Reviews written by Selina Xu

5 results - showing 1 - 5  
 
 
Young Adult Fiction
Selina XuSelina Xu   March 22, 2012
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Do You Remember At All?

This is a wonderful book for a debut author. Remembrance has a promising concept of reincarnation which I've seen, but the plot was a bit of a disappointment. The storyline was rather flat, focusing more on the characters' school lives rather than their previous reincarnations in the...

Young Adult Fiction
Selina XuSelina Xu   March 22, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Fire Fire

To be frank, I wasn't so keen on this book at first. After all, I hate tragedies, and doomed love seems to say it all. But wait! Will & Jacinda's romance is far from heart-wrenching & teary-- It's simply breathtaking! How ancient creatures cross paths with modern day...

Young Adult Fiction
Selina XuSelina Xu   March 22, 2012
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
2.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Disappointing

This was a book that I just could not focus on. Imagine. God, I had to skip the first ten or so pages until I chanced upon a remotely exciting character, Sam. Yet, here comes another boring male lead who heroically saves a girl, falls in love, performs kind...

Selina XuSelina Xu   March 22, 2012
(Updated: July 14, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

A Swashbuckling Romance

Gaudy. Outrageous. Hilarious. Foolish. Dazzling. Piratica is a swashbuckling adventure, an over-the-top comedy, and of course, an unforgettable love story. It's been long since I last described a novel as a blockbuster. Piratica is one, just like one of my top books of 2011,...

Young Adult Fiction
Selina XuSelina Xu   March 22, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

The Dystopian of the Year 2011

Initially, after all the hype buzzing around Divergent, I thought it might be another disappointment. But, I was totally wrong! This is one of the rare books that I finish in one sitting. Divergent does not kick off with a promising first chapter. The explanation for each of...

5 results - showing 1 - 5  
 
 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

 

   

   

  

Latest Book Listings Added

Goose on a Farm
When Sophie and Goose go on a class trip to...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Adrift: An Odd Couple of Polar Bears
Perfect for fans of Goodnight, Already! and You Will Be...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bob and Joss Get Lost
Perfect for fans of I’m Bored, Bob and Joss Get...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tugboat Bill and the River Rescue
Fans of Little Tug and Chugga-Chugga Choo-Choo will love this...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Charlie Piechart and the Case of the Missing Hat
Charlie Piechart’s second math mystery takes place at school—when a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fly Guy's Ninja Chistmas (Fly Guy #16)
In the new book in Tedd Arnold's New York Times...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
How to Keep a Boy from Kissing You
Executor of the Find a Prince Program™ and future...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Allegedly
Mary B. Addison killed a baby. Allegedly. She didn’t...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Avenged (Vanished #2)
Avenged is the conclusion to the Vanished duology, an...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Hard Count
Nico Medina’s world is eleven miles away from mine....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
City of Saints & Thieves
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo meets Gone Girl...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
RoseBlood
In this modern day spin on Leroux’s gothic tale...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fish Girl
The triple Caldecott winner David Wiesner brings his rich visual...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Macarons at Midnight
When Lise Santos stumbles into a bakery's midnight taste test,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
One Silver Summer
After losing her mom in an accident, Sass is sent...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Villain's Assistan
Secret designs and dark ambition have split the kingdom of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)