Reviews written by Becky Laney

55 results - showing 16 - 30
1 2 3 4  
 
Kids Fiction
Reviewed by Becky Laney     July 05, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Beautifully Illustrated Folk Tale

I really enjoyed this one. It's a strikingly illustrated picture book of a folk tale. Long ago in Japan, there was a wise old rice farmer who lived near the sea. The people in the village called him Ojiisan, which means "grandfather." Even though Ojiisan...

Kids Fiction
Reviewed by Becky Laney     June 30, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Finding Susie

Will Sandra ever find the perfect pet? Read and see in Finding Susie a picture book by Sandra Day O'Connor, former Supreme Court justice. Sandra lives on a cattle ranch in the desert. She's a girl who wants a pet, needs a pet. But after taking in a few wild...

Reviewed by Becky Laney     May 14, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Let's Prance

Pretty Pru is part of Pully Dunbar's oh-so-wonderful Tilly and Friends series. Pretty Pru is one of my favorite characters, but probably the least that I identify myself with. But that's okay. Because you know why, it is just as important for kids to be able to recognize others (as...

Reviewed by Becky Laney     May 14, 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

I See You

Where's Tumpty by Polly Dunbar is part of her Tilly and Friends series. Though it is a series book, you do NOT have to have read any of the others. And you can read them in any order.Tumpty is one of Tilly's animal friends....

Reviewed by Becky Laney     May 10, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Tilly and Friends

I'm happy to be presenting reviews of four new books in a clever new series by Polly Dunbar. The first book, Hello Tilly, introduces young readers to a little girl and her houseful of animal friends: Tiptoe, Tumpty, Pru, Hector, and Doodle.There's an old-fashioned splendor to the Tilly and Friends...

Reviewed by Becky Laney     May 10, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

A Pig's Life

Happy Hector is the second of books released in the Tilly and Friends series by Polly Dunbar. One of the great things about this series (and any good series really for this age group) is that you can read the books in any order you like. Quick recap, Tilly is...

Kids Fiction
Reviewed by Becky Laney     March 26, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Go Home, Bad Mood!

For anyone who has ever had a bad mood--a persistent bad mood, this one is for you. Meet Big Rabbit. A bunny with one bad mood--a bad mood that is big and bad and that follows him here, there, and everywhere. Big Rabbit tries to be good and get rid...

Kids Fiction
Reviewed by Becky Laney     March 26, 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

When I grow up...

I just love this series of books by Amy Krouse Rosenthal. Have you read Little Pea and Little Hoot? If you haven't, you should! You really should! In this one we meet Little Oink, a pig who does NOT LIKE being messy. A pig who loves to clean and be...

Reviewed by Becky Laney     March 01, 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Read. This. Book.

Engle, Margarita. 2009. (March 31, 2009 Pub.) TROPICAL SECRETS: HOLOCAUST REFUGEES IN CUBA. Henry Holt. 198 pages.Read. This. Book. True, it won't be released for a few more weeks. But make note of it now to get to this one when you get the chance. Written by Margarita Engle--an acclaimed...

Kids Fiction
Reviewed by Becky Laney     February 11, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

What is God Like?

Lewis, Beverly. 2008. What is God Like? Illustrated by Pamela Querin. Published by Bethany House.I just love this one. Mainly for two reasons--the incredibly beautiful illustrations by Pamela Querin that I just love, and the scriptures sprinkled throughout the book. The framework of this...

Kids Fiction
Reviewed by Becky Laney     February 04, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

A book of quotes

Thank You, God (various authors), illustrated by Sophie Allsopp. 2009. (January of 2009) Simon & Schuster. The full title of this one is Thank You God!: A Year of Blessings and Prayers for Little Ones. The art is...

Reviewed by Becky Laney     January 14, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
0.0
Learning Value 
 
0.0

Little Blessings

This wonderful book gathers together FOUR books into one collection: What is God Like? What is Prayer? What About Heaven? and Are Angels Real? It uses rhyme. But the rhyme stays on the good side of dinky. In other words, it doesn't cross the line into dinky. It actually...

Reviewed by Becky Laney     October 20, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
0.0
Learning Value 
 
0.0

Mark Twain and Sid Fleischman?!

Fleischman, Sid. 2008. The Trouble Begins at 8: A Life of Mark Twain In the Wild, Wild West. I loved Trouble Begins at 8. Loved it. Which is to say that I more than appreciated what it had to offer. More than saw it as a good nonfiction title....

Kids Fiction
Reviewed by Becky Laney     October 15, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Graveyard Book

Gaiman, Neil. 2008. The Graveyard Book. With illustrations by Dave McKean. I really loved this one. The atmosphere, the pacing, the characters, everything is just right with this one. The Graveyard Book is the story of a young boy, Nobody Owens, whose parents (and sister) have been murdered. The...

Reviewed by Becky Laney     September 18, 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Loving Moxy

Gifford, Peggy. 2008. Moxy Maxwell Does Not Love Writing Thank You Notes. Illustrated by Valorie Fisher. I loved, loved, loved the first Moxy Maxwell book, Moxy Maxwell Does Not Love Stuart Little. And this one, the second one, has been on my wish list for over eight months. Moxy...

55 results - showing 16 - 30
1 2 3 4  
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is not your average trip to Fairyland… Selkie Stewart has just saved her quasi-boyfriend, Ben, from a fairy prison...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
THE GIRL WHO NEVER WAS is the story of Selkie Stewart, who thinks she’s a totally normal teenager growing up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
A dragon named Nickerbacher guards a princess "because his papa told him to." However, he practices his jokes on Princess...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)