Reviews written by Claire Johnson, Editor

218 results - showing 76 - 90
« 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8 ... 15 » 
 
Kids Fiction
Reviewed by Claire Johnson, Editor     November 26, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

In the Woods

In the Woods is a cute board book about a little boy who explores the woods with his father. Each page has just a couple of words on it and the illustrations are simple but beautifully done. If you have a young outdoor lover in your house, I...

Reviewed by Claire Johnson, Editor     November 25, 2012
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

A Must Read

The Warrior's Heart is one of those books I consider a must read. If you decide to do nothing else once you've finished reading, it will at least make you think. Greitens draws on personal experiences to make readers think about choices and paths to take. Do you...

Kids Fiction
Reviewed by Claire Johnson, Editor     November 21, 2012
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Fun For Train Lovers

Railroad Hank is full of fun for your young train lover! With the help of his friends, Hank comes up with some interesting ways to cheer up Granny Bett. The text has a fun, bouncy flow to it which I think makes it enjoyable to listen to and...

Reviewed by Claire Johnson, Editor     November 21, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
4.0
Learning Value 
 
5.0

Great for Math

I was so excited to receive this book and take it to my classroom. I used this book for several math mini-lessons this fall. I really liked how there were simple math concepts that flowed right along with pieces of our curriculum. Children were able to problem...

Reviewed by Claire Johnson, Editor     November 21, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Fun and Sweet

My students were huge fans of Camilla, the Cupcake Fairy, so when I saw this book at our recent book fair, I knew I had to pick it up. I'm so glad I did. The illustrations are bright, colorful, and fun which makes it easy to engage young...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Claire Johnson, Editor     September 29, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Refreshing and Fun!

When I started this book, I was a little worried because it didn't seem to move fast enough and I was afraid I would lose interest. I'm glad I was wrong because once the story got going, it was simply delightful. This is a contemporary fiction story that...

Reviewed by Claire Johnson, Editor     September 23, 2012
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Duck & Goose Are So Sweet

I am a huge fan of the Duck & Goose books. Duck & Goose Find a Pumpkin is so adorable. The two friends decide they need to find a pumpkin but they don't know from where. They search everywhere and finally, after some help from a friend,...

Kids Fiction
Reviewed by Claire Johnson, Editor     September 23, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Little Ones Will Love It

The words are simple, "mine" and "woof", and the illustrations of the children are sweet. Mine! is a simple board book that shows how difficult it can sometimes be to share. Young ones will giggle as they look at the pictures of these two young children and their dog....

Reviewed by Claire Johnson, Editor     September 23, 2012
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

I Love the Mouse!

If you are a fan of the little mouse from the "If you give..." series then you will want to add this book to your collection as well. The mouse has decided to paint faces on all of his pumpkins. Each pumpkin has a different emotion and...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Claire Johnson, Editor     September 16, 2012
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
2.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Not For Me

When I read a book that I didn't love but so many others have, I'm really torn. I always second guess myself and think about what I missed and what I didn't get. The Raven Boys is one of those books for me. I don't want to...

Kids Fiction
Reviewed by Claire Johnson, Editor     September 14, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Sweet for Sisters

A Song for My Sister captures many of the emotions a family and especially a sibling may feel when a new baby enters the family. I found it worthy of a chuckle when the baby kept crying no matter what the family did. If you are a parent,...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Claire Johnson, Editor     August 26, 2012
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Wonderful Debut!

C.J. Redwine's DEFIANCE is one of most amazing debuts I have read this year. Her writing and world building is phenomenal and pulls you right into the story. The timing is perfectly paced and there are no slow moments. Once you start reading, prepare yourself for a late...

Reviewed by Claire Johnson, Editor     August 23, 2012
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Too Much Technology?

If nothing else, Return of the Library Dragon reminds us how important holding an actual book is. Our world moves so fast and even our youngest citizens are immersed in technology almost non-stop. The kids at Sunrise Elementary remind the new "IT" person that they treasure real books...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Claire Johnson, Editor     August 21, 2012
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

All About The Hunger Games

If you love The Hunger Games then I think you will enjoy flipping through the pages of this book. There are numerous quotes and pictures from the movie. I love quotes, so that aspect was particularly enjoyable for me. This book goes along great with the movie...

Reviewed by Claire Johnson, Editor     August 20, 2012
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Beautiful Writing

From the first page of Palace of Stone I was hooked. The writing is beautiful and transports you right into Miri's world. The magic is not over done or thrown in as an after thought. It plays an important role that ties the story together. This book...

218 results - showing 76 - 90
« 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8 ... 15 » 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)