Reviews written by Kim Baccellia, Editor

382 results - showing 211 - 225
« 1 ... 13 14 15 16 17 ... 26 » 
 
Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     November 16, 2011
Last updated: November 17, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Get Swept Away

This Gothic tale wraps around you and doesn't let go. The whole premise of a handsome Lord being trapped inside a painting is intriguing. I loved the style of writing which made me feel as if I was following Miss Natalie Stewart through the bustle of New York...

Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     November 06, 2011
Last updated: November 07, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Amazing New Paranormal Tale

Once again Nancy Holder delivers a winning tale. This well-written paranormal puts a twist on the usual werewolf tale. The characters are multi-layered and likeable. Some have called this a Twilight like book and I totally disagree. For one thing I loved knowing more about Katelyn...

Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     November 02, 2011
Last updated: November 05, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Great way to introduce history to kids

Graphic Universe has a winning idea here: create stories on major issues in American history using graphic novels. It's a great way to introduce history to reluctant readers. My fifth grader is learning about the the American Revolutionary War and he loved reading this book. This story is...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     October 30, 2011
Last updated: October 30, 2011
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Authetic tale

One thing I love about author Tara Kelly is her realistic portrayals of characters that holds nothing back. In Harmonic Feedback she shows us the world of Drea with it's coming of age tale of a teen that just happens to have sensory issues. Once again Kelly delivers with...

Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     October 26, 2011
Last updated: October 26, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Hilarious tale of Binky

First off, our household loves Binky. I was lucky enough to read the first Binky book back when it was nominated for the Cybil awards. I fell in love with this tale of a cat who tries to protect his humans from the aliens outside. Binky Under Pressure...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     October 15, 2011
Last updated: October 16, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Can You Change Your Destiny?

I was very intrigued with the premise of two teens in 1996 coming across their future via Facebook. I mean, who wouldn't be curious to know what happens to them in the future? A fun twist on the time travel idea similar to a reverse 13 going on 30....

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     October 08, 2011
Last updated: October 09, 2011
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Betrayal and Acceptance

I couldn't wait to get a copy of Janet Gurtler's latest book. Just like her first book I'M NOT HER, Gurtler tackles real issues with honestly without being bleak and hopeless. Her multi-layered characters show both weaknesses and strengths and you can't help but cheer them on. ...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     October 02, 2011
Last updated: October 02, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Love throughout time

I love a good paranormal tale and this one kept my interest. Emma seems to have everything stacked against her and finds herself at this posh NY Upper East Side prep school, hoping she can forget the past. Then she is drawn to the very cute Brendan, who's...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     September 10, 2011
Last updated: September 10, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Questioning Faith

Lacey has always been the good girl. Her father is the town's pastor. She doesn't question her faith and does what she's supposed to. She also wants to be a part of her town's Hell House production. This is a play that has in different rooms,...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     September 05, 2011
Last updated: September 05, 2011
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Scary good tale

If you're on Twitter, I'm sure you've read alot about the YA dystopia ASHES. I knew I had to grab a copy of this book especially when I heard how amazing it was. Add a frightening premise in a world that could very well be our own. Plus,...

Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     September 04, 2011
Last updated: September 04, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Riley's story continues

I really loved The Demon Trapper's Daughter and couldn't wait to read the next book in this series. I wasn't disappointed. Riley is back, only this time her father has been stolen and reanimated(he's been brought back from the dead), her boyfriend is royally upset at her, and...

Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     August 29, 2011
Last updated: August 29, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Unique tale

I'd heard tons of great things about this Apocalypse series so when I found the book Rage in the box of books MG sent me to review, I knew I had to read it. First though I downloaded book one in the series: Hunger. I was hooked. ...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     August 25, 2011
Last updated: August 27, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Intriguing Tale

I have to admit, I didn't expect this story to end up the way it does. Johnson builds up the tension and suspense of what's going on with the murders and how Rory is involved. She does a great job setting the scene with a totally suspenseful opening...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     August 19, 2011
Last updated: August 20, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Unique twist

I was really excited to be able to read the e-book galley of WOLF MARK that's available on Netgalley. I love the idea behind Tu Books which is having more multicultural fantasies. Let's just say WOLF MARK lives up to all I'd hoped for in this new imprint...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     August 10, 2011
Last updated: August 10, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Amazing Tale

I'm always looking for books that show characters who deal with sensory issues in a realistic way. Ultraviolet doesn't disappoint. Alison though deals with one sort of sensory issue called synesthesia. Sudden noises, bright lights, people touching her or even just talking, hurt. My own son...

382 results - showing 211 - 225
« 1 ... 13 14 15 16 17 ... 26 » 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)