Reviews written by Kim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer

412 results - showing 1 - 15
« 1 2 3 4 5 ... 28 » 
 
Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer     June 30, 2015
Last updated: June 30, 2015
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

The Rules

For a small town, Callabrese High has a lot of secrets. When Junior Robin Brisset accepts an invitation to go to an exclusive party, she doesn't know how far someone would go to exact revenge. This is a case of bullying to the extreme that has deadly consequences....

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer     June 28, 2015
Last updated: June 28, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Falling For Alice

I'm a huge fan of analogies. Why? They are perfect for those who feel that they're too busy or have the time to read a novel. What worked: This is a fun collection of shorts based on an Alice in Wonderland theme. ...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer     June 18, 2015
Last updated: June 19, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Sweet Madness

It's been over 120 years, but the horrific murders of Mr. Borden and his wife still are unanswered. The media throughout time has painted Lizzie Borden as a crazed person who got away with the murder. And everything does point out that she did do it. ...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer     June 14, 2015
Last updated: June 14, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Mirrored

Alex Flinn has a gift of breathing into classic fairy tales. She does the same in her latest MIRRORED. Violet knows she's different and not very pretty. After a playground incident, in which she brings back to life a dead crow, she becomes friends with fellow loner...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer     June 11, 2015
Last updated: June 12, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

The Edge Of Forever

I'm a fan of time travel novels especially ones that bring an intriguing twist. The Edge of Forever is set in two different times with two different characters who end up meeting in 2013 with surprising results. It's 2146 and seventeen-year-old Bridger is able to travel...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer     June 05, 2015
Last updated: June 05, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Daughter of Deep Silence

Think REVENGE meets YA. I was a huge fan of the first season of the TV series REVENGE. The Count of Monte Cristo influence of where a wronged person later comes back to seek revenge against those who wronged him has always intrigued me. In Carrie Ryan's...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer     May 30, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Pandemic

PANDEMIC had my full attention right at the beginning. I love how the author spins her own unique twist into what might have been yet another deadly-disease-plague-that-kills-everyone story. No, the voice is very engaging with a character that deals not only with a deadly flu that kills most...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer     May 24, 2015
Last updated: May 24, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

The Hunted

As a Cybils 2014 Speculative Fiction panelist, I was lucky to read the apocalyptic novel THE LIVING. The edge of the seat action set on a luxury cruise ship was gripping with the vivid images of a deadly tsunami and earthquakes that hit the Western coast. So...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer     May 12, 2015
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Finding Audrey

Fourteen-year-old Audrey is battling anxiety and after an unpleasant incident at her school, stays home with her colorful family. She loves them and knows they're only looking out for her but that doesn't make her plight any easier. Her way of coping is wearing dark glasses and of...

Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer     May 07, 2015
Last updated: May 07, 2015
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Popular: How A Geek in Pearls Discovered the Secret to Confidence

Most so-called memoirs can come off dry or not too interesting. POPULAR isn't that book. Rather it's an enchanting journey of a fifteen-year-old as she uses a copy of a 1950s Popularity Guide for her eighth grade school year. What worked: I totally loved the voice of...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer     May 06, 2015
Last updated: May 06, 2015
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Modern Monsters

Vic Howard is invisible at his high school and tries not to be noticed. When his best friend Brett asks him to come to a party, he decides to go. Once there, he runs into Callie, a girl from high school, who is very drunk. Feeling bad,...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer     May 03, 2015
Last updated: May 05, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

5 To 1

In the year 2052, India now has a ratio of 5 boys to 1 girl. Girls are now a valuable commodity. There are a series of tests that every boy goes through in order to be 'chosen' by a girl to be her husband. One such girl, Sudasa,...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer     May 02, 2015
Last updated: May 02, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

The Kidney Hypothetical Or How To Ruin Your Life In Seven Days

Higgs Boson Bing has it made. It's the last week of his senior year in high school, he's going to Harvard, and is dating Roo the prettiest girl at Sally Ride High School. That all changes when his best friend's girlfriend poses a hypothetical question--would he give a...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer     April 26, 2015
Last updated: April 27, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Children Of The Earth

Some sequels have a hard time living up to the first book in the series. I hate if after a year or so of reading the first book in the series, 'I forget' what happened. This doesn't happen in CHILDREN OF THE EARTH. The author does a...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer     April 18, 2015
Last updated: April 19, 2015
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

The Ark

Only a few are able to escape an upcoming meteor attack on Earth by winning a place on one of five Arks, massive bioships designed to protect them on their way to a new home. Sixteen-year-old Char, isn't one of the lucky ones. She's in prison and her...

412 results - showing 1 - 15
« 1 2 3 4 5 ... 28 » 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
This charming story about the summer three California sisters spend on Cape Cod is perfect for fans of The Penderwicks...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
One
Tippi and Grace. Grace and Tippi. For them, it's normal to step into the same skirt. To hook their arms...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Josh Chester loves being a Hollywood bad boy, coasting on his good looks, his parties, his parents' wealth, and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After almost a year in Japan, Katie Greene has finally unearthed the terrible secret behind her boyfriend Tomohiro's deadly ability...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Paint a mural. Start a battle. Change the world. Sierra Santiago planned an easy summer of making art and hanging...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Lexi Shaw seduced Oakfield High's resident bad boy Tyler Flynn at the beginning of senior year, he seemed perfectly...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“Do not ignore a call from me when you know I am feeling neurotic about a boy. That is Best...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Summer has finally arrived and fifteen-year-old Harper McCallister intends to spend her days at the mall shopping or by the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
chain reactions.jpg
Category: Kids Nonfiction
LEGO Chain Reactions is packed full of ideas, instructions, and inspiration for 10 LEGO machines that spin, swing, pivot, roll,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Nonfiction
They've toured with One Direction and scored international super-hits in more than 50 countries across the globe but 5 Seconds...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Princess Pinecone knows exactly what she wants for her birthday this year. A BIG horse. A STRONG horse. A horse...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Summer, 1989: Sixteen-year-old Dionne Braithwaite and her younger sister Phaedra have just arrived in Bird Hill in Barbados. Sent from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“I thrust my hand toward the sky as my voice begs the Elemental inside me to waken and rise. But...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the vein of Laurie Halse Anderson's Wintergirls, this emotionally haunting and beautifully written young adult debut delves into the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The second book in the gripping Wanted series, this Western revenge epic is a must-read for teen readers who are...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
As the first book in the new young-adult series Wanted, Grace and the Guiltless is an edge-of-your-seat, gripping thrill ride....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Becoming Darkness is a dark, action-filled tale set in an alternate twenty-first century in which Hitler won World War II,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
For decades, Sami has kept the key to the geniean and human races hidden. She is used to a life...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
From New York Times bestselling author and former NFL player Tim Green comes a riveting new stand-alone football novel. When...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Joel Ross debuts a thrilling adventure series in which living in the sky is the new reality and a few...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)