Reviews written by Anita Morgan

6 results - showing 1 - 6
 
 
Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Anita Morgan     November 22, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

I wanted something...more

I have been thinking about this review for well over a week now. I think that part of my problem is that after all the waiting and the secret hints and the grand cover reveal and the trailer…I was left feeling a bit underwhelmed with this book. I really, really...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Anita Morgan     November 22, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
2.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Fun Mystery

So I have concluded that this book would have been a lot better had I not read reviews/synopsis/blogs prior to reading this book. I'm thinking that the plot line and twists would have been a lot more exciting and impacting had I not already known the basic premise. ...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Anita Morgan     August 10, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Opposites Attract

GENRE: Young Adult – Fiction; Romance FORM: eBook SERIES: Perfect Chemistry Series SYNOPSIS: Carlos is being forced to move to Colorado and in with his brother, Alex, “for his own good.” Figuring everyone expects the worst of him anyway, he figures he might as well act the part as...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Anita Morgan     August 10, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

It's about Self Image and Health

GENRE: Young Adult – Fiction FORM: Audiobook NARRATOR: Kirsten Potter SYNOPSIS: Catherine (Cat) Locke has been overweight for a good portion of her life. Every diet she tries, she is somewhat successful, but then rewards herself with a pint of ice cream, or some brownies. This year, though, she...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Anita Morgan     August 10, 2011
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Who Do You Love, Who Loves You?

GENRE: Young Adult Fantasy FORM: Audio Book NARRATOR: Nancy Wu SERIES: Eon SYNOPSIS: Eona is no longer hiding the fact that she is a girl. Times are too unstable and life too unpredictable to keep up the pretense. What is most important now is that Eona learn how to...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Anita Morgan     August 10, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Dude look like a lady

Summary Natalie writes an advice column for her school newspaper. Working under the alias Dr. Aphrodite, she gives advice to teenage girls about how to deal with their current, future or past boyfriends. It isn’t until she receives a backlash of comments from angry or just annoyed guys...

6 results - showing 1 - 6
 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: Endure by Sara B. Larson + Giveaway (US Only)

    Hello, everyone! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for ENDURE by Sara B. Larson, releasing January 5, 2016 from Scholastic. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Sara:   Hi YABCers!! I am so thrilled to be here today to share with you the cover ...

  • What's New in YA

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!       When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land ...

  • Blog Tour: All the Rage by Courtney Summers

      The YABC tour is thrilled to be revealing a quote from Courtney Summers' newest YA novel, All the Rage, as part of the book's blog tour!   Are you ready for that quote we mentioned above?   Just keep scrolling...   ---   & ...

  • Live Chat with Ally Carter

      There is an exciting event for Ally Carter fans taking place this upcoming Tuesday! Scholastic will be hosting a LIVE video chat with the New York Times bestselling author of the Heist Society and Gallagher Girls series alongside some special guest stars. Did you lo ...

  • Diversify Your Shelves with WNDB

      Column by Karen Sandler I’m so delighted to have the opportunity to blog here on YABC. There isn’t much I love more than talking about books, and in particular talking about diversity and inclusiveness in kidlit. And since my favorite genre is ...

  • Giveaway: The Originals - Resurrection by Julie Plec (US & Canada Only)

    The Originals: The Resurrection by Julie Plec Release Date: Tuesday, May 26   About the Book The Originals: The Rise: Family is power. The Original vampire family swore it to each other a thousand years ago. They pledged to remain together always and forever. But even wh ...

  • Giveaway: Overtaken by Mark Kruger (US Only)

    Overtaken by Mark H. Kruger Release Date: May 5th     About the Book Nica struggles to decipher the nefarious forces ruling her small town in this electrifying sequel to Overpowered, which VOYA says “offers all the conspiracy and intrigue of the best dystopian ...

  • Giveaway: The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey (US & Canada Only)

    The Girl At Midnight by Melissa Grey Release Date: 4/28/2015     About the Book Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidde ...

  • Giveaway: Gabby Duran and the Unsittables by Elise Allen and Daryle Conners (US Only)

    GABBY DURAN AND THE UNSITTABLES by Elise Allen and Daryle Conners In stores May 12th   About the Book Case File: The First Unsittable   Summary: The Association Linking Intergalatics and Earthlings (hereby known as A.L.I.E.N.) has a new member. After months of i ...

  • Giveaway: Tracked by Jenny Martin (US Only)

    TRACKED by Jenny Martin Release Date: May 5, 2015   About the Book   On corporately controlled Castra, rally racing is a high-stakes game that seventeen-year-old Phoebe Van Zant knows all too well. Phee’s legendary racer father disappeared mysteriously, but that h ...

  • Giveaway: Zeroboxer by Fonda Lee (US & Canada Only)

    Zeroboxer   by Fonda Lee Release Date: April 8, 2015   About the Book A rising star in the weightless combat sport of zeroboxing, Carr “the Raptor” Luka dreams of winning the championship title. Recognizing his talent, the Zero Gravity Fighting Association a ...

  • Giveaway: Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman (US Only)

    CHALLENGER DEEP by NEAL SHUSTERMAN Release Date: 4/21/15   About the Book New York Times bestselling author Neal Shusterman has a devoted and passionate following of young fans worldwide because his novels and stories get to the heart of young people’s experiences.  ...

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
In all of Tyme, from the Redlands to the Grey, no one is as lucky as Rapunzel. She lives in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Introducing Tor Maddox, a heroine for our times with book I in the series, Tor Maddox: UNLEASHED. When sixteen-year...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of If I Stay or Imaginary Girls, Dust to Dust is the mysterious, thoughtful, and poignant sequel...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What is Normal? For Trevor normal was fast guitar licks, catching game-winning passes and partying all night. Until a car...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lois Lane is starting a new life in Metropolis. An Army brat, Lois has lived all over--and seen all kinds...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Surfing is sixteen-year-old Iris's world, and when the ultra-talented Zeke walks into her life, it soon becomes her passion. Over...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bestselling author Julie Cross teams up with Ford model Mark Perini to pen a poignant and gritty YA novel about...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lola Carlyle is lonely, out of sorts, and in for a boring summer. So when her best friend, Sydney, calls...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The hilarious new YA from acclaimed author Tina Connolly. Camellia's adopted mother wants Cam to grow up to be just...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Will it be a summer of fresh starts or second chances? For Lucy, the Jersey Shore isn't just the perfect...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Gia Montgomery's boyfriend, Bradley, dumps her in the parking lot of her high school prom, she decides to do...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the majestic halls of a crystal palace lies a secret that could destroy an entire kingdom… Bryn Aven refuses...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He can summon demons. But can he win a war? Fletcher is working as a blacksmith's apprentice when he discovers...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, this third book in the Jamieson Brothers trilogy will have readers...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A romantic comedy about high school, heartbreak, and having all the answers. What if the secrets of dating and love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
First, we feared them. Then we fought them. Now they might be our only hope. Sixteen-year-old Lyric Walker’s life is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kiera Cass's #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series has enchanted readers from the very first page. In this fourth...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sydney has always felt invisible. She's grown accustomed to her brother, Peyton, being the focus of the family’s attention and,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Secret They Kept
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Fiery crash shortly before midnight claims the life of beloved rock star Damon La Rosa...” The world mourned the tragic...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
11071588_1595150567367757_2989160459236212235_n.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
From the first time Amya gains consciousness in a hospital, she tries to remember the train of events that landed...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)