Reviews written by Kim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer

546 results - showing 1 - 15  
« 1 2 3 4 5 ... »  
Ordering 
 
Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   July 31, 2017
(Updated: July 31, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Wild Bird

What worked: Insightful tale of a rebellious teen who is sent to a wilderness survival camp in the middle of the Utah desert. Wren's tale is one that teens can relate to. Her struggles to 'fit' in when she moves to a new home leads her to make some bad...

Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   July 16, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Maybe In Paris

Keira Braidwood's whole dream is to go to Paris. She's saved for this event and has images of the French exchange student Jacques inviting her to go. The dream is shattered on Prom when Levi, her autistic brother, has a meltdown and the so-called 'cute' French guy shows his true...

Young Adult Nonfiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   July 09, 2017
(Updated: July 09, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Girling Up

What worked: Encouraging info for girls on growing up. Mayim is like that cool older sis that tells you what to expect with your changing body without being preachy. This book's contents are broken down by such topics as how our bodies work; how we grow; how we learn; how...

Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   June 25, 2017
(Updated: July 02, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
2.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

On The Spectrum

What worked: I really loved the Parisian setting and the lush descriptions of food. The scenes where Clara is helping in a Parisian bakery use most of the senses so readers actually feel they're right there. And omg, I so want some un chocolat chaud! There's so...

Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   June 23, 2017
(Updated: June 24, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

US In Progress: Short Stories About Young Latinos

What worked: I loved this mix of short stories that reflect the diversity of the Latino culture. The stories deal with contemporary issues like deportation, health issues, gentrification, young undocumented students, and the misconception that all Latinos are brown and poor. I really liked this as I hate when some...

Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   June 22, 2017
(Updated: June 22, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

The Fashion Committee

Charlie Dean is obsessed with fashion. When an opportunity to win a an art scholarship to a prestigious school comes up, she's in. Not even her less than stellar home life will stand in her way. John-Thomas Smith could care less about fashion but wants to go...

Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   June 17, 2017
(Updated: June 19, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

The Hearts We Sold

Dee Moreno makes a deal with a demon only to 'lose' her heart. That's part of the demon's deal. He grants her the wish she wants and she hands over her heart. In exchange she has to help him stop creatures from escaping from voids that pop up in Seattle....

Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   June 09, 2017
(Updated: June 13, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Liberty: The Spy Who (Kind of) Liked Me

Paige Nolan's parents, world-renowned journalists, are captured by terrorists. She assumes they are dead. Then out of the blue she encounters Madden Carter, an undercover operative, who hints that her parents might still be alive! In exchange to reopen her parents case, Madden gives Paige a mission to go to...

Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   June 04, 2017
(Updated: June 08, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Rebels Like Us

What worked: This story is inspired by true events that happened in the South where a school's Prom was segregated. I liked that we're introduced to a diverse character who encounters racism and prejudice in her new school in a small Georgia town. Anges "Nes" Murphy-Pujols is...

Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   May 25, 2017
(Updated: May 27, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
2.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

16 Ways to Break A Heart

At the beginning of their relationship, Natalie and Dan had a great connection but later this dissolves into fights and accusations. Natalie comes up with a way to show Dan how much she destroyed her after they finally do break up. What worked: I really love...

Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   May 22, 2017
(Updated: May 22, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

The Takedown

Kyla Cheng comes right out and says she doesn't expect readers to like her. All that matters to her is being on top of the game. She's tops in her exclusive Park Slope, Brooklyn high school. She's pretty, has a great group of friends, and a very cute 'guy' friend....

Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   May 15, 2017
(Updated: May 18, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Spellbook of the Lost and Found

One stormy night, things in an Irish town go missing. Some are material, while others are much more personal. Later, some teens find a spellbook that promises if they conjure a spell that it will return what they lost but at a cost. What worked:...

Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   May 13, 2017
(Updated: May 13, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

The Go-Between

Camilla’s mother is a famous Mexican telenovela actress. After her secret of taking anti-depressives is leaked to the media, her mother decides to take a sabbatical. Then her agent tells her of an opportunity to star in an US TV series. The catch though is she’s supposed to play a...

Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   April 18, 2017
(Updated: April 20, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Forward Into Darkness

Valencia Paine is confined to her house, away from the growing unrest outside. Her father is a scientist who plays a huge part in the creation of hybrids. Valencia refuses to stay hidden and sneaks out where she runs into Mateo, someone who has personal ties to the hybirds and...

Young Adult Fiction
Kim Baccellia, Staff ReviewerKim Baccellia, Staff Reviewer   April 08, 2017
(Updated: April 10, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Romancing the Throne

Charlotte is beyond excited when her older sis Libby ends up enrolling at her Sussex Park boarding school. Charlotte hangs with Britain's young elites, teens who jet around the world on vacation and have endless money on hand. But more importantly Prince Edward, heir to the British throne, is in...

546 results - showing 1 - 15  
« 1 2 3 4 5 ... »  
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Let's Investigate with Nate #1: The Water Cycle
Bill Nye the Science Guy meets The Magic School Bus!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The 12 Dares of Christa
Christa is a holiday junkie. What’s not to love? There’s...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes
Things are looking up for Abbie Wu: this year she’ll...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
See Fred Run
Learning to read has never been more fun than it...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Monster of Selkirk Book I: The Duality of Nature
Monsters come in many forms, and not everyone knows a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where's Waldo? 30th Anniversary Edition
The amazing original that set off the worldwide search for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Little Girl Who Didn't Want to Go to Bed
The internet’s “World’s Best Father," award-winning photographer Dave Engledow, makes...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Being Fishkill
Fishkill Carmel fends for herself, with her fists if need...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Goldeline
Perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Namsara
Kristen Ciccarelli’s debut fantasy explores an intricately woven world of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Speak Easy, Speak Love
Six teenagers’ lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mr. Biddles
A funny picture book about friendship, in the tradition of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Uni the Unicorn and the Dream Come True
Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Brigette Barrager reunite to bring us...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Black Bird of the Gallows
simple but forgotten truth: Where harbingers of death appear,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Now, Not Ever
The sequel to The Only Thing Worse than Me Is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Prince and the Dressmaker
Paris, at the dawn of the modern age: ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Windchaser (Phantom Island #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Sonia Pennington  Mrs. Dallas's book is probably the best thing I've read in a long while. This..."
Windchaser (Phantom Island #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Ryan Gibbs Phantom Island: Wind is probably one of the best books I've read, in a long..."
Windchaser (Phantom Island #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Sara Lightfoot From the beginning Phantom Island indulges its reader with the drama of a teenage girl,..."
Windchaser (Phantom Island #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Lindsey Johnson Phantom Island, I've never felt more involved in a book ever in my life...."
Windchaser (Phantom Island #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Angie Brown Phantom Island : Wind is very possibly the best book I have ever read. It's..."
Windchaser (Phantom Island #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Amelia Phantom Island is a perfect book whether you're 40 or 10 or a girl or a..."