Reviews written by Becky Laney

55 results - showing 16 - 30  
1 2 3 4  
Ordering 
 
Kids Fiction
Becky LaneyBecky Laney   July 05, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Beautifully Illustrated Folk Tale

I really enjoyed this one. It's a strikingly illustrated picture book of a folk tale. Long ago in Japan, there was a wise old rice farmer who lived near the sea. The people in the village called him Ojiisan, which means ...

Kids Fiction
Becky LaneyBecky Laney   June 30, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Finding Susie

Will Sandra ever find the perfect pet? Read and see in Finding Susie a picture book by Sandra Day O'Connor, former Supreme Court justice. Sandra lives on a cattle ranch in the desert. She's a girl who wants a pet, needs a pet. But after taking in...

Becky LaneyBecky Laney   May 14, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Let's Prance

Pretty Pru is part of Pully Dunbar's oh-so-wonderful Tilly and Friends series. Pretty Pru is one of my favorite characters, but probably the least that I identify myself with. But that's okay. Because you know why, it is just as important for kids to be able to recognize others...

Becky LaneyBecky Laney   May 14, 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

I See You

Where's Tumpty by Polly Dunbar is part of her Tilly and Friends series. Though it is a series book, you do NOT have to have read any of the others. And you can read them in any order. Tumpty is one of Tilly's...

Becky LaneyBecky Laney   May 10, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Tilly and Friends

I'm happy to be presenting reviews of four new books in a clever new series by Polly Dunbar. The first book, Hello Tilly, introduces young readers to a little girl and her houseful of animal friends: Tiptoe, Tumpty, Pru, Hector, and Doodle. There's an old-fashioned splendor to the Tilly and...

Becky LaneyBecky Laney   May 10, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

A Pig's Life

Happy Hector is the second of books released in the Tilly and Friends series by Polly Dunbar. One of the great things about this series (and any good series really for this age group) is that you can read the books in any order you like. Quick recap, Tilly is...

Kids Fiction
Becky LaneyBecky Laney   March 26, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Go Home, Bad Mood!

For anyone who has ever had a bad mood--a persistent bad mood, this one is for you. Meet Big Rabbit. A bunny with one bad mood--a bad mood that is big and bad and that follows him here, there, and everywhere. Big Rabbit tries to be good and get rid...

Kids Fiction
Becky LaneyBecky Laney   March 26, 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

When I grow up...

I just love this series of books by Amy Krouse Rosenthal. Have you read Little Pea and Little Hoot? If you haven't, you should! You really should! In this one we meet Little Oink, a pig who does NOT LIKE being messy. A pig who loves to clean and be...

Becky LaneyBecky Laney   March 01, 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Read. This. Book.

Engle, Margarita. 2009. (March 31, 2009 Pub.) TROPICAL SECRETS: HOLOCAUST REFUGEES IN CUBA. Henry Holt. 198 pages. Read. This. Book. True, it won't be released for a few more weeks. But make note of it now to get to this one when you get the chance. Written by Margarita Engle--an...

Kids Fiction
Becky LaneyBecky Laney   February 11, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

What is God Like?

Lewis, Beverly. 2008. What is God Like? Illustrated by Pamela Querin. Published by Bethany House. I just love this one. Mainly for two reasons--the incredibly beautiful illustrations by Pamela Querin that I just love, and the scriptures sprinkled throughout the book. The framework...

Kids Fiction
Becky LaneyBecky Laney   February 04, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

A book of quotes

Thank You, God (various authors), illustrated by Sophie Allsopp. 2009. (January of 2009) Simon & Schuster. The full title of this one is Thank You God!: A Year of Blessings and Prayers for...

Becky LaneyBecky Laney   January 14, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
0.0
Learning Value 
 
0.0

Little Blessings

This wonderful book gathers together FOUR books into one collection: What is God Like? What is Prayer? What About Heaven? and Are Angels Real? It uses rhyme. But the rhyme stays on the good side of dinky. In other words, it doesn't cross the line into dinky....

Becky LaneyBecky Laney   October 20, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
0.0
Learning Value 
 
0.0

Mark Twain and Sid Fleischman?!

Fleischman, Sid. 2008. The Trouble Begins at 8: A Life of Mark Twain In the Wild, Wild West. I loved Trouble Begins at 8. Loved it. Which is to say that I more than appreciated what it had to offer. More than saw it as a good...

Kids Fiction
Becky LaneyBecky Laney   October 15, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Graveyard Book

Gaiman, Neil. 2008. The Graveyard Book. With illustrations by Dave McKean. I really loved this one. The atmosphere, the pacing, the characters, everything is just right with this one. The Graveyard Book is the story of a young boy, Nobody Owens, whose parents (and sister) have been...

Becky LaneyBecky Laney   September 18, 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Loving Moxy

Gifford, Peggy. 2008. Moxy Maxwell Does Not Love Writing Thank You Notes. Illustrated by Valorie Fisher. I loved, loved, loved the first Moxy Maxwell book, Moxy Maxwell Does Not Love Stuart Little. And this one, the second one, has been on my wish list for over eight...

55 results - showing 16 - 30  
1 2 3 4  
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Lifeline
Popular high school senior Eli Ross has the perfect life....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Restart
Chase's memory just went out the window. Chase doesn't remember...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tori Douglas hates her life. Struggling to make the people...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It Should Have Been You
Seventeen-year-old Clara Seibert ghostwrites an advice column for her school’s...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Round of Robins
Food Fight Jumble, jostle, rumble, squirm; ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emerson Page and Where the Light Enters
Thirteen-year-old Emerson Page wants to know what happened to...
 
3.8
 
5.0 (1)
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ace of Shades
Welcome to the City of Sin, where casino families...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Lifeline
 
4.0
"Eli has it all until he falls prey to the addiction of drugs. His last use of heroin nearly kills..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Need an adventure to get lost in? Read this book!! It is gripping from beginning to end with..."
Stealing Liberty
 
4.7
"I am amazed as to how versatile Jennifer Froelich is as an author. Each book is so creative and unique..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Hidden underneath the rubble and remains of a burned out school library, lies a treasure - a real library that..."
Devils Unto Dust
 
4.7
"In this alternative history the time after the Civil War has caused not only bad times to come to Daisy..."
Sugar and Spice (Whatever After #10)
 
5.0
"Abby and Jonah take another trip through their magic mirror after being told their grounded from technology. This time, it..."
Soraya: A Wielders of Arantha Prequel
 
5.0
"This story starts with Sahria and several other girls captured to be sold as slaves. Sahria becomes like a mentor..."
The Traitor's Game
 
4.7
"THE TRAITOR'S GAME alternates between two main characters: Kestra and Simon. When Kestra is called back home to her father's..."
Better Than This
 
4.7
"The story: Samantha “Sam” Becker wants only one thing – to go to Juilliard. She’s a veritable prodigy with..."
The Poet X
 
4.0
"The Poet X felt like coming home. I felt the presence of the bodegas as if I walked by them..."
Zenith: The Androma Saga
 
4.0
"ZENITH: THE ANDROMA SAGA by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings is a young adult science fiction novel that follows the..."
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
 
5.0
"Sam is the hall monitor at Eerie Elementary, but his job requires more than watching out for students doing things..."
Miles Away From You
 
3.7
"Grief is a funny thing, it's usually messy--and rarely neat--with the barest of touches, it makes a wreck of your..."
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
 
5.0
"Prepare yourself, Winter Glass is set to destroy all the feels! This stunning conclusion full of sisterly love, romance, and..."
Restart
 
4.0
"Middle grade mystery with an amnesic twist—a friendship-centric tale of lost-and-found. Readers are introduced to a cruel boy..."
Crossing the Line
 
3.3
"Ryan Hess escapes his abusive stepfather and flees to Mexico, hoping to train with a former famous boxer. He doesn't..."
It Should Have Been You
 
3.7
"This book had me at the tagline: “Once I decided to kill her, the rest was surprisingly easy.” ..."
The Last Thing You Said
 
3.7
"The Last Thing You Said by Sara Biren is a story about love and loss. Ben and Lucy are..."
Calmer Girls
 
3.5
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Young love makes one foolish. The story: Samantha is not the girl people..."
A Round of Robins
 
4.0
"This picture book sized poetry book follows Mama and Dad bird as they hatch a clutch of eggs, supervise raising..."