YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ June 19th, 2017

YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ June 19th, 2017

Hello YABC'ers!

Welcome to the newest weekly post by the Staff at YA Books Central called Current Reads Monday!

We love everything bookish and just wanted to share with our readers what books we are currently reading and obsessing about! So check out what books the YABC Staff are currently reading below and comment to let us know what your book or books your reading as well!!

Share, Tweet, and post with the hashtag #YABCCurrentReads!

Happy Reading!!

 

 

 

 

 

*Beth's Current Reads*

(YABC Assistant Blog Manager)

 

Before She Ignites (Jodi Meadows)

Author: Jodi Meadows

Book: Hardcover, 400 pages

Expected publication: September 12th, 2017

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
 

Before

Mira Minkoba is the Hopebearer. Since the day she was born, she’s been told she’s special. Important. Perfect. She’s known across the Fallen Isles not just for her beauty, but for the Mira Treaty named after her, a peace agreement which united the seven islands against their enemies on the mainland.

But Mira has never felt as perfect as everyone says. She counts compulsively. She struggles with crippling anxiety. And she’s far too interested in dragons for a girl of her station.

After

Then Mira discovers an explosive secret that challenges everything she and the Treaty stand for. Betrayed by the very people she spent her life serving, Mira is sentenced to the Pit–the deadliest prison in the Fallen Isles. There, a cruel guard would do anything to discover the secret she would die to protect.

No longer beholden to those who betrayed her, Mira must learn to survive on her own and unearth the dark truths about the Fallen Isles–and herself–before her very world begins to collapse.

 

 

 

 

 

*Melissa R's Current Reads*

(YABC Instagram Manager)

 

Hunting Prince Dracula (Kerri Maniscalco)
Author: Kerri Maniscalco

Book: Hardcover, 432 pages

Expected publication: September 19th, 2017

Publisher: Little, Brown Books For Young Readers

In this hotly anticipated sequel to the haunting #1 bestseller Stalking Jack the Ripper, bizarre murders are discovered in the castle of Prince Vlad the Impaler, otherwise known as Dracula. Could it be a copycat killer...or has the depraved prince been brought back to life?

Following the grief and horror of her discovery of Jack the Ripper's true identity, Audrey Rose Wadsworth has no choice but to flee London and its memories. Together with the arrogant yet charming Thomas Cresswell, she journeys to the dark heart of Romania, home to one of Europe's best schools of forensic medicine...and to another notorious killer, Vlad the Impaler, whose thirst for blood became legend.

But her life's dream is soon tainted by blood-soaked discoveries in the halls of the school's forbidding castle, and Audrey Rose is compelled to investigate the strangely familiar murders. What she finds brings all her terrifying fears to life once again.

 

 

 

 

 

 

*CJ's Current Reads*

(YABC Owner)

 

Dividing Eden (Joelle Charbonneau)

Author: Joelle Charbonneau

Book: Hardcover, 336 pages

Expected publication:June 6th, 2017

Publisher: Harper Teen
 
From the author of the New York Times bestselling Testing trilogy comes a sweeping new fantasy series, perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sarah J. Maas.

Twins Carys and Andreus were never destined to rule Eden. With their older brother next in line to inherit the throne, the future of the kingdom was secure.

But appearances—and rivals—can be deceiving. When Eden’s king and crown prince are killed by assassins, Eden desperately needs a monarch, but the line of succession is no longer clear. With a ruling council scheming to gain power, Carys and Andreus are faced with only one option—to take part in a Trial of Succession that will determine which one of them is worthy of ruling the kingdom.

As sister and brother, Carys and Andreus have always kept each other safe—from their secrets, from the court, and from the monsters lurking in the mountains beyond the kingdom’s wall. But the Trial of Succession will test the bonds of trust and family.

With their country and their hearts divided, Carys and Andreus will discover exactly what each will do to win the crown. How long before suspicion takes hold and the thirst for power leads to the ultimate betrayal?
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

*Bethany W's Current Reads*

(YABC Staff Reviewer)

Rise Of The Isle Of The Lost (Melissa De La Cruz)

Author: Melissa De La Cruz

Book: Hardcover, 304 pages

Expected publication: May 23rd, 2017

Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
 
Ride with the tide! 

Deep beneath the waves, King Triton’s powerful trident has passed through the magical barrier that surrounds the Isle of the Lost—keeping villains in and magic out. And when Mal’s longtime rival Uma, daughter of Ursula, gets wind of this, she can’t believe her luck. The tide has dragged in something good for a change, and Uma is determined to get her wicked hands on it. But first, she needs a pirate crew. 

A storm is brewing back in Auradon, and when Mal, Evie, Carlos, and Jay hear that the trident has been washed away, they realize they’ll have to find it before anyone from the Isle does. Luckily, they seem to have a talent for locating missing magical objects. 

As Uma readies for the high seas alongside Harry, son of Captain Hook, Gil, son of Gaston, and the toughest rogues on the Isle of the Lost, the reformed villains of Auradon devise their own master plan. And with King Ben away on royal business, they won’t have to play by all the rules. Using bad for good can’t be totally evil, right?

The thrilling, perilous race to the trident puts old friends—and current enemies—against each other with the future of Auradon on the line. Both teams might like to make waves, but only one will come out on top of this one.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

*Samantha's Current Reads*

(YABC Staff Reviewer)

And The Trees Crept In (Dawn Kurtagich)

Author: Dawn Kurtagich

Book: Hardcover, 352 pages

Expected publication: September 6th, 2016

Publisher: Little, Brown Books For Young Readers
 

Stay away from the woods…

When Silla and Nori arrive at their aunt’s home, it’s immediately clear that the manor is cursed. The endless creaking of the house at night and the eerie stillness of the woods surrounding them would be enough of a sign, but there are secrets too—questions that Silla can’t ignore: Why does it seem that, ever since they arrived, the trees have been creeping closer? Who is the beautiful boy who’s appeared from the woods? And who is the tall man with no eyes who Nori plays with in the basement at night… a man no one else can see?

 

 

 

 

 

What book are you currently reading? Comment below! 

Share, Tweet, and post with the hashtag #YABCCurrentReads!

Rate this blog entry:
Author Of The Week: Chat with Julie Eshbaugh (Obsi...
YABC Scavenger Hunt: Emerge: The Captive (Melissa ...

Related Posts

 

Comments

No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Light Years
As a mysterious virus infects the world’s population, a girl...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Whiz Mob and the Grenadine Kid
It is an ordinary Tuesday morning in April when bored,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ryan Quinn and the Lion's Claw (Ryan Quinn #2)
Ryan Quinn and the Lion’s Claw is the much-awaited sequel...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Among the Red Stars
World War Two has shattered Valka's homeland of Russia, and...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Going Wild #2: Predator vs. Prey
The Going Wild series highlights the unbelievable (and completely true)...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street
The Vanderbeekers have always lived in the brownstone on 141st...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1953, and the United States has just executed an...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Secret Sheriff of Sixth Grade
In sixth grade, bad things can happen to good kids....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Afterlife of Holly Chase
Before I Fall meets “bah, humbug” in this contemporary YA...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Autoboyography
Fangirl meets Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Infographic Guide to College: A Visual Reference for Everything You Need to Know
For fans of the popular Show Me How series, this...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Hanging Girl
Skye Thorn has given tarot card readings for years, and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
BanThisBook.jpg
You’re Never Too Young to Fight Censorship! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Eight Days on Planet Earth
How long does it take to travel twenty light years...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Princess in Black Takes a Vacation
Even monster-battling princesses get tired sometimes! But a peaceful time...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Refugee.jpg
JOSEF is a Jewish boy living in 1930s Nazi Germany....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Light Years
 
3.3
"A dystopian-leaning mid-apocalyptic YA with a pandemic premise and a code savvy heroine. The book takes place in a..."
Ember Burning: Trinity Forest Book 1
 
4.5
"The story: Haunted by the tragic death of her parents, seventeen-year-old Ember Trouve has withdrawn from her life. She..."
Tin Men
 
4.3
"Tin Men is the fitting, highly satisfying sequel to The Clay Lion. The story follows Charlie Johnson who we meet..."
The Whiz Mob and the Grenadine Kid
 
4.0
"In 1961, Charlie Fisher is a poor little rich kid whose mother has decided that she's tired of caring for..."
Ryan Quinn and the Lion's Claw (Ryan Quinn #2)
 
5.0
"After his harrowing experiences in Andakar and his discovery that his parents are involved in the Emergency Rescue Committee in..."
Among the Red Stars
 
4.7
"Valka has trained as a pilot, and idolizes some of the Russian women who have made the news for the..."
Going Wild #2: Predator vs. Prey
 
4.0
"After getting involved with Project Chimera in Going Wild, Charlie and her mother and brother Andy are struggling with the..."
The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street
 
4.0
"The Vanderbeekers family of five children, parents, dog and rabbit have lived on two floors in a brownstone in Harlem...."
 
5.0
"Richard and his family live near Washington, D.C., where his father does something secretive for the government. They live in..."
The Secret Sheriff of Sixth Grade
 
5.0
"Maverick's mother has trouble keeping a job due to her alcohol consumption, which probably also influences her bad taste in..."
The Afterlife of Holly Chase
 
3.3
"Five years ago, seventeen-year-old Holly Chase was visited by three ghosts on Christmas Eve. They warned her to change her..."
Blood Dragons (Rebel Vampires Volume 1)
 
5.0
"Blood Dragons (Rebel Vampires, Book 1) by Rosemary A. Johns The Story: As the love of his many lives..."
The City of Brass
 
5.0
"Where do I start with this book? Well you better prepare for some late nights because once I started this..."
The Infographic Guide to College: A Visual Reference for Everything You Need to Know
 
3.5
"As approachable as it is pragmatic, this college primer could largely double as a bite-sized approach to post high school..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.3
"August 15-18 is the anniversary of Woodstock music festival! and i relived that time by reading this book! i make..."
The Hanging Girl
 
4.0
"Skye Thorn is a fake. Her so-called psychic abilities are all a scam. Then she gets involved in the biggest..."
The Shadow of a King
 
3.8
" Read this review and more on my blog.The Book Return Blog 'The Shadow of a King', tells the story..."
Ban This Book
 
5.0
"I absolutely feel in love with this book. I was always a big Alan Gratz fan, but after hearing him..."
Eight Days on Planet Earth
 
3.3
""I want to believe." Agent Scully's take from the X files is shown here when a mysterious girl shows up..."
The Princess in Black Takes a Vacation
 
4.5
"The Princess in Black protects the people and the goats from monsters that come up from their underground home. She..."