Reviews written by Jen, Editor

414 results - showing 16 - 30
« 1 2 3 4 5 ... 28 » 
 
Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Jen, Editor     June 20, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Sweet Summer Romance

I'm a huge fan of Kasie West and THE DISTANCE BETWEEN US was a favorite of mine last summer, so when I had the chance to read ON THE FENCE, I jumped at it. I liked Charlie and her all-boy family dynamic and being the daughter of a...

Reviewed by Jen, Editor     May 16, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Flirting With A New Series!

What I Liked: Jennifer Echols is one of my favorite YA authors and I never know what I'm falling into when I pick up one of her books, I just know I'm guaranteed to have a good time. Biggest Flirts, Book One in the Superlatives Series is fast, funny...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Jen, Editor     May 12, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Love, Romance and Football!

Cora Carmack is one of my favorite New Adult authors! I always look forward to her books because she has a way of writing characters who are not only flawed, but hilariously funny and easily relateable. All Lined Up is no different. In fact, out of all of her stories,...

Reviewed by Jen, Editor     May 09, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Sweet Fans Will Not Be Disappointed!

I love this cover and would REALLY like to have a set of all three dresses. Maybe Harper can make that happen? Okay, cool. When I attended ALAMW, Sweet Reckoning was the one book I was desperate to come home with. Like, if I had to trade ALL THE...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Jen, Editor     May 09, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

A Pleasant Surprise!

Told from alternating POVs, Boys Like You is one of those stories that sucks you in, tugs on your heartstrings and doesn't let go until you've turned the final page. In fact, I was so immersed in Monroe and Nate's story that when I came to the Acknowledgements, I was...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Jen, Editor     May 09, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Breakable is everything fans of Easy, and Lucas Maxfield, have been waiting for!

*Due to the mature content, this book is recommended for readers 18 years and up* What I Loved: Can we start with the cover because...cool hair and lip rings. This book should come standard with a pack of tissues and a warning label: "Prepare to have...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Jen, Editor     April 16, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Fantastic Ending!

I enjoy duologies and I REALLY enjoy Suzanne Young and her style of writing! The Treatment, like it's predecessor, The Program, takes an interesting and unique look at mental health issues, how they're diagnosed and treated. Sloane and James' journey is not an easy one but is chocked...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Jen, Editor     April 14, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Not Everything Is As It Seems.

I couldn't wait to get my hands on this book! My Life Next Door is one of my absolute favorite books and while What I Thought Was True does share some of the same characteristics as MLND; well-written, beautiful setting, multi-layered characters, witty banter and complex issues, it is very...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Jen, Editor     April 14, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Cute Story

What I liked: The cover is super cute and coordinates well with Smith's previous books despite being stand alones. I always enjoy a dual POV and unique circumstances that bring two people together. Lucy and Owen are both likeable characters and it was interesting to watch their long-distance relationship play...

Reviewed by Jen, Editor     April 10, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Fast, Flirty & Fun.

This was fast, flirty and fun. If you haven't read Where I Belong or it's companion, A Long Way From You, then you probably will be lost. I was a little a lost myself because I kept wondering who this Benson dude was and where in the world was...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Jen, Editor     April 10, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Worthy Sequel

I really like the cover for this series a lot. FROZEN is the second installment in the TAKEN trilogy and like it's predecessor, it's well written, engaging and has several interesting plot twists. This took me awhile to get into and I'm not sure if it was because I...

Reviewed by Jen, Editor     April 04, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

A Nice Addition to the New Adult Genre

This was my first Tiffany King book. I enjoyed her writing and the story was definitely relateable. Brittni and Justin's story alternates between the now and two years prior, following the journey of how they met, fell in love and ultimately, fell apart. The now scenes are equal parts humorous...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Jen, Editor     March 26, 2014
Last updated: March 26, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Because Carson.

Don't Look Back is a skillfully crafted psychological thriller that will leave you guessing right up until the very end! (This book stressed the crap out of me, but in a good way.) Infused with strong characters, Armentrout's signature wit and romantic tension, it is unlike any of her previous...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Jen, Editor     March 26, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Shawtastic Addition to the Series.

I've already told Sophie that Shaw is mine. I claim him. The rest of y'all can take a number and get in line. ;) While most girls her age are looking for love and a happily ever after, Emerson is looking for the next no-strings-attached hookup. Past experience has...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Jen, Editor     March 20, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

The Past Isn't Always The Way We Remember It

What I Liked: Of all of the characters in this series, Nash Donovan is the Marked Man I like the best. He's up front and honest without being a jerk and for the most part, he allows himself and those around him, the freedom to make and hopefully learn from,...

414 results - showing 16 - 30
« 1 2 3 4 5 ... 28 » 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
Tori Porter is best friends with her mom, and most of the time it’s awesome. Not many girls have a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
London's Youngest detective is back . . . Darkus Knightley, tweed-wearing, megabrained, fiercely logical thirteen-year-old investigator of the weird, was...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ari’s mother died four years ago, she had two final wishes: that Ari and her older brother, Gage, would...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A boy hunter, the president of the United States, and a terrorist plot converge to create an original and thrilling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rory and her friends are reeling from a series of sudden and tragic events. While racked with grief, Rory tries...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the most part, aspiring screenwriter Jack Bell is just your typical Midwestern kid. He’s got a crush on his...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
4.7 (1)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)