Reviews written by Sara H.

4 results - showing 1 - 4  
 
Ordering 
 
Young Adult Fiction
Sara H.Sara H.   March 20, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Full of lust and mystery. A page turner, I must admit.

When I picked up this book, I truly had no idea how intense it would be. Filled with lust, envy, mystery, and jealousy, this book sucked me into its web of drama at Manderley Academy. First of all, let me clarify that this book takes place...

Young Adult Fiction
Sara H.Sara H.   March 20, 2012
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Dark, twisted plot with perfect Titanic backdrop!

Set with a backdrop of the RMS Titanic, I knew that this would be a mesmerizing read. I've always had a keen interest in the history of the Titanic, and seeing that with an added paranormal element made it so much more enticing. Tess is a ladies...

Young Adult Fiction
Sara H.Sara H.   March 20, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Lovely and Dark twist on the acclaimed classic novel!

I have The Picture of Dorian Gray sitting on my shelf and I have yet to read it. Having read Darker Still, I must pick it up soon! I adored the similarity to the Oscar Wilde classic. Usually, I don't prefer books written in diary form, but this one is...

Young Adult Fiction
Sara H.Sara H.   March 20, 2012
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Gripping and utterly realistic. It will stay with me for a long time.

When I finally opened this book, I didn't know what to expect. I was blown away. There wasn't a moment when I wasn't giving Looking for Alaska my full, undivided attention. Attending Culver Creek was the best thing to happen to Miles. He was...

4 results - showing 1 - 4  
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Worst Fairy Godmother Ever!
Q: What do you need to become a great fairy...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drum Roll, Please
Find the confidence to rock out to your own beat...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everless (Everless #1)
In the kingdom of Sempera, time is currency—extracted from blood,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lifeline
Popular high school senior Eli Ross has the perfect life....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Would you risk it all for love? A high-ranking official’s...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kristen McDonald has dreamed of being crowned prom queen for...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
FRANKIE FRETINI has had a horrible year. And, just when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jackson and Samantha live modestly in a small apartment in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Eye of Midnight
 
5.0
"Straitlaced Maxine and the impish Will come together in this nostalgic action adventure that will appeal to parents and children..."
Flora and Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures
 
4.5
"Reading FLORA AND ULYSSES by Kate DiCamillo was an absolute joy. Children’s books are usually full of everything that’s normally..."
Jane, the Fox & Me
 
5.0
"This was not at all what I expected. I discovered a story about self-esteem, and bullying, and cruelty...."
The Boy on the Porch
 
4.0
"The Boy on the Porch is a beautiful story about family and love. It feels like a fable in the..."
Red Shirt Kids
 
5.0
"Your upper grade school child will be totally enthralled while reading this magical, mystery adventure novel! Not only will they..."
Mermin
 
3.5
"This was certainly meant for younger readers! It had a cutesy feel to it, but it was still fun to..."
Heart of Stone (Verity Gallant Tales)
 
5.0
"This is the epitome of middle grade fantasy, if you ask me. Set in the most perfect seaside, cliff-dotted town,..."
Eighth Grade Is Making Me Sick: Ginny Davis's Year in Stuff
 
4.0
"On a whim, I checked out MIDDLE SCHOOL IS WORSE THAN MEATLOAF from the school library. It disappeared from my..."
Laugh with the Moon
 
4.0
"Thirteen-year-old Clare Silver's world has been turned upside down: her mother recently passed away and her father moved them to..."
The Strange Case of Origami Yoda (Origami Yoda #1)
 
5.0
"Holy Han Solo, I can’t believe I missed Star Wars Reads Day! In belated honor of the day, I checked..."
Big Splash! (The Grunt and the Grouch)
 
5.0
"This is just the kind of book kids love. Two trolls, Grunty and Grouchy, live together in the most disgusting..."
The Princess Trap
 
3.0
"It’s been a year since Princess Jenna learned that she was royalty and had her world turned upside down. Unfortunately,..."
The Secret Tree
 
5.0
"Yup, I judged a book by it's cover. Not badly, mind you, but I wanted to read this book strictly..."
Oddfellow's Orphanage
 
4.5
"ODDFELLOW'S ORPHANAGE is a charming, magical little book with the same kind of lyrical, otherworldly quality as the Series of..."
Mason Dixon: Fourth-Grade Disasters
 
3.0
"Mason is leery of starting fourth grade-- not only does it mean being away from Dog, whom he has come..."
Jasper John Dooley: Star of the Week
 
5.0
"Jasper John Dooley can't wait to be the Star of the Week at school. He gets to star in a..."
School. Hasn't This Gone on Long Enough? (Dear Dumb Diary #13)
 
4.0
"Jamie Kelly might be my middle school alter ego, and not just because of our last names. She hates math,..."
Vive Le Paris
 
5.0
"Esme Raji Codell's writing makes you feel good. She has the ear of a teacher who has sat in the..."
Nerd Camp (Nerd Camp #1)
 
5.0
"There's never been a better time to be a nerd. Computer geeks run the world, math rock is a thing,..."
The Strange Case of Origami Yoda (Origami Yoda #1)
 
5.0
"Put down whatever you're reading and pick up THE STRANGE CASE OF ORIGAMI YODA, the most delightful middle grade novel..."