Reviews written by CJ Redwine, Editor

400 results - showing 1 - 15
« 1 2 3 4 5 ... 27 » 
 
Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     March 05, 2015
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Action, Intrigue, and Magic, Oh My!

What I Loved: THE ORPHAN QUEEN is a compelling, action-packed fantasy adventure full of vigilante shenanigans, secret identities, palace intrigue, and magic that frankly terrified me once I realized what was going on. From the first page, the reader is thrust into the action, and the story remains relentlessly...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     March 03, 2015
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Interesting Premise

What I Loved: The premise of THE LAST ACADEMY and the plot twists that keep the reader guessing are fascinating. The reader is constantly off-balance, constantly trying to figure out what is going on beneath the surface of the academy. There is a pervasive sense of wrongness...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     March 03, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Creepy & Suspenseful

What I Loved: The tense, atmospheric tone of FIND ME makes for a compulsively readable story. The suspense never relents, and as more questions are raised and the villain circles near, it's almost painful to keep reading because the reader is convinced that Wick is destined for a terrible...

Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     November 12, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

An Epic Conclusion

In this action-packed conclusion, Cordova brings her fantastic trilogy to its full potential. True to the other books in the series, THE VAST AND BRUTAL SEA is full of compelling mythology, fascinating plot twists, heartbreaking betrayal, and funny moments. Romance, friendship, family, loyalty, and the lengths a person will go...

Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     November 12, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

A Stunning Debut

THE GIRL FROM THE WELL is a triumph of a debut novel. Steeped in Japanese culture and mythology, fraught with atmosphere and tension, this unusual story is told from the perspective of a vengeful ghost whose narrative is at once compelling, heartbreaking, and compulsively entertaining. It's hard to...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     November 10, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Riveting

Gorgeously atmospheric, lyrical and fraught with tension, BEWARE THE WILD is a stunning debut. Fans of southern Gothic will want to drop everything and go buy this book. The setting, as much a character in the book as the characters themselves, is steeped in authentic Louisiana culture, and the tired...

Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     November 01, 2014
Last updated: November 01, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Relentless & Fascinating

What I Loved: Relentless action is the hallmark of this second installment in THE VICIOUS DEEP trilogy. From the first chapter, the reader is thrust into Tristan's high stakes world of mythological creatures, monsters, secrets, and a race for the trident that will test every character's limits. The danger...

Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     November 01, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Charming

Rocky Zang in the Amazing Mr. Magic is yet another charming installment in the Judy Moody and Friends series. Independent readers will devour this book, which uses kid friendly humor and bright, engaging illustrations to further draw in the reader. The children in this series are very authentic and relatable...

Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     October 22, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Sweet

In this follow up to Ms. Lobel's 10 HUNGRY RABBITS, Mama Rabbit becomes ill and must rest in bed while Papa Rabbit leaves to get medicine for her. Her ten little rabbits decide to take it upon themselves to do things to make her feel better. They bring her hot...

Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     October 20, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Action-packed Fun

The third installment in the ALIEN IN MY POCKET series continues the saga of Zack, Olivia, and the little blue alien Amp with action, plans gone awry, and drama. The pacing is swift, the chapters short enough to keep younger readers engaged without short-changing the plot, and the illustrations break...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     October 18, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Epic

This is a strong finish to the epic adventure that began with last year's REBOOT. As with REBOOT, the plot is relentless, the stakes are incredibly high, and the characters are worth investing in. The plot is full of twists and turns, alliances and mutiny, surprises and nail-biting...

Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     October 18, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Fun!

I love the Judy Moody series, and was very excited to see the spin-off of Judy Moody and Friends. This book is as lively and inviting as the original Judy Moody books, and readers will love Jessica's pig-themed bedroom and obsession with finding her birthday presents early so that she...

Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     October 18, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
5.0
Learning Value 
 
5.0

Enchanting

FAIRIES delivers exactly what it promises to deliver--a thorough resources on fairies and the folklore surrounding them across the globe. Part One examines fairy characteristics, behavior, relationships with humans, and fairy tales. Part Two looks at fairy folklore from a variety of cultures. The wealth of fascinating information is beautifully...

Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     October 16, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Delightful

In this quirky, fun tale of Churchill the pig's quest to find a new tail when his goes missing, a heartwarming lesson is hidden within enticing artwork and a delightful quest. Young readers will laugh as Churchill tries on all kinds of different tails. The artwork is designed to draw...

Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor     October 16, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Spooky Fun

What I Loved: Creepy creatures and a spooky old house with secrets provide the vehicle for a heartwarming story of three siblings who learn to stop fighting and start working together as a team. The initial tension and fighting between the siblings is entirely realistic, especially given the recent...

400 results - showing 1 - 15
« 1 2 3 4 5 ... 27 » 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Young Adult Indie
At fourteen, Catrina MacGreagor was left to care for her nine siblings after her mother passed. She didn't truly mind,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
New York Times Bestseller * Indie List Bestseller * Soon to be a Film from Universal Pictures * A Barnes...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dear Mr. S. Harris, Ignore the blob of red in the top left corner. It's jam, not blood, though I...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
At not quite fifteen, Stefan's father finally let him board the longship, Sja Vinna, to take part in his first...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Gayle Forman, Every Last Promise is a provocative and emotional novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
What if, after spending a lifetime deceiving everyone around you, you discovered the biggest lies were the ones you've told...
 
0.0
 
3.3 (1)
In the explosive conclusion to the thrilling Revolution 19 series, the time has come to win the cities back from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Darcy Covington never had to worry about money or where her next shopping spree was coming from. Even her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Reality is only an illusion. Except for those who can control it… Worst. Birthday. Ever. My first boyfriend dumped me—happy...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
5-to-1-cover-small.jpg
In the year 2054, after decades of gender selection, India now has a ratio of five boys for every girl,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wren Noble is dead—she was born that way. Vibrant, unlike other dead things, she craves those rare moments when her...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Macy Jones is a perfect student, popular teenager, and utterly miserable. This all changes once her father is arrested and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ned and his identical twin brother tumble from their raft into a raging, bewitched river, only Ned survives. Villagers...
 
5.0
 
4.0 (1)
In Marla Klein and Ivy Wilde’s world, teens are the gatekeepers of culture. A top fashion label employs sixteen-year-old...
 
0.0
 
3.3 (1)
the hidden princess.jpg
One destiny rules two worlds in this gripping fantasy thriller. For five years, the Gateway has been closed and Hidden...
 
0.0
 
3.7 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
When Aidan and Maggie find a fairy cross while rock-hunting with their grandfather, it's just an oddity. But when they...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this unforgettable teen romance that fans of Sarah Dessen and Susane Colasanti will devour, Quinn Sullivan falls for the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A powerful and gripping contemporary YA from the author of I'm Not Her that's "Just right for fans of Sarah...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins is sassier than ever in this page-turning follow up to Rebel Belle, perfect...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)