Reviews written by Kim Baccellia, Editor

389 results - showing 1 - 15
« 1 2 3 4 5 ... 26 » 
 
Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     February 25, 2015
Last updated: February 26, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Death Marked

One of the best parts of being a Cybils judge has to be having the opportunity to read amazing YAs. One such book DEATH SWORN caught my attention with it's story of a girl raised to topple an Empire and then being forced to live among assassins. When I...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     February 09, 2015
Last updated: February 10, 2015
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Frostfire

What worked: I loved Hocking's Trylle series and was really excited to revisit this world. We're introduced to Bryn Aven, a protector of the kingdom of Kanin. Problem is she's never felt like she has fit in as she's half Kanin. This makes her more...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     February 02, 2015
Last updated: February 02, 2015
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

The Cemetery Boys

Brewer brings us a new tale that is psychological horror with a dash of STAND BY ME. This time readers are introduced to Stephen who ends up Spencer, a small town with a horrific urban legend that the whole town seems to believe. What worked: This latest...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     January 30, 2015
Last updated: January 30, 2015
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Utopia, Iowa

What worked: This is a quirky tale set in an equally quirky town where most of the residents have some kind of paranormal ability. Reminded me of a TV series I really loved back in the 90s--Eerie, Indiana. Only in Utopia, Iowa the protagonist is a teen boy...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     January 15, 2015
Last updated: January 19, 2015
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Gabi A Girl in Pieces

It's so refreshing to read a novel that gets the whole Latina experience. Quintero shows us sixteen-year-old Gabi, who's sassy, smart, hilarious, loyal, and struggles with her love of nom-worthy Mexican food. A chica after my own heart. What worked: Just about everything! Told in...

Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     January 01, 2015
Last updated: January 01, 2015
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

The Kiss of Deception

What worked for me had to be the rich language and world building that starts right on the very first page when readers get a glimpse of one elaborate design created on Princess Lia's back. Readers see how tightly controlling Lia's world is and how she wants nothing more...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     December 29, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Read Between the Lines

I'm a huge fan of Knowles's YA novels. She nails the voice of teens without being preachy or patronizing. Her latest READ BETWEEN THE LINES takes a common rude gesture and shows how it affects some in this one small town. This novel is more a...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     December 14, 2014
Last updated: December 14, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

The Bodies We Wear

It's always fun to find a book that gives an unique twist to a dystopian novel. There's so many out there right now it's hard to find one that stands out among all the others. THE BODIES WE WEAR got my attention with the premise of a futuristic...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     November 16, 2014
Last updated: November 19, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Gilded

I'm a huge fan of diversity in YA novels. For this reason I'm always on the look out for fantasy worlds that are based on other cultures besides the usual Anglo ones. Seriously, there are other cultures out there! We need to see them! GILDED has...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     October 06, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Atlantia

A great tale of the love of sisters set in a futuristic world under the sea. I loved Condie’s dystopian series MATCHED and once again she delivers an amazing new tale! What worked: I loved the twist on ‘The Little Mermaid’ set in a future world with Sirens....

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     September 25, 2014
Last updated: September 25, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Fire in the Woods

Cute alien. Action. Suspense. Romance. Sign me up! What worked: I really enjoyed the alien backdrop with hints of Roswell the TV series meets ET. Only in this case the alien just happens to be sizzling hot. Not only model hot...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     August 29, 2014
Last updated: August 29, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Ghost House

A girl with an ability to see the dead. An English house with one very hot guy who just happens to be dead. A beautiful ghost that is able to cause havoc. All these are included in GHOST HOUSE. What worked: I'm a huge fan of...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     August 22, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

The Fall

Creepy, haunting retelling of Edgar Allan Poe's THE FALL OF THE HOUSE OF USHER told through the eyes of Madeline Usher. What worked: Griffin once again weaves magic in her retelling of a Poe novel. This novel starts off with a horrific scene and then goes back and...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     August 18, 2014
Last updated: August 19, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Hexed

I'm always a sucker for a good witchy tale. So I was really excited to get a copy of HEXED to read. What worked: The writing is fun, catchy, that reminded me of CHARMED meets SECRET CIRCLE only with witty dialogue and a reluctant heroine. ...

Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     August 10, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Model Undercover: Paris

The premise of this novel sounded intriguing--young girl goes to Paris, goes undercover as a model as she searches the mystery behind a top designer's disappearance. Oh, did I mention the backdrop is Paris? What worked: There's lots of insight into what goes on behind the cameras...

389 results - showing 1 - 15
« 1 2 3 4 5 ... 26 » 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)