Reviews written by CJ Redwine, Editor

397 results - showing 1 - 15
« 1 2 3 4 5 ... 27 » 
 
Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     November 12, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

An Epic Conclusion

In this action-packed conclusion, Cordova brings her fantastic trilogy to its full potential. True to the other books in the series, THE VAST AND BRUTAL SEA is full of compelling mythology, fascinating plot twists, heartbreaking betrayal, and funny moments. Romance, friendship, family, loyalty, and the lengths a person will go...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     November 12, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

A Stunning Debut

THE GIRL FROM THE WELL is a triumph of a debut novel. Steeped in Japanese culture and mythology, fraught with atmosphere and tension, this unusual story is told from the perspective of a vengeful ghost whose narrative is at once compelling, heartbreaking, and compulsively entertaining. It's hard to...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     November 10, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Riveting

Gorgeously atmospheric, lyrical and fraught with tension, BEWARE THE WILD is a stunning debut. Fans of southern Gothic will want to drop everything and go buy this book. The setting, as much a character in the book as the characters themselves, is steeped in authentic Louisiana culture, and the tired...

Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     November 01, 2014
Last updated: November 01, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Relentless & Fascinating

What I Loved: Relentless action is the hallmark of this second installment in THE VICIOUS DEEP trilogy. From the first chapter, the reader is thrust into Tristan's high stakes world of mythological creatures, monsters, secrets, and a race for the trident that will test every character's limits. The danger...

Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     November 01, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Charming

Rocky Zang in the Amazing Mr. Magic is yet another charming installment in the Judy Moody and Friends series. Independent readers will devour this book, which uses kid friendly humor and bright, engaging illustrations to further draw in the reader. The children in this series are very authentic and relatable...

Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     October 22, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Sweet

In this follow up to Ms. Lobel's 10 HUNGRY RABBITS, Mama Rabbit becomes ill and must rest in bed while Papa Rabbit leaves to get medicine for her. Her ten little rabbits decide to take it upon themselves to do things to make her feel better. They bring her hot...

Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     October 20, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Action-packed Fun

The third installment in the ALIEN IN MY POCKET series continues the saga of Zack, Olivia, and the little blue alien Amp with action, plans gone awry, and drama. The pacing is swift, the chapters short enough to keep younger readers engaged without short-changing the plot, and the illustrations break...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     October 18, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Epic

This is a strong finish to the epic adventure that began with last year's REBOOT. As with REBOOT, the plot is relentless, the stakes are incredibly high, and the characters are worth investing in. The plot is full of twists and turns, alliances and mutiny, surprises and nail-biting...

Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     October 18, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Fun!

I love the Judy Moody series, and was very excited to see the spin-off of Judy Moody and Friends. This book is as lively and inviting as the original Judy Moody books, and readers will love Jessica's pig-themed bedroom and obsession with finding her birthday presents early so that she...

Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     October 18, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
5.0
Learning Value 
 
5.0

Enchanting

FAIRIES delivers exactly what it promises to deliver--a thorough resources on fairies and the folklore surrounding them across the globe. Part One examines fairy characteristics, behavior, relationships with humans, and fairy tales. Part Two looks at fairy folklore from a variety of cultures. The wealth of fascinating information is beautifully...

Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     October 16, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Delightful

In this quirky, fun tale of Churchill the pig's quest to find a new tail when his goes missing, a heartwarming lesson is hidden within enticing artwork and a delightful quest. Young readers will laugh as Churchill tries on all kinds of different tails. The artwork is designed to draw...

Kids Fiction
Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     October 16, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Spooky Fun

What I Loved: Creepy creatures and a spooky old house with secrets provide the vehicle for a heartwarming story of three siblings who learn to stop fighting and start working together as a team. The initial tension and fighting between the siblings is entirely realistic, especially given the recent...

Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     October 15, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Gorgeous Illustrations

The cover, the illustrations, and the way the art draws the reader from page to page are definitely the selling points of this book. My four year old was immediately captivated by the artwork. It's colorful and playful in keeping with the tone of the story. The story...

Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     October 15, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Heartwarming

In this lovely, heartwarming story, little Gray wonders what would happen if he grew up and his mother grew down. He lists all the things he'd do to take care of her the way she takes care of him. The story is sweet and moving, the illustrations reflect the gentle,...

Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     October 15, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
5.0
Learning Value 
 
5.0

Delightful

I read this book to my four year old daughter, and she absolutely loved it. Each page has a simple sentence about birds (The sentence is given in both English and Spanish, which is great for bilingual families or families who love to expose their children to other languages.), a...

397 results - showing 1 - 15
« 1 2 3 4 5 ... 27 » 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)