Reviews written by Kim Baccellia, Editor

393 results - showing 211 - 225
« 1 ... 13 14 15 16 17 ... 27 » 
 
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     January 10, 2012
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Amazing Tale

I’m a huge fan of YA sci-fi books. I loved Across the Universe and couldn’t wait for the follow-up book. Some sequels fall flat and fail to live up to the hype. Let me tell you though, A Million Suns lives up to its hype and more. Once again...

Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     December 29, 2011
Last updated: December 29, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Cross Over Paranormal for fans of Diana Gabaldon and Harry Potter

I love paranormals and A Discovery of Witches doesn't disappoint. This book has a Diana Gabaldon feel to it without all the graphic images. It has cross over appeal too. What I really loved about this story was how Matthew, the 1500 year old vampire, is a...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     December 27, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Captive Violet Eyes

Living Violet is not just another run of the mill paranormal. Reed gives us a smart and at times hilarious heroine who doesn't wait for others to help her out. Samara Marshall is independent and not one to fall in love with just anyone. When hot Caleb...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     December 23, 2011
Last updated: December 24, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Fun Romantic Tale

I really enjoyed this story! At first Sophie is excited when her father tells her he's tentatively a count. Her excitement quickly changes when she finds out her so-called newly found French title only goes to her brother Sam and not her. So she ends up making...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     December 17, 2011
Last updated: December 17, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Teen Pregnancy Tale

I have to admit, I'm somewhat picky on books that deal with teenage pregnancy. Our son's birthmother was fourteen when she had him. My own sister had her baby at age eighteen and decided to keep him. I've also been to numerous birthmother panels where teens have...

Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     December 13, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Great Collection of African-American Tales

I really loved this latest graphic novel that is filled with adaptions of stories and poems from African-American authors. The novel is colorful and there's something for everyone. One of my favorites has to be TWO AMERICANS by Florence Lewis Bentley which is about two soldiers during World...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     December 10, 2011
Last updated: December 10, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Satisfying Conclusion

I really love this series! Darina has to help some recent dead teens solve their murders before they can pass to the Other Side. Darina has been doing this and with this book she now has to do something she's been dreading more than anything. She has...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     December 08, 2011
Last updated: December 09, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

New Dystopia Tale

Legend's plot is similar to the other dystopias out there but it does have some qualities that I really enjoyed. First, I loved how Lu was able to show us a futuristic world that just happens to be in Los Angeles. I've lived in Southern California for over...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     December 03, 2011
Last updated: December 05, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Historical with a paranormal twist

I love YA historicals. I'm also a huge fan of anything Titanic related. I was excited to receive a copy of this book to review. Fateful is thrilling and each page captivates you into wanting to find out what happens to our heroine and the man she loves....

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     December 01, 2011
Last updated: December 01, 2011
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

One Fast Ride

From the very first page I was hooked. The writing is gripping and grabs you by the collar and won't let you go. This dystopia is a world where any kind of paranormal ability is outlawed. Killing Paranormals is like a holiday event. Caitlyn is fearful for not...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     November 23, 2011
Last updated: November 23, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Amazing Dystopia Tale

I admit it. Some of the recent dystopias have been blending into one similar tale. I'd heard some amazing things about THE PLEDGE so I went and signed up for the free sample for my Nook Color. Let's just say I was blown away with the voice and...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     November 17, 2011
Last updated: November 17, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Get Swept Away

This Gothic tale wraps around you and doesn't let go. The whole premise of a handsome Lord being trapped inside a painting is intriguing. I loved the style of writing which made me feel as if I was following Miss Natalie Stewart through the bustle of New York...

Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     November 06, 2011
Last updated: November 07, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Amazing New Paranormal Tale

Once again Nancy Holder delivers a winning tale. This well-written paranormal puts a twist on the usual werewolf tale. The characters are multi-layered and likeable. Some have called this a Twilight like book and I totally disagree. For one thing I loved knowing more about Katelyn...

Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     November 02, 2011
Last updated: November 06, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Great way to introduce history to kids

Graphic Universe has a winning idea here: create stories on major issues in American history using graphic novels. It's a great way to introduce history to reluctant readers. My fifth grader is learning about the the American Revolutionary War and he loved reading this book. This story is...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     October 30, 2011
Last updated: October 30, 2011
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Authetic tale

One thing I love about author Tara Kelly is her realistic portrayals of characters that holds nothing back. In Harmonic Feedback she shows us the world of Drea with it's coming of age tale of a teen that just happens to have sensory issues. Once again Kelly delivers with...

393 results - showing 211 - 225
« 1 ... 13 14 15 16 17 ... 27 » 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
New York Times Bestseller * Indie List Bestseller * Soon to be a Film from Universal Pictures * A Barnes...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dear Mr. S. Harris, Ignore the blob of red in the top left corner. It's jam, not blood, though I...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
At not quite fifteen, Stefan's father finally let him board the longship, Sja Vinna, to take part in his first...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Gayle Forman, Every Last Promise is a provocative and emotional novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
What if, after spending a lifetime deceiving everyone around you, you discovered the biggest lies were the ones you've told...
 
0.0
 
3.3 (1)
In the explosive conclusion to the thrilling Revolution 19 series, the time has come to win the cities back from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Darcy Covington never had to worry about money or where her next shopping spree was coming from. Even her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Reality is only an illusion. Except for those who can control it… Worst. Birthday. Ever. My first boyfriend dumped me—happy...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
5-to-1-cover-small.jpg
In the year 2054, after decades of gender selection, India now has a ratio of five boys for every girl,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wren Noble is dead—she was born that way. Vibrant, unlike other dead things, she craves those rare moments when her...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Macy Jones is a perfect student, popular teenager, and utterly miserable. This all changes once her father is arrested and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ned and his identical twin brother tumble from their raft into a raging, bewitched river, only Ned survives. Villagers...
 
5.0
 
4.0 (1)
In Marla Klein and Ivy Wilde’s world, teens are the gatekeepers of culture. A top fashion label employs sixteen-year-old...
 
0.0
 
3.3 (1)
the hidden princess.jpg
One destiny rules two worlds in this gripping fantasy thriller. For five years, the Gateway has been closed and Hidden...
 
0.0
 
3.7 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
When Aidan and Maggie find a fairy cross while rock-hunting with their grandfather, it's just an oddity. But when they...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this unforgettable teen romance that fans of Sarah Dessen and Susane Colasanti will devour, Quinn Sullivan falls for the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A powerful and gripping contemporary YA from the author of I'm Not Her that's "Just right for fans of Sarah...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins is sassier than ever in this page-turning follow up to Rebel Belle, perfect...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Order
Category: Young Adult Indie
Lana Crewe is a strong, fiercely driven seventeen year old living in a village ruled by fear. With their king...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)