Reviews written by CJ Redwine, Site and Staff Manager

407 results - showing 106 - 120  
« 1 ... 6 7 8 9 10 ... » 
 
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Romantic

What I Loved: The relationships between the characters shine in this book. Every character feels fully realized, even the character who dies in the beginning. The strained love between mother and daughter will ring true to readers. The "are we friends or should we be something more?"...

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Thorough and Useful

LEAP WRITE IN is a comprehensive tour of a writer's inner thoughts, emotions, and memories while also providing opportunities to flex one's creative muscles by trying new styles of writing. There are prompts for poetry, stream of consciousness, memoir writing, and sensory descriptions, among other things. Emerging writers will find...

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Amish Charm

This story reminded me of the Little House on the Prairie books. The chapters are very episodic, and the main focus of the book is to show the reader pieces of the Amish lifestyle through the life experiences of Lily Lapp. The Amish culture, schooling, and farming lifestyle are depicted...

Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

A Fun, High-stakes Thrill Ride

What I Loved: There's no shortage of adventure in MONEY RUN. The plot twists and turns with every chapter. Readers who love books that give you very little down time will enjoy this story. There are spies, assassins, thieves, billionaires, rare cars, cops, gadgets, improvisation, chase scenes, and tremendously...

Overall rating 
 
3.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
2.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Lovely Illustrations but Muddled Message

In this beautifully illustrated book, Zach the bear has a loose tooth and worries that the tooth fairy is human and either won't visit him because he's a bear or will be dangerous to him when she does visit. The story sets up the potential to teach a valuable lesson...

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Smart Fun

Beautiful illustrations and a strong plot line make this an interesting book for young readers. The excellent financial lessons (living within a budget, approaching money needs with an entrepreneurial spirit, and factoring in the cost of supplies when figuring out profit) are made easily accessible to kids. The...

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Charming

Fans of the Fancy Nancy books (and new readers as well) will love this collection of six classic Fancy Nancy stories. Each story presents scenarios that young readers can relate to (staying up past bedtime and paying for it the next day, struggling to do a school assignment with a...

Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Heartbreakingly Beautiful

What I Loved: I finished reading over an hour ago, and I still don't know how to sum up my thoughts. IF YOU FIND ME is at once heartbreaking, compelling, insightful, and achingly beautiful. The story wrapped around me from the first page and wouldn't let me go, even...

Kids Fiction
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Lively & Fun

In this beautifully illustrated book, a little duckling refuses to stop trying to befriend a cat and insists on calling the cat "duck." Young readers will be amused as they will immediately be "in" on the fact that the duckling is mistaking the cat for a fellow duck. The rhyme...

Kids Fiction
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Adorable

Not That Tutu is an adorable book full of lively illustrations that are sure to engage young readers. My toddler also wears her tutu to bed, to the store, outside, and basically everywhere, so this story was perfect for her. She was instantly drawn to the cover (which has a...

Kids Fiction
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Fun!

This clever book explores what it means to be different from those around you and to have a unique talent that you haven't yet discovered. It also cleverly teaches the difference between a period, a question mark, and an exclamation mark. Young readers will be fascinated by the exclamation mark's...

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Funny, Heartbreaking, & Compelling

What I Loved: This book is hard to put down, and it's all because of the narrator, Blaze. She's funny, addicted to comic books (vintage ones, thank you very much), and loyal to her loved ones. She's also blind or too willing to forgive the people she hopes will...

Young Adult Fiction
CJ Redwine, Site and Staff ManagerCJ Redwine, Site and Staff Manager   March 14, 2013
(Updated: March 18, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Fun!

What I Loved: POISON is a fun fairy-tale that moves along at a swift pace without delving too deeply into the dark, grim themes that are often found in YA fantasy. Because the fight scenes are swift and everyone lives to either go to prison or fight another day,...

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Colorful Fun

Trolls vs. Cowboys in the Arctic is another fun installment in the Mega Mash-up series. The illustrations are colorful and full of life and are stylistically reminiscent of the show Johnny Test. The adventure is action-packed, a little bit silly, and guaranteed to keep young readers engaged with the story...

Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Insightful and Compelling

What I Loved: FLOWERS IN THE SKY isn't the kind of book I'd usually be drawn to, but I'm so glad I read it. I loved so many things about it. First of all, the setting (both the seaside town of Samana in the Dominican Republic and the neighborhood...

407 results - showing 106 - 120  
« 1 ... 6 7 8 9 10 ... » 
 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

  

   

   

    

  

   

 

Latest Book Listings Added

The Cabinet of Souls (R.L. Stine's Monsterville #1)
Dare to enter a mysterious realm where the cost of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Genie in a Bottle (Whatever After #9)
Abby and her little brother, Jonah, have a magic mirror...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hour of Magic (Geronimo Stilton and the Kingdom of Fantasy #8)
I, Geronimo Stilton, was amazed to find myself called back...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Enemy Above
In 1942 twelve-year-old Anton, his family, and their small community...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Skeleth
For the lords of the north, land is power. The...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mayhem (Lawless #3)
M Freeman has been a star pupil at the Lawless...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
cover60900-medium.png
Toby's sister and baby brother love their schools - they...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every Exquisite Thing
Nanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emma and Julia Love Ballet
Emma is little. Julia is big. They both love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blobfish Book
Perfect for fans of Battle Bunny and Z Is for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5)
The long path to the throne has only just begun...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gemina (The Illuminae Files #2)
The highly anticipated sequel to the instant New York Times...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2)
Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ask Me How I Got Here
Addie has always known what she was running toward. In...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Time We Were Us
A passionate summer love story about a girl, her childhood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Way Back To You
In this witty, heart-tugging novel, two teens take a spontaneous...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)