Reviews written by Kimberly Pauley

393 results - showing 46 - 60  
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... »  
Ordering 
 
Kids Nonfiction
Kimberly PauleyKimberly Pauley   November 09, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
0.0
Learning Value 
 
0.0

A tale of survival during World War II

There are quite a few Holocaust books out there (including some really famous ones, like Night and The Diary of Anne Frank), many with somewhat similar (though all incredibly emotional and moving) stories. Hiding Edith is a little bit different. Or, at least, it tells a part of the story...

Young Adult Fiction
Kimberly PauleyKimberly Pauley   November 07, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Tough choices

Sheree is young and tough on the outside, but shes now in the middle of a situation shes not sure she can handle. In a story thats all too real and all too common, Ree Ree is following in her mothers footsteps: shes young, single, and pregnant. ...

Young Adult Fiction
Kimberly PauleyKimberly Pauley   November 04, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

A journey that takes 2 girls everywhere...and nowhere

Now heres a different kind of story. Gilly and Sam are two girls going nowhere fast, until one night they meet this really freaky guy who uses a birds entrails to tell them&well, not exactly their fortunes&but what they each want more than anything. He tells Gilly,...

Kids Fiction
Kimberly PauleyKimberly Pauley   November 01, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Tall tales from an ex-pirate

Jack Plank Tells Tales was the first book to come from Natalie Babbitt (of Tuck Everlasting fame) in 25 years. In this charming story, Jack is an ex-pirate (not that he was ever a very good bloodthirsty pirate, anyway) trying to make his way in the world. ...

Young Adult Fiction
Kimberly PauleyKimberly Pauley   October 31, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

A truly beautiful book

In this wordless graphic novel from Shaun Tan, you are swept along on a journey that many have gone on before moving to a new, foreign place in order to better yourself (and provide for your family). The drawings are wonderfully detailed and evocative, with a kind of magical...

Kimberly PauleyKimberly Pauley   October 31, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

You don't have to be magical to find magic

This book is technically not a young adult book, but it certainly has crossover appeal for teen girls. Think of it as chick lit meets Bewitched (or, if Bewitched is too old school for you, think Sabrina the Teenage Witch). Katie Chandler is a completely non-magical...

Kids Fiction
Kimberly PauleyKimberly Pauley   October 29, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

The noises of the city

This new picture book from Marilyn Singer (and illustrated by Carll Cneut) is a winner for urban dwellers. As baby is being strolled around the city, a veritable assault of noise happens. There are horns beeping, cell phones ringing, dogs barking&a cacophony of city noises (clacking, clanging, banging, you name...

Young Adult Fiction
Kimberly PauleyKimberly Pauley   October 28, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Re-visiting the loss of her sister makes Echo find herself

Echo is a fairly typical fifteen-year-old with typical teenager issues (boy trouble, friend drama-rama, and the ever present high school tensions). But on top of that, shes dealing with the murder of her older sister, Zoë. It has been over a year since it happened, but Echo is still dealing...

Young Adult Fiction
Kimberly PauleyKimberly Pauley   October 28, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

A bonus book in the Uglies series

You can consider this a bonus book in the Uglies series (an extra, if you will&sorry, I couldnt resist). While Tally Youngblood is in it, the story isnt hers. Instead, this is the story of Aya Fuse. Shes a teen living a few years after the mind-rain that Tally and...

Kimberly PauleyKimberly Pauley   October 26, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Yep, you read that title right

As an expectant mother-to-be, I was a wee bit taken aback when this review book came in the mail. Heres a book for a problem I didnt even know existed (and lordy, I hope I never have to deal with it, but who knows). It Hurts...

Kimberly PauleyKimberly Pauley   October 25, 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

A new and different take on the alphabet

The Alphabet from A to Y with Bonus Letter Z is a cute addition to the alphabet picture book category from Steve Martin (yes, the actor, comedian, & writer Steve Martin and unlike some celebrity-turned-authors, he is a talented writer) and Roz Chast. However, it almost feels like it...

Young Adult Fiction
Kimberly PauleyKimberly Pauley   October 02, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Sad but compelling

Its taken me a long time to write up the review for The Year the Gypsies Came. Im not really sure why, to tell you the truth. Its a beautifully evocative story and told well by the author, Linzi Glass. Its also etched with sadness. Set in...

Young Adult Fiction
Kimberly PauleyKimberly Pauley   September 24, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

A Hero is Made

Thoms father is a disgraced superhero and his mother has (literally) disappeared. Hes a basketball star at school, but everyone keeps their distance because of his family situation and, perhaps, because they sense that something is different about Thom. There are actually a lot of things that...

Young Adult Fiction
Kimberly PauleyKimberly Pauley   September 16, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

An incredibly powerful book

Luna, by Julie Anne Peters, is a really, really emotional book that brought me to tears more than once. The story is told in the voice of Regan sister to Liam, who is transgendered (a girl born into a boys body). Liams nighttime life as Luna in his basement...

Kids Fiction
Kimberly PauleyKimberly Pauley   September 07, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

This book totally rocks

Totally Joe is a totally awesome book with one of the most engaging (and, dare I say it adorable) characters Id seen in a while. Joe is in the seventh grade and hes gay. Hes also comfortable with himself because his family supports him (even though he hasnt actually...

393 results - showing 46 - 60  
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... »  
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
Hundreds of laugh-out-loud jokes featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
Why does Squishy have to share everything with her new...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wood
After her father goes missing in the woods that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
release.jpg
nspired by Judy Blume’s Forever and Virginia Woolf’s Mrs....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Serafina and the Splintered Heart
 
5.0
"The night is quiet. Serafina is panicking, thrashing around. She is trapped, alone, with no idea where she is. It..."
The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
Curse of the Bane (The Last Apprentice #2)
 
3.0
" In this second installment of the series, Thomas ward is now 13 and has been the Spook’s apprentice for..."
Hero on a Bicycle
 
5.0
"HERO ON A BICYCLE by Shirley Hughes is a middle grades novel set in 1944 in Florence, Italy and its..."
The Digger and the Flower
 
4.5
"'The Digger and the Flower' by Joseph Kuefler shows the power of goodness when everything else seems to be overtaking..."
Zog and the Flying Doctors
 
5.0
"'Zog and the Flying Doctors' is another great story by Julia Donaldson, and illustrated by Axel Scheffler. The two have..."
Superbat
 
5.0
"Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No, it's a bat in a costume! Pat the bat is a..."
Danny and the Dinosaur A Very Merry Christmas
 
5.0
"Whoever thought of putting stickers inside of children's books is a genius. The story: The dinosaur has never..."
In a Dark, Dark Room and Other
 
4.5
"This book contains seven folktales that have been retold and rewritten to be easily read. This book is level two..."
Wide-Awake Bear
 
5.0
"In WIDE-AWAKE BEAR, baby cub Elliott is supposed to be hibernating with his mom and sleeping until spring. The only..."
Rapunzel and the Lost Lagoon
 
5.0
"My daughter and I love to watch the Tangled Series on the Disney Channel together, so I was so excited..."
Pig the Elf
 
4.0
"PIG THE ELF is about a dog named Pig who loves Christmas, but it isn't for the spirit or joy...."
Old MacDonald Had A Farn
 
4.0
"It was fun reading OLD MACDONALD HAD A FARM to my daughter. As I read, my daughter danced because it..."