Reviews written by Erica

192 results - showing 61 - 75
« 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... 13 » 
 
Reviewed by Erica     December 30, 2012
Last updated: December 30, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Beautiful Writing and a Neat Blend of Genres

I love afterlife stories. They all are so unique and vastly different from one another, but Level 2 by Lenore Appelhans is by far the most unique of them all. Basically we need to just talk about how incredibly awesome Level 2 was. Lenore Appelhans prose is just gorgeous....

Kids Fiction
Reviewed by Erica     December 30, 2012
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
2.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

A Bit Lackluster

Stranded by Jeff Probst was an interesting read. The premise was interesting but how the story carried out was not enough to fully capture my attention and make me fall in love with this survival novel. While Jeff Probst is trying to portray the stakes as high, that is...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Erica     December 26, 2012
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Amazing. Just Fantastic. An All Time Favorite

Brightly Woven is a stay-up-reading-late-into-the-night worthy book! I was up half the night reading it, as I couldn’t stand to put down the perfection Brightly Woven is. It is one of my absolute favorites! Some fantasy can be overbearing, but Brightly Woven was a perfect mix of everything a...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Erica     December 26, 2012
Last updated: January 08, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

A Decent Read

Then You Were Gone by Lauren Strasnick was a really intense read. Yet, I never connected to it on a deeper level, so I merely skimmed along the story taking everything in while never fully committing. Lauren Strasnick has such gorgeous prose. I love her ability at story...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Erica     December 26, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Action Packed to the Brim

Jennifer Rush has written a thrilling debut with a perfect blend of sci-fi and mystery. It was different from what I was expecting in a way that just worked. Altered was such a great read. The plot is absolutely addicting and is completely action pact! It is great...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Erica     December 25, 2012
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

An All Time Favorite

Oh my gosh - Tempest is definitely one of the best books of the year. I was entranced from page one and did not want to put it down until I finished. Julie Cross takes a unique perspective on time travel, and it was so much fun to read. ...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Erica     December 25, 2012
Last updated: December 25, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Just As Awesome As the First

Vortex by Julie Cross, how do I begin to explain this one? It was good yes. It was better than good. It was just awesome. The stakes are even higher in Vortex and it is a completely engrossing story that will captivate you until the very last page. This...

Reviewed by Erica     December 22, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

A Satisfying Conclusion to the Epic Trilogy

Aimee Carter really sealed the deal for this series for me with The Goddess Inheritance. I've liked the trilogy all along, but it had its wish-washy moments for me. With The Goddess Inheritance, Aimee Carter really pulled out all the stops and came up with a worthy ending to this...

Reviewed by Erica     December 13, 2012
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Awesome from the Start!

It has been awhile since a book has hooked me as fast as The Vincent Boys by Abbi Glines did for me.The story is enticing and sweet the entire way through. I fell in love with the characters in The Vincent Boys and did not want to let them go...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Erica     December 06, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

A Promising Debut

Undeadly by Michele Vail was a very promising debut! With its fresh ideas and lovely writing, it was a book that really captivated me. While there were a few things I wasn’t as keen on, overall, it was a pretty great read. The zombies in this book are very...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Erica     November 23, 2012
Last updated: November 23, 2012
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Intriguing Concept

Here's the thing about Inbetween by Tara Fuller, I didn't dislike it, but I didn't really love it either. I finished the book feeling pretty indifferent about the entirety of the book, not becoming emotionally attached or invested to the characters or the story at all. I need...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Erica     November 22, 2012
Last updated: November 22, 2012
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Not What I Was Expecting

Despite all the praises I had heard for Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan, I found that it was rather lackluster for me. The plot merely dragged along, there was a lot of pages that could have been caught up, and I failed to develop an interest in the storyline and...

Young Adult Indie
Reviewed by Erica     November 22, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
N/A

A Great Read

I am really loving the new adult genre. It is fresh and new and I just love how many different tales there are to tell about college aged people. Easy by Tammara Webber was a fast paced book that tells an important story. Easy deals with a topic...

Reviewed by Erica     November 21, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

A Cute Start

I love me a good middle grade and The Tell-Tale Start by Gordon McAlpine is as good as they come. It was quirky, fun, and one heck of a tale. I had so much fun reading The Tell-Tale Start! The adventures of Edgar and Allan were too...

Reviewed by Erica     October 22, 2012
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Cute Start to a Series

Darynda Jones has written a thrilling, fun tale with a whole new take on folklore and mythology of the supernatural. With it's hodgepodge bundle of paranormals, I loved reading this fun book and seeing what was in store for all the characters. From the moment I had heard...

192 results - showing 61 - 75
« 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... 13 » 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
This charming story about the summer three California sisters spend on Cape Cod is perfect for fans of The Penderwicks...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
One
Tippi and Grace. Grace and Tippi. For them, it's normal to step into the same skirt. To hook their arms...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Josh Chester loves being a Hollywood bad boy, coasting on his good looks, his parties, his parents' wealth, and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After almost a year in Japan, Katie Greene has finally unearthed the terrible secret behind her boyfriend Tomohiro's deadly ability...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Paint a mural. Start a battle. Change the world. Sierra Santiago planned an easy summer of making art and hanging...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Lexi Shaw seduced Oakfield High's resident bad boy Tyler Flynn at the beginning of senior year, he seemed perfectly...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“Do not ignore a call from me when you know I am feeling neurotic about a boy. That is Best...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Summer has finally arrived and fifteen-year-old Harper McCallister intends to spend her days at the mall shopping or by the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
chain reactions.jpg
Category: Kids Nonfiction
LEGO Chain Reactions is packed full of ideas, instructions, and inspiration for 10 LEGO machines that spin, swing, pivot, roll,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Nonfiction
They've toured with One Direction and scored international super-hits in more than 50 countries across the globe but 5 Seconds...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Princess Pinecone knows exactly what she wants for her birthday this year. A BIG horse. A STRONG horse. A horse...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Summer, 1989: Sixteen-year-old Dionne Braithwaite and her younger sister Phaedra have just arrived in Bird Hill in Barbados. Sent from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“I thrust my hand toward the sky as my voice begs the Elemental inside me to waken and rise. But...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the vein of Laurie Halse Anderson's Wintergirls, this emotionally haunting and beautifully written young adult debut delves into the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The second book in the gripping Wanted series, this Western revenge epic is a must-read for teen readers who are...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
As the first book in the new young-adult series Wanted, Grace and the Guiltless is an edge-of-your-seat, gripping thrill ride....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Becoming Darkness is a dark, action-filled tale set in an alternate twenty-first century in which Hitler won World War II,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
For decades, Sami has kept the key to the geniean and human races hidden. She is used to a life...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
From New York Times bestselling author and former NFL player Tim Green comes a riveting new stand-alone football novel. When...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Joel Ross debuts a thrilling adventure series in which living in the sky is the new reality and a few...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)