Reviews written by Terry Miller Shannon

232 results - showing 61 - 75  
« 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... » 
 
Terry Miller ShannonTerry Miller Shannon   December 03, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
0.0
Learning Value 
 
0.0

Amp Up Your Skills (or Just Have Fun Reading About It)

You've gotta love a book that starts out teaching you how to FLY A HELICOPTER! But that's just one of the wowza (and more mundane) skills to learn about in this book, which covers how to tear a phone book in two, get out of quicksand, make a good campfire,...

Terry Miller ShannonTerry Miller Shannon   November 24, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
0.0
Learning Value 
 
0.0

Take a Trip Around the World

Okay. This is totally awesome. Not only do we have here a huge book with maps, photos, and fascinating facts about different countries--but we also have a companion website at http://www.nationalgeographic.com/kids-world-atlas/ so we can see and hear the sights of people and animals connected to the world's lands. This...

Terry Miller ShannonTerry Miller Shannon   October 07, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Is Babymouse Destined to Be A Star?

In this cool graphic novel for young readers (#7 in a series), Babymouse stuns the world with her ice skating skills . . .in her imagination, anyway. Later, as she passes the school trophy case, she is chagrined as she remembers all the trophies she did NOT win, citing some...

Young Adult Nonfiction
Terry Miller ShannonTerry Miller Shannon   October 06, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Stunning Holocaust Story in Graphic Novel Format

In this unforgettable graphic novel-type story celebrating triumph over unimaginable horrors, Martin Lemelman gives us the story of his mother, Gusta, who survived Nazi persecution in Poland in the 1930s. Gusta's story is told conversationally, as if she were talking directly to the reader, and the book is full of...

Terry Miller ShannonTerry Miller Shannon   October 06, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Velma Becomes Unforgettable

Everyone knows and admires Velma's big sisters, which makes Velma feel like the biggest loser in first grade. She is not good at the things her sisters excel at, but Velma loves science--and she especially enjoys the lessons on butterflies. After she learns about their life cycle, she wants to...

Kids Nonfiction
Terry Miller ShannonTerry Miller Shannon   October 01, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
0.0
Learning Value 
 
0.0

Yummy Recipes Invented by Award-Winning Sisters

Excuse me while I drool over this colorful cookbook packed full of luscious recipes. The cookbook is the brainchild of pre-teen sisters Olivia and Isabella Gerasole who have won a prestigious James Beard award for their website (www.spatulatta.com), which teaches other kids how to cook via webcasts. The Spatulatta...

Young Adult Fiction
Terry Miller ShannonTerry Miller Shannon   September 27, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Emotionally Gripping Page-Turner

What would you do if you knew you were going to die soon? Sixteen year old Tessa has leukemia. She knows she has months to live. But before she dies, she wants to do the ten things on her list, beginning with something she's never done: making love. Tessa writes...

Terry Miller ShannonTerry Miller Shannon   September 23, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
0.0
Learning Value 
 
0.0

Fascinating Snippets of Info

This book explores more than 85 different topics that include facts on history, art, science and technology, the human body, animals, and today's world--to name just a few. Each page is illustrated with bright pictures and photos, and the information is set forth in fun-to-read formats, with lots of sidebars...

Terry Miller ShannonTerry Miller Shannon   September 23, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

An Angel Who Isn't Angelic

Twins James and Amanda are sleeping one rainy night when they hear something crash onto the roof above them, followed by someone knocking at their skylight. Imagine their amazement when a girl enters, barefoot and wearing a white dress--and long white wings. The girl's name is Hilary, and one of...

Kids Fiction
Terry Miller ShannonTerry Miller Shannon   September 04, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

What Could It BE?

Brother and sister Charlie and Frances interrupt an argument when Mom announces a package has arrived. The siblings are excited by its immense size and immediately begin guessing as to the contents. Each believes it's something wonderful just for him/her. When Mom announces they need to wait for Dad to...

Terry Miller ShannonTerry Miller Shannon   September 02, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

An Unlikely Friendship Makes for a Satisfying Tale

Mary lives in a big brick house. A very small mouse lives in a tiny house inside Mary's home. Mary and the mouse have lots in common. They each have parents and a brother and a sister. When Mary goes to school to learn to draw, read, count, and sing,...

Kids Fiction
Terry Miller ShannonTerry Miller Shannon   August 29, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

A Drawing in Love

Emma and Lucie are drawing. Emma draws a beautiful princess named Aurora, who has fallen asleep because of an evil fairy spell. Emma looks at what little sister Lucie draws. Lucie says she's drawing a kitty, but Emma says it is just a scribble, which (of course) ticks Lucie off....

Kids Fiction
Terry Miller ShannonTerry Miller Shannon   August 23, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Baby Bear Yearns to Be a Big Bear

In lilting, rhyming verse, illustrated with bright and adorable pictures, Baby Bear tells what will happen when he grows up, starting with "in about a year, my special friends will move in here." Of course Baby Bear and his friends will stay up until all hours, never put the toys...

Kids Fiction
Terry Miller ShannonTerry Miller Shannon   August 19, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Who's Writing This Book, Anyway?

Melanie Watt is writing a story about a mouse that lives in the country . . .UNTIL Chester, her self-absorbed cat takes over. Chester feels free to wield his red pen, hijacking the story and making it all about Chester. He sends the mouse packing rapidly, and now Chester lives...

Kids Nonfiction
Terry Miller ShannonTerry Miller Shannon   August 19, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
0.0
Learning Value 
 
0.0

Amazing Things Can Happen in a Mere 60 Seconds

Here's another of those irresistible "who knew?" collections, highlighting what can happen in sixty seconds. These amazing facts range from the absurd/funny to the horrifying. Who knew that ten grown elephants can make one pound of poop every minute? Or that 2.3 million gallons of crude oil are used up...

232 results - showing 61 - 75  
« 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... » 
 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

    

   

   

   

   

Latest Book Listings Added

25664625.jpg
Little Red is on her way to visit Auntie Rosie...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
27210475.jpg
For fans of Fancy Nancy, Ladybug Girl, and Chu’s First...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cake Pop Crush
Alicia Ramirez has always loved baking. Her family owns Say...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Recreated (The Reawakened Series)
From Colleen Houck, New York Times bestselling author of...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Still a Gorilla
Will Willy be another type of animal? No! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Please Say Please
How do you ask for what you'd like? Do...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pete the Cat's Got Class
New York Times bestselling author and artist James Dean brings...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Quinn Cutler is sixteen and the daughter of a high-profile...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
THE GHOST CHRONICLES
***Finalist in the National Indie Excellence Awards for Young...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Children of Icarus
Daedelum's children pray for the honor of being chosen...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Run
Run
Bo Dickinson is a girl with a wild reputation,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Lost-in-Wonderland-evernightpublishing-JayAheer2016-smallpreview.jpg
Monsters, serial killers, and imaginary friends—being a Wonderlander can...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
P.S. I Like You
Signed, sealed, delivered... While spacing out in Chemistry class,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Drawing Lesson: A Graphic Novel That Teaches You How to Draw
For the first time ever, drawing instructor and graphic novelist...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rose & Thorn (Ash & Bramble #2)
This beauty isn’t sleeping! Sarah Prineas’s darkly imaginative retelling breaks...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Retreat (The After Trilogy: Book One)
Earth was ruined. Humankind destroyed. And it’s old news. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)