Reviews written by Kimberly Pauley

393 results - showing 46 - 60
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 27 » 
 
Kids Nonfiction
Reviewed by Kimberly Pauley     November 09, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
0.0
Learning Value 
 
0.0

A tale of survival during World War II

There are quite a few Holocaust books out there (including some really famous ones, like Night and The Diary of Anne Frank), many with somewhat similar (though all incredibly emotional and moving) stories. Hiding Edith is a little bit different. Or, at least, it tells a part of the story...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kimberly Pauley     November 07, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Tough choices

Sheree is young and tough on the outside, but shes now in the middle of a situation shes not sure she can handle. In a story thats all too real and all too common, Ree Ree is following in her mothers footsteps: shes young, single, and pregnant. The...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kimberly Pauley     November 04, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

A journey that takes 2 girls everywhere...and nowhere

Now heres a different kind of story. Gilly and Sam are two girls going nowhere fast, until one night they meet this really freaky guy who uses a birds entrails to tell them&well, not exactly their fortunes&but what they each want more than anything. He tells Gilly, in particular,...

Kids Fiction
Reviewed by Kimberly Pauley     November 01, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Tall tales from an ex-pirate

Jack Plank Tells Tales was the first book to come from Natalie Babbitt (of Tuck Everlasting fame) in 25 years. In this charming story, Jack is an ex-pirate (not that he was ever a very good bloodthirsty pirate, anyway) trying to make his way in the world. He...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kimberly Pauley     October 31, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

A truly beautiful book

In this wordless graphic novel from Shaun Tan, you are swept along on a journey that many have gone on before moving to a new, foreign place in order to better yourself (and provide for your family). The drawings are wonderfully detailed and evocative, with a kind of magical...

Reviewed by Kimberly Pauley     October 31, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

You don't have to be magical to find magic

This book is technically not a young adult book, but it certainly has crossover appeal for teen girls. Think of it as chick lit meets Bewitched (or, if Bewitched is too old school for you, think Sabrina the Teenage Witch). Katie Chandler is a completely non-magical person ...

Kids Fiction
Reviewed by Kimberly Pauley     October 29, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

The noises of the city

This new picture book from Marilyn Singer (and illustrated by Carll Cneut) is a winner for urban dwellers. As baby is being strolled around the city, a veritable assault of noise happens. There are horns beeping, cell phones ringing, dogs barking&a cacophony of city noises (clacking, clanging, banging, you name...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kimberly Pauley     October 28, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Re-visiting the loss of her sister makes Echo find herself

Echo is a fairly typical fifteen-year-old with typical teenager issues (boy trouble, friend drama-rama, and the ever present high school tensions). But on top of that, shes dealing with the murder of her older sister, Zoë. It has been over a year since it happened, but Echo is still dealing...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kimberly Pauley     October 28, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

A bonus book in the Uglies series

You can consider this a bonus book in the Uglies series (an extra, if you will&sorry, I couldnt resist). While Tally Youngblood is in it, the story isnt hers. Instead, this is the story of Aya Fuse. Shes a teen living a few years after the mind-rain that Tally and...

Reviewed by Kimberly Pauley     October 26, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Yep, you read that title right

As an expectant mother-to-be, I was a wee bit taken aback when this review book came in the mail. Heres a book for a problem I didnt even know existed (and lordy, I hope I never have to deal with it, but who knows). It Hurts When I...

Reviewed by Kimberly Pauley     October 25, 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

A new and different take on the alphabet

The Alphabet from A to Y with Bonus Letter Z is a cute addition to the alphabet picture book category from Steve Martin (yes, the actor, comedian, & writer Steve Martin and unlike some celebrity-turned-authors, he is a talented writer) and Roz Chast. However, it almost feels like it...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kimberly Pauley     October 02, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Sad but compelling

Its taken me a long time to write up the review for The Year the Gypsies Came. Im not really sure why, to tell you the truth. Its a beautifully evocative story and told well by the author, Linzi Glass. Its also etched with sadness. Set in South Africa...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kimberly Pauley     September 24, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

A Hero is Made

Thoms father is a disgraced superhero and his mother has (literally) disappeared. Hes a basketball star at school, but everyone keeps their distance because of his family situation and, perhaps, because they sense that something is different about Thom. There are actually a lot of things that are different...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Kimberly Pauley     September 16, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

An incredibly powerful book

Luna, by Julie Anne Peters, is a really, really emotional book that brought me to tears more than once. The story is told in the voice of Regan sister to Liam, who is transgendered (a girl born into a boys body). Liams nighttime life as Luna in his basement...

Kids Fiction
Reviewed by Kimberly Pauley     September 07, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

This book totally rocks

Totally Joe is a totally awesome book with one of the most engaging (and, dare I say it adorable) characters Id seen in a while. Joe is in the seventh grade and hes gay. Hes also comfortable with himself because his family supports him (even though he hasnt actually...

393 results - showing 46 - 60
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 27 » 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)