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
New York Times Bestseller * Indie List Bestseller * Soon to be a Film from Universal Pictures * A Barnes...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dear Mr. S. Harris, Ignore the blob of red in the top left corner. It's jam, not blood, though I...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
At not quite fifteen, Stefan's father finally let him board the longship, Sja Vinna, to take part in his first...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Gayle Forman, Every Last Promise is a provocative and emotional novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
What if, after spending a lifetime deceiving everyone around you, you discovered the biggest lies were the ones you've told...
 
0.0
 
3.3 (1)
In the explosive conclusion to the thrilling Revolution 19 series, the time has come to win the cities back from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Darcy Covington never had to worry about money or where her next shopping spree was coming from. Even her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Reality is only an illusion. Except for those who can control it… Worst. Birthday. Ever. My first boyfriend dumped me—happy...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
5-to-1-cover-small.jpg
In the year 2054, after decades of gender selection, India now has a ratio of five boys for every girl,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wren Noble is dead—she was born that way. Vibrant, unlike other dead things, she craves those rare moments when her...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Macy Jones is a perfect student, popular teenager, and utterly miserable. This all changes once her father is arrested and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ned and his identical twin brother tumble from their raft into a raging, bewitched river, only Ned survives. Villagers...
 
5.0
 
4.0 (1)
In Marla Klein and Ivy Wilde’s world, teens are the gatekeepers of culture. A top fashion label employs sixteen-year-old...
 
0.0
 
3.3 (1)
the hidden princess.jpg
One destiny rules two worlds in this gripping fantasy thriller. For five years, the Gateway has been closed and Hidden...
 
0.0
 
3.7 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
When Aidan and Maggie find a fairy cross while rock-hunting with their grandfather, it's just an oddity. But when they...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this unforgettable teen romance that fans of Sarah Dessen and Susane Colasanti will devour, Quinn Sullivan falls for the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A powerful and gripping contemporary YA from the author of I'm Not Her that's "Just right for fans of Sarah...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins is sassier than ever in this page-turning follow up to Rebel Belle, perfect...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)