Reviews written by Maya McQueen, YABC Tween Reviewer

23 results - showing 1 - 15
1 2  
 
Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Maya McQueen, YABC Tween Reviewer     January 19, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

The Boy Project

Kara McAllister is in DESPERATE need of a boyfriend. Why? Well, who wants to live as a "lifelong boyfriendless social outcast, destined to die alone??" Kara is determined not to be that girl. So Kara begins a scientific experiment to answer the question... "How do I...

Reviewed by Maya McQueen, YABC Tween Reviewer     October 05, 2011
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

The Extraordinary Secrets of April, May & June

April, May and June are just normal sisters, that is until their parents get divorced and they are forced to move with their mom to a new city. Now the girls have to survive the wrath of high school in a new town, in a new home, with their...

Reviewed by Maya McQueen, YABC Tween Reviewer     August 29, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Lizzie Bright & the Buckminster Boy

All Turner Ernest Buckminster wants to do is light out for the territories. It’s his one hope for a new life, and a break from the expectations and pressures of being the town minister’s son. But then the Buckminster family moves to Phippsburg, Maine where Turner’s father has been...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Maya McQueen, YABC Tween Reviewer     August 09, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Beat the Band

Last summer, Coop, Matt, and Sean set out to see a real-live naked girl. This year, they’re setting their sights even higher. Tenth grade will be the year to “tag all the bases… and then… slide into home,” preferably with Prudence Nash, the hottest girl in school. The...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Maya McQueen, YABC Tween Reviewer     April 28, 2011
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Picture Perfect

What would you do if your whole life turned upside down from just one little blemish? Olivia Hughes has always been one of the most popular, fashionable and pretty girls at her school and she becomes even more so when she becomes the new Wacky Water Girl. You...

Kids Fiction
Reviewed by Maya McQueen, YABC Tween Reviewer     January 26, 2011
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Touch Blue and Your Wish Will Come True

Eleven-year-old Tess Brooks has lived on Bethsaida Island for as long as she can remember. She loves her cute little house looking out at the water, the neighborly feeling she has with everyone, going crabbing with her dad, and basically everything else about her small island off the coast of...

Kids Fiction
Reviewed by Maya McQueen, YABC Tween Reviewer     January 17, 2011
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Am I a Freak?

Emma Freke is looking for her joylah her "groove zone," the place where she fits in. The problem is, Emma just doesnt seem to fit in anywhere. At 12 years old, she is nearly six feet tall and her bright red hair seems to be getting redder. ...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Maya McQueen, YABC Tween Reviewer     November 22, 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Perfect Happiness = Good Enough?

Patti Yoon is the PKD (Perfect Korean Daughter). Shes on target to be the class valedictorian, she is a violin prodigy, and (most likely) will be headed to Harvard/Yale/Princeton in the fall. But is being perfect good enough? Pattis parents have very high expectations of her. ...

Kids Fiction
Reviewed by Maya McQueen, YABC Tween Reviewer     August 02, 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

B is Bogus

What would you do with a $1,000? Aldo would buy& 893 taquitos, 250 packs of Pokémon cards, 555 slushies, or maybe just a big flat screen TV for his bedroom. Too bad he lost the diamond ring, which would bring him a $1,000 reward! When Aldo...

Reviewed by Maya McQueen, YABC Tween Reviewer     July 30, 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

The School of Cool

Everyone says that the middle school years are the awkward years, where girls and boys start breaking up into groups of the cool kids and the not-so-cool kids. Lydia Goldblatt and Julie Graham-Chang decide to use their 5th grade year to find out the secret behind being popular ...

Kids Fiction
Reviewed by Maya McQueen, YABC Tween Reviewer     June 21, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Fun from A to Z!

Artsy Fartsy, by Karla Oceanak & Kendra Spanjer is a fun, creative, and funny comic novel. When Aldos artsy fartsy grandmother gives him a new journal to sketch all of his ideas over the summer, Aldo is not exactly sure whether being artsy fartsy is cool or not....

Reviewed by Maya McQueen, YABC Tween Reviewer     April 08, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Fuel Injected Fun!

Babymouse is a spirited, girly mouse who loves cupcakes. She is inspired when her best friend Wilson enters a car derby. Babymouse gets an idea; she will make her own car, The Cupcake Cannon. Since Wilson is a great mechanic, Babymouse is sure he will...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Maya McQueen, YABC Tween Reviewer     March 18, 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

It's What's on the Inside that Counts

The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton is a great book about friendship and not judging people before getting to know them. I really liked this book because it seemed so realistic. Even though the author wrote it more than forty years ago, the problems in the book are problems we still...

Reviewed by Maya McQueen, YABC Tween Reviewer     February 22, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

The Thing About Georgie

The thing about Georgie is that he is a 9-year-old midget, and his best friend is Andy Moretti. Together, they own a dog walking business. They pick up their dogs ever day, right after school. Andy walks the big dogs and Georgie walks the small ones. Every...

Kids Fiction
Reviewed by Maya McQueen, YABC Tween Reviewer     January 27, 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Julia's Kitchen

Julias Kitchen is a great book about a girl learning to live without her mother and little sister. While she is away at her best friend Marlees house, a horrible fire destroys Caras home. Her father survives, but her mother and sister do not. ...

23 results - showing 1 - 15
1 2  
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)