Reviews written by Erica, Editor

192 results - showing 46 - 60
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 13 » 
 
Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Erica, Editor     March 09, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Unexpected and Refreshing

Oh my goodness, The Holders by Julianna Scott is a debut that is going to take the world by storm. If you are looking for a kick-ass heroine and some epic mythology wrapped up in a unique fantasy world, look no further! I loved Becca. She was such...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Erica, Editor     March 09, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Kiersten White = Way Awesome

Mind Games by Kiersten White, what to say, what to say? Kiersten White has simply done it again. Mind Games was everything I was hoping for and also so much more. Mind Games is so thrilling. Kiersten White explores a new territory with the idea of perfect instincts. The...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Erica, Editor     February 22, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

I Didn't Want to Put It Down!

Hysteria by Megan Miranda was a pretty good read. I started it, thinking I would only read just a few pages. Big mistake! Once I started, I was basically instantly hooked and all I wanted to do was just read it. It made concentrating on a huge term paper a...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Erica, Editor     January 18, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Loved It

Anna Banks doesn't waste a moment jumping right back into the action that was left interrupted at the brutal ending to Of Poseidon. Back with another witty tale, Anna Banks will take readers by storm with this excellent sequel to Of Poseidon. From the first page, things are intense...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Erica, Editor     January 18, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Simply Brilliant

Oh my goodness, Crewel is one of the most intense, fast paced books I think I've ever read. Gennifer Albin wastes no time and jumps right into the action. Instantly readers are swept up into the world of the Guild to build one of the most fantastic books I've read...

Reviewed by Erica, Editor     January 18, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

A Super Cute Read

I love Amanda Ashby's books. They are always so much fun and have a great story to tell. Wishful Thinking is no different. Sophie is a super fun main character who I am excited to follow throughout the rest of the trilogy. I love the liberties Amanda Ashby has...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Erica, Editor     January 17, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Amazing. Just Amazing.

Something Like Normal is one of those books that drew out all the feelings and was just so wonderful. When I read it, I had been in a slump where nothing was really keeping my attention. That all changed when I opened Something Like Normal. I was instantly drawn into...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Erica, Editor     January 12, 2013
Last updated: January 12, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Awesome and Even More Intriguing

While this series is still not held in quite the same esteem as the Vampire Academy series for me, The Golden Lily was pretty darn good. Richelle Mead really raises the stakes that ensures an epic adventure that Sydney and her crew will be a part of. A lot...

Reviewed by Erica, Editor     January 12, 2013
Last updated: January 12, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

A Simply Brilliant Ending

Holy macaroni! I was so nervous for this one. Last Sacrifice by Richelle Mead was the book I preordered, let sit on my shelf, longed to read but never did. I love this series so much, and I just didn't want to see it end. I should have long ago...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Erica, Editor     January 12, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Another Great Start to a Series from Richelle Mead

Bloodlines by Richelle Mead was an interesting read - it is so very different from the Vampire Academy series. At first it was a bit slower on the action, but the last third of the book completely makes up for the lack of action at the beginning. It was intense...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Erica, Editor     January 09, 2013
Last updated: January 09, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Beautiful. Realistic. And Touching.

Things I Can't Forget is very different from Miranda Kenneally's other books. This one spoke to me more than the other two: it was raw and real. I will admit I was a bit nervous about starting it. Had it not been a Miranda Kenneally book, there is a chance...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Erica, Editor     January 08, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Even Better Than the First

I enjoyed Brodi Ashton's debut, Everneath, but that one does not come near the brilliance of its sequel Everbound. It is thrilling, exciting, and completely unpredictable. Everbound is everything I was hoping for in a sequel to Everneath and more. Stunning, completely stunning. Every card was played just...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Erica, Editor     January 05, 2013
Last updated: January 05, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

A Stunning Debut

Hooked is exactly the right title for this one, because hooked is what I was from page one on. Liz Fichera has written a masterpiece about the troubles of high school, acceptance, and how to be yourself. Hooked is a complete story of opposites. There are essentially two different...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Erica, Editor     January 04, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

A Stunning Debut

Uses for Boys by Erica Lorraine Scheidt was a spectacular debut. I thoroughly enjoyed it and look forward to reading more from Erica Lorraine Scheidt in the future. I was not sure what I would think of this one - at first, the name scared me off a bit. Contemporaries...

Young Adult Fiction
Reviewed by Erica, Editor     January 03, 2013
Last updated: January 22, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Chilling, Thought Provoking, and Epic.

Mystery. Hot Boys. Intrigue. All wrapped up in a cool setting. What more do you need? The Archived was a stunning sophomore novel from Victoria Schwab. Eerie and intense, The Archived is one of the best books of the year. By page 3 I was already drawn...

192 results - showing 46 - 60
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 13 » 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)