Reviews written by Kim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer

481 results - showing 211 - 225  
« 1 ... 13 14 15 16 17 ... » 
 
Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   January 09, 2013
(Updated: January 15, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Amazing Tale

I'm a huge fan of stories that paint a realistic story of an abusive relationship without going over the top. As a survivor of abuse, I feel it's important to get these stories out there. How I wished they'd been there when I was a teen. Maybe then...

Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   January 04, 2013
(Updated: January 04, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Romantic Time Travel

I love time travel novels if they work. If the whole premise behind the time traveling aspect of the story seems too far fetched or there are no consequences, then I put the book aside. TEMPEST though does work in many ways. First, the idea that there...

Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   January 02, 2013
(Updated: January 02, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Satisfying Conclusion

I'm a huge fan of THE DEMON TRAPPER'S DAUGHTER series. I was so excited to meet the author Jana Oliver at RWA Nationals back in July. When she promised the fate of Beck and Riley would be told in this book, I couldn't wait to get a copy! ...

Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   December 31, 2012
(Updated: January 02, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Winning Tale

Ooh, love futuristic stories that have a Romeo and Juliet feel to them! Aria Rose wakes up and finds she's engaged to marry Thomas, son of the rival Foster family. No matter how much she tries to believe she 'loves' him, everything feels wrong. Then she stumbles...

Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   December 30, 2012
(Updated: December 31, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Ghost Tale with a Modern Twist

I'm a huge fan of ghost tales and was excited to be able to read THE DEAD AND BURIED. This intriguing tale is so much more than the usual ghost story. It's also a mystery with a hint of romance. Jade's family ends up moving...

Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   December 26, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Magical New Series

Neryn has lost everyone she's loved and is on the run. A tyrannical king has a verdict out to kill anything that has to do with magic or the Good folk. Neryn is a Caller, one that can see and speak with the Good folk. Now there's...

Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   December 10, 2012
(Updated: December 10, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Great New Multi-cultural Fantasy

I admit I'm a huge fan of fantasies with multicultural backdrops. VODNIK takes place in Slovakia and introduces readers to new urban legends that include a Vodnik, which is a trickster who has a thing for capturing souls and putting them in teacups. Tomas is a...

Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   December 05, 2012
(Updated: December 06, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Unique Twist to Dystopian/Vampire Tale

I couldn't wait to read this book! For one thing I loved the premise of a Amish teen getting ready for her Rumspringa, coming of age experience, right when all things break loose. In this case, vampires. You'd think this mixture of things wouldn't work but it...

Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   November 24, 2012
(Updated: November 24, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

A Chilling Twist on The Little Mermaid Tale

Twists on classic fairy tales are very popular right now. Look at the success of the TV series ONCE UPON A TIME and GRIMM. One YA author who's been retelling some classic tales is Jackson Pearce. I loved her previous stories: SISTERS RED and SWEETLY. I...

Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   November 23, 2012
(Updated: November 23, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Beautifully written YA Historical

I love books set in Italy. The blurb to PASSION BLUE intrigued me and I was very excited to be able to read this book which was everything I'd hoped for and much more! Let's just say this book kept me up into the early morning. This...

Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   November 18, 2012
(Updated: November 18, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Another Amanda Hocking Winning Tale!

I admit it. I'm a huge Amanda Hocking's fan. She's able to take a story and weave her own magic to it. A sign of a true storyteller! This time she puts her own stamp on a mythological tale of sirens. In this sequel to...

Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   November 14, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Enchanting Tale

I love paranormals that are able to swept readers away with addictive storytelling. Add romance to the mix and I'm hooked. ECHO is the second book in The Soul Seekers series. I felt this book was Daire's heroine's journey as she learns more about her mystic abilities...

Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   November 07, 2012
(Updated: November 07, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Original Twist on the Grim Reaper

One great thing about being a Cybil's panelist has to be discovering some great books. CROAK is one such book. Right off the bat, I loved the voice of this wicked, funny paranormal. Lex is a teen Grim Reaper with mega 'tude. She's filled with anger...

Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   November 01, 2012
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Dear Teen Me

This anthology first started off as a blog where YA authors shared letters they wrote to their teen selves.I really loved the whole idea behind this premise. Some are hilarious, others poignant, and still others very touching. I was excited when I heard that an anthology would be...

Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   October 30, 2012
(Updated: October 30, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Great E-serial Continues

I'm a huge Heidi Kling fan. She's the master of showing readers characters in such a way you can't help but fall in love with them. And in THE GLEANING, trust me, you will! There's something magical between Lily and Logan. Something as simple as a...

481 results - showing 211 - 225  
« 1 ... 13 14 15 16 17 ... » 
 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

  

   

   

    

  

   

 

Latest Book Listings Added

The Sisters
One lied. One died. When one sister...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
61tbP2jpoXL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
When a glamorous family of teenage witches brings a mysterious...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
51W7EOxIV9L._SX332_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
It’s Boston, 1919, and the Cast Iron club is packed....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Exo
It’s been a century of peace since Earth became a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Lion Inside
From the creator of the known and loved Bright Side...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Scotland is in my blood... All sixteen-year-old...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Cabinet of Souls (R.L. Stine's Monsterville #1)
Dare to enter a mysterious realm where the cost of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Genie in a Bottle (Whatever After #9)
Abby and her little brother, Jonah, have a magic mirror...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hour of Magic (Geronimo Stilton and the Kingdom of Fantasy #8)
I, Geronimo Stilton, was amazed to find myself called back...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Enemy Above
In 1942 twelve-year-old Anton, his family, and their small community...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Skeleth
For the lords of the north, land is power. The...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mayhem (Lawless #3)
M Freeman has been a star pupil at the Lawless...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
cover60900-medium.png
Toby's sister and baby brother love their schools - they...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every Exquisite Thing
Nanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emma and Julia Love Ballet
Emma is little. Julia is big. They both love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blobfish Book
Perfect for fans of Battle Bunny and Z Is for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)