Reviews written by Erica, Editor

192 results - showing 61 - 75
« 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... 13 » 
 
Reviewed by Erica, Editor     December 30, 2012
Last updated: December 30, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Beautiful Writing and a Neat Blend of Genres

I love afterlife stories. They all are so unique and vastly different from one another, but Level 2 by Lenore Appelhans is by far the most unique of them all. Basically we need to just talk about how incredibly awesome Level 2 was. Lenore Appelhans prose is just gorgeous....

Kids Fiction
Reviewed by Erica, Editor     December 30, 2012
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
2.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

A Bit Lackluster

Stranded by Jeff Probst was an interesting read. The premise was interesting but how the story carried out was not enough to fully capture my attention and make me fall in love with this survival novel. While Jeff Probst is trying to portray the stakes as high, that is...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Erica, Editor     December 26, 2012
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Amazing. Just Fantastic. An All Time Favorite

Brightly Woven is a stay-up-reading-late-into-the-night worthy book! I was up half the night reading it, as I couldn’t stand to put down the perfection Brightly Woven is. It is one of my absolute favorites! Some fantasy can be overbearing, but Brightly Woven was a perfect mix of everything a...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Erica, Editor     December 26, 2012
Last updated: January 08, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

A Decent Read

Then You Were Gone by Lauren Strasnick was a really intense read. Yet, I never connected to it on a deeper level, so I merely skimmed along the story taking everything in while never fully committing. Lauren Strasnick has such gorgeous prose. I love her ability at story...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Erica, Editor     December 26, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Action Packed to the Brim

Jennifer Rush has written a thrilling debut with a perfect blend of sci-fi and mystery. It was different from what I was expecting in a way that just worked. Altered was such a great read. The plot is absolutely addicting and is completely action pact! It is great...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Erica, Editor     December 24, 2012
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

An All Time Favorite

Oh my gosh - Tempest is definitely one of the best books of the year. I was entranced from page one and did not want to put it down until I finished. Julie Cross takes a unique perspective on time travel, and it was so much fun to read. ...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Erica, Editor     December 24, 2012
Last updated: December 24, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Just As Awesome As the First

Vortex by Julie Cross, how do I begin to explain this one? It was good yes. It was better than good. It was just awesome. The stakes are even higher in Vortex and it is a completely engrossing story that will captivate you until the very last page. This...

Reviewed by Erica, Editor     December 22, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

A Satisfying Conclusion to the Epic Trilogy

Aimee Carter really sealed the deal for this series for me with The Goddess Inheritance. I've liked the trilogy all along, but it had its wish-washy moments for me. With The Goddess Inheritance, Aimee Carter really pulled out all the stops and came up with a worthy ending to this...

Reviewed by Erica, Editor     December 13, 2012
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Awesome from the Start!

It has been awhile since a book has hooked me as fast as The Vincent Boys by Abbi Glines did for me.The story is enticing and sweet the entire way through. I fell in love with the characters in The Vincent Boys and did not want to let them go...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Erica, Editor     December 06, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

A Promising Debut

Undeadly by Michele Vail was a very promising debut! With its fresh ideas and lovely writing, it was a book that really captivated me. While there were a few things I wasn’t as keen on, overall, it was a pretty great read. The zombies in this book are very...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Erica, Editor     November 23, 2012
Last updated: November 23, 2012
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Intriguing Concept

Here's the thing about Inbetween by Tara Fuller, I didn't dislike it, but I didn't really love it either. I finished the book feeling pretty indifferent about the entirety of the book, not becoming emotionally attached or invested to the characters or the story at all. I need...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Erica, Editor     November 22, 2012
Last updated: November 22, 2012
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Not What I Was Expecting

Despite all the praises I had heard for Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan, I found that it was rather lackluster for me. The plot merely dragged along, there was a lot of pages that could have been caught up, and I failed to develop an interest in the storyline and...

Young Adult Indie
Reviewed by Erica, Editor     November 22, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
N/A

A Great Read

I am really loving the new adult genre. It is fresh and new and I just love how many different tales there are to tell about college aged people. Easy by Tammara Webber was a fast paced book that tells an important story. Easy deals with a topic...

Reviewed by Erica, Editor     November 21, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

A Cute Start

I love me a good middle grade and The Tell-Tale Start by Gordon McAlpine is as good as they come. It was quirky, fun, and one heck of a tale. I had so much fun reading The Tell-Tale Start! The adventures of Edgar and Allan were too...

Reviewed by Erica, Editor     October 21, 2012
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Cute Start to a Series

Darynda Jones has written a thrilling, fun tale with a whole new take on folklore and mythology of the supernatural. With it's hodgepodge bundle of paranormals, I loved reading this fun book and seeing what was in store for all the characters. From the moment I had heard...

192 results - showing 61 - 75
« 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... 13 » 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)