Reviews written by Jillian Van Leer, Editor

304 results - showing 61 - 75
« 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... 21 » 
 
Kids Fiction
Reviewed by Jillian Van Leer, Editor     September 25, 2013
Last updated: October 02, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Perfect for the whole family!

What I liked: This book is not only fantastic for children, but it's perfect for the entire family! I learned a great deal about Babe Ruth that I did not know before. This book is relatable to children and even has Babe facing the consequences of his actions...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Jillian Van Leer, Editor     September 25, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Wonderful Debut!

What I liked: First of all I was extremely impressed with Lynn Maddalenna Menna's writing style. The story has great flow and the characters all come across well. I enjoyed reading about the culture of East Harlem and the Latino community there. I was rooting for Marisol...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Jillian Van Leer, Editor     September 25, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Fantastic companion to Inbetween!

So, I recently read 'Inbetween' and loved it. I love all the characters and was quite taken with Cash. I had wished he had more time in the first novel. So, when I found out 'Blurred' focuses on Cash and Anaya, I was very excited! And...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Jillian Van Leer, Editor     September 25, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Interesting take on Brigadoon!

What I liked: I really enjoyed the hauntingly beautiful love story here. I've always loved the idea of fate and how everything happens for a reason, and this book does a wonderful job with that. Veronica is easily and quickly taken with the Doon world, while Mackenna is...

Reviewed by Jillian Van Leer, Editor     September 25, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Quick read

What I liked: I liked how the book was very innocent and the romance between Libby and Peter was genuine and true. I loved how Peter's parents were so involved in his life, something we don't often see in YA books. I enjoyed how Peter was willing to...

Reviewed by Jillian Van Leer, Editor     May 28, 2013
Last updated: May 28, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Fantastic Sequel that's just as good as the first!

After reading 'Pushing the Limits', I wanted more. When I heard there would be a sequel, I was ecstatic. When I heard the sequel was about Beth, I was all "meh". Shame on me. When I got my hands on the book, I couldn't wait to...

Reviewed by Jillian Van Leer, Editor     May 14, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Fun read for young readers!

What a hilarious read for young readers! I wasn't sure what to expect when I saw the title, but I knew my boys would probably love it. And they did. And honestly, the potty humor is really toned down and not over the top. I was...

Reviewed by Jillian Van Leer, Editor     May 14, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Kady Cross does it again! Thrilling read!

If you have read my previous two reviews from The Steampunk Chronicles, you know I'm a huge fan of the series. So, when the third installment found it's way to my door step, I was incredibly ecstatic. Once again Ms. Cross delivers. When I first read The...

Reviewed by Jillian Van Leer, Editor     April 08, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Simply classic!

You know the tune. You know the words. All you have to do is pick up this book and sing along! I have adored 'Little Golden Books' since I was a child. In fact, I have an extensive collection from my childhood, so I was ecstatic...

Kids Fiction
Reviewed by Jillian Van Leer, Editor     April 08, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

A fun read for little ones!

What an adorable counting book, with rhymes to go with it! The book starts off with 1 bus driver and from there counts up to 10, and then back down again with the bus' passengers. With fun illustrations and great rhythm, this book is sure to please the...

Reviewed by Jillian Van Leer, Editor     April 08, 2013
Last updated: April 08, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Powerful and Heart-Warming!

This is one of those books that you find yourself thinking about long after you read it. This book is based on the real life experiences of Archbishop Desmond Tutu. I read through this book first, before reading it through with my children. I wanted to make...

Kids Fiction
Reviewed by Jillian Van Leer, Editor     March 18, 2013
Last updated: March 18, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Fun for all ages!

We are huge David Shannon fans in this house, so when I received this book we all got very excited! Not only does this book have the character David in it from 'No, David!', but there are stickers as well! You can bet that my little ones were...

Reviewed by Jillian Van Leer, Editor     March 18, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Full of suspense and friendship!

I thoroughly enjoyed 'Code of Silence' the first book in this series. So, I was anxious to read this one and Mr. Shoemaker did not let me down. Cooper, Gordy, Hiro and Lunk are all back. When Gordy falls for a trap and is abducted, the other...

Reviewed by Jillian Van Leer, Editor     March 18, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Emotional read that I couldn't put down!

I have to be honest. I've had this book for awhile and just wasn't in the mood to pick it up. I knew the content was emotional, and I knew I would have to be in the right mindset to read it. So, I picked it up...

Reviewed by Jillian Van Leer, Editor     February 25, 2013
Last updated: February 27, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Fun read for young readers!

I actually had never heard of Ricky Vargas until I received this book. I'm so glad I know who he is now! My first grader absolutely loved this book. He laughed the entire time and honestly, so did I. This book includes three separate Ricky Vargas...

304 results - showing 61 - 75
« 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... 21 » 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)