Reviews written by Rita Hubbard

6 results - showing 1 - 6  
 
 
Young Adult Fiction
Rita HubbardRita Hubbard   September 07, 2011
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Exposed

There are a lot of great YA's out there, but it has been a long time since I read one as hard-hitting and in-your-face as A Closer Look. In A Closer Look, by Karen DelleCava, freshman Cassie Donovan is having a great school year. She's reasonably popular, her natural...

Rita HubbardRita Hubbard   July 30, 2011
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
5.0
Learning Value 
 
5.0

In Your Face!

Want to be blown away? Just read Sports Illustrated Kid’s 3D Sports Blast, by author and 3D Photographer, David E. Klutho. I think it’s fair to say that 3D Sports Blast is more than a book, it’s an experience. It begins with Klutho posing in a cowboy-ish setting...

Rita HubbardRita Hubbard   July 30, 2011
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

The BIG Book of How

If there ever was a starting place for learning all the things there are to know in this world, The Big Book of How by Time for Kids is that place. The Big Book of How is yet another wonderful publication from the long line of quality books from...

Rita HubbardRita Hubbard   June 20, 2011
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
N/A
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
N/A
Learning Value 
 
5.0

What a Way to Go

If you’re looking for one of those stale, moth-eaten, run-of-the-mill history books to fill your idle hours, How They Croaked: The Awful Ends of the Awfully Famous, by Georgia Bragg, isn’t the book for you. How They Croaked examines the lives (and putrid deaths) of famous figures from yester-year:...

Rita HubbardRita Hubbard   May 31, 2011
(Updated: June 02, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Everything Vibrates!

"Everything Vibrates;" thats the theme of a well-written, exquisitely-detailed, page-turning historical called Distant Waves, by Suzanne Weyn. Distant Waves is the story of a precocious four-year old named Jane who grows up among four spirited sisters and an idiosyncratic mother with a gift for communicating with the spirit world....

Rita HubbardRita Hubbard   May 10, 2011
(Updated: June 02, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Ohmygrass! The Warrior Sheep to the Rescue

Love a great warrior story with rippling muscles, breathless fight scenes and swinging swords in it? Well, The Quest of the Warrior Sheep, by Christine & Christopher Russell doesnt have any of those, but its still one of the greatest warrior stories youll ever read. In The Quest of...

6 results - showing 1 - 6  
 
 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

  

   

   

    

  

   

 

Latest Book Listings Added

cover60900-medium.png
Toby's sister and baby brother love their schools - they...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every Exquisite Thing
Nanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emma and Julia Love Ballet
Emma is little. Julia is big. They both love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blobfish Book
Perfect for fans of Battle Bunny and Z Is for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5)
The long path to the throne has only just begun...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gemina (The Illuminae Files #2)
The highly anticipated sequel to the instant New York Times...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2)
Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ask Me How I Got Here
Addie has always known what she was running toward. In...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Time We Were Us
A passionate summer love story about a girl, her childhood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Way Back To You
In this witty, heart-tugging novel, two teens take a spontaneous...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Happens Now
"I know what it is to want something so badly,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
All I Need
The last night of summer is only the beginning. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Occasional Diamond Thief
What if you learned your father was a thief?...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Salarian Desert Game
What if someone you love gambled on her life? ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Truth About Forever
A long, hot summer... That's what Macy...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“The mother I knew would never do those things. ...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)