Reviews written by CJ Redwine, Site and Staff Manager

406 results - showing 121 - 135  
« 1 ... 7 8 9 10 11 ... » 
 
Kids Fiction
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

A Fabulous Adventure

What I Loved: FREAKS is a fast-paced adventure that never loses the heart of its very unusual characters. I really enjoyed the page-turning suspense. This book is impossible to put down for two reasons--we care about the main characters, and we aren't at all sure they can save the...

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Heartwarming Fun

What I Loved: This is a charming, thoroughly engaging story that should keep young readers turning pages eagerly. The narrative is lively and easy to read without talking down to the reader. The characters are interesting (even the animals have lovely personalities), and the adventures Lulu and Mellie get...

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Fabulous

What I Loved: THE MADNESS UNDERNEATH is a worthy sequel to last year's fabulous THE NAME OF THE STAR. It's just as suspenseful, funny, and full of lovely, vivid details that bring the story to life. The pacing is perfect. Both the internal and external conflict escalate...

Young Adult Fiction
CJ Redwine, Site and Staff ManagerCJ Redwine, Site and Staff Manager   March 06, 2013
(Updated: March 06, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

The Adventure Continues

What I Loved: DEATH, DOOM, AND DETENTION is a fast-paced adventure full of action and intrigue. Something went wrong, something escalated the conflict, in every chapter. The conflict itself is layered. There are relationships in peril and family bonds that are strained. And of course there are fierce outside...

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Action-packed Adventure

What I Loved: DIVIDE AND CONQUER is action-packed from start to finish. Young readers will fly through the pages, eager to find out what happens next. The stakes are high, and the trio of young heroes is constantly put to the test (mentally and physically) as they face one...

Young Adult Fiction
CJ Redwine, Site and Staff ManagerCJ Redwine, Site and Staff Manager   February 22, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Engaging

What I Loved: Celia is smart, well-read, and sometimes funny. She's also broken inside in ways I think any reader who's been bullied or who has lost the security of family or friendships can relate to. Despite the fact that Celia is rarely insightful or perceptive when it comes...

Young Adult Fiction
CJ Redwine, Site and Staff ManagerCJ Redwine, Site and Staff Manager   February 17, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Swoon, Sass, & Suspense!

What I Loved: I never expected to love a paranormal romance so much, but PROPHECY GIRL hits all the right notes. It's funny, swoony, and absolutely thrilling, and I couldn't bear to stop reading. What makes the book for me is the heroine. Amelie Bennett is smart,...

CJ Redwine, Site and Staff ManagerCJ Redwine, Site and Staff Manager   February 16, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Charming

The Cupcake Queen is a fun, charming story with some valuable examples of kindness, respect, and charity for others. I enjoyed Kylie Jean, the main character. I was a little hesitant about her at first because in the first chapter she tells the reader that she's pretty and that she...

CJ Redwine, Site and Staff ManagerCJ Redwine, Site and Staff Manager   February 16, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Intriguing Premise But Slow Pacing

What I Loved: When I was younger some of my favorite books were stories about ballerinas. I was fascinated by the ability to tell a story through dance. Probably because I have zero talent in that arena. DANCE OF SHADOWS delivers a vivid look at the high-pressure world of...

Young Adult Fiction
CJ Redwine, Site and Staff ManagerCJ Redwine, Site and Staff Manager   February 14, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Entertaining & Poignant

What I Loved: On the surface, this is a ghost story, but in reality this is a heartbreaking, hopeful, and often insightful look at the things that can break us and what it takes to get better. The author combines deft prose with a modern voice to bring a...

Young Adult Fiction
CJ Redwine, Site and Staff ManagerCJ Redwine, Site and Staff Manager   February 12, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Utterly Compelling

What I Loved: There's so much to love about this book that I hardly know where to start. The entire reading experience was like I'd hopped in the Tardis and traveled back to New Orleans, circa 1950. Every single detail of the setting and the world was flawless, from...

CJ Redwine, Site and Staff ManagerCJ Redwine, Site and Staff Manager   February 11, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Worth Buying

When a rainy day ruins Princess Addison's fun plans for the morning, she gets very, very angry. Her mother steps in a helps her deal with her anger by telling her it's okay to feel angry, and it's okay to take a break in her room, but that princesses never...

Kids Fiction
CJ Redwine, Site and Staff ManagerCJ Redwine, Site and Staff Manager   February 11, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Colorful Fun

This story is a fun, engaging way to teach young readers how to count. Every page takes the reader through Monster's messy room, counting prickly bears, bug cookies, and stinky shoes, among other things. The rhymes are fun, and the illustrations are bright and colorful. All in all, this is...

Young Adult Fiction
CJ Redwine, Site and Staff ManagerCJ Redwine, Site and Staff Manager   February 11, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Couldn't Put It Down

What I Loved: Where do I even begin? This was one of those "Who cares if I have to get up in the morning? I'm going to keep reading!" books. It's dark, haunting, suspenseful, and poignant, and I found it absolutely compelling. I'll start with Mallory. Poor girl...

Young Adult Fiction
CJ Redwine, Site and Staff ManagerCJ Redwine, Site and Staff Manager   February 11, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Definitely Unique

What I Loved: This story is set in a fantasy world that strongly reminds me of China, which is one of my favorite settings. The Empire, the caste system, the two child law and the abandonment of girls, the refusal to acknowledge the worth of anyone with a physical...

406 results - showing 121 - 135  
« 1 ... 7 8 9 10 11 ... » 
 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Starflight
Solara Brooks needs a fresh start, someplace where nobody cares...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
summer marked.jpg
Fresh off a break-up with her boyfriend, Kadie's glad to...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)