Reviews written by Erica, Editor

192 results - showing 61 - 75
« 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... 13 » 
 
Reviewed by Erica, Editor     December 30, 2012
Last updated: December 30, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Beautiful Writing and a Neat Blend of Genres

I love afterlife stories. They all are so unique and vastly different from one another, but Level 2 by Lenore Appelhans is by far the most unique of them all. Basically we need to just talk about how incredibly awesome Level 2 was. Lenore Appelhans prose is just gorgeous....

Kids Fiction
Reviewed by Erica, Editor     December 30, 2012
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
2.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

A Bit Lackluster

Stranded by Jeff Probst was an interesting read. The premise was interesting but how the story carried out was not enough to fully capture my attention and make me fall in love with this survival novel. While Jeff Probst is trying to portray the stakes as high, that is...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Erica, Editor     December 26, 2012
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Amazing. Just Fantastic. An All Time Favorite

Brightly Woven is a stay-up-reading-late-into-the-night worthy book! I was up half the night reading it, as I couldn’t stand to put down the perfection Brightly Woven is. It is one of my absolute favorites! Some fantasy can be overbearing, but Brightly Woven was a perfect mix of everything a...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Erica, Editor     December 26, 2012
Last updated: January 08, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

A Decent Read

Then You Were Gone by Lauren Strasnick was a really intense read. Yet, I never connected to it on a deeper level, so I merely skimmed along the story taking everything in while never fully committing. Lauren Strasnick has such gorgeous prose. I love her ability at story...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Erica, Editor     December 26, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Action Packed to the Brim

Jennifer Rush has written a thrilling debut with a perfect blend of sci-fi and mystery. It was different from what I was expecting in a way that just worked. Altered was such a great read. The plot is absolutely addicting and is completely action pact! It is great...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Erica, Editor     December 24, 2012
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

An All Time Favorite

Oh my gosh - Tempest is definitely one of the best books of the year. I was entranced from page one and did not want to put it down until I finished. Julie Cross takes a unique perspective on time travel, and it was so much fun to read. ...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Erica, Editor     December 24, 2012
Last updated: December 24, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Just As Awesome As the First

Vortex by Julie Cross, how do I begin to explain this one? It was good yes. It was better than good. It was just awesome. The stakes are even higher in Vortex and it is a completely engrossing story that will captivate you until the very last page. This...

Reviewed by Erica, Editor     December 22, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

A Satisfying Conclusion to the Epic Trilogy

Aimee Carter really sealed the deal for this series for me with The Goddess Inheritance. I've liked the trilogy all along, but it had its wish-washy moments for me. With The Goddess Inheritance, Aimee Carter really pulled out all the stops and came up with a worthy ending to this...

Reviewed by Erica, Editor     December 13, 2012
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Awesome from the Start!

It has been awhile since a book has hooked me as fast as The Vincent Boys by Abbi Glines did for me.The story is enticing and sweet the entire way through. I fell in love with the characters in The Vincent Boys and did not want to let them go...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Erica, Editor     December 06, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

A Promising Debut

Undeadly by Michele Vail was a very promising debut! With its fresh ideas and lovely writing, it was a book that really captivated me. While there were a few things I wasn’t as keen on, overall, it was a pretty great read. The zombies in this book are very...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Erica, Editor     November 23, 2012
Last updated: November 23, 2012
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Intriguing Concept

Here's the thing about Inbetween by Tara Fuller, I didn't dislike it, but I didn't really love it either. I finished the book feeling pretty indifferent about the entirety of the book, not becoming emotionally attached or invested to the characters or the story at all. I need...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Erica, Editor     November 22, 2012
Last updated: November 22, 2012
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Not What I Was Expecting

Despite all the praises I had heard for Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan, I found that it was rather lackluster for me. The plot merely dragged along, there was a lot of pages that could have been caught up, and I failed to develop an interest in the storyline and...

Young Adult Indie
Reviewed by Erica, Editor     November 22, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
N/A

A Great Read

I am really loving the new adult genre. It is fresh and new and I just love how many different tales there are to tell about college aged people. Easy by Tammara Webber was a fast paced book that tells an important story. Easy deals with a topic...

Reviewed by Erica, Editor     November 21, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

A Cute Start

I love me a good middle grade and The Tell-Tale Start by Gordon McAlpine is as good as they come. It was quirky, fun, and one heck of a tale. I had so much fun reading The Tell-Tale Start! The adventures of Edgar and Allan were too...

Reviewed by Erica, Editor     October 21, 2012
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Cute Start to a Series

Darynda Jones has written a thrilling, fun tale with a whole new take on folklore and mythology of the supernatural. With it's hodgepodge bundle of paranormals, I loved reading this fun book and seeing what was in store for all the characters. From the moment I had heard...

192 results - showing 61 - 75
« 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... 13 » 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is not your average trip to Fairyland… Selkie Stewart has just saved her quasi-boyfriend, Ben, from a fairy prison...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)