The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Featured Review: The Afterward (E.K. Johnston)

36998181
About This Book: It has been a year since the mysterious godsgem cured Cadrium’s king and ushered in what promised to be a new golden age. The heroes who brought the gem home are renowned in story and song, but for two fellows on the quest, peace and prosperity do not...
Continue reading
  273 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Courting Darkness (Robin LaFevers)

37569347
About This Book: First in a duology, this darkly thrilling page-turner set in the world of the best-selling His Fair Assassin series is perfect for fans of THRONE OF GLASS, RED QUEEN, and GAME OF THRONES. Told in alternating perspectives, when Sybella discovers there is another trained assassin from St. Mortain’s...
Continue reading
  273 Hits
  0 Comment

What's Hot in KU

KU-Logo-2








Welcome to YA Books Central's "What's Hot in KU" post. This weekly event will highlight what's hot, new and exciting in the Amazon Kindle Unlimited Library.  Amazon's Kindle Unlimited subscription is a great way to enjoy unlimited reading on a tight budget. With over a million titles and counting, we thought...
Continue reading
  462 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Magical Creatures Academy 1: Night Shifter (Lucia Ashta)

44177883
About This Book: Rina Nelle Mont has never been a part of the paranormal world. Until now.  Well, maybe not. The Magical Creatures Academy only accepts supernaturals, and she’s been invited to the school, but she has none of the powers she’s supposed to. Blip. Nada. Not even a spark.  The...
Continue reading
  292 Hits
  0 Comment

Spotlight on 20 Recipes Kids Should Know (Esme Washburn/Calista Washburn), Plus Guest Post & Giveaway! ~ (US/Canada Only)

40829699







  Today we're excited to spotlight 20 Recipes Kids Should Know.  Read on for more about Esme Washburn & Calista Washburn, an guest post, plus an giveaway!          Meet Esme Washburn & Calista Washburn ! ESME and CALISTA WASHBURN are sisters living in New York City. Esme, who...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
John
What a fun recipe book! The recipes all sound like things I'd like to eat!
Thursday, 25 April 2019 20:38
Victoria Scott
I love it! My daughter is at the age where she wants to start learning to cook! This would be a great place to start!
Wednesday, 01 May 2019 15:58
Alyssa Annico
This has a bright, colorful cover and sounds like a great cooking book for kids!
Monday, 06 May 2019 08:43
  603 Hits
  10 Comments

Featured Review: The Genie Dagger (Bethany Wicker)

44416826
About This Book: A magical dagger. An evil genie. A hidden past. In a land where genies and magic have been destroyed, Ara—a street rat—never anticipated stealing a magical dagger and it changing her life. When she wields it, she unlocks a whole new world of magic. Taron is used to...
Continue reading
  318 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Chat with Swati Teerdhala (The Tiger At Midnight), Plus Giveaway!

9780062869210



  Today we're excited to chat with Swati Teerdhala author of The Tiger At Midnight.  Read on for more about Swati, plus an interview and an giveaway!          Meet Swati Teerdhala ! Swati Teerdhala is a storyteller at heart. After graduating from the University of Virginia with a B.S....
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Kylie
This cover is fierce!
Wednesday, 24 April 2019 23:56
Tiffany Engler
I love this cover! Can't wait to read it!
Monday, 29 April 2019 08:38
Lily M.
I'm excited for this book ??
Monday, 06 May 2019 23:48
  1147 Hits
  10 Comments

Waiting On Wednesday ~ April 24th, 2019

b2ap3_large_b2ap3_large_WOW










Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at   Breaking the Spine   and spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.                 *Bethany W's Choice* (YABC Staff Reviewer)   The Beautiful (Renee Ahdieh )     Author: Renee Ahdieh...
Continue reading
  307 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Tell Me Everything (Sarah Enni)

38918977
About This Book: Your secret's safe...until it's not. Ivy's always preferred to lay low, unlike her best friend Harold, who has taken up a hundred activities as sophomore year begins. But Ivy has her own distraction: the new anonymous art-sharing app, VEIL. Being on the sidelines has made Ivy a skilled...
Continue reading
  312 Hits
  0 Comment

Top Ten Tuesday ~ Top Ten Upcoming YA Debuts of 2019

b2ap3_large_b2ap3_large_b2ap3_large_TopTenTuesday
Welcome to Young Adult Book Central's Top Ten Tuesday post!   Each Tuesday we will be hosting a different theme or topic involving all things bookish!!! The Top Ten Tuesday post was originally created at That Artsy Reader Girl so visit there site for all the fun details about this awesome meme!!      ...
Continue reading
  433 Hits
  0 Comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Whispers of Shadow & Flame (Earthsinger, #2)
The Mantle that separates the kingdoms of Elsira and Lagrimar...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Plague of Death Anchoress Series Book Two
Her light protects her world. But to defeat an...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Kingdom
Welcome to the Kingdom… where "Happily Ever After" isn’t...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stepsister
Isabelle should be blissfully happy - she's about to...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Merbaby's Lullaby
Hush, foam rocker, sleep, wave breaker. ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mage's Apprentice
Vampires. Shifters. Fae. Mages. This ain’t the New York...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burning Stars
Best friends Marine Duval and Kate Sanders have trained...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Shatter the Sky (Shatter the Sky, #1)
Raised among the ruins of a conquered mountain nation, Maren...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Voice in my Head
For Indigo Phillips, life has always been about basking...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Virtue of Sin
Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the desert...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Tin
Tin
In an alternative England of the 1930s where the laws...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stolen Girl
Nadia is haunted by World War II. Her memories of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Iliad
More than three thousand years ago, two armies faced each...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Light Amongst Shadows
James Spencer is hardly the typical troubled youth who ends...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
the orphan fixed.jpg
Sometimes the ones who save us are the ones we...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Astrid the Unstoppable
Pippi Longstocking meets Heidi meets Anne Shirley in this tale...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Whispers of Shadow & Flame (Earthsinger, #2)
 
5.0
"WHISPERS OF SHADOW & FLAME is a fantastic second installment in the Earthsinger Chronicles. Although it is the second book,..."
Merbaby's Lullaby
 
5.0
"MERBABY’S LULLABY is an elegant and sweet poem, perfect for a bedtime book. As waves rock, whales sing, and starfish..."
Shatter the Sky (Shatter the Sky, #1)
 
4.0
"SHATTER THE SKY follows, Maren, who has been raised in a small mountain town. She and her girlfriend, Kaia, have..."
The Virtue of Sin
 
3.7
"Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven from the evil outside. She's taught to be submissive and obedient to their..."
Tin
Tin
 
5.0
"Christopher is an orphan boy who works for Mr. Absalom, an engineer who creates mechanicals, a 1930s version of robots...."
The Light Jar
 
4.0
"Nate and his mother leave their home in the middle of the night to get away from Gary, an emotionally..."
Stolen Girl
 
4.0
"Nadia and Marusia arrive in Canada after being in Displaced Persons camps in Europe. They are Ukrainian, and Nadia is..."
Because of the Rabbit
 
4.0
"Emma's father is a game warden, and when she accompanies him on a rabbit rescue, she falls in love with..."
No Place Like Here
 
4.0
"NO PLACE LIKE HERE is an engaging and summery YA contemporary that emphasizes healing and friendship. Ashlyn is at the..."
Mage's Apprentice
 
4.0
"Aspen lives in New York City where the Mage's council oversee the well being of the people in it. As..."
 
5.0
"Feedback I absolutely loved this book and looking back I’m honestly a little surprised. Hear me out! This book..."
The Iliad
 
3.7
"Long ago in Ancient Greece, a prince of Troy, Paris, steals the most beautiful woman in the world from another..."
Plague of Death Anchoress Series Book Two
 
4.5
"Van, Paley, and Brux are back in D.L. Armillei‘s Plague of Death, the second book in the Anchoress series. I..."
Golden Curse (The True Story of Rapunzel)
 
5.0
"It’s no secret that I enjoy a good fairytale retelling and Golden Curse by M. Lynn is that. This book..."
A Bond of Venom and Magic
 
4.0
"Diamond is a half-fae and is considered an abomination. When her home is attacked and her father is killed, she..."
The Crimson Deathbringer
 
5.0
"It will be weird for me to review my own book, so instead, I am going to post one of..."
Astrid the Unstoppable
 
5.0
"Nine-year-old Astrid is the only child in her Norwegian village, and she's called the little thunderbolt by the adults living..."
The F Word (Redefining Me book 1)
 
4.0
"After a tragedy that changes the community of Twin Rivers forever, Peyton finds herself coping with it the way a..."
Second Star (The Neverland Transmissions)
 
3.0
"SECOND STAR alternates POV between Peter and Wendy. It starts off with Peter sabotaging Captain Hooke's ship and stranding them..."
Shadow Realms: A Vampire Hunter Novel
 
5.0
"When Kali's brother Mason is taken by the demons, she has no choice but to turn into the very monster..."