Reviews written by Kim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer

519 results - showing 211 - 225  
« 1 ... 13 14 15 16 17 ... » 
 
Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   August 06, 2013
(Updated: August 06, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Engaging Tale

I'm a huge fan of Janet Gurtler's novels. Her writing wraps around you like a visit with a best friend. You laugh, cry, and feel the love. Her books are just like that. You don't want them to end. HOW I LOST YOU has two...

Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   July 27, 2013
(Updated: July 27, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Intriguing premise set in historical Paris

The whole premise of gargoyles being protectors intrigued me. Add to that the rich Parisian setting. I also love historical paranormals. When I read a blurb for THE BEAUTIFUL AND THE CURSED in the June/July issue of JUSTINE magazine, I knew I had to read it. ...

Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   July 25, 2013
(Updated: July 26, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Veronica Mars Meets Paranormal World

This is a fun new paranormal series that reminded me of what it would be like if Veronica Mars just happened to be investigating the paranormal world. In this case seventeen-year old Jessie helps her mom with their paranormal detective agency. Yes, she battles against demons, ghosts, and...

Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   July 20, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Hilarious

I was first introduced to Alvin Ho when it was a nominated Cybils book. I totally loved him! So much to love! Alvin's fears are something kids will be able to relate with. As a former first grade teacher, I would have loved to have shared Alvin's...

Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   July 20, 2013
(Updated: July 20, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Satisfying Follow Up

C.J. Omololu first introduced readers to her spin on reincarnation with Transcendence. I loved the unique twist and how the author shows us Cole struggling to come to terms with the fact that she's lived other lives in the past. In Intuition, Cole is coming to terms with...

Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   July 15, 2013
(Updated: July 15, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Victorian Age and Zombies

I was a huge fan of SOMETHING STRANGE AND DEADLY and couldn't wait to review the sequel! This novel has tons to love: steampunk(check out those zombie zappers!), romance, lush Parisian setting, and one amazing voice! If the voice sucks me in? I'm hooked. Eleanor Fitt...

Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   June 27, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Seize the Moment

I was lucky enough to meet author Jessi Kirby at a YA panel held at my local library. I was really excited to read her latest novel GOLDEN after reading the blurb in the June/July issue of JUSTINE. This story engaged me right from the start. The...

Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   June 25, 2013
(Updated: June 26, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Quirky voice adds to charm

As a mom of a son who has ADHD and anxiety issues, I’m always searching for books that have protagonists that deal with similar issues. Not only that but the portrayal has to be realistic or else I put the book aside. I was really excited...

Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   June 15, 2013
(Updated: June 16, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Amazing Read

I was so excited when I received the galley of TARNISH. I'd heard rumors that there was a YA historical based on Anne Boleyn's life and to actually get a copy of this book made me jump for joy! I'm a huge fan of the Tudors and anything...

Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   June 11, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Veronica Mars Look Out!

I'm a huge fan of the TV series Veronica Mars and was really excited to be able to read a galley of SPIES AND PREJUDICE. This book lives up to it's hype! Think Veronica Mars meets Pride and Prejudice with yes, teen spies. It would have been...

Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   June 06, 2013
(Updated: June 07, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Creepy trip into dreams

Ooh, INSOMNIA was one of those books that pulled me right in. I love the premise of a teen who 'watches' others dreams. High school junior Parker Chipp hasn't slept in four years. After he makes eye contact with someone, he ends up being transported into their...

Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   May 24, 2013
(Updated: May 24, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Another Winning Tale!

Sirens Penn and Lexie for now are leaving Gemma alone while they search for another girl to take her place. Meaning Gemma doesn’t have much time to find out how to break the curse before she’s killed. Things back home aren’t going that great either. Alex hates...

Young Adult Indie
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   May 22, 2013
(Updated: May 22, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
3.0

Is it Real or Not?

Seventeen-year-old Grace Ann Miller turns up after being missing. Authorities think she’s delusional as she tells them stories filled with Fallen, Archangels(oh, yeah, she’s one), prophecies, and even Lucifer. Yeah, they think she’s lost it and Grace finds herself institutionalized. She’s not sure what’s real...

Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Sci-Fi Meets Lord of the Flies

Just when I thought I was over dystopian novels, along comes one that knocks me off my feet. When I read the blurb for GLOW at first I thought it would be too similar to ACROSS THE UNIVERSE. Boy was I wrong! The sequel SPARK is no...

Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   May 03, 2013
(Updated: May 03, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Beautifully written

There once was a girl. Her name was Angie. She was fat. I totally fell in love with this story! The voice is unique and pulls the reader right into Fat Angie's life. Beautifully written contemporary tale with a heart. We meet Angie who is navigating through...

519 results - showing 211 - 225  
« 1 ... 13 14 15 16 17 ... » 
 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

 

   

   

  

Latest Book Listings Added

Bob and Joss Get Lost
Perfect for fans of I’m Bored, Bob and Joss Get...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tugboat Bill and the River Rescue
Fans of Little Tug and Chugga-Chugga Choo-Choo will love this...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Charlie Piechart and the Case of the Missing Hat
Charlie Piechart’s second math mystery takes place at school—when a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fly Guy's Ninja Chistmas (Fly Guy #16)
In the new book in Tedd Arnold's New York Times...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
How to Keep a Boy from Kissing You
Executor of the Find a Prince Program™ and future...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Allegedly
Mary B. Addison killed a baby. Allegedly. She didn’t...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Avenged (Vanished #2)
Avenged is the conclusion to the Vanished duology, an...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Hard Count
Nico Medina’s world is eleven miles away from mine....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
City of Saints & Thieves
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo meets Gone Girl...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
RoseBlood
In this modern day spin on Leroux’s gothic tale...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fish Girl
The triple Caldecott winner David Wiesner brings his rich visual...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Macarons at Midnight
When Lise Santos stumbles into a bakery's midnight taste test,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
One Silver Summer
After losing her mom in an accident, Sass is sent...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Villain's Assistan
Secret designs and dark ambition have split the kingdom of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
NanoBots
A boy inventor creates the ultimate in high-tech superheroes that...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Hannah Hoffman - Pathway to Dragons - Book Cover - 100616 - Crop.jpg
Nine-year-old Billy Jones dreams of having a pet dragon! After...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)