Reviews written by Claire Johnson, Editor

221 results - showing 76 - 90
« 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8 ... 15 » 
 
Reviewed by Claire Johnson, Editor     December 21, 2012
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Fairy Tale Fun

In the second installment of Sarah Mlynowski's Whatever After series, siblings Abby and Jonah end up in Cinderella's story. After Cinderella breaks her foot, it is up to Abby and Jonah to figure out a way to fix the story and find a way to get themselves back home....

Reviewed by Claire Johnson, Editor     December 20, 2012
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Another Winner

Eric Litwin has quickly become one of my favorite children's book authors. Every single one of Pete's stories have made me smile and tap my toes. In this book, Pete may have a big challenge (saving Christmas) ahead of him but with a cool, calm head and a...

Kids Fiction
Reviewed by Claire Johnson, Editor     November 26, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Fun for All!

Monkey Play is a fun book for young readers. The text is very rich in sight words and there are many words that are repeated throughout. I think young readers will enjoy listening to this as well as using it to build confidence in their own reading skills....

Kids Fiction
Reviewed by Claire Johnson, Editor     November 26, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

In the Woods

In the Woods is a cute board book about a little boy who explores the woods with his father. Each page has just a couple of words on it and the illustrations are simple but beautifully done. If you have a young outdoor lover in your house, I...

Reviewed by Claire Johnson, Editor     November 25, 2012
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

A Must Read

The Warrior's Heart is one of those books I consider a must read. If you decide to do nothing else once you've finished reading, it will at least make you think. Greitens draws on personal experiences to make readers think about choices and paths to take. Do you...

Kids Fiction
Reviewed by Claire Johnson, Editor     November 21, 2012
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Fun For Train Lovers

Railroad Hank is full of fun for your young train lover! With the help of his friends, Hank comes up with some interesting ways to cheer up Granny Bett. The text has a fun, bouncy flow to it which I think makes it enjoyable to listen to and...

Reviewed by Claire Johnson, Editor     November 21, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
4.0
Learning Value 
 
5.0

Great for Math

I was so excited to receive this book and take it to my classroom. I used this book for several math mini-lessons this fall. I really liked how there were simple math concepts that flowed right along with pieces of our curriculum. Children were able to problem...

Reviewed by Claire Johnson, Editor     November 21, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Fun and Sweet

My students were huge fans of Camilla, the Cupcake Fairy, so when I saw this book at our recent book fair, I knew I had to pick it up. I'm so glad I did. The illustrations are bright, colorful, and fun which makes it easy to engage young...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Claire Johnson, Editor     September 29, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Refreshing and Fun!

When I started this book, I was a little worried because it didn't seem to move fast enough and I was afraid I would lose interest. I'm glad I was wrong because once the story got going, it was simply delightful. This is a contemporary fiction story that...

Reviewed by Claire Johnson, Editor     September 23, 2012
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Duck & Goose Are So Sweet

I am a huge fan of the Duck & Goose books. Duck & Goose Find a Pumpkin is so adorable. The two friends decide they need to find a pumpkin but they don't know from where. They search everywhere and finally, after some help from a friend,...

Kids Fiction
Reviewed by Claire Johnson, Editor     September 23, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Little Ones Will Love It

The words are simple, "mine" and "woof", and the illustrations of the children are sweet. Mine! is a simple board book that shows how difficult it can sometimes be to share. Young ones will giggle as they look at the pictures of these two young children and their dog....

Reviewed by Claire Johnson, Editor     September 23, 2012
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

I Love the Mouse!

If you are a fan of the little mouse from the "If you give..." series then you will want to add this book to your collection as well. The mouse has decided to paint faces on all of his pumpkins. Each pumpkin has a different emotion and...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Claire Johnson, Editor     September 16, 2012
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
2.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Not For Me

When I read a book that I didn't love but so many others have, I'm really torn. I always second guess myself and think about what I missed and what I didn't get. The Raven Boys is one of those books for me. I don't want to...

Kids Fiction
Reviewed by Claire Johnson, Editor     September 14, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Sweet for Sisters

A Song for My Sister captures many of the emotions a family and especially a sibling may feel when a new baby enters the family. I found it worthy of a chuckle when the baby kept crying no matter what the family did. If you are a parent,...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Claire Johnson, Editor     August 26, 2012
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Wonderful Debut!

C.J. Redwine's DEFIANCE is one of most amazing debuts I have read this year. Her writing and world building is phenomenal and pulls you right into the story. The timing is perfectly paced and there are no slow moments. Once you start reading, prepare yourself for a late...

221 results - showing 76 - 90
« 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8 ... 15 » 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)