Reviews written by Becky Laney

55 results - showing 16 - 30
1 2 3 4  
 
Kids Fiction
Reviewed by Becky Laney     July 05, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Beautifully Illustrated Folk Tale

I really enjoyed this one. It's a strikingly illustrated picture book of a folk tale. Long ago in Japan, there was a wise old rice farmer who lived near the sea. The people in the village called him Ojiisan, which means "grandfather." Even though Ojiisan...

Kids Fiction
Reviewed by Becky Laney     June 30, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Finding Susie

Will Sandra ever find the perfect pet? Read and see in Finding Susie a picture book by Sandra Day O'Connor, former Supreme Court justice. Sandra lives on a cattle ranch in the desert. She's a girl who wants a pet, needs a pet. But after taking in a few wild...

Reviewed by Becky Laney     May 14, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Let's Prance

Pretty Pru is part of Pully Dunbar's oh-so-wonderful Tilly and Friends series. Pretty Pru is one of my favorite characters, but probably the least that I identify myself with. But that's okay. Because you know why, it is just as important for kids to be able to recognize others (as...

Reviewed by Becky Laney     May 14, 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

I See You

Where's Tumpty by Polly Dunbar is part of her Tilly and Friends series. Though it is a series book, you do NOT have to have read any of the others. And you can read them in any order.Tumpty is one of Tilly's animal friends....

Reviewed by Becky Laney     May 10, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Tilly and Friends

I'm happy to be presenting reviews of four new books in a clever new series by Polly Dunbar. The first book, Hello Tilly, introduces young readers to a little girl and her houseful of animal friends: Tiptoe, Tumpty, Pru, Hector, and Doodle.There's an old-fashioned splendor to the Tilly and Friends...

Reviewed by Becky Laney     May 10, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

A Pig's Life

Happy Hector is the second of books released in the Tilly and Friends series by Polly Dunbar. One of the great things about this series (and any good series really for this age group) is that you can read the books in any order you like. Quick recap, Tilly is...

Kids Fiction
Reviewed by Becky Laney     March 26, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Go Home, Bad Mood!

For anyone who has ever had a bad mood--a persistent bad mood, this one is for you. Meet Big Rabbit. A bunny with one bad mood--a bad mood that is big and bad and that follows him here, there, and everywhere. Big Rabbit tries to be good and get rid...

Kids Fiction
Reviewed by Becky Laney     March 26, 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

When I grow up...

I just love this series of books by Amy Krouse Rosenthal. Have you read Little Pea and Little Hoot? If you haven't, you should! You really should! In this one we meet Little Oink, a pig who does NOT LIKE being messy. A pig who loves to clean and be...

Reviewed by Becky Laney     March 01, 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Read. This. Book.

Engle, Margarita. 2009. (March 31, 2009 Pub.) TROPICAL SECRETS: HOLOCAUST REFUGEES IN CUBA. Henry Holt. 198 pages.Read. This. Book. True, it won't be released for a few more weeks. But make note of it now to get to this one when you get the chance. Written by Margarita Engle--an acclaimed...

Kids Fiction
Reviewed by Becky Laney     February 11, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

What is God Like?

Lewis, Beverly. 2008. What is God Like? Illustrated by Pamela Querin. Published by Bethany House.I just love this one. Mainly for two reasons--the incredibly beautiful illustrations by Pamela Querin that I just love, and the scriptures sprinkled throughout the book. The framework of this...

Kids Fiction
Reviewed by Becky Laney     February 04, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

A book of quotes

Thank You, God (various authors), illustrated by Sophie Allsopp. 2009. (January of 2009) Simon & Schuster. The full title of this one is Thank You God!: A Year of Blessings and Prayers for Little Ones. The art is...

Reviewed by Becky Laney     January 14, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
0.0
Learning Value 
 
0.0

Little Blessings

This wonderful book gathers together FOUR books into one collection: What is God Like? What is Prayer? What About Heaven? and Are Angels Real? It uses rhyme. But the rhyme stays on the good side of dinky. In other words, it doesn't cross the line into dinky. It actually...

Reviewed by Becky Laney     October 20, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
0.0
Learning Value 
 
0.0

Mark Twain and Sid Fleischman?!

Fleischman, Sid. 2008. The Trouble Begins at 8: A Life of Mark Twain In the Wild, Wild West. I loved Trouble Begins at 8. Loved it. Which is to say that I more than appreciated what it had to offer. More than saw it as a good nonfiction title....

Kids Fiction
Reviewed by Becky Laney     October 15, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Graveyard Book

Gaiman, Neil. 2008. The Graveyard Book. With illustrations by Dave McKean. I really loved this one. The atmosphere, the pacing, the characters, everything is just right with this one. The Graveyard Book is the story of a young boy, Nobody Owens, whose parents (and sister) have been murdered. The...

Reviewed by Becky Laney     September 18, 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Loving Moxy

Gifford, Peggy. 2008. Moxy Maxwell Does Not Love Writing Thank You Notes. Illustrated by Valorie Fisher. I loved, loved, loved the first Moxy Maxwell book, Moxy Maxwell Does Not Love Stuart Little. And this one, the second one, has been on my wish list for over eight months. Moxy...

55 results - showing 16 - 30
1 2 3 4  
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)