Reviews written by CJ Redwine, Editor

397 results - showing 121 - 135
« 1 ... 7 8 9 10 11 ... 27 » 
 
Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     February 14, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Entertaining & Poignant

What I Loved: On the surface, this is a ghost story, but in reality this is a heartbreaking, hopeful, and often insightful look at the things that can break us and what it takes to get better. The author combines deft prose with a modern voice to bring a...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     February 12, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Utterly Compelling

What I Loved: There's so much to love about this book that I hardly know where to start. The entire reading experience was like I'd hopped in the Tardis and traveled back to New Orleans, circa 1950. Every single detail of the setting and the world was flawless, from...

Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     February 11, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Worth Buying

When a rainy day ruins Princess Addison's fun plans for the morning, she gets very, very angry. Her mother steps in a helps her deal with her anger by telling her it's okay to feel angry, and it's okay to take a break in her room, but that princesses never...

Kids Fiction
Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     February 11, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Colorful Fun

This story is a fun, engaging way to teach young readers how to count. Every page takes the reader through Monster's messy room, counting prickly bears, bug cookies, and stinky shoes, among other things. The rhymes are fun, and the illustrations are bright and colorful. All in all, this is...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     February 11, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Couldn't Put It Down

What I Loved: Where do I even begin? This was one of those "Who cares if I have to get up in the morning? I'm going to keep reading!" books. It's dark, haunting, suspenseful, and poignant, and I found it absolutely compelling. I'll start with Mallory. Poor girl...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     February 11, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Definitely Unique

What I Loved: This story is set in a fantasy world that strongly reminds me of China, which is one of my favorite settings. The Empire, the caste system, the two child law and the abandonment of girls, the refusal to acknowledge the worth of anyone with a physical...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     February 02, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Fast-paced & Fabulous

What I Loved: This is a fast-paced, action-packed story that still delivers plenty of heart. As a huge fan of the show Supernatural, I really loved the world-building in this book. Plenty of obscure preternatural creatures, enough lore/explanation naturally seeded into the narrative to make the reader feel grounded...

Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     February 02, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Sweeping Historical

What I Loved: As an avid fan of Downton Abbey, I really enjoyed CINDERS & SAPPHIRES. The story swings from the privileged (but tension-filled) life of the Earl of Westlake's family to the difficult (and no less tension-filled) lives of the servants who take care of the family. The...

Kids Fiction
Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     January 28, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Colorful & Fun

PIGS IN PAJAMAS is a lively story with a lovely rhythmic rhyme that will immediately fascinate young readers. Each page is bursting with color and life, and there are so many details to discover that a young reader will be captivated anew each time. My favorite aspect of...

Kids Fiction
Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     January 23, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Interactive Fun

What I Loved: The illustrations are bright, colorful, and immediately draw a young reader in. I read the book to my daughter who is nearly 3, and she loved the pictures. There are simple, recognizable items on each page, and young readers like to point out what they know...

Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     January 22, 2013
Last updated: January 22, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Riveting

What I Loved: I hardly know where to start gushing about this book. Full disclosure: I'm a huge fan of classic Gothic novels! THE MADMAN'S DAUGHTER (a retelling of Wells' The Island of Dr. Moreau) reads like a classic Gothic novel but with more relatable characters for the modern...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     January 17, 2013
Last updated: January 17, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

High Stakes, Low Character Development

What I Loved: The premise is fascinating. Robots who stage an uprising to take over the earth? Sign me up! This is definitely a book with high stakes, not just for each individual character, but for the world itself. I enjoyed the way the author built the...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     January 17, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Absolutely Lovely

What I Loved: Basically everything. I really enjoyed Incarnate--lyrical prose, swoony romance, and an intriguing world--and was hoping for more of the same (and then some) in Asunder. I got my wish. My favorite part of this series is Ana. Viewing this old world through her new...

Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     January 15, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Artistic Fun!

I would've loved this book as a child! Not only is it a story involving princesses, castles, witches, and toads, every page is a chance to explore the artist inside every child. This is interactive reading at its best. Arm yourself with glitter pens, crayons, colored pencils, bits of fabric,...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     January 15, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Stunning Debut

What I Loved: Okay, I admit it. I'm a sucker for well-done fairy-tale creepiness, and SPLINTERED certainly delivers. It's atmospheric, incredibly vivid, and full of whimsical madness. It's also full of courage, swoony times, and heart. Basically, if Lewis Carroll, Tim Burton, & Stephanie Perkins had a book baby,...

397 results - showing 121 - 135
« 1 ... 7 8 9 10 11 ... 27 » 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)