Reviews written by Kim Baccellia, Editor

382 results - showing 1 - 15
« 1 2 3 4 5 ... 26 » 
 
Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     December 14, 2014
Last updated: December 14, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

The Bodies We Wear

It's always fun to find a book that gives an unique twist to a dystopian novel. There's so many out there right now it's hard to find one that stands out among all the others. THE BODIES WE WEAR got my attention with the premise of a futuristic...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     November 16, 2014
Last updated: November 19, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Gilded

I'm a huge fan of diversity in YA novels. For this reason I'm always on the look out for fantasy worlds that are based on other cultures besides the usual Anglo ones. Seriously, there are other cultures out there! We need to see them! GILDED has...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     October 06, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Atlantia

A great tale of the love of sisters set in a futuristic world under the sea. I loved Condie’s dystopian series MATCHED and once again she delivers an amazing new tale! What worked: I loved the twist on ‘The Little Mermaid’ set in a future world with Sirens....

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     September 25, 2014
Last updated: September 25, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Fire in the Woods

Cute alien. Action. Suspense. Romance. Sign me up! What worked: I really enjoyed the alien backdrop with hints of Roswell the TV series meets ET. Only in this case the alien just happens to be sizzling hot. Not only model hot...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     August 29, 2014
Last updated: August 29, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Ghost House

A girl with an ability to see the dead. An English house with one very hot guy who just happens to be dead. A beautiful ghost that is able to cause havoc. All these are included in GHOST HOUSE. What worked: I'm a huge fan of...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     August 22, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

The Fall

Creepy, haunting retelling of Edgar Allan Poe's THE FALL OF THE HOUSE OF USHER told through the eyes of Madeline Usher. What worked: Griffin once again weaves magic in her retelling of a Poe novel. This novel starts off with a horrific scene and then goes back and...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     August 18, 2014
Last updated: August 19, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Hexed

I'm always a sucker for a good witchy tale. So I was really excited to get a copy of HEXED to read. What worked: The writing is fun, catchy, that reminded me of CHARMED meets SECRET CIRCLE only with witty dialogue and a reluctant heroine. ...

Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     August 10, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Model Undercover: Paris

The premise of this novel sounded intriguing--young girl goes to Paris, goes undercover as a model as she searches the mystery behind a top designer's disappearance. Oh, did I mention the backdrop is Paris? What worked: There's lots of insight into what goes on behind the cameras...

Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     August 05, 2014
Last updated: August 06, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Deep Blue

What worked: Donnelly shows readers Miromara, a rich ocean world filled with mermaids, subjects, and sea animals. The creatures and language in this world are imaginative and give Ariel of Disney's Little Mermaid a run for it's money. There's some humor and light moments throughout which will bring...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     July 22, 2014
Last updated: July 29, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

The Bridge From Me to You

Contemporary YA romances are hot right now. The Bridge From Me to You uses an unique approach by alternating between prose and poetry to deliver a heart felt story of two lost teens and the magic of believing in not only yourself but others. What worked: I have...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     July 13, 2014
Last updated: July 13, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Get Even

Four girls get together and form a secretive group to combat bullying on their campus only they didn't realize that in the process they'd made some deadly enemies. What worked: I loved the whole premise of four classmates with nothing in common who get together to fight against bullying...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     July 02, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

The Taking

I'm a huge fan of Kimberly Derting's THE PLEDGE series and was really excited to be able to read her latest novel. Mysterious and suspenseful, this novel shows us sixteen-year-old Kyra waking up and finding out she's lost five years. This is more than a Sleepy Hollow type...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     June 30, 2014
Last updated: June 30, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Latitude Zero

Talk about whirlwind suspense, tension, and adventure that doesn't stop! I was hooked on the very first page of the latest Diana Renn novel. With all the talk lately on a lack of diversity in YA, this one is a perfect addition to that collection. What worked:...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     June 30, 2014
Last updated: June 30, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Wanted-Dead or In Love

I'm huge on historicals with a paranormal element. Add a hint of romance and suspense and I'm hooked. WANTED-DEAD or IN LOVE takes a historical couple, Bonnie & Clyde and weaves an unique twist that is equal parts engaging and intriguing. What worked: I totally loved how...

Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor     June 27, 2014
Last updated: June 27, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Aphrodite: Goddess of Love

Love graphic novels! This latest from First:Second continues the Olympians series with Aphrodite. It starts with her 'birth' and then forced marriage to Hephaistos and a contest that ends up starting an infamous war. So much to love about this graphic novel! Aphrodite is not so...

382 results - showing 1 - 15
« 1 2 3 4 5 ... 26 » 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)