Reviews written by Selina Xu

5 results - showing 1 - 5  
 
 
Young Adult Fiction
Selina XuSelina Xu   March 22, 2012
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Do You Remember At All?

This is a wonderful book for a debut author. Remembrance has a promising concept of reincarnation which I've seen, but the plot was a bit of a disappointment. The storyline was rather flat, focusing more on the characters' school lives rather than their previous reincarnations in the...

Young Adult Fiction
Selina XuSelina Xu   March 22, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Fire Fire

To be frank, I wasn't so keen on this book at first. After all, I hate tragedies, and doomed love seems to say it all. But wait! Will & Jacinda's romance is far from heart-wrenching & teary-- It's simply breathtaking! How ancient creatures cross paths with modern day...

Young Adult Fiction
Selina XuSelina Xu   March 22, 2012
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
2.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Disappointing

This was a book that I just could not focus on. Imagine. God, I had to skip the first ten or so pages until I chanced upon a remotely exciting character, Sam. Yet, here comes another boring male lead who heroically saves a girl, falls in love, performs kind...

Selina XuSelina Xu   March 22, 2012
(Updated: July 14, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

A Swashbuckling Romance

Gaudy. Outrageous. Hilarious. Foolish. Dazzling. Piratica is a swashbuckling adventure, an over-the-top comedy, and of course, an unforgettable love story. It's been long since I last described a novel as a blockbuster. Piratica is one, just like one of my top books of 2011,...

Young Adult Fiction
Selina XuSelina Xu   March 22, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

The Dystopian of the Year 2011

Initially, after all the hype buzzing around Divergent, I thought it might be another disappointment. But, I was totally wrong! This is one of the rare books that I finish in one sitting. Divergent does not kick off with a promising first chapter. The explanation for each of...

5 results - showing 1 - 5  
 
 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Starflight
Solara Brooks needs a fresh start, someplace where nobody cares...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
summer marked.jpg
Fresh off a break-up with her boyfriend, Kadie's glad to...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)