Reviews written by Erica

192 results - showing 61 - 75  
« 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... »  
Ordering 
 
EricaErica   December 30, 2012
(Updated: December 30, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Beautiful Writing and a Neat Blend of Genres

I love afterlife stories. They all are so unique and vastly different from one another, but Level 2 by Lenore Appelhans is by far the most unique of them all. Basically we need to just talk about how incredibly awesome Level 2 was. Lenore Appelhans prose is...

Kids Fiction
EricaErica   December 30, 2012
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
2.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

A Bit Lackluster

Stranded by Jeff Probst was an interesting read. The premise was interesting but how the story carried out was not enough to fully capture my attention and make me fall in love with this survival novel. While Jeff Probst is trying to portray the stakes as high,...

Young Adult Fiction
EricaErica   December 26, 2012
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Amazing. Just Fantastic. An All Time Favorite

Brightly Woven is a stay-up-reading-late-into-the-night worthy book! I was up half the night reading it, as I couldn’t stand to put down the perfection Brightly Woven is. It is one of my absolute favorites! Some fantasy can be overbearing, but Brightly Woven was a perfect mix of...

Young Adult Fiction
EricaErica   December 26, 2012
(Updated: January 08, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

A Decent Read

Then You Were Gone by Lauren Strasnick was a really intense read. Yet, I never connected to it on a deeper level, so I merely skimmed along the story taking everything in while never fully committing. Lauren Strasnick has such gorgeous prose. I love her ability...

Young Adult Fiction
EricaErica   December 26, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Action Packed to the Brim

Jennifer Rush has written a thrilling debut with a perfect blend of sci-fi and mystery. It was different from what I was expecting in a way that just worked. Altered was such a great read. The plot is absolutely addicting and is completely action pact! It...

Young Adult Fiction
EricaErica   December 24, 2012
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

An All Time Favorite

Oh my gosh - Tempest is definitely one of the best books of the year. I was entranced from page one and did not want to put it down until I finished. Julie Cross takes a unique perspective on time travel, and it was so much fun to read. ...

Young Adult Fiction
EricaErica   December 24, 2012
(Updated: December 24, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Just As Awesome As the First

Vortex by Julie Cross, how do I begin to explain this one? It was good yes. It was better than good. It was just awesome. The stakes are even higher in Vortex and it is a completely engrossing story that will captivate you until the very last page. ...

EricaErica   December 22, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

A Satisfying Conclusion to the Epic Trilogy

Aimee Carter really sealed the deal for this series for me with The Goddess Inheritance. I've liked the trilogy all along, but it had its wish-washy moments for me. With The Goddess Inheritance, Aimee Carter really pulled out all the stops and came up with a worthy ending to this...

EricaErica   December 13, 2012
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Awesome from the Start!

It has been awhile since a book has hooked me as fast as The Vincent Boys by Abbi Glines did for me.The story is enticing and sweet the entire way through. I fell in love with the characters in The Vincent Boys and did not want to let them go...

Young Adult Fiction
EricaErica   December 06, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

A Promising Debut

Undeadly by Michele Vail was a very promising debut! With its fresh ideas and lovely writing, it was a book that really captivated me. While there were a few things I wasn’t as keen on, overall, it was a pretty great read. The zombies in this book...

Young Adult Fiction
EricaErica   November 23, 2012
(Updated: November 23, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Intriguing Concept

Here's the thing about Inbetween by Tara Fuller, I didn't dislike it, but I didn't really love it either. I finished the book feeling pretty indifferent about the entirety of the book, not becoming emotionally attached or invested to the characters or the story at all. ...

Young Adult Fiction
EricaErica   November 22, 2012
(Updated: November 22, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Not What I Was Expecting

Despite all the praises I had heard for Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan, I found that it was rather lackluster for me. The plot merely dragged along, there was a lot of pages that could have been caught up, and I failed to develop an interest in the storyline and...

Young Adult Indie
EricaErica   November 22, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
N/A

A Great Read

I am really loving the new adult genre. It is fresh and new and I just love how many different tales there are to tell about college aged people. Easy by Tammara Webber was a fast paced book that tells an important story. Easy deals with...

EricaErica   November 21, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

A Cute Start

I love me a good middle grade and The Tell-Tale Start by Gordon McAlpine is as good as they come. It was quirky, fun, and one heck of a tale. I had so much fun reading The Tell-Tale Start! The adventures of Edgar and Allan...

EricaErica   October 22, 2012
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Cute Start to a Series

Darynda Jones has written a thrilling, fun tale with a whole new take on folklore and mythology of the supernatural. With it's hodgepodge bundle of paranormals, I loved reading this fun book and seeing what was in store for all the characters. From the moment I...

192 results - showing 61 - 75  
« 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... »  
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
Hundreds of laugh-out-loud jokes featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
Why does Squishy have to share everything with her new...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wood
After her father goes missing in the woods that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
release.jpg
nspired by Judy Blume’s Forever and Virginia Woolf’s Mrs....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Words on Bathroom Walls
Adam has just been diagnosed with schizophrenia. He sees...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Together at Midnight
 
3.3
"A cute and bittersweet story of young love at the wrong time. The story: Kendall has just returned..."
The Thousandth Floor
 
4.0
"Everything about this book is so glamorous, dramatic, and intriguing. Right down to that stunning cover. Katharine McGee..."
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
 
3.3
"It took me a long time to finish Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, but overall, this book turned out to..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
5.0
"I finally got a chance to sit down and read this one and I was not disappointed. It definitely..."
The Girl in the Tower
 
4.7
"This follow up to The Bear and the Nightingale is just as stunning as its predecessor. We met Vasya as..."
When Dimple Met Rishi
 
3.3
"A contemporary YA romance—heavy on the romance—with an Indian-American take on the attraction of opposites. The story is told..."
It's Not Me, It's You
 
3.7
"'It's Not Me, It's You' by Stephanie Kate Strohm provides a unique and somewhat irregular look into the dynamics of..."
You're Weird: A Creative Journal for Misfits, Oddballs, and Anyone Else Who's Uniquely Awesome
 
5.0
"'You're Weird: A Creative Journal for Misfits, Oddballs, and Anyone Else Who's Uniquely Awesome' by Kate Peterson will allow anyone..."
The Riddle (Pellinor #2)
 
4.7
"THE RIDDLE by Alison Croggon is the second in the author's Pellinor series, and it picks up right where book..."
A Taxonomy of Love
 
3.3
"A story of love that spans a childhood. The story: Spencer is a lonely boy with Tourette's when he..."
The Selection Coloring Book
 
4.0
"Selection fans get excited! THE SELECTION COLORING BOOK, based on the series by Kiera Cass, is getting ready to celebrate..."
The Memory of Things
 
4.0
"When I first found out that THE MEMORY OF THINGS by Gae Polisner was set in the immediate days following..."
Mean Girls
 
4.0
"MEAN GIRLS (2004), the cult film phenomenon starring Lindsay Lohan, Rachel McAdams, Amanda Seyfried, and Tina Fey, is now a..."
Dune (Dune Chronicles #1)
 
5.0
"Its a classic. Not much more I can add."
On A LARP
 
3.3
"In ON A LARP, Sid is known to be a hacker after a past school prank, and she's a good..."
Code Name Verity
 
4.3
"The year is 1943. The setting locations are England, and Nazi-occupied France. The book is told in a..."
Good and Gone
 
3.7
"Road tripping with a purpose, Good and Bad is a journey, the reader won't soon forget. Lexi's brother,..."
Glow
 
5.0
"'There's a certain kind of light that I should have been afraid of all along.' Radium was discovered..."
Release
 
4.0
"Wildly original--and completely realistic--Release is a whirlwind of a tale, one that will leave you both completely confused, yet satiated...."
Stolen Secrets
 
4.3
"What worked: This is an amazing tale with an unique twist on the holocaust and the survivors. What I really..."