Reviews written by Jillian Van Leer, Editor

304 results - showing 61 - 75
« 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... 21 » 
 
Kids Fiction
Reviewed by Jillian Van Leer, Editor     September 25, 2013
Last updated: October 02, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Perfect for the whole family!

What I liked: This book is not only fantastic for children, but it's perfect for the entire family! I learned a great deal about Babe Ruth that I did not know before. This book is relatable to children and even has Babe facing the consequences of his actions...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Jillian Van Leer, Editor     September 25, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Wonderful Debut!

What I liked: First of all I was extremely impressed with Lynn Maddalenna Menna's writing style. The story has great flow and the characters all come across well. I enjoyed reading about the culture of East Harlem and the Latino community there. I was rooting for Marisol...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Jillian Van Leer, Editor     September 25, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Fantastic companion to Inbetween!

So, I recently read 'Inbetween' and loved it. I love all the characters and was quite taken with Cash. I had wished he had more time in the first novel. So, when I found out 'Blurred' focuses on Cash and Anaya, I was very excited! And...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Jillian Van Leer, Editor     September 25, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Interesting take on Brigadoon!

What I liked: I really enjoyed the hauntingly beautiful love story here. I've always loved the idea of fate and how everything happens for a reason, and this book does a wonderful job with that. Veronica is easily and quickly taken with the Doon world, while Mackenna is...

Reviewed by Jillian Van Leer, Editor     September 25, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Quick read

What I liked: I liked how the book was very innocent and the romance between Libby and Peter was genuine and true. I loved how Peter's parents were so involved in his life, something we don't often see in YA books. I enjoyed how Peter was willing to...

Reviewed by Jillian Van Leer, Editor     May 28, 2013
Last updated: May 28, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Fantastic Sequel that's just as good as the first!

After reading 'Pushing the Limits', I wanted more. When I heard there would be a sequel, I was ecstatic. When I heard the sequel was about Beth, I was all "meh". Shame on me. When I got my hands on the book, I couldn't wait to...

Reviewed by Jillian Van Leer, Editor     May 14, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Fun read for young readers!

What a hilarious read for young readers! I wasn't sure what to expect when I saw the title, but I knew my boys would probably love it. And they did. And honestly, the potty humor is really toned down and not over the top. I was...

Reviewed by Jillian Van Leer, Editor     May 14, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Kady Cross does it again! Thrilling read!

If you have read my previous two reviews from The Steampunk Chronicles, you know I'm a huge fan of the series. So, when the third installment found it's way to my door step, I was incredibly ecstatic. Once again Ms. Cross delivers. When I first read The...

Reviewed by Jillian Van Leer, Editor     April 08, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Simply classic!

You know the tune. You know the words. All you have to do is pick up this book and sing along! I have adored 'Little Golden Books' since I was a child. In fact, I have an extensive collection from my childhood, so I was ecstatic...

Kids Fiction
Reviewed by Jillian Van Leer, Editor     April 08, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

A fun read for little ones!

What an adorable counting book, with rhymes to go with it! The book starts off with 1 bus driver and from there counts up to 10, and then back down again with the bus' passengers. With fun illustrations and great rhythm, this book is sure to please the...

Reviewed by Jillian Van Leer, Editor     April 08, 2013
Last updated: April 08, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Powerful and Heart-Warming!

This is one of those books that you find yourself thinking about long after you read it. This book is based on the real life experiences of Archbishop Desmond Tutu. I read through this book first, before reading it through with my children. I wanted to make...

Kids Fiction
Reviewed by Jillian Van Leer, Editor     March 18, 2013
Last updated: March 18, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Fun for all ages!

We are huge David Shannon fans in this house, so when I received this book we all got very excited! Not only does this book have the character David in it from 'No, David!', but there are stickers as well! You can bet that my little ones were...

Reviewed by Jillian Van Leer, Editor     March 18, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Full of suspense and friendship!

I thoroughly enjoyed 'Code of Silence' the first book in this series. So, I was anxious to read this one and Mr. Shoemaker did not let me down. Cooper, Gordy, Hiro and Lunk are all back. When Gordy falls for a trap and is abducted, the other...

Reviewed by Jillian Van Leer, Editor     March 18, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Emotional read that I couldn't put down!

I have to be honest. I've had this book for awhile and just wasn't in the mood to pick it up. I knew the content was emotional, and I knew I would have to be in the right mindset to read it. So, I picked it up...

Reviewed by Jillian Van Leer, Editor     February 25, 2013
Last updated: February 27, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Fun read for young readers!

I actually had never heard of Ricky Vargas until I received this book. I'm so glad I know who he is now! My first grader absolutely loved this book. He laughed the entire time and honestly, so did I. This book includes three separate Ricky Vargas...

304 results - showing 61 - 75
« 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... 21 » 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)