Reviews written by Kim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer

452 results - showing 211 - 225  
« 1 ... 13 14 15 16 17 ... » 
 
Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   September 11, 2012
(Updated: September 11, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

A Powerful, Emotional Ride

I'm a huge Ellen Hopkins's fan. Her writing gives sensitive topics such as abuse, drug use, a powerful, emotional punch. TILT is the companion novel to TRICKS where the teens were first introduced. In this novel we see third different teens stories. There's Mikayla...

Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   September 08, 2012
(Updated: September 09, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Engrossing Series

I have to admit, I’m not really a fan of angel YA novels. When I received a galley of EMBRACE to read, the packaging intrigued me enough for me to start reading. Let’s just say I was hooked! I loved Violet, who finds out she’s a Grigori,...

Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   September 04, 2012
(Updated: September 05, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Demon catchers of Italy

Italy has a big place in my heart. Both sides of my family came from Italy. I grew up with the warm smells of Italian cooking from my Grandpa Consoli. His secret was adding wine to everything. THE DEMON CATCHERS OF MILAN reminds me of my...

Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   September 03, 2012
(Updated: September 03, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Amazing Body Jumping Tale

I read a teaser of EVERY DAY from the BUZZ BEA ebook from Netgalley and knew I had to read this novel! I was bummed I wasn't able to snatch a galley at ALA this last June but I ended up preordering a copy from my local Barnes and...

Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   September 01, 2012
(Updated: September 01, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Resistance is Futile!

Our household LOVES Vordak! I was able to grab a galley at ALA this summer. When son found out a rep from Egmont gave me a copy? Well, he snatched the book out of my bag and rushed upstairs. Later, I heard giggles from his bedroom! ...

Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   August 30, 2012
(Updated: August 30, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Unique Steampunk Tale

I'm a huge Tiffany Trent fan. When I was a Cybils panelist for the Sci-Fi/fantasy category I was able to read one of her nominated HALLOWMERE books. I was hooked. I was bummed when the last book in that series wasn't published after her then publisher folded....

Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   August 22, 2012
(Updated: August 22, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

How Far Would You Go for Immortality?

I was really excited to be able to grab a galley of ORIGIN at ALA. I read the teaser in the BEA BUZZ that was available on Netgalley. That teaser alone made me want to read this story! This is a beautifully written futuristic YA that brings...

Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   August 17, 2012
(Updated: August 17, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Dark secrets

I'm a huge fan of James Patterson's one successful YA fantasy MAXIMUM RIDE. His writing is potato chip fiction at it's best. Short action packed chapters keep the reader turning the pages. CONFESSIONS is his first YA mystery series. Once again Patterson's pacing and...

Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   August 14, 2012
(Updated: August 15, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

A Delicious Magical Brew of Short Tales

I'm a huge fan of the Merry Sisters of Fate: Maggie Stiefvater, Tessa Gratton, and Brenna Yovanoff. I purchased their first collection of short stories back in 2008 and was hooked. So when I heard another collection of their stories was coming out, I had to have it....

Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   August 11, 2012
(Updated: August 11, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Paranormal Investigator

I was intrigued with the premise of a teen that not only sees the dead but decides to follow in her dead mother's footsteps and become a paranormal investigator. Think Veronica Mars meets the paranormal world. First off I have to admit I do like Violet's spunk and...

Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   August 11, 2012
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Love Daemon!

This is one sequel I knew I had to read! I loved the first book in the Lux series, OBSIDIAN. I wasn't able to grab a galley(yes, even some of us don't get every upcoming book we want) but that didn't stop me from preordering ONYX. ...

Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   August 05, 2012
(Updated: August 05, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Another Winning Tale from Hocking

Okay, I admit it. I'm totally a Hocking fan. I loved her Trylee series and couldn't wait to read more of her work. I'm also not much of a fan of mermaid stories but her new series doesn't follow the others out there. This is not...

Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   July 31, 2012
(Updated: July 31, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Fun Spin-off Series

I'm a huge fan of Marlene Perez's DEAD IS THE NEW BLACK series. I love paranormals that aren't as dark as some others out there. Plus, I love characters that feel real without going way over the top. I was excited to hear that there is now a...

Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   July 22, 2012
(Updated: July 23, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Futuristic Romeo and Juliet

I love a good forbidden love tale. In CHOSEN ONES, we meet sixteen-year-old Tess who lives in a future without hope. She's just buried her older sister and now serves 'the Chosen Ones' elite beings that are genetically engineered to help save their future but at a terrible...

Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   July 21, 2012
(Updated: July 22, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

A Great Spooky Tale

I was intrigued when I found out THE UNQUIET had a protagonist that deals with not only an urban legend's ghost but struggles with bipolar disorder. Garsee works in a psych ward, so she deals with patients with mental illness. My own father, half-brother, and uncle are bipolar....

452 results - showing 211 - 225  
« 1 ... 13 14 15 16 17 ... » 
 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Nothando's Journey
Nothando’s Journey is a journey in self-discovery told through the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
sam miracle.png
This new fantasy-adventure series from N. D. Wilson, bestselling author...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)