Reviews written by CJ Redwine, Site and Staff Manager

406 results - showing 1 - 15  
« 1 2 3 4 5 ... »  
Ordering 
 
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Couldn't Put It Down

If you love thrillers, then THE SAFEST LIES is the book for you. Tight pacing, a spiraling sense of increasing doom, secrets that lead to more secrets, and a hook at the end of every chapter that refuses to let the reader close the book make this one of the...

Young Adult Fiction
CJ Redwine, Site and Staff ManagerCJ Redwine, Site and Staff Manager   November 19, 2015
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Brilliant

Wow. This book is captivating, unique, devastating, heartbreaking, and utterly brilliant. I couldn't put it down. The heroine has such a vivid, interesting voice, and the premise is fascinating. But what really takes this book into 5 star territory are the twists and turns. The heroine becomes...

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Loony Fun

This book is a vivid, colorful array of silly comics that each emphasize one of the long vowel sounds. Early readers will delight in the madcap nonsense while getting excellent practice with their long vowels. At the end of the book, there is a page that recaps the rules of...

CJ Redwine, Site and Staff ManagerCJ Redwine, Site and Staff Manager   July 31, 2015
(Updated: August 01, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Delightful

This lively collection of brightly illustrated comics does an excellent job of helping early readers nail down short vowel sounds. Each comic focuses on one short vowel sound, and there are plenty of sight words to aid early readers as they learn. The back of the book has all of...

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Fun and Engaging

In this fun, engaging book, Pig learns that life is better when you include your friends. Early readers will be able to fully participate with the story as the rhymes and sight words make reading along easier. The humor and exaggerated situations are hilarious to younger readers. This will be...

Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Lois Lane is My Hero

FALLOUT is fresh, engaging, and impossible to put down. From the first page, readers will be captivated by the voice of Lois Lane, narrator and rebel with a hundred causes. The author perfectly captures Lois's indomitable spirit while also giving us a glimpse of ordinary teen loneliness and a deep...

Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Compelling

Butter is a hard book to put down. The narrative style is authentic and unpretentious, much like Butter himself, and it immediately sucks the reader into the story. Every detail felt true, from Butter's compulsion to eat, to his dr visits, to his mother's enabling of his condition. The scenes...

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Action, Intrigue, and Magic, Oh My!

What I Loved: THE ORPHAN QUEEN is a compelling, action-packed fantasy adventure full of vigilante shenanigans, secret identities, palace intrigue, and magic that frankly terrified me once I realized what was going on. From the first page, the reader is thrust into the action, and the story...

Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Interesting Premise

What I Loved: The premise of THE LAST ACADEMY and the plot twists that keep the reader guessing are fascinating. The reader is constantly off-balance, constantly trying to figure out what is going on beneath the surface of the academy. There is a...

Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Creepy & Suspenseful

What I Loved: The tense, atmospheric tone of FIND ME makes for a compulsively readable story. The suspense never relents, and as more questions are raised and the villain circles near, it's almost painful to keep reading because the reader is convinced that Wick is destined for...

CJ Redwine, Site and Staff ManagerCJ Redwine, Site and Staff Manager   November 12, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

An Epic Conclusion

In this action-packed conclusion, Cordova brings her fantastic trilogy to its full potential. True to the other books in the series, THE VAST AND BRUTAL SEA is full of compelling mythology, fascinating plot twists, heartbreaking betrayal, and funny moments. Romance, friendship, family, loyalty, and the lengths a person will go...

CJ Redwine, Site and Staff ManagerCJ Redwine, Site and Staff Manager   November 12, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

A Stunning Debut

THE GIRL FROM THE WELL is a triumph of a debut novel. Steeped in Japanese culture and mythology, fraught with atmosphere and tension, this unusual story is told from the perspective of a vengeful ghost whose narrative is at once compelling, heartbreaking, and compulsively entertaining. It's...

Young Adult Fiction
CJ Redwine, Site and Staff ManagerCJ Redwine, Site and Staff Manager   November 10, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Riveting

Gorgeously atmospheric, lyrical and fraught with tension, BEWARE THE WILD is a stunning debut. Fans of southern Gothic will want to drop everything and go buy this book. The setting, as much a character in the book as the characters themselves, is steeped in authentic Louisiana culture, and the tired...

CJ Redwine, Site and Staff ManagerCJ Redwine, Site and Staff Manager   November 01, 2014
(Updated: November 01, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Relentless & Fascinating

What I Loved: Relentless action is the hallmark of this second installment in THE VICIOUS DEEP trilogy. From the first chapter, the reader is thrust into Tristan's high stakes world of mythological creatures, monsters, secrets, and a race for the trident that will test every character's limits....

CJ Redwine, Site and Staff ManagerCJ Redwine, Site and Staff Manager   November 01, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Charming

Rocky Zang in the Amazing Mr. Magic is yet another charming installment in the Judy Moody and Friends series. Independent readers will devour this book, which uses kid friendly humor and bright, engaging illustrations to further draw in the reader. The children in this series are very authentic and relatable...

406 results - showing 1 - 15  
« 1 2 3 4 5 ... »  
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Restart
Chase's memory just went out the window. Chase doesn't remember...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tori Douglas hates her life. Struggling to make the people...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It Should Have Been You
Seventeen-year-old Clara Seibert ghostwrites an advice column for her school’s...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Round of Robins
Food Fight Jumble, jostle, rumble, squirm; ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emerson Page and Where the Light Enters
Thirteen-year-old Emerson Page wants to know what happened to...
 
3.8
 
5.0 (1)
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ace of Shades
Welcome to the City of Sin, where casino families...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Premonition (The Division Series Book 1)
When Riley heads off to boarding school for a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Need an adventure to get lost in? Read this book!! It is gripping from beginning to end with..."
Stealing Liberty
 
4.7
"I am amazed as to how versatile Jennifer Froelich is as an author. Each book is so creative and unique..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Hidden underneath the rubble and remains of a burned out school library, lies a treasure - a real library that..."
Devils Unto Dust
 
4.7
"In this alternative history the time after the Civil War has caused not only bad times to come to Daisy..."
The Traitor's Game
 
4.7
"THE TRAITOR'S GAME alternates between two main characters: Kestra and Simon. When Kestra is called back home to her father's..."
Better Than This
 
4.7
"The story: Samantha “Sam” Becker wants only one thing – to go to Juilliard. She’s a veritable prodigy with..."
The Poet X
 
4.0
"The Poet X felt like coming home. I felt the presence of the bodegas as if I walked by them..."
Zenith: The Androma Saga
 
4.0
"ZENITH: THE ANDROMA SAGA by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings is a young adult science fiction novel that follows the..."
Miles Away From You
 
3.7
"Grief is a funny thing, it's usually messy--and rarely neat--with the barest of touches, it makes a wreck of your..."
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
 
5.0
"Prepare yourself, Winter Glass is set to destroy all the feels! This stunning conclusion full of sisterly love, romance, and..."
Restart
 
4.0
"Middle grade mystery with an amnesic twist—a friendship-centric tale of lost-and-found. Readers are introduced to a cruel boy..."
Crossing the Line
 
3.3
"Ryan Hess escapes his abusive stepfather and flees to Mexico, hoping to train with a former famous boxer. He doesn't..."
It Should Have Been You
 
3.7
"This book had me at the tagline: “Once I decided to kill her, the rest was surprisingly easy.” ..."
The Last Thing You Said
 
3.7
"The Last Thing You Said by Sara Biren is a story about love and loss. Ben and Lucy are..."
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
 
5.0
"Obsidio starts off right where Gemina left off and we are introduced to a few new characters who follow in..."
Pretty Dead Girls
 
3.3
"PRETTY DEAD GIRLS by Monica Murphy is a YA thriller in which all the popular senior girls at Cape Bonita..."
Ace of Shades
 
5.0
"When Enne's mother doesn't return home, Enne travels to the City of Sin and she's desperate to find her. It's..."
Not if I Save You First
 
5.0
"Maddie's father is a Secret Service agent who is protecting Logan's father, the president of the United States. "Mad Dog"..."
How You Ruined My Life
 
4.7
"Rodney's father left, so he and his mother struggle to get by. When his well-to-do aunt and uncle decide to..."
Zombie Abbey
 
4.0
"It's been a long time since I had read a zombie novel and even more, one as entertaining as Zombie..."